$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

3 stars
Av. Xcacel, Puerto Aventuras Riviera Maya, Puerto Aventuras, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
201 reviews
Wonderful week

Our 6 time in Cancun second time at Catalonia Riviera Maya. Great hotel, employees are just... See full review

  • Yerl
  • Oct 13, 2014
The best resort and service ever!!!

As soon as we got to the hotel they serve us right away with drinks and made sure that everything's... See full review

  • Hannah urruchi
  • Aug 29, 2014
Family-friendly Caribbean resort on private Puerto Aventuras estate
Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan sits in the heart of Riviera Maya on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. This all-inclusive, family-friendly resort is 50 miles from Cancun's International Airport and 15 minutes from the beach town of Playa del Carmen. Catalonia boasts five swimming pools, including a children's pool, six restaurants, seven bars, fitness center, disco, tennis court and kids club. Surrounded by white sand beaches and the second largest coral reef in the world, Catalonia's backdrop couldn't be more spectacular.
Highlights:
  • Located on private estate
  • Family-friendly with children's pool, kids club
  • Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes
Rooms:

Expect soothing, neutral colors and Mexican/Caribbean decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors at Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan. Rooms include a king or two double beds, private balcony, stocked mini-bar, satellite TV, direct access phone and alarm clock. The 12 oceanfront superior rooms are modernly decorated and include plasma TV, free safe deposit box and stunning ocean views. Privileged suites offer guests LCD TVs, Wi-Fi, bathrobes and slippers, walk-in closets and private mini-pool on the terrace or balcony.

Features:

Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan's convenient location is within walking distance to a beach boardwalk with shops and restaurants as well as a nine-hole golf course. On-site activities include non-motorized water sports such as snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, water aerobics, water polo and pool volleyball. Guests also enjoy beach volleyball, table tennis, shuffleboard, basketball, archery, cycling and daytime tennis. The resort boasts the two-floor Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes, complex hydrotherapy circuit, sauna, ice puddle and hydromassage bath. For a fee, guest may book a service such as massage or hair appointment with the spa.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 mi/80 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/9.5 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (44 mi/71 km)
  • Chichen Itza (155 mi/250 km)
Business­
  • Conference facilities and wireless Internet are available for a fee

Hotel Map

20.5041 -87.2208
Area served
Near Playa del Carmen (15 minutes)
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (1 hour)
Area description
A great marina with restaurants and bars at a walking distance as well as a 9-hole golf course makes Puerto Aventuras a place that stands out, a place for those looking for the authentic Caribbean.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Rooms

2 Bedroom Privileged Family Suite
2 Bedroom Privileged Family Suite Brand new rooms with modern decoration, Bedroom with 02 Queen bed and separated living room with pullout sofabed, Walk-in closet, Private duplex bath tub on the terrace or balcony, Air conditioning and ceiling fan, Coffee maker, 2 Plasma/LCD cable TV, Complimentary minibar refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer and Free Safety deposit box
Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
The standard rooms are equipped with:1 king size bed or two double beds - Air conditioning - Satellite TV - Direct access phone - Safety deposit box (with extra charge) - Full bathroom with shower and bathtub - Hair dryer - Rooms with terrace or balcony.
Privileged Garden view with Private Balcony
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Rooms, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with king 1 size bed or 2 twin bed, LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, bathrobes and slippers, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and terrace/balcony.
Privileged Suite with Terrace, Private Pool
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Suites, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with a living room and a separate bed room with king size bed, Walk-in closet, 2 LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and a private mini pool on the terrace/balcony.
Oceanfront with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Large oceanfront rooms with a modern style. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box ($). The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya.
Pool or Ocean View with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Large pool or ocean view rooms with a Mexican-Caribbean. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box ($). The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya
Privileged Honeymoon Garden View with Private Balcony
Privileged Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bellavista
Delicious la carte Italian specialties o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
Los Alebrijes
Authentic Mexican cuisine la carte o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
La Creperie
Icecream, Milkshakes and Crepes Specialties a-la-carte
La Brisa
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Tequila Bar
Swim up bar.
El Mercado
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Bamboleo
The best Grill & Steak specialties la carte o Open air o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual
La Pinata
Disco Bar.
Margaritas
Swim up bar.
Mikado
Asiatic cuisine la carte with teppanyaki tables and sushi o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (201)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 201
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZKing
Business
Herndon, VA
Sep 17, 2014

Nice Resort, Good Food, Good Staff

The resort was one of the nicest I have visited in my many trips to the Maya Riviera. Beautiful landscaping, lots of pools, easy access to beach, pools and food. The food was actually good, buffets, snacks and dinners. Lots of options and easy to get a table - although that could be because I went in September. The staff was extremely friendly and spoke English very well. Tip and you'll see a significant difference in service too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

UPGRADE!! (when you get there) It's only $15/night and well worth the added perks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eby555
Business
Houston
Jul 7, 2014

Eby

I was very cool with the resort except for the fact that I had to pay extra to use a safe in my room. It is totally ridiculous, the hotel should provide a safe for every room so that customers will have that confidence that their items are safe without having to pay extra for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The night shows and live bands were awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Aug 16, 2010

Short solo trip

Great experience! Everyone was very nice and helpful. Upgraded to priviledged room - it was beautiful and clean! Entire resort was well-kept. Liked the rocky beach - lots of fish!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tammyloo Single traveler
Business
Branford, Ct
May 3, 2010

Really Nice Resort

I enjoyed my stay very much, plenty to do, beautiful spa + Gym, Nice pools, Food was all very good, Nice restaurants plenty of variety. Would highly reccomend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zorrow
Business
Medina, OH
Feb 2, 2010

Pros and Cons

This resort really cares about pleasing it's Guests. Great service, friendly staff, very clean rooms, no smells in any of the food areas, excellent a la cart restaurants with 4 to choose from plus a separate new restaurant with tapas meals and a crepery. The 2 large buffets had excellent variety, nicely presented with hot/custom food if you wanted. And it was obvious that re-use of food the next day in another "new dish" as some resorts do was not done here. The pools were very clean and well maintained. The Staff always had some fun type activities planned if you wanted to participate. The evening shows were first class with much variety. On the negative side, the drinks were watered down, but if you asked for a better licquor or whatever, it was all available with no compliants. The Rooms we stayed in had a water pressure surging problem and the water flow for a shower was always rising and falling and hot and cold--a fix badly needed. But, all in all, this resort is highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to Puerto Aventuras Town and see the dolphins, fishing boats, small shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Merrillville
Aug 30, 2008

Not Very Pleased

The Catalonia Riviera Maya seemed very attractive. Its not often that I will leave a negative review, but I find it necessary in this case. My hotel room was always hot inside and the air didn't work so great. I could leave it turned down all day and nothing would happen. I needed computer access, and after spending the money for it, none of the stations worked and I had to have them fixed. When fixed, the heat in the area was so unbearable that I had to leave the area. I was warmly greeted by the staff at the buffet style restaurant, and the choices of food were really good. The only problem was, that after eating the food, I was restricted to either the bed or the bathroom for 2 days. I had met up with others at the resort who also became sick and were bed-ridden. Since the gift shop didn't open until 8 or 9 o'clock and the infirmatory was closed until late morning, I had to walk 2 miles to the area gas station to buy medicine. I figured I'd give the food another try, and I became sick again. The food temperature was low at the buffet restaurants. At the specialty restaurants, the staff was more concerned with inappropriate advances on my dinner date, than the service I was receiving! The guest services dept was especially helpful with planning whatever I wanted to do and were always available. The shuttle service was nice, but somewhat impractical for someone interested in the night life in the surrounding areas. BE FOREWARNED: If you have children, stay off the beach because there are a lot of topless and/or naked individuals either swimming and/or sunbathing. The only thing I was thoroughly impressed with was how clean the room service left my room. There was a really nice folded up animal put on my bed every day and plenty of extras like body soap and lotion. The staff had a really good attitude too. I would not return to this resort if it was offered to me for free, nor would I recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nadiyah
Business
USA
Jul 10, 2007

Great Stay

Great stay right on the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top