$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Av. Xcacel, Puerto Aventuras Riviera Maya, Puerto Aventuras, 77750

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
235 out of 235
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maritza659
Business
Québec, Canada
Dec 11, 2011

overall a pleasant stay !

If you love snorkeling, this hotel is for you because there are many reefs and rocks so there are tons of fish. If, against, you want an endless white sand beach and do not walk on the rock, I do not recommend this hotel. The hotel is not too big, everything is within walking distance. Employees are working hard to guide us and make us do things all day. A highlight of this hotel is that it is located 5 minutes walk from the marina, where there are pools with dolphins surrounded by restaurants and shops, very nice if you want to take a walk outside the hotel. The buffet is good but nothing extraordinary, the à la carte restaurants are much better as the Spanish (the terrace), Italian (Bellavista), Japanese (Mikado). The steak house (Bamboleo) and Mexican (Alebrijes) I was rather disappointed. If you go to the restaurant asked for recommendations to your server, I followed their advice and have always been delighted. The hotel is not as grandiose and luxurious as some other Riviera Maya but clean and friendly. Feel free to take a room privilege if the price difference is not too large, I think it's worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a look at the marina which is 5 minutes walk, it's very nice and pleasant and it was a pleasant discovery for my boyfriend and I

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kristie and Jimbo
Business
Rockford, IL
Oct 31, 2011

Okay for the money

Food at buffett's and Ala cartes just okay. Not neccessarily the reason for vacation, but would be nice to get a couple of really good meals. Rooms are very nice. We had the Superior Suite which is large and has balcony or patio. Cleanliness not the best, and wish they had bigger coffee pots in room or somewhere to get coffee if you are an early riser. The beach and pools are wonderful. The size of the resort is wonderful (small). The activities are so, so, but we don't usually partake. Employees are all very friendly. We were at resort during last Hurricane (Rina)/Tropical storm, and the measures taken for safety were very good, maybe even too much, but better safe than sorry. The potential crisis was handled quite well. The hotel and stores at the hotel only take credit or Mexican money. They do have a currency exchange but not open at all times. This was our 2nd visit and would go again if going to Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spunkie
Business
Spring Lake, Mi
Sep 30, 2011

Great fun & relaxation

I have been to this resort several times. The resort is not too large, easy to get to everything. The entertainment staff is great. They work hard to make your stay fun. The food is great at all the specialty restaurants as well as the buffet. It's a 10 minute walk to a marina where you can swim with the dolphins, go fishing or parasailing as well as shoping or eating at several restaurants. FUN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the nightly shows. The staff works hard to present a variety of very good shows. They even have an early show for the kids to participate.

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
glamisbound
Business
Lancaster,CA
Aug 1, 2011

Its an okay resort. No Frills

Nice and clean hotel rooms. The grounds are kept very clean. Didnt like the fact that they closed the pool bar at 5 then closed the pool at 7. If you advertise as a family resort the pool shouldnt close till 10-11 pm. The food was okay. They need more variety. The al carte resturants were hard to get a reservation at but the food was okay. The Japannese was the best. BRing your own cups so you dont have to keep going back to the bar. They only provide 8oz servings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Got to Explor and Xel-Ha. We had a blast at these parks.

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
matt_t
Business
vancouver bc
Jun 25, 2011

amazing first time mexico trip

this was my first experience at an all inclusive resort. for the price range i paid, i really didnt expect too much. but i was suprised! the resort itself is beautiful. located in a private gated community i felt very safe there. i would say 90% of the staff are very friendly and do all understand english. tips within the resort werent necessary although i still gave a dollar bill every so often to those who i felt deserved it. the room i got (privileged) didnt have a good view but i didnt care to pay more for it. although i do recommend a privileged suite because u get a bolted down safe and a mini fridge stocked with some water and pop daily for u. i didnt care for warm beverages. the room was very clean and not bad looking. one thing i wished it had was a bathtub instead of just a shower. the food was better than i thought. the buffet was good for what it was and did have variety daily. the restaurants were the better choice. the japanese restaurant was fun and the tapas was delicious. the italian one was bit of a disappointment. the drinks were good as well. were not watered down although a few bartenders did like to go a little easy on the booze. theres also a great little dessert place upstairs with crepes, ice cream, coffees the beach is beautiful. water is so warm. though u mite want to invest in some water shoes because it is a bit rocky in some areas and the jellyfish tend to lay on the bottom in the calmer areas. the water is pretty wavy. i was not fond of the one hour limit a day on snorkel rentals. one thing i could think of that i disliked about this place was the pact that all pools closed at 6pm. that made me sad. but then there are other things to do. shows to watch. drinks to drink. all in all i would say i enjoyed this trip very much and would go back if not at least making this place a backup trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

get up early your first day to go make a reso at the reservation center for the restaurants because there is no walk in or first come first serve deal at those. u have to reso before u can get a spot. u can do all your resos in advance but do it early in your trip. the booth opens at 12pm and there was a lineup for us.

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 24, 2011

Catalonia for a week

We went to relax and that's all we did. Enjoyed working out in the mornings. Japanese and Steak house were our favorite restaurants along with a few trips to the creperie. Buffet is okay but of course gets tiresome after 7 days. Hard working staff!!!! Went above and beyond to make our anniversary terrific. This is our 2nd stay at the property. Snorkeling is fun right on property in the bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jun 24, 2011

Fantastic Family Vacation

There was ten of us that stayed at Catalonia and we absolutely loved it! There was enough to do for everybody. The food was excellent and for the price, you can't beat it! The kids enjoyed it so much we plan to go again next year. The staff was so pleasant and always helpful. It was not overcrowded, which we appreciated and the entertainment was very enjoyable as well. We recommend Catolonia for your next vacation spot, I don't think you will be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sav Av
Business
Dartmouth, MA
May 16, 2011

awesome party

great place, great staff, great place to party! Bring an isulated mug and tip your staff and they will take care of you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

take a cab to Playa del Carmen on Thursday or Saturday and go to Bad Boys to see the Nasty Bastards band. Go early, they start at 5:00 and finish by 9:00

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 10, 2011

stayed at better places

where do I begin, well I guess I will start with the good because there are not that many! Pools were big and plenty you never felt crowded. Air cond very good. very friendly staff. Japanese restaurant the BEST!! Go twice if I were you. You only get 2 restaurant vouchers to eat at the fine dining places. The rest of the food was not that great. You might find a few things here and there that were satisfying but thats it. You cannot get anything to eat from any where on the resort from 5 to 6. We were at the pool all day and decided we were hungry when the pool closed at 5, but we found there were no places that were open. We were not too happy. Water went out on us for about an hour. The regular room was like walking in a motel 6, not very welcoming, the pillows sucked and the bed was hard. No mini bar, No clock, No coffee maker! you have to pay $3 a day to use the safe. You only get 1 bottle of water when you get there! We won't be staying here again. The other couple we were with also felt the same!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

We took a cab ride to Playa, to get on the ferry to go to Cosumel, it was something different to do. they have lots of shopping and places to eat. Great for snorkeling if you enjoy that.

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
liked it!
Business
chicago
Mar 30, 2011

no high expections for an all-inclusive

Traveled with 3 families. Lots to do among poolside entertainment, sports bar games and other dining choices. Nightlife for teenagers was challenging; they were able to get into enough trouble with the 18 year-old drinking age. Would have liked to see some night time activities available for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

everyone loved the japanese and steakhouse dinners. Tapas was the least favorite. Definitely go to the Creperie for dessert!

Back to menu Return to top