$252 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

4 stars
KM 11.5 Carretera Barra de Navidad S/N, Puerto Vallarta, 48300
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
572 reviews
Will be back next year!

The perfect get-away in the month of November! Make sure you take the free tour into the city. See full review

  • Max the Sarge
  • Nov 19, 2014
My 6 year old cried when we left!!!!

For the past few years we've been doing "mickey" cruises as my daughter calls them (they are... See full review

  • LBZ731
  • Nov 19, 2014
Peace and tranquility or excitement and adventure in Puerto Vallarta

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta is a luxurious resort with a tropical oasis as its backdrop.  The moment guests step into the main lobby, it's clear that this is an opulent hotel with grandiose furnishings and style. Families, couples and singles alike enjoy the top-of-the line services and amenities.  Family-friendly daytime entertainment, evening shows, a full-service spa, a fitness center, supervised play activities at the children's club plus a host of recreational activities are available.  The hotel also has two family swimming pools, one children's pool with a water slide, and one sports pool. There are also several fine-dining restaurants at the Barcelo Puerto Vallarta that serve international fare.  

Reasons to stay
  • Breathtaking views of Bahia de Banderas
  • Supervised play activities for children aged five to twelve
  • A diverse range of services, amenities and activities available
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta rooms

This palatial hotel features 316 spacious guest rooms – 179 junior suites, 109 family suites, 13 master suites, 12 grand master suites and three presidential suites – all with a wide range of amenities.  Guests stay in rooms that are bright, warm and welcoming with furnishings and decor in deep orange, beige, brown, white and yellow tones.  The style and decor of each room and suite embodies the rich cultural heritage found in Puerto Vallarta, but is also modern, elegant and comfortable. Rooms come with private balconies, a king-sized bed or two double beds, a living room with a sofa, a mini bar, two televisions, air conditioning, a coffee maker, iron and ironing board, and a fully equipped bathroom.


The most indulgent accommodation at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta can be found in one of the Penthouse Presidential Suites.  A private terrace with awe-inspiring views of the sea is just the beginning. These suites feature two bedrooms, two large beds, two single beds, a lounge, three televisions with DVD players, a home cinema, two bathrooms and a hydro massage bathtub.

Things to do nearby
  • Malecon (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Marina Vallarta (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Old Town (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Downtown Vallarta (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Puerto Vallarta Botanical Gardens (7.5 mi/12.1 km)
  • Bay of Banderas (6.2 mi/10 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive Rooms

Ocean Front Master Suite
One king bed with pillowtop mattress. Balcony with full ocean view. Exterior-corridor access. Floors 3-8. 60 square meters (646 square feet). Mexican and Indonesian decor. Two multi-line phones with voice mail. Two TVs with cable channels. Complimentary bottled water. Coffeemaker. Bathtub and stall shower. Club Premium amenities (dental kit, shaving kit, bath cap, shoe horn, sewing kit, vanity kit, and comb). Complimentary in-room safe. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning.
Ocean Front Grand Master Suite
One king bed with pillowtop mattress. Balcony with full ocean view. Exterior-corridor access. Floors 3-8. 80 square meters (861 square feet). Mexican and Indonesian decor. Two multi-line phones with voice mail. Two TVs with cable channels. Complimentary bottled water. Coffeemaker. Bathtub and stall shower. Club Premium amenities (dental kit, shaving kit, bath cap, shoe horn, sewing kit, vanity kit, and comb). Complimentary in-room safe. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning
One Bedroom Premium Suite
Each of the suite rooms are elegantly furnished and provide a huge range of facilities with 1 king or 2 double beds / ocean view/ fully equipped bathroom/ shower/ air conditioning/ coffee maker/ living room/ double sofa bed/ 2 TVs/ balcony/ 2 phone lines with Internet access and voice mail/ mini bar/ in room safe/ iron/ironing board.
Two Bedroom Deluxe Family Suite
Each of the suite rooms with 2 bedrooms are elegantly furnished and provide a huge range of facilities such as poolside view/ 2 fully equipped bathrooms/ shower/ air conditioning/ balcony/ coffee maker/ 2 phone lines with Internet access and voice mail/ 2 TVs/ mini bar/ in room safe/ iron/ironing board.
One Bedroom Deluxe Suite
Each of the suite rooms are elegantly furnished and provide a huge range of facilities with 1 king or 2 double beds / poolside view/ fully equipped bathroom/ shower/ air conditioning/ coffee maker/ living room/ double sofa bed/ 2 TVs/ balcony/ 2 phone lines with Internet access and voice mail/ mini bar/ in room safe/ iron/ironing board.
Two Bedroom Premium Family Suite
Each of the suite rooms with 2 bedrooms are elegantly furnished and provide a huge range of facilities such as oceanside view/ 2 fully equipped bathroom/ shower/ air conditioning/ balcony/ coffee maker/ 2 phone lines with Internet accses and voice mail/ 2 TVs/ mini bar/ in room safe/ iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Covention Center have 5 rooms and you can get differents Setup---- Banquet, Classroom, conference, "U" Shaped table, theater, cocktail : La jolla 1: Max. 400 people La jolla 1: Max. 400 people Mismaloya 1: Max. 104 people Mismaloya 2: Max. 134 people Mismaloya 3: Max. 134 people

Dining

Los Arcos
According to group size, an area you can reserve for groups with a previously set menu.Sit down dinner is served every night at our specialty restaurant "Los Arcos" is a steak and seafood grill serving dinner only. You can select differents menus or choice GALA " A LA CARTE", and you can make you own menu.Reservations required and dress code applies.
Capri
According to group size, an area you can reserve for groups. Serving a la carte Italian cuisine for dinner only. Reservations required and dress code applies.
Don Quijote
According to group size, an area you can reserve for groups.Serving a la carte Spanish cuisine for dinner only. Reservations required and dress code applies.
El Patio
According to group size, an area you can reserve for groups with a previously set menu. Private functions can be organizaed according to group size & choice in Restaurant in Restaurant "El Patio", with the following menus: "Continental", "The New World", "Vallarta","First Aid" or "A LA CARTE". Casual open-air restaurant offering buffets for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (572)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
572 out of 572
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Springerbuzz
Business
New Mexico
Sep 3, 2009

Excellent room not happy with much else

The room was out standing, very clean the staff friendly, I like to use the gym when away from home, so I called the hotel prior to booking asking if they had Jacussi, steam room, and gym, which they said they did. The day I arrived the Jacussi was only as warm as the outside temp, "not working" the steam room was so hot a human being could not go into it, the locker room shower had no shampoo no soap gel or no conditioner in the dispensers hanging on the wall, there was no toilet paper in the locker room bath room, I contacted the reception about this to which they replied it would be seen to ASAP, I ended contacting the reception 3 times but nothing was done. I even requested help from the guy who tries to sell you additional vacations he looked indifferent, nothing was ever done. The hotel boasts of 5 resturants when in reality it has a buffet, and in the bar it has a table with a few hot plates for the quests use thruout the day. often you would see the food containers empty, it has 3 al a cart resturants which open in the evening I did get to eat in the Spanish resturant great food, then they closed down for no reason the Spanish and seafood resturant leaving only the Italian resturant, buffet and bar for all the quests!!! I would certainly not recommend this place, the people should have cared more for the maintenance of the things quests care about but after asking 4 times with no respones well you draw your own conclusion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jzp
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Apr 2, 2010

Lovely resort, but drawbacks

Barcelo is an absolutely lovely resort nestled far away from hustle and bustle. The staff was gracious and helpful. Terrific swimming pools and relaxing environment. Not a huge party place - so good for families. Drawbacks -- essentially there was a viral epidemic circulating throughout the resort while we were there. Amazingly we did not get ill. However, everyone we talked to had at least 1 person in their party who had gotten ill, and usually more than 1. the hotel should've been cleaning the place spotless, but all they did was give everyone hand sanitizer upon entry into the restaurants. We decided we didn't think it was the food -- but rather the isolated lasrge group of people passing it from person to person. A lot of people had a ton of bug bites ... somehow we missed these, too. The isolated location is beautiful, but does limit activity. The hotel should offer more activities. Food was fair. I really expected a lot better food. We probably wouldn't go back. Too bad because it's a pretty place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There was a lack of activities. The shows started at 9:15 -- too late if you have young children. the pottery place was great - but it was the only activity so it was usually mobbed. Need more to do here -- or go "off resort."

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Glad to Be Home Again
Business
Iowa
Mar 22, 2010

Insects & Illness Ruined Our Stay

The resort is beautiful, nestled south of PV in the mountainous region. Plan on 45 min cab ride from airport. Bring lots of bug spray and medicine... no one prepared us for the unseen insects that left us covered with chicken pox looking bites with deep holes and sores that itched terribly, high fevers, headaches and intestinal disorders. We used calamine, listerine, hydrocortisone and nothing helped. Half of our 50 wedding guests were ill with fevers, headache, intestinal disorders and nausea. The doctor at the resort was wonderful and the hospital in town was fabulous. Unfortunately, we spent more time in room than in the sun enjoying the scenery. The wait staff when we did eat out were excellent. You should phone or email ahead of your trip to make a reservation at the restaurant if you want to eat other than the buffet. Even though it is an all-inclusive, expect to pay extra for certain beverages or room service. Knowing spanish would have been helpful in communicating with the concierge and front desk and not being taken advantage of. U.S.Cellular phone/internet service does not work at this resort. Bring your own computer if you need internet service unless you can read spanish, there are no instructions in the "business center" or anyone to assist. We would rate the spa as a 2 on scale of 1-10. Would not do the hairstyle nor massage there again. Wide variety of hotel rooms available, some much better than others for same price. We had a lovely corner unit with beautiful views of the hillside and ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prather
Oct 27, 2008

I got sick

The food made me sick, I have been back a week and I'm still sick,they ran out of bottled water so we had to buy it at our All Inclusive. I will say the place was very clean, but they closed the pool to early. Our shower had no water pressure,no shampoo. The refrigerator never got cool, I think they do that on purpose so you won't want a free can of hot cola. The first morning at 6:30 am some man with a bugspraying backpack fogged the entire courtyard with some very bad smelling insecticide that gave us a headache all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The resort was $15 dollar taxi ride to shopping, and a $150 dollar boat ride to sightseeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
photojo 13
Business
Mid Missouri
Apr 4, 2010

I would not stay here again for free!

During our very first meal at the hotel, we heard some people complaining about being ill. Within 48 hours we were both very ill with fever, cramps, chills, vomiting, and diarrhea. We were very ill for 24 hours. Though we saw people getting sick virtually everywhere on the property and everyone we talked to had either been sick or had someone in their party was sick, the hotel denied that there was anything wrong. We did not have an appetite for the remainder of our trip (5 days)All we could do was lay in the sun by the pool and eat saltines and yogurt. We went on several activities but those did not turn out well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you like carved animals, the beach vendors had some beautiful specimens much cheaper than in the stores. Also avoid Grayline tours. We were promised a private coach but what we got was a hailed taxi that cost us more than twice what it would have cost us to have gotten one ourselves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bonaire
Jun 17, 2008

Do not go here!

This is the third all-inclusive trip that my husband and I have been on; the 2nd one to Mexico, so we know what to look for quality-wise. This hotel left us dissatisfied. I am through with Mexico. The hospitality at this hotel sucked hard. There were four restaurants, the nicest two required reservations and you were limited to only one dinner between the two for your whole stay unless you stayed for a week; then you could have two meals. The main place where most people ate was an outside, open air dining deal. I saw a cat, a bird, ants, and flies that got to the food before you did. It was enough to turn my stomach from most items. I'm not sure these people are familiar with sanitation and hygiene either. I doubt that most of the food was kept at the proper temps. My husband and I developed upset stomachs by the end of our 4-night stay. The beach was a little strip of sand. The water was occupied with motorboats, jetskis, and roped off, and this stretch of ocean is not the most beautiful that Mexico has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Nothing really is nearby. Take a bus for 60 cents instead of an expensive cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockford, Illinois
Dec 28, 2010

had a problem with bed bugs and mold

I believe the rooms were not the cleanest. Had mold in my bathroom and bed bugs. Buffets are an efficient way to handle crowds but they do breed germs. The individual resturants were good. Evening entertainment - if you see it once that is enough because the style of dancing is the same every evening even though they change the theme and costumes. They need to change their dance routines and style. For the most part staff was very attentive. Would I go back here - no.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hotel is located a distance from town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Aurora, IL
Dec 28, 2010

Who invited the Bedbugs?

We were on a family vacation with siblings, parents, cousins, etc.. 16 in all. 14 of us notice multiple bug bites on our legs and torso from bedbugs. Some of us reacted to the bites with large red spots at each bite location. There were also numerous people at the pool with the same bites. Though the hotel changed our bedding and sent an exterminator to the room, they would not acknowledge that there was a problem. Other than than, the food was okay, drinks were good, area was nice, entertainment was okay. Nothing really stood out as above average. I will not return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont miss the zoo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ventura County, CA
Jun 8, 2011

Disappointed with Service and Ammenities

First of all, I want to state that I have never written a review for a hotel before ever, but I felt so strongly about needing to share our experience that I had to write one. We went to celebrate our 2nd Anniversary and are a young couple that that like to do activities as well as relax. We quickly learned that this is a relaxing type of resort only and were bored within two days. We ended up getting a refund for our remaining five nights and went and stayed at Dreams Resort and Spa for the remainder of our stay in P.V. I would suggest Dreams highly over Barcelo. So don't get me wrong, there are some nice features about the Barcelo. The rooms are extremely spacious and beautiful so if you are happy relaxing in your room this place is for you. We didn't like that we could only eat at the nice restaurants 3 times within our seven day stay, so we got sick of the buffet really quick. Also men are not allowed to wear shorts in the restaurants which is a bummer since its so hot. We were not allowed into the restaurant since my husband was wearing shorts and ended up at the buffet...again. The pool is pretty, but there are tons of kids and people smoking everywhere. I ordered one drink by the pool and it took 50 minutes for her to bring it to me. The staff is very unfriendly and you feel like you are putting them out by ordering a drink on your so called all inclusive vacation. The beach is very rocky and extremely small. It is not a private beach either. Its really not even worth going to. We tried to go snokeling since it is supposed to be included in our all inclusive package, but only the snorkel and goggles are included...fins are $5 per hour. We tried to snorkel without fins but only lasted about 10 minutes because the waves are so strong that it didn't seem safe without fins. We decided that since the beach is so bad at the resort maybe we would do a beach excursion but it was going to be $85 per person and we really felt that we shouldn't have to pay that much just to go to a nice beach. Dreams had an amazing private beach so we were very happy with our hotel change. One plus with this resort is the amazing zoo that is about a 15 minute walk from the resort. I got to hold a baby panther, feed tons of exotic animals, and get away from the resort for a few hours. The zoo is really the only attraction that is walking distance. This resort is at least 20 minutes from town so we felt very isolated and trapped. We kept joking that we felt like we were on a cruise. Even the croud seems like "cruisers". Overall, if you just want to lay by the pool, hang out in your room, and eat at a buffet this resort would be fine, but if you are looking for more than that out of your vacation, look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Zoo is a must see!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Dec 29, 2010

Not for me

The pool and just relaxing by it was nice. The weather was beautiful. The free drinks were nice for about a day then I was not really interested in drinking anymore. The hotel room was clean and nice. The shampoo smelled like man, so ladies bring your own. I was not really a fan of the food, but I am picky. I stayed 4 days and 3 would have been about right. Four days of doing the same thing and eating the same food I did not like was a little too much. We did not go into town as it looked really unappealing on the cab ride in. Also did not go to the zoo, but several people we talked to came back with bites all over them from the baby tigers. We went on a boat ride with a guy on the beach. I was disappointed that we did not see any whales since they were supposed to be in the area. You would like it if you are not a picky eater and do not mind being stuck on a resort. Aside from the food and the shampoo the amenities were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top