$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 20, 2014

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

3 stars
Av. Xcacel, Puerto Aventuras Riviera Maya, Puerto Aventuras, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
197 reviews
The best resort and service ever!!!

As soon as we got to the hotel they serve us right away with drinks and made sure that everything's... See full review

  • Hannah urruchi
  • Aug 29, 2014
fun couples getaway

best vacation ever. fun, sun ,good food . staff very pleasant See full review

  • maddog233
  • May 27, 2014
Family-friendly Caribbean resort on private Puerto Aventuras estate
Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan sits in the heart of Riviera Maya on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. This all-inclusive, family-friendly resort is 50 miles from Cancun's International Airport and 15 minutes from the beach town of Playa del Carmen. Catalonia boasts five swimming pools, including a children's pool, six restaurants, seven bars, fitness center, disco, tennis court and kids club. Surrounded by white sand beaches and the second largest coral reef in the world, Catalonia's backdrop couldn't be more spectacular.
Highlights:
  • Located on private estate
  • Family-friendly with children's pool, kids club
  • Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes
Rooms:

Expect soothing, neutral colors and Mexican/Caribbean decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors at Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan. Rooms include a king or two double beds, private balcony, stocked mini-bar, satellite TV, direct access phone and alarm clock. The 12 oceanfront superior rooms are modernly decorated and include plasma TV, free safe deposit box and stunning ocean views. Privileged suites offer guests LCD TVs, Wi-Fi, bathrobes and slippers, walk-in closets and private mini-pool on the terrace or balcony.

Features:

Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan's convenient location is within walking distance to a beach boardwalk with shops and restaurants as well as a nine-hole golf course. On-site activities include non-motorized water sports such as snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, water aerobics, water polo and pool volleyball. Guests also enjoy beach volleyball, table tennis, shuffleboard, basketball, archery, cycling and daytime tennis. The resort boasts the two-floor Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes, complex hydrotherapy circuit, sauna, ice puddle and hydromassage bath. For a fee, guest may book a service such as massage or hair appointment with the spa.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 mi/80 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/9.5 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (44 mi/71 km)
  • Chichen Itza (155 mi/250 km)
Business­
  • Conference facilities and wireless Internet are available for a fee

Hotel Map

20.5041 -87.2208
Area served
Near Playa del Carmen (15 minutes)
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (1 hour)
Area description
A great marina with restaurants and bars at a walking distance as well as a 9-hole golf course makes Puerto Aventuras a place that stands out, a place for those looking for the authentic Caribbean.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Rooms

2 Bedroom Privileged Family Suite
2 Bedroom Privileged Family Suite Brand new rooms with modern decoration, Bedroom with 02 Queen bed and separated living room with pullout sofabed, Walk-in closet, Private duplex bath tub on the terrace or balcony, Air conditioning and ceiling fan, Coffee maker, 2 Plasma/LCD cable TV, Complimentary minibar refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer and Free Safety deposit box
Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
The standard rooms are equipped with:1 king size bed or two double beds - Air conditioning - Satellite TV - Direct access phone - Safety deposit box (with extra charge) - Full bathroom with shower and bathtub - Hair dryer - Rooms with terrace or balcony.
Privileged Garden view with Private Balcony
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Rooms, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with king 1 size bed or 2 twin bed, LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, bathrobes and slippers, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and terrace/balcony.
Privileged Suite with Terrace, Private Pool
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Suites, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with a living room and a separate bed room with king size bed, Walk-in closet, 2 LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and a private mini pool on the terrace/balcony.
Oceanfront with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Large oceanfront rooms with a modern style. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box ($). The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya.
Pool or Ocean View with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Large pool or ocean view rooms with a Mexican-Caribbean. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box ($). The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya
Privileged Honeymoon Garden View with Private Balcony
Privileged Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bellavista
Delicious la carte Italian specialties o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
Los Alebrijes
Authentic Mexican cuisine la carte o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
La Creperie
Icecream, Milkshakes and Crepes Specialties a-la-carte
La Brisa
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Tequila Bar
Swim up bar.
El Mercado
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Bamboleo
The best Grill & Steak specialties la carte o Open air o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual
La Pinata
Disco Bar.
Margaritas
Swim up bar.
Mikado
Asiatic cuisine la carte with teppanyaki tables and sushi o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (197)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.5

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Disappointed Family
New Jersey
Apr 19, 2014

WORST HOTEL EVER!

We booked our reservation 5 months in advance with plenty of room availability. After traveling for 10 hours with a group of 6 adults and 2 small children, we finally arrived at the hotel only to be told they didn’t have any rooms for us because they overbooked. We fought with the managers for about 2 hours to no avail. Both the managers showed no sympathy or emotion, just spoke to us with a smirk on their face, and would not even give us a refund for their mistake. 100% their fault, yet we had no options but to go to a different hotel of theirs 40 minutes away. They also claimed they could not offer us a room the next day when people checked out and when others arrived after us they still got their rooms. They flat out lied to us. Never in my life have I dealt with such useless people who showed no sympathy whatsoever. To top it all off when we got there they did not tell us that they didn’t have rooms for us. Instead they pretended to offer us an upgraded room package if we chose to go to the other hotel. We were so tired of traveling that we turned down their supposed special offer. That’s when we found out that we only got the offer because they did not have our rooms. I hope nobody ever has to go through that experience again, so PLEASE STAY AWAY from this hotel for your own good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island, new york
May 28, 2010

Economic family vacation

Went here for a wedding. While here we rented a boat and went fishing, swam in ocean and pools. the staff was excellent and did everything that they could to accommodate. some nights had to call to have the refrigerator refilled. The food was definitely far from the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the best restaurant was the japanese restaurant, went there twice. Must go there at 5:30 pm and reserve a time to eat. We walked out of the mexican restaurant at 10:45. arrived at 7:30, waited until 8:30 to be sitted and still waiting for our entree at 10:45.

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seniors, J&J
Springfield, MO
Sep 24, 2010

80% Spanish tourists

Standard room did not include: safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and only 2 small water per day.We had to pay $15.00 per person per day to upgrade in order to receive the items listed above. We have been traveling to resorts in Riviera Maya area and this is the first resort where the Standard room did not include the items listed above. We will not return to this resort.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese restaurant was the very best.

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Merrillville
Aug 30, 2008

Not Very Pleased

The Catalonia Riviera Maya seemed very attractive. Its not often that I will leave a negative review, but I find it necessary in this case. My hotel room was always hot inside and the air didn't work so great. I could leave it turned down all day and nothing would happen. I needed computer access, and after spending the money for it, none of the stations worked and I had to have them fixed. When fixed, the heat in the area was so unbearable that I had to leave the area. I was warmly greeted by the staff at the buffet style restaurant, and the choices of food were really good. The only problem was, that after eating the food, I was restricted to either the bed or the bathroom for 2 days. I had met up with others at the resort who also became sick and were bed-ridden. Since the gift shop didn't open until 8 or 9 o'clock and the infirmatory was closed until late morning, I had to walk 2 miles to the area gas station to buy medicine. I figured I'd give the food another try, and I became sick again. The food temperature was low at the buffet restaurants. At the specialty restaurants, the staff was more concerned with inappropriate advances on my dinner date, than the service I was receiving! The guest services dept was especially helpful with planning whatever I wanted to do and were always available. The shuttle service was nice, but somewhat impractical for someone interested in the night life in the surrounding areas. BE FOREWARNED: If you have children, stay off the beach because there are a lot of topless and/or naked individuals either swimming and/or sunbathing. The only thing I was thoroughly impressed with was how clean the room service left my room. There was a really nice folded up animal put on my bed every day and plenty of extras like body soap and lotion. The staff had a really good attitude too. I would not return to this resort if it was offered to me for free, nor would I recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JB_Boston
Boston, MA
Oct 25, 2009

POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE Not Recommend

We stayed here 8days and of those, we experienced no power for 4days. Now what that means in here, is that you have no electricity or running water- no shower, no toilet, no pool access, no a/c during the hottest time of the year, AND no way to keep the food at safe temperatures. When we went to the front desk - we were given candles and matches and told that their ONE generator was down as well. The problem persisted to 3 then 4 days - we tried to be patient and understanding (versus obnoxious American tourists)- but apparently that was the wrong approach. Other foreign guests who made a big stink were moved to sister resorts that DID have electricity, and might have actually enjoyed their stay. Spanish-owned Catalonia Riviera Maya will not reimburse you after the fact - You need to make a big stink about your accommodations THEN and THERE. In a sea of resorts along the Yucatan- you would think they would do everything in their ability to stand out from the rest of the resorts, if not in glamor, then in customer service, but when the power went out - stairwells weren't lit and you couldn't see what you were eating most of the time. There is also the false proclamation that they have wireless internet. NONE of the other guests we spoke with, nor did we have any success logging in to the internet through their machines nor our own laptop. What added to the frustration was that the front desk kept telling us to try at another time - leaving us false hope that it was actually working and that we could refer to itineraries or book trips online. It was a waste of time! They have no wireless internet - you get a faint signal, but we were never able to successfully connect. Room service was a big problem here. Even when we had the "Do Not Disturb" tag on - Housekeeping and Service would either try to enter while we were in the room, or tidy the room when we did not ask for it. This happened 6 out of 8 days - I still don't understand the disconnect or why they insisted on coming in - but someone trying to swipe in while you're getting dressed, did not leave a good impression. I am sure we will be traveling to the Yucatan again - but definitely will NOT stay at this Spanish franchise location or its sister branches. I will make it a point to give my business to Mexican-owned resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Would recommend renting a car - this allows you to have more flexibility with your schedule. There are plenty of buses that take you to different areas- but we liked coming and going at each destination as we pleased.

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TNT Colorado
Denver
Sep 16, 2012

You Get What You Pay For...

I've been around the block when it comes to Mexican all-inclusives, lost count but I think its over twelve trips. We booked from high-end to "value". Hotel Catalonia is firmly in the value category. The hotel is clean and well-kept but dated and worn. The standard room category is simple and clean but very motel-like, nothing anyone would consider attractive. Unfortunately, the beds were over the top too firm and I couldn't see spending a week of agony. We then upgraded to the "priveleged" category (at additional expense) after assurance by the front desk staff that the beds and rooms were far better and more comfortable.. and they were! That shouldl be everyone's first red flag. Honestly, it felt like a bait and switch that has been mentioned in other reviews about this hotel. If you do book at this hotel, please don't think you will be able to tolerate the discomfort. The food was pretty good at the buffet both quality and quantity, might mention here that my favorites were the salads and fresh fish from the grill. Oh, by the way, the wait staff here was over the top great. The voucher restaurants were average to below average and you could almost forget going in favor of the buffet. Since you got 'em you better use 'em, after all you did pay for it. Tip here: avoid the Italian venue, it was horrible. The Terrace tapas restaurant was very good but exclusive unless you paid extra if you didn't book the privelged class. If you do go ti the The Terrace, plan on eating at the buffet afterwards because the portion size was elf-like (it's even a joke by the staff how small the serving sizes are). The other voucher restraunts aren't worth talking about, so I won't waste your time. The bars are comfortable, although I didn't go to the sports bar but did walk in, it looked pretty cool and it was the air conditioned!!! Too bad I discovered it too late. If you go, check it out, it may turn out to be your favorite hang out place. The alcohol brands are low end and pretty watered down, but I guess if you drank enough, you can meet your buzz-on objective. Which by the way, didn't seem to be a problem to the 20 somethings that seem to favor this resort (price point?). We spent are bar-time at the Pure bar, nice view of the Caribe and the evening bar tender "Jerry" was the best. We did take in one of the nightly shows and it was pretty entertaining, I recommend it and wish we attended more but prior experience at other resorts left me a little jaded about what to expect with the talent. Final thoughs; The Catalonia is fairly priced for what they offer at the standard level. The extra cost for the Privileged status is not worth it because all you can expect is a better bed and view. There are no other benefits for the additional charge. I've seen other reviews that strongly recommend the higher cost, but I think I would spend the additional cost for another higher-end resort...it just wasn't worth it. Will I return? No.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Jan 26, 2008

Room was vey far from all ...

Room was vey far from all activities. First room we were sent to was already occupied. A lot of walking back and forth to finally get situated. Elevators are not convenient either. I fell twice: once on an uneven walkway and once when there was a large puddle of water in my room. Did not fix TV (static). Finally, after three days we were moved to another room(which also wasn't ready when they said it would be). Front desk staff were very rude, sarcastic and not responsive to problems. The grounds were very beautiful, rooms were very clean, buffets good, wait staff and housekeeping staff were very very friendly. At times, long lines to go into the buffets. Also beach lounge chairs and towels were at a premium- most often not available. Not enough amenities for the amount of people being serviced at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bricezmich
Newport, TN
Jun 23, 2012

Would NOT stay there again!

I'll start with the CONS: We booked a privileged superior room and the description stated it was a King bed and 2 twin beds, however upon arrival the hotel stated that type of room was only a King bed! So my friend and I had to sleep in the same bed all week :( Also, the first two days the housekeeping left wash cloths, but then on the third day they started not leaving any. We called the front desk twice, walked to the front desk and asked for them and they kept telling us they didn't provide them and that we would have to buy them at the gift shop! I mean really? Finally, after we hunted down a housekeeper they finally gave us some. The beach area at this hotel is very rocky and could be dangerous for people that don't have good balance. I definitely wouldn't advise getting in without water shoes. I was let down by the fact that there was a very small area to walk on (your typical walk on the beach would not be possible here). Also, the dining arrangements are a JOKE! We booked 6nights and received 3 vouchers for the specialty restaurants. Considering I didn't want to dress up every night for dinner this was plenty for us, however when we called the front desk on Wednesday the staff member listed off four that were open that night. We took extra time getting ready because this was our last night there and we wanted to eat at the Italian restaurant. As we made our way there, to our surprise NONE of the specialty restaurants were open/ only the buffett!!! So we didn't get to even use our voucher after a couple hours before that the front desk told us they were open! We received $20 in spa bucks each to use, however they would only allow you to use them towards a $100 massage or higher! total rip-off so we didn't even use the spa bucks (it was shown as being able to use them towards any spa service of $50 or more) finally, the last thing I will gripe about is the fact that the hotel is a 20 minute walk from the nearest shuttle stop, so if you plan on going anywhere outside the resort be prepared to either walk or fork out the cash for a taxi (taxi one way to Tulum was $32 USD and one way to Playa Del Carmen was $22 USD whereas the shuttle was $2 per person one way to Playa Del Carmen and $4 per person one way to Tulum).... This was even more frustrating because in the room there was a binder that listed all there ammenities and it showed them as providing a shuttle to Playa Del Carmen and when we called the concierge to reserve our spot they stated they quit doing that about a year ago?!?... now to the PROS: the drinks are good and the grounds are kept immaculate, the room was kept clean other than us having to beg for wash cloths for four days. We also walked to the marina from the hotel (about a 10min walk) where you can swim with the dolphins. We got to see the dolphins which was nice, but avoid the shopping there because it is way overpriced compared to what you can get in Playa Del Carmen along 5th Ave. I guess all in all you get what you pay for, but in my case I DID NOT receive the room that I paid for and that left a very bad impression on my vacation. That being said I have only one other experience in this area which was in Akumal, Mexico (about 20 miles south of Puerto Adventuras) and the beach there was MUCH nicer. Also, I would recommend Olympus Tours for your airport transfers (it cost $97 for two people round trip)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

get your souvenirs in Playa Del Carmen along 5th Ave at the larger Playa mart vs the other shops. The prices are much cheaper... if you take a taxi from the hotel it will cost $22 one way OR if you can bear the heat and a 20 min walk to the shuttle it is only $2 per person one way)... also, the marina near the hotel is nice to see the dolphins, but there shops are WAY overpriced!

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler71
Orlando, Fl
Jul 25, 2014

Not Good!!

We're a family of 4 ( 2 Adults and 2 Children) our trip was on 7-15-2014 to 7-22-2014, this trip was at the last minute also , also our 5th time in the Riviera Maya, we have tried other resorts , and they have been excellent, but Catalonia Riviera Maya, was the worst from the check in, Barbara at the front desk was very impolite, she talked to guests in a bad way, she was disrespectful to a Mexican lady that was staying at the resort like a guest, no matter if Mexican or not. The Beach was very rocky, if you're a beach person, don't go to this Resort, the food was ok. Beware if you're staying in the first floor, there is SO MUCH NOISE, any time. Be carefull with the Timeshare people, they said that's a Vacation Club, but it's not: it's a Timeshare!!! They offer you a thousand of things, but, they're liars. I'm trying to advise you about it. The Riviera Maya has a lot good Resorts for the same price. The beach bar has better drinks! They show it to me like its a 4 star, it's not!! I give this hotel 2 and a half stars. I hope this review helps other people to save money and to stay in another resort. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
May 10, 2011

stayed at better places

where do I begin, well I guess I will start with the good because there are not that many! Pools were big and plenty you never felt crowded. Air cond very good. very friendly staff. Japanese restaurant the BEST!! Go twice if I were you. You only get 2 restaurant vouchers to eat at the fine dining places. The rest of the food was not that great. You might find a few things here and there that were satisfying but thats it. You cannot get anything to eat from any where on the resort from 5 to 6. We were at the pool all day and decided we were hungry when the pool closed at 5, but we found there were no places that were open. We were not too happy. Water went out on us for about an hour. The regular room was like walking in a motel 6, not very welcoming, the pillows sucked and the bed was hard. No mini bar, No clock, No coffee maker! you have to pay $3 a day to use the safe. You only get 1 bottle of water when you get there! We won't be staying here again. The other couple we were with also felt the same!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

We took a cab ride to Playa, to get on the ferry to go to Cosumel, it was something different to do. they have lots of shopping and places to eat. Great for snorkeling if you enjoy that.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search