$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Av. Xcacel, Puerto Aventuras Riviera Maya, Puerto Aventuras, 77750

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
206 reviews
beautiful experience

The hotel everything was good clean, nice people, good food , nice place, we didn't have any... See full review

  • sonia s.
  • Jul 26, 2015
Great place!

My wife and I loved this place! Especially the lagoon where you can lay on the beach without being... See full review

  • Mark A.
  • Jul 17, 2015
Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan sits in the heart of Riviera Maya on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. This all-inclusive, family-friendly resort is 50 miles from Cancun's International Airport and 15 minutes from the beach town of Playa del Carmen. Catalonia boasts five swimming pools, including a children's pool, six restaurants, seven bars, fitness center, disco, tennis court and kids club. Surrounded by white sand beaches and the second largest coral reef in the world, Catalonia's backdrop couldn't be more spectacular.
Rooms

Expect soothing, neutral colors and Mexican/Caribbean decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors at Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan. Rooms include a king or two double beds, private balcony, stocked mini-bar, satellite TV, direct access phone and alarm clock. The 12 oceanfront superior rooms are modernly decorated and include plasma TV, free safe deposit box and stunning ocean views. Privileged suites offer guests LCD TVs, Wi-Fi, bathrobes and slippers, walk-in closets and private mini-pool on the terrace or balcony.

Property features

Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan's convenient location is within walking distance to a beach boardwalk with shops and restaurants as well as a nine-hole golf course. On-site activities include non-motorized water sports such as snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, water aerobics, water polo and pool volleyball. Guests also enjoy beach volleyball, table tennis, shuffleboard, basketball, archery, cycling and daytime tennis. The resort boasts the two-floor Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes, complex hydrotherapy circuit, sauna, ice puddle and hydromassage bath. For a fee, guest may book a service such as massage or hair appointment with the spa.

Highlights
  • Located on private estate
  • Family-friendly with children's pool, kids club
  • Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes
Nearby attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/9.5 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (44 mi/71 km)
  • Chichen Itza (155 mi/250 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities and wireless Internet are available for a fee
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 mi/80 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Rooms

Oceanfront with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Oceanfront rooms with a modern style. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box. The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya.
Pool or Ocean View with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Pool or ocean view rooms with a Mexican-Caribbean. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box. The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya
Privileged Honeymoon Garden View with Private Balcony
Privileged Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).
Privileged Family Suite
2 Bedroom Privileged Family Suite Brand new rooms with modern decoration, Bedroom with 02 Queen bed and separated living room with pullout sofabed, Walk-in closet, Private duplex bath tub on the terrace or balcony, Air conditioning and ceiling fan, Coffee maker, 2 Plasma/LCD cable TV, Complimentary minibar refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer and Free Safety deposit box
Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
The standard rooms are equipped with:1 king size bed or two double beds - Air conditioning - LCD/TV - Direct access phone - Safety deposit box - Full bathroom with shower and bathtub - Hair dryer - Rooms with terrace or balcony.
Privileged Superior
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Rooms, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with king 1 size bed or 2 Dbl bed, LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, bathrobes and slippers, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and terrace/balcony.
Privileged Suite with Terrace, Private Pool
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Suites, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with a living room and a separate bed room with king size bed, Walk-in closet, 2 LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and a private mini pool on the terrace/balcony.
Privileged Superior Ocean View
Privileged Superior Ocean view rooms, offer the following:
Balcony or terrace, Full bathroom with courtesy amenities, Hairdryer, Cable TV, Direct dial telephone, Wireless Internet access, Safe deposit box (free), Minibar service with water, Coffee maker, New furniture and modern decoration, Air conditioning and ceiling fan, King size bed and Exclusive facilities and services for Privileged customers (listed below)
The Privileged clients are entitled to enjoy the following facilities:
Private Lounge with personal customer service, 24 hours room service, Welcome cocktail, Free access to spa wet areas (one day per week), Beach towels service delivered in the room, Pillow menu, 4 dinners in our theme restaurants including Terrace Tapas Lounge & Bar (per week), 10% discount on massages or any treatment in our Alegra Spa, reservation required, Exclusive access to our Pure Chill Out bar and Privileged Beach and Exclusive access to la carte breakfast and lunch

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Terrace Tapas Lounge & Bar
la carte restaurant with delicious tapas specialties o Open air / air conditioned o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual
Bellavista
Delicious la carte Italian specialties o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
Los Alebrijes
Authentic Mexican cuisine la carte o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
La Creperie
Icecream, Milkshakes and Crepes Specialties a-la-carte
La Brisa
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Tequila Bar
Swim up bar.
El Mercado
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Bamboleo
The best Grill & Steak specialties la carte o Open air o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual
La Pinata
Disco Bar.
Margaritas
Swim up bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 206
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler
Business
N/A
Jul 27, 2015

Family Trip

We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. The rooms and the whole resort were always clean and the staff was extremely nice and helpful. There are plenty of food options and bars. The only downside to this trip was the beach. There was only a small area for the beach and it was extremely rocky. Otherwise this was a great resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
johanna V.
Business
north bergen
Jul 17, 2015

Family trip

Privilege room the sofa bed awfull, the food is ok, they should have more variety in the grill everyday is the same, after 3 days you get tired of eating the same everyday, and during the day you only have to choices the grill that has the same everyday and the buffet....the entertainment staff is the best we had so much fun everyday...i will suggest to have more waiters so they could offer the drinks instead of everytime you want a drink you have to stand up and go to the pool bar or the grill to get the drinks.... It was nice experience just couple of suggestions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
douglas k.
Business
Saint peters
Jul 17, 2015

can't complain - nice value

overall nice place. Food was good (not great) , rooms were very clean, property very well maintained. Entertainment was lacking especially compared to other resorts I've been to. No games or interactive things poolside. Personally I didn't like the drinks at the bars ( yes I still managed to consume plenty of alcohol) but the mixes / juices were overly sweet. Lastly, the beach is handmade and the property sits on something like a lagoon. If you like to take long walks along the beach this is not your place. However if you like to snorkel the fish I. The lagoon are incredible, better than ones I have seen on a paid for snorkel trip. One more thing- this property is about an hour and fifteen minutes from airport. If you want to do excursions it is far from everything and you will pay more because of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sssolrac
Business
Burnsville
Jun 9, 2015

Worst experience ever

The hotel itself is very nice and the beach very unique, but that's all you will get. The food is absolutely disgusting, not a lot of variety and it's a complete mess to get a table (even in the buffet). One day I went to get some guacamole just to find out the it was frozen, yes, frozen. Just like going to subway to get a sandwich with fake avocados. They don't have Mexican food in their buffets which is the most ridiculous thing ever if you are visiting Mexico. In summary, the food was completely awful, we ended up going out a couple of times because we couldn't stand the food. As far as the service, well, I think is even worse. The receptionist set us up for their sales breakfast, which we didn't want to do but they offered a significant deal to go see the dolphins for my son. The person at the breakfast ended up taking us to the buffet, was very rude and left us waiting for her to give us the coupon, we ended up just leaving since she wasn't the nicest person and was very critical when we told her that we didn't feel like spending thousands of dollars for a vacation package. If you like all inclusive hotels, this is not for you. They have different packages that give you access to certain areas of the hotel (never had an experience like that, all inclusive means ALL in my book), but believe me, is not worth the money to get the upgrade. Needless to say, I will never go back there and I hope you pay attention to the reviews. When I booked I thought that they bad reviews were a little harsh and that their expectations were out of this world, well, I wish I never thought that. Just in case you were wondering, a lot of people that I met in the hotel were also very disappointed, and I am being nice with that word.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Benjamin M.
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Great place for the whole family

Great trip as always, the staff is the best here, our 4th trip to the same hotel and we would/will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ro Girl
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Awsome

Very nice hotel and location. Small, everything was close by, food is average, staff nice and friendly, beach is nice with plenty chairs and palapas, no need to reserve chairs on the beach early in the morning like other resorts we've been to. Very nice grounds, overall very beautiful. Advice: do not upgrade to privilege until you see your room, because it may be nice already. We upgraded to privilege suites, just to have another room for my sister in law, and the suites are absolute gorgeous!!!! Brand new remodeled and beautiful, you get a bedroom and a living room, and a huge balcony with bathtub. Kids club was great for my 2 yo, with 2 young teachers that were great and actually spoke English very well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the transportation when you book your trip, because cab/taxi was 120 $ from the airport to the resort!!!( 50 min drive with cab).

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snusink
Business
salem, Utah
Oct 14, 2014

very good experience would go back.

Resort was very clean and the staff was amazing. check in was a little slow but that was due to volume and thoroughness. explaining all the resort had to offer. We didn't upgrade and didn't miss it. The food was very good at the buffet and the al la carts were outstanding. beach is rocky but lagoon has soft sand and plenty of fish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
short jaunter
Business
Denver, Co
Aug 11, 2014

Great vacation spot--if you're "privileged"

Experience exceeded expectations. We had been to a previous resort further south, near Tulum, which was a step up, but honestly this one was just as good in most respects. Not always as much top-shelf liquor and the restaurants weren't *quite* as good, but still very good food and excellent at times, with beautiful grounds and lots of pools. Great beach too with snorkel opportunities right there. We did the "privileged" suite, mainly just to have a separate room for baby sleeping, but came to find that it had lots of extra perks with that status--had we NOT done that privileged status, I think we would have been rather annoyed at the extra things we would have had to pay for/ask for etc. So I doubt I'd recommend it nearly as highly without the "privileged" status.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

a: The Dolphin Discovery is a short walk away, and you can just go see the dolphins in the water without paying to swim with them (the concierge told us differently). b: If you want to golf, the 9-hole course that is a short walk away is quite lovely, and contrary to what the guys below the lobby area will tell you, it is a full par-36 course (not just a par-3 short course, as they tried to tell me in order to get me to play a more expensive course). Only 9 holes but you can play them as many times as you like!

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanny Jo
Business
lancaster, pa
Aug 3, 2014

Family Fun

We keep returning to this wonderful resort. Have tried many other places but none compare. I have big grand kids and small, and they all just love it . One of the best Kids Clubs in the area. We all start talking about our return as we are leaving. Usually stay a week that's never long enough. Food, drinks and service are very good. You can walk or bike ride around the area and feel very safe. Marina and shops near by, also an aquarium. Shows at night are excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KevinS63994729
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 17, 2014

Great trip for family with young kids

I stayed in the privileged suite with my wife and 17 month old son. The room was perfect for us because we had a separate living room and bedroom (perfect for naps). Our son loved the beach, kids' pools, and food (every restaurant offered a kids menu). Staff was great with us! The only recommendations would be to get the privilaged rooms, get to the restaurants right at 6, and bring water shoes (2 of the 3 beaches were rocky). Everything was great! We would definitely go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you get to the restaurants at 6. If you are any later, you will have a long wait.

Back to menu Return to top