$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Av. Xcacel, Puerto Aventuras Riviera Maya, Puerto Aventuras, 77750

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 24, 2011

Catalonia for a week

We went to relax and that's all we did. Enjoyed working out in the mornings. Japanese and Steak house were our favorite restaurants along with a few trips to the creperie. Buffet is okay but of course gets tiresome after 7 days. Hard working staff!!!! Went above and beyond to make our anniversary terrific. This is our 2nd stay at the property. Snorkeling is fun right on property in the bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jun 24, 2011

Fantastic Family Vacation

There was ten of us that stayed at Catalonia and we absolutely loved it! There was enough to do for everybody. The food was excellent and for the price, you can't beat it! The kids enjoyed it so much we plan to go again next year. The staff was so pleasant and always helpful. It was not overcrowded, which we appreciated and the entertainment was very enjoyable as well. We recommend Catolonia for your next vacation spot, I don't think you will be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sav Av
Business
Dartmouth, MA
May 16, 2011

awesome party

great place, great staff, great place to party! Bring an isulated mug and tip your staff and they will take care of you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

take a cab to Playa del Carmen on Thursday or Saturday and go to Bad Boys to see the Nasty Bastards band. Go early, they start at 5:00 and finish by 9:00

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 10, 2011

stayed at better places

where do I begin, well I guess I will start with the good because there are not that many! Pools were big and plenty you never felt crowded. Air cond very good. very friendly staff. Japanese restaurant the BEST!! Go twice if I were you. You only get 2 restaurant vouchers to eat at the fine dining places. The rest of the food was not that great. You might find a few things here and there that were satisfying but thats it. You cannot get anything to eat from any where on the resort from 5 to 6. We were at the pool all day and decided we were hungry when the pool closed at 5, but we found there were no places that were open. We were not too happy. Water went out on us for about an hour. The regular room was like walking in a motel 6, not very welcoming, the pillows sucked and the bed was hard. No mini bar, No clock, No coffee maker! you have to pay $3 a day to use the safe. You only get 1 bottle of water when you get there! We won't be staying here again. The other couple we were with also felt the same!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

We took a cab ride to Playa, to get on the ferry to go to Cosumel, it was something different to do. they have lots of shopping and places to eat. Great for snorkeling if you enjoy that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
liked it!
Business
chicago
Mar 30, 2011

no high expections for an all-inclusive

Traveled with 3 families. Lots to do among poolside entertainment, sports bar games and other dining choices. Nightlife for teenagers was challenging; they were able to get into enough trouble with the 18 year-old drinking age. Would have liked to see some night time activities available for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

everyone loved the japanese and steakhouse dinners. Tapas was the least favorite. Definitely go to the Creperie for dessert!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Feb 20, 2011

Mixed feelings

This is my 6th all inclusive resort stay. The staff was the best I've seen as far as enthusiasm and working hard. They would always say hi. Bartenders would always make sure you had a drink even if you were not sitting at the bar. The grounds were very nice too and well kept. However, I've come to expect in the Riviera Maya when you arrive to your hotel you travel down the highway then exit off to about a mile of jungle terrain and then emerges this beautiful resort. Not here, you travel through the town of Puerto Aventuras (which is nice) and you are dropped off at a hotel lobby which is slightly better than most holiday inns. We booked an upgraded suite and were given a standard upgraded room. So we changed rooms. Then the not so private "plunge pool" which was really a large bathtub was in plain view of everyone who walked down the heavily traveled walk path. So we moved rooms again, upstairs to give us a little more privacy on the balcony. Our third room faced the north end of the resort which had a street running next to it where you will be woken up to speeding cars at 6AM. Again, having a view of the street and hearing cars are not what I expect from a Riviera Maya all inclusive. The food is good in all inclusive terms. Even the buffet. But if you are staying for more than 4 or 5 days you will get tired of the same food from the same buffet for breakfast, lunch, and even dinner after you use all of your a la carte coupons. The last thing that bothered me was to escape the sun you were either in your room, in the lobby, or in the pure chill out bar. Everywhere else was in direct view of the sun. Only about 20 or 25 umbrellas on the entire resort and unless you get up early you're not going to get one of those.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The el mercado restaurant is the buffet for the yucatan side. It has the same food as the Riviera side except only a fraction of the number of people go there. So it helps to go there if you don't like waiting in line for your omelets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess n Nick
Business
Machesney Park, IL
Feb 14, 2011

Had a great time!

Hotel was very nice, and all staff were helpful and very kind! We went to the Riveria Maya for a relaxing time and were able to get that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All of the fine dining restaurants at the hotel are well worth going to. You just need to remember to bring nice clothes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crawfordthegreat
Business
Washington DC
Dec 14, 2010

Pretty nice

Place was pretty cool. Lots of booze, good weather. The buffet gets old, but that's to be expected. The rooms were ok, didn't spend much time in them really. Pool was nice, didn't go to the beach much. Bottom line: this is a great value. Basically got 3 squares a day, got hammer-timed constantly, and had a reasonably comfortably bed. Good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pks
Business
michigan
Dec 12, 2010

wonderful vacation spot

This was our first time at an all-inclusive resort. It was a wonderful experience. The staff was there to take care of you. We had no problems with the room - usually I have a problem with the beds - but this was was extremely comfortable one. The food was great - a good variety at the buffet as well as at the specialty restaurants. We were able to go snorkeling, kayaking, biking and going on a catamaran all at the resort with no extra cost. Plenty of entertainment during the day and at the theater at night. A very positive experience and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We used a transportation company to go directly to the resort. This saved on time from stopping at different resorts along the way. Also able to learn about the area from the drivers - your own little tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
eugene oregon
Dec 8, 2010

overall good place for the money

pools were very nice and clean quiet side, and busy side, staff very friendly japenese restaurant very good. room was always spotless only complaint was lack of enough bathrooms near the pool and beach area. drinks were everywere if you asked for a double they would give it to you which if you want to taste it that is the way to go. short walk to the marina to watch the dolphins and various shops and bars. overall a nice resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

put your name in at the japanese restaurant you need coupon 1 coupon per couple we got 4 coupons for ten days we had a prevliged room and were able to eat at tapas without coupon which also was very nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top