$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

3 stars
Av. Xcacel, Puerto Aventuras Riviera Maya, Puerto Aventuras, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
204 reviews
Great friendcation!

Great price, great location, great time! Hotel is located with a nice reef just offshore, marine... See full review

  • Baltimore Bartender
  • Nov 19, 2014
Once again, PERFECT!!

Amenities, staff, food, everything is perfect. We are regular guests at this resort. It isthe best... See full review

  • Carlitos5150
  • Nov 14, 2014
Family-friendly Caribbean resort on private Puerto Aventuras estate
Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan sits in the heart of Riviera Maya on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. This all-inclusive, family-friendly resort is 50 miles from Cancun's International Airport and 15 minutes from the beach town of Playa del Carmen. Catalonia boasts five swimming pools, including a children's pool, six restaurants, seven bars, fitness center, disco, tennis court and kids club. Surrounded by white sand beaches and the second largest coral reef in the world, Catalonia's backdrop couldn't be more spectacular.
Highlights:
  • Located on private estate
  • Family-friendly with children's pool, kids club
  • Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes
Rooms:

Expect soothing, neutral colors and Mexican/Caribbean decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors at Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan. Rooms include a king or two double beds, private balcony, stocked mini-bar, satellite TV, direct access phone and alarm clock. The 12 oceanfront superior rooms are modernly decorated and include plasma TV, free safe deposit box and stunning ocean views. Privileged suites offer guests LCD TVs, Wi-Fi, bathrobes and slippers, walk-in closets and private mini-pool on the terrace or balcony.

Features:

Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan's convenient location is within walking distance to a beach boardwalk with shops and restaurants as well as a nine-hole golf course. On-site activities include non-motorized water sports such as snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, water aerobics, water polo and pool volleyball. Guests also enjoy beach volleyball, table tennis, shuffleboard, basketball, archery, cycling and daytime tennis. The resort boasts the two-floor Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes, complex hydrotherapy circuit, sauna, ice puddle and hydromassage bath. For a fee, guest may book a service such as massage or hair appointment with the spa.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 mi/80 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/9.5 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (44 mi/71 km)
  • Chichen Itza (155 mi/250 km)
Business­
  • Conference facilities and wireless Internet are available for a fee

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Rooms

2 Bedroom Privileged Family Suite
2 Bedroom Privileged Family Suite Brand new rooms with modern decoration, Bedroom with 02 Queen bed and separated living room with pullout sofabed, Walk-in closet, Private duplex bath tub on the terrace or balcony, Air conditioning and ceiling fan, Coffee maker, 2 Plasma/LCD cable TV, Complimentary minibar refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer and Free Safety deposit box
Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
The standard rooms are equipped with:1 king size bed or two double beds - Air conditioning - Satellite TV - Direct access phone - Safety deposit box (with extra charge) - Full bathroom with shower and bathtub - Hair dryer - Rooms with terrace or balcony.
Privileged Garden view with Private Balcony
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Rooms, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with king 1 size bed or 2 twin bed, LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, bathrobes and slippers, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and terrace/balcony.
Privileged Suite with Terrace, Private Pool
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Suites, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with a living room and a separate bed room with king size bed, Walk-in closet, 2 LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and a private mini pool on the terrace/balcony.
Oceanfront with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Large oceanfront rooms with a modern style. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box ($). The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya.
Pool or Ocean View with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Large pool or ocean view rooms with a Mexican-Caribbean. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box ($). The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya
Privileged Honeymoon Garden View with Private Balcony
Privileged Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bellavista
Delicious la carte Italian specialties o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
Los Alebrijes
Authentic Mexican cuisine la carte o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
La Creperie
Icecream, Milkshakes and Crepes Specialties a-la-carte
La Brisa
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Tequila Bar
Swim up bar.
El Mercado
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Bamboleo
The best Grill & Steak specialties la carte o Open air o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual
La Pinata
Disco Bar.
Margaritas
Swim up bar.
Mikado
Asiatic cuisine la carte with teppanyaki tables and sushi o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (204)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 204
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Upset vactioner
Business
DFW
Nov 17, 2014

STAY AWAY!!!

Me and my family of 8 stayed here. First upon arrival, the room that we booked and was guaranteed was not available. They proceeded to place me, my husband, and 2 children in a room with one bed. First the room was hotter on the inside than it was outside and the floor was wet due to so much humidity, we tried to turn on the ceiling fan and it shook so much it was about to fall off the wall. I called and complained 2x, 30 mintues apart from each other, and was told to just wait in the room. When I finally went to the front desk I was greeted by rude staff that told me to go back and wait in the room. Once someone finally showed up they procededed to "attempt and fix all the issues in the room as the popcorn on the ceiling was falling all over our bed and belongings. Again I went to the front desk and demanded a new room. They finally placed me in a room with 2 beds. The next morning I was called to be told that we needed to be out of the room by 11 due to that room being needed by other guests and that we could just leave all of our things at the front desk until our new room was available. At this point we were extremely upset, but they continued to show no sympathy and we were told that "its not their job to put theirself in our situation" and "no manager was availble to speak to us" and that there was nothing more they could do. While at the pool having a drink to calm down I overheard them introducing the general manager and ran him down with our complaints, he simply handed our situation off to someone else. To cut this horrible story short we were finally given a room but no sympathy from the staff, no apologies or reimbursements offered. Food sucked, they offer their special resaurants but they reach capacity at like 5pm and take no more reservations so you are forced to eat at the nasty buffet. STAY AWAY KEEP SEARCHING FOR BETTER!!!! WOULDNT STAY HERE IF THEY OFFERED FREE ROOMS!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snusink
Business
salem, Utah
Oct 14, 2014

very good experience would go back.

Resort was very clean and the staff was amazing. check in was a little slow but that was due to volume and thoroughness. explaining all the resort had to offer. We didn't upgrade and didn't miss it. The food was very good at the buffet and the al la carts were outstanding. beach is rocky but lagoon has soft sand and plenty of fish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
short jaunter
Business
Denver, Co
Aug 11, 2014

Great vacation spot--if you're "privileged"

Experience exceeded expectations. We had been to a previous resort further south, near Tulum, which was a step up, but honestly this one was just as good in most respects. Not always as much top-shelf liquor and the restaurants weren't *quite* as good, but still very good food and excellent at times, with beautiful grounds and lots of pools. Great beach too with snorkel opportunities right there. We did the "privileged" suite, mainly just to have a separate room for baby sleeping, but came to find that it had lots of extra perks with that status--had we NOT done that privileged status, I think we would have been rather annoyed at the extra things we would have had to pay for/ask for etc. So I doubt I'd recommend it nearly as highly without the "privileged" status.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

a: The Dolphin Discovery is a short walk away, and you can just go see the dolphins in the water without paying to swim with them (the concierge told us differently). b: If you want to golf, the 9-hole course that is a short walk away is quite lovely, and contrary to what the guys below the lobby area will tell you, it is a full par-36 course (not just a par-3 short course, as they tried to tell me in order to get me to play a more expensive course). Only 9 holes but you can play them as many times as you like!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler71
Business
Orlando, Fl
Jul 25, 2014

Not Good!!

We're a family of 4 ( 2 Adults and 2 Children) our trip was on 7-15-2014 to 7-22-2014, this trip was at the last minute also , also our 5th time in the Riviera Maya, we have tried other resorts , and they have been excellent, but Catalonia Riviera Maya, was the worst from the check in, Barbara at the front desk was very impolite, she talked to guests in a bad way, she was disrespectful to a Mexican lady that was staying at the resort like a guest, no matter if Mexican or not. The Beach was very rocky, if you're a beach person, don't go to this Resort, the food was ok. Beware if you're staying in the first floor, there is SO MUCH NOISE, any time. Be carefull with the Timeshare people, they said that's a Vacation Club, but it's not: it's a Timeshare!!! They offer you a thousand of things, but, they're liars. I'm trying to advise you about it. The Riviera Maya has a lot good Resorts for the same price. The beach bar has better drinks! They show it to me like its a 4 star, it's not!! I give this hotel 2 and a half stars. I hope this review helps other people to save money and to stay in another resort. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KevinS63994729
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 17, 2014

Great trip for family with young kids

I stayed in the privileged suite with my wife and 17 month old son. The room was perfect for us because we had a separate living room and bedroom (perfect for naps). Our son loved the beach, kids' pools, and food (every restaurant offered a kids menu). Staff was great with us! The only recommendations would be to get the privilaged rooms, get to the restaurants right at 6, and bring water shoes (2 of the 3 beaches were rocky). Everything was great! We would definitely go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you get to the restaurants at 6. If you are any later, you will have a long wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vaca man
Business
Chicago
Jul 15, 2014

Great bang for your buck!

I have to admit that I was not thrilled about this resort per the location and prior reviews. Then when I arrived, I also was not thrilled at first glance. I have conducted many all inclusive trips recently and this was the farthest south I have gone yet. I also was aware of the lack of a white sandy beach. I was wrong. Here is my review in a nut shell. The service was AWESOME! The food was OK. The rooms were clean, ok bed, and decent appeal The placement of rooms, beach, pools, and restaurants were great! Beach was ok but the coral reefs and snorkeling on site was AWESOME! You pay to see this at other resorts. All of this for a great cost. If it was just me and my wife to get away at a romantic resort this would not be the place. But a getaway at a great price.......well this is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All restaurants are close but it is first come first serve. You wait a good time to get sat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chinito Lindo
Business
Newark, NJ
Jul 13, 2014

Resort was OK, but I would not come back

As you first arrive at the Catalonia Riviera Maya, the lobby was rather small, hot (as of lack of ventilation), and did not offer that welcoming feel. Our room was just an ordinary room. I expected a mini fridge and an iron for which none came with. The various buffet restaurants in the resort offered great selection of food items, but each item ran out fast. People had to wait a while for the kitchen to bring out new food. The beach was a disappointment. It was rocky and people can barely walk into the water past your knees. As a tip, you can walk onto the beach from the resort next door. The one left of the Catalonia. We snorkeled there and swam with lots of fish. From the dates we traveled, the Catalonia Riviera Maya was the most economical package among all search results along the Mayan Riviera. Our regret is that we should have paid a little extra per person for a better resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

In addition to the two buffets in the resort, guests also have the option to dine at several A La Carte restaurants for Japanese, Mexican, Italian, and fine cuts steakhouse. They are ready to serve dinner at 6:00pm daily. They don't take reservations, only first come fist serve. If you get there after 8:00pm, you won't get a table at all. So, get there early if you want to eat at one of those places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Disappointed Family
Business
New Jersey
Apr 19, 2014

WORST HOTEL EVER!

We booked our reservation 5 months in advance with plenty of room availability. After traveling for 10 hours with a group of 6 adults and 2 small children, we finally arrived at the hotel only to be told they didn’t have any rooms for us because they overbooked. We fought with the managers for about 2 hours to no avail. Both the managers showed no sympathy or emotion, just spoke to us with a smirk on their face, and would not even give us a refund for their mistake. 100% their fault, yet we had no options but to go to a different hotel of theirs 40 minutes away. They also claimed they could not offer us a room the next day when people checked out and when others arrived after us they still got their rooms. They flat out lied to us. Never in my life have I dealt with such useless people who showed no sympathy whatsoever. To top it all off when we got there they did not tell us that they didn’t have rooms for us. Instead they pretended to offer us an upgraded room package if we chose to go to the other hotel. We were so tired of traveling that we turned down their supposed special offer. That’s when we found out that we only got the offer because they did not have our rooms. I hope nobody ever has to go through that experience again, so PLEASE STAY AWAY from this hotel for your own good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rocadel
Business
Oregon
Jan 22, 2014

Very good hotel need somes updates but is a perfec family all inclusive

Location is the key in catalonia because we when to the mayans ruins and cancun and is close to all mane atractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy all yours souvenirs in playa and not in tulum, buy only in a shop whit market prices on each article

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gedma
Business
Vancouver, Washington
Jan 14, 2014

Great family getaway

Our experience was good. The room with the privet swimming pool outside was awesome for our kids, the room was clean as well. They had a nice lagoon that you can swim when the ocean gets too wavey. The food was good but they didn't have crab, lobster tail or shrimp except @ the Japanese restaurant. The kids also loved the mini club but if they are under 4 years old you have to be their with your kids you can't just leave them. Non of the other trips we went to had an option for a privet swimming pool it's great to have with kids cuz they get too cold in the ocean or the hotel pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top