$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

3 stars
Av. Xcacel, Puerto Aventuras Riviera Maya, Puerto Aventuras, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
197 reviews
The best resort and service ever!!!

As soon as we got to the hotel they serve us right away with drinks and made sure that everything's... See full review

  • Hannah urruchi
  • Aug 29, 2014
fun couples getaway

best vacation ever. fun, sun ,good food . staff very pleasant See full review

  • maddog233
  • May 27, 2014
Family-friendly Caribbean resort on private Puerto Aventuras estate
Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan sits in the heart of Riviera Maya on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. This all-inclusive, family-friendly resort is 50 miles from Cancun's International Airport and 15 minutes from the beach town of Playa del Carmen. Catalonia boasts five swimming pools, including a children's pool, six restaurants, seven bars, fitness center, disco, tennis court and kids club. Surrounded by white sand beaches and the second largest coral reef in the world, Catalonia's backdrop couldn't be more spectacular.
Highlights:
  • Located on private estate
  • Family-friendly with children's pool, kids club
  • Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes
Rooms:

Expect soothing, neutral colors and Mexican/Caribbean decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors at Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan. Rooms include a king or two double beds, private balcony, stocked mini-bar, satellite TV, direct access phone and alarm clock. The 12 oceanfront superior rooms are modernly decorated and include plasma TV, free safe deposit box and stunning ocean views. Privileged suites offer guests LCD TVs, Wi-Fi, bathrobes and slippers, walk-in closets and private mini-pool on the terrace or balcony.

Features:

Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan's convenient location is within walking distance to a beach boardwalk with shops and restaurants as well as a nine-hole golf course. On-site activities include non-motorized water sports such as snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, water aerobics, water polo and pool volleyball. Guests also enjoy beach volleyball, table tennis, shuffleboard, basketball, archery, cycling and daytime tennis. The resort boasts the two-floor Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes, complex hydrotherapy circuit, sauna, ice puddle and hydromassage bath. For a fee, guest may book a service such as massage or hair appointment with the spa.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 mi/80 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/9.5 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (44 mi/71 km)
  • Chichen Itza (155 mi/250 km)
Business­
  • Conference facilities and wireless Internet are available for a fee

Hotel Map

20.5041 -87.2208
Area served
Near Playa del Carmen (15 minutes)
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (1 hour)
Area description
A great marina with restaurants and bars at a walking distance as well as a 9-hole golf course makes Puerto Aventuras a place that stands out, a place for those looking for the authentic Caribbean.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Rooms

2 Bedroom Privileged Family Suite
2 Bedroom Privileged Family Suite Brand new rooms with modern decoration, Bedroom with 02 Queen bed and separated living room with pullout sofabed, Walk-in closet, Private duplex bath tub on the terrace or balcony, Air conditioning and ceiling fan, Coffee maker, 2 Plasma/LCD cable TV, Complimentary minibar refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer and Free Safety deposit box
Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
The standard rooms are equipped with:1 king size bed or two double beds - Air conditioning - Satellite TV - Direct access phone - Safety deposit box (with extra charge) - Full bathroom with shower and bathtub - Hair dryer - Rooms with terrace or balcony.
Privileged Garden view with Private Balcony
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Rooms, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with king 1 size bed or 2 twin bed, LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, bathrobes and slippers, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and terrace/balcony.
Privileged Suite with Terrace, Private Pool
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Suites, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with a living room and a separate bed room with king size bed, Walk-in closet, 2 LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and a private mini pool on the terrace/balcony.
Oceanfront with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Large oceanfront rooms with a modern style. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box ($). The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya.
Pool or Ocean View with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Large pool or ocean view rooms with a Mexican-Caribbean. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box ($). The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya
Privileged Honeymoon Garden View with Private Balcony
Privileged Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bellavista
Delicious la carte Italian specialties o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
Los Alebrijes
Authentic Mexican cuisine la carte o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
La Creperie
Icecream, Milkshakes and Crepes Specialties a-la-carte
La Brisa
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Tequila Bar
Swim up bar.
El Mercado
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Bamboleo
The best Grill & Steak specialties la carte o Open air o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual
La Pinata
Disco Bar.
Margaritas
Swim up bar.
Mikado
Asiatic cuisine la carte with teppanyaki tables and sushi o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (197)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 197
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hannah urruchi
Hopatcong NJ
Aug 29, 2014

The best resort and service ever!!!

As soon as we got to the hotel they serve us right away with drinks and made sure that everything's ok with us.my room is beautiful and clean. All the staff are very friendly, attentive and hospitable. I always have drinks on my hand because they always offer me :) the food were good buffet breakfast lunch and dinner. The swimming pools are beautiful, water is is always warm and the bartenders were all very nice and also you wont get bored because they always have activities or shows for their guests and they always have non stop partying day and night :) the beach was beautiful with lits of fishes!!! It was so clear you dont need a goggles. I will definitely go back in a heart beat!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Try and experience the dolphin adventure! Its just a walk away in catalonia riviera maya hotel :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bricezmich
Newport, TN
Jun 23, 2012

Would NOT stay there again!

I'll start with the CONS: We booked a privileged superior room and the description stated it was a King bed and 2 twin beds, however upon arrival the hotel stated that type of room was only a King bed! So my friend and I had to sleep in the same bed all week :( Also, the first two days the housekeeping left wash cloths, but then on the third day they started not leaving any. We called the front desk twice, walked to the front desk and asked for them and they kept telling us they didn't provide them and that we would have to buy them at the gift shop! I mean really? Finally, after we hunted down a housekeeper they finally gave us some. The beach area at this hotel is very rocky and could be dangerous for people that don't have good balance. I definitely wouldn't advise getting in without water shoes. I was let down by the fact that there was a very small area to walk on (your typical walk on the beach would not be possible here). Also, the dining arrangements are a JOKE! We booked 6nights and received 3 vouchers for the specialty restaurants. Considering I didn't want to dress up every night for dinner this was plenty for us, however when we called the front desk on Wednesday the staff member listed off four that were open that night. We took extra time getting ready because this was our last night there and we wanted to eat at the Italian restaurant. As we made our way there, to our surprise NONE of the specialty restaurants were open/ only the buffett!!! So we didn't get to even use our voucher after a couple hours before that the front desk told us they were open! We received $20 in spa bucks each to use, however they would only allow you to use them towards a $100 massage or higher! total rip-off so we didn't even use the spa bucks (it was shown as being able to use them towards any spa service of $50 or more) finally, the last thing I will gripe about is the fact that the hotel is a 20 minute walk from the nearest shuttle stop, so if you plan on going anywhere outside the resort be prepared to either walk or fork out the cash for a taxi (taxi one way to Tulum was $32 USD and one way to Playa Del Carmen was $22 USD whereas the shuttle was $2 per person one way to Playa Del Carmen and $4 per person one way to Tulum).... This was even more frustrating because in the room there was a binder that listed all there ammenities and it showed them as providing a shuttle to Playa Del Carmen and when we called the concierge to reserve our spot they stated they quit doing that about a year ago?!?... now to the PROS: the drinks are good and the grounds are kept immaculate, the room was kept clean other than us having to beg for wash cloths for four days. We also walked to the marina from the hotel (about a 10min walk) where you can swim with the dolphins. We got to see the dolphins which was nice, but avoid the shopping there because it is way overpriced compared to what you can get in Playa Del Carmen along 5th Ave. I guess all in all you get what you pay for, but in my case I DID NOT receive the room that I paid for and that left a very bad impression on my vacation. That being said I have only one other experience in this area which was in Akumal, Mexico (about 20 miles south of Puerto Adventuras) and the beach there was MUCH nicer. Also, I would recommend Olympus Tours for your airport transfers (it cost $97 for two people round trip)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

get your souvenirs in Playa Del Carmen along 5th Ave at the larger Playa mart vs the other shops. The prices are much cheaper... if you take a taxi from the hotel it will cost $22 one way OR if you can bear the heat and a 20 min walk to the shuttle it is only $2 per person one way)... also, the marina near the hotel is nice to see the dolphins, but there shops are WAY overpriced!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kash Money
Chicago, IL
Jun 19, 2012

Feels like home

My vacation was a great success. The staff is excellent! They are the nicest people I have ever met. They work hard to keep the place running but they do it with a smile on their face. Everyone greets you and they absolutely love it when white people try to speak Spanish to them. The entertainment staff are fun and very energetic. Because the staff are so nice I feel like the guests were super nice too. You can talk to anyone about anything really. The hotel is far from the airport but not too bad and it is right off the beach. The beach is very rocky so I do recommend water shoes, I got mine at Kohls for ten bucks. They say you can snorkel there which is not even necessary because the water is so clear. You actually swim the fishies that the staff cooks for you later. That is what I call fresh! The food was pretty good and they did have variety. I did not like the grill but the Brisas restaurant offered lots of food and different foods daily. And the creperie is definitely worth dining at daily. They do offer shows nightly in the theater which was pretty cool. Nothing crazy special but it was fun and entertaining. If you want to have a good time you have to go to Coco Bongo! Mind Blowing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: In Hotel

When the flea market comes to the hotel do not take the asking price on anything. Always cut it in half and then compromise. You have to be tough with these guys.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
matt_t
vancouver bc
Jun 25, 2011

amazing first time mexico trip

this was my first experience at an all inclusive resort. for the price range i paid, i really didnt expect too much. but i was suprised! the resort itself is beautiful. located in a private gated community i felt very safe there. i would say 90% of the staff are very friendly and do all understand english. tips within the resort werent necessary although i still gave a dollar bill every so often to those who i felt deserved it. the room i got (privileged) didnt have a good view but i didnt care to pay more for it. although i do recommend a privileged suite because u get a bolted down safe and a mini fridge stocked with some water and pop daily for u. i didnt care for warm beverages. the room was very clean and not bad looking. one thing i wished it had was a bathtub instead of just a shower. the food was better than i thought. the buffet was good for what it was and did have variety daily. the restaurants were the better choice. the japanese restaurant was fun and the tapas was delicious. the italian one was bit of a disappointment. the drinks were good as well. were not watered down although a few bartenders did like to go a little easy on the booze. theres also a great little dessert place upstairs with crepes, ice cream, coffees the beach is beautiful. water is so warm. though u mite want to invest in some water shoes because it is a bit rocky in some areas and the jellyfish tend to lay on the bottom in the calmer areas. the water is pretty wavy. i was not fond of the one hour limit a day on snorkel rentals. one thing i could think of that i disliked about this place was the pact that all pools closed at 6pm. that made me sad. but then there are other things to do. shows to watch. drinks to drink. all in all i would say i enjoyed this trip very much and would go back if not at least making this place a backup trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

get up early your first day to go make a reso at the reservation center for the restaurants because there is no walk in or first come first serve deal at those. u have to reso before u can get a spot. u can do all your resos in advance but do it early in your trip. the booth opens at 12pm and there was a lineup for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sav Av
Dartmouth, MA
May 16, 2011

awesome party

great place, great staff, great place to party! Bring an isulated mug and tip your staff and they will take care of you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

take a cab to Playa del Carmen on Thursday or Saturday and go to Bad Boys to see the Nasty Bastards band. Go early, they start at 5:00 and finish by 9:00

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
May 10, 2011

stayed at better places

where do I begin, well I guess I will start with the good because there are not that many! Pools were big and plenty you never felt crowded. Air cond very good. very friendly staff. Japanese restaurant the BEST!! Go twice if I were you. You only get 2 restaurant vouchers to eat at the fine dining places. The rest of the food was not that great. You might find a few things here and there that were satisfying but thats it. You cannot get anything to eat from any where on the resort from 5 to 6. We were at the pool all day and decided we were hungry when the pool closed at 5, but we found there were no places that were open. We were not too happy. Water went out on us for about an hour. The regular room was like walking in a motel 6, not very welcoming, the pillows sucked and the bed was hard. No mini bar, No clock, No coffee maker! you have to pay $3 a day to use the safe. You only get 1 bottle of water when you get there! We won't be staying here again. The other couple we were with also felt the same!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

We took a cab ride to Playa, to get on the ferry to go to Cosumel, it was something different to do. they have lots of shopping and places to eat. Great for snorkeling if you enjoy that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crawfordthegreat
Washington DC
Dec 14, 2010

Pretty nice

Place was pretty cool. Lots of booze, good weather. The buffet gets old, but that's to be expected. The rooms were ok, didn't spend much time in them really. Pool was nice, didn't go to the beach much. Bottom line: this is a great value. Basically got 3 squares a day, got hammer-timed constantly, and had a reasonably comfortably bed. Good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
eugene oregon
Dec 8, 2010

overall good place for the money

pools were very nice and clean quiet side, and busy side, staff very friendly japenese restaurant very good. room was always spotless only complaint was lack of enough bathrooms near the pool and beach area. drinks were everywere if you asked for a double they would give it to you which if you want to taste it that is the way to go. short walk to the marina to watch the dolphins and various shops and bars. overall a nice resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

put your name in at the japanese restaurant you need coupon 1 coupon per couple we got 4 coupons for ten days we had a prevliged room and were able to eat at tapas without coupon which also was very nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island, NY
Aug 31, 2010

"Great price and location"

Beware of hidden charges, upon our arrival we were told that we would have to pay an additional $20.00 a day to be switch to either a pool/ocean view room even though that's what we had booked and were guaranteed. The very unfriendly female front desk person would not release the rooms even though they were available. She wanted us to pay the extra amount which we refused.The hotel grounds were clean and well maintained. The location was perfect no locals or vendors in the area because it is a gated resort. There was something for everyone at the buffet resturants so you really do not go hungry. The Italian was the best a la carte, Mexican was ok in my opinion. Crepes were awesome. We did not spend much time in the hot pools. We went in a few times early in the morning while everyone was having breakfast and before they use the pools as urinals. Most of the staff was friendly. You need water shoes at the beach because it is very, very rocky. All in all it wasn't a bad choice of hotel for the money and we made the best of it, lots of laugh and drinks, we took great pictures. For a low budget quick trip it was perfect. The hotel construction was unique and the huts by the beach provided shade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You absolutely need water shoes, the beach is very, very rocky and the shoes are expensive at the resort store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kenthub
Dallas, Tx
Jul 30, 2010

Not bad.

It rained the majority of the time we were there but the bartenders kept us entertained with alcohol. It was my first trip to Mexico and not a bad one. Would say that the location was not bad, but a good hour drive from the airport. No problems with the "drug violence". The beaches were very rocky (luckily I took my vibrams) There was a good mixture of people there all the way from honeymooners, to family vacationers. All inclusive was good but you get what you pay for and the food was a buffet style. Decent but nothing fancy. Alcohol was cheep, and beer was cheep. But if you tip the waiter a dollar each time they will be sure to find the good stuff underneath the bar. We went to Xplor and had a great time. Definitely worth the 120 bucks (although I claim that is where I got my food poisoning from) because the attractions were phenomenal. Overall the staff was good, food decent, and was location decent. Will not be going back anytime soon, but would not turn it down as a place to stay either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search