$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Av. Xcacel, Puerto Aventuras Riviera Maya, Puerto Aventuras, 77750

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.5

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
liked it!
Business
chicago
Mar 30, 2011

no high expections for an all-inclusive

Traveled with 3 families. Lots to do among poolside entertainment, sports bar games and other dining choices. Nightlife for teenagers was challenging; they were able to get into enough trouble with the 18 year-old drinking age. Would have liked to see some night time activities available for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

everyone loved the japanese and steakhouse dinners. Tapas was the least favorite. Definitely go to the Creperie for dessert!

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Feb 20, 2011

Mixed feelings

This is my 6th all inclusive resort stay. The staff was the best I've seen as far as enthusiasm and working hard. They would always say hi. Bartenders would always make sure you had a drink even if you were not sitting at the bar. The grounds were very nice too and well kept. However, I've come to expect in the Riviera Maya when you arrive to your hotel you travel down the highway then exit off to about a mile of jungle terrain and then emerges this beautiful resort. Not here, you travel through the town of Puerto Aventuras (which is nice) and you are dropped off at a hotel lobby which is slightly better than most holiday inns. We booked an upgraded suite and were given a standard upgraded room. So we changed rooms. Then the not so private "plunge pool" which was really a large bathtub was in plain view of everyone who walked down the heavily traveled walk path. So we moved rooms again, upstairs to give us a little more privacy on the balcony. Our third room faced the north end of the resort which had a street running next to it where you will be woken up to speeding cars at 6AM. Again, having a view of the street and hearing cars are not what I expect from a Riviera Maya all inclusive. The food is good in all inclusive terms. Even the buffet. But if you are staying for more than 4 or 5 days you will get tired of the same food from the same buffet for breakfast, lunch, and even dinner after you use all of your a la carte coupons. The last thing that bothered me was to escape the sun you were either in your room, in the lobby, or in the pure chill out bar. Everywhere else was in direct view of the sun. Only about 20 or 25 umbrellas on the entire resort and unless you get up early you're not going to get one of those.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The el mercado restaurant is the buffet for the yucatan side. It has the same food as the Riviera side except only a fraction of the number of people go there. So it helps to go there if you don't like waiting in line for your omelets.

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess n Nick
Business
Machesney Park, IL
Feb 14, 2011

Had a great time!

Hotel was very nice, and all staff were helpful and very kind! We went to the Riveria Maya for a relaxing time and were able to get that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All of the fine dining restaurants at the hotel are well worth going to. You just need to remember to bring nice clothes.

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crawfordthegreat
Business
Washington DC
Dec 14, 2010

Pretty nice

Place was pretty cool. Lots of booze, good weather. The buffet gets old, but that's to be expected. The rooms were ok, didn't spend much time in them really. Pool was nice, didn't go to the beach much. Bottom line: this is a great value. Basically got 3 squares a day, got hammer-timed constantly, and had a reasonably comfortably bed. Good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pks
Business
michigan
Dec 12, 2010

wonderful vacation spot

This was our first time at an all-inclusive resort. It was a wonderful experience. The staff was there to take care of you. We had no problems with the room - usually I have a problem with the beds - but this was was extremely comfortable one. The food was great - a good variety at the buffet as well as at the specialty restaurants. We were able to go snorkeling, kayaking, biking and going on a catamaran all at the resort with no extra cost. Plenty of entertainment during the day and at the theater at night. A very positive experience and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We used a transportation company to go directly to the resort. This saved on time from stopping at different resorts along the way. Also able to learn about the area from the drivers - your own little tour.

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
eugene oregon
Dec 8, 2010

overall good place for the money

pools were very nice and clean quiet side, and busy side, staff very friendly japenese restaurant very good. room was always spotless only complaint was lack of enough bathrooms near the pool and beach area. drinks were everywere if you asked for a double they would give it to you which if you want to taste it that is the way to go. short walk to the marina to watch the dolphins and various shops and bars. overall a nice resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

put your name in at the japanese restaurant you need coupon 1 coupon per couple we got 4 coupons for ten days we had a prevliged room and were able to eat at tapas without coupon which also was very nice

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 2, 2010

Too much fun

The staff was friendly and accomidating; the rooms were always clean and just the right tempature. The pools were clean and fun to hang out around as the staff entertains the guests. It was a bit of a long drive from the airport, but theres nothing you can do to change that. We had such a good time, I would also recommend the Tulum/Tankah excursion... more fun than we could have hoped for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

By taking a quick walk out from the resort (or better yet, get a bike from the front desk)you will find the fabulous city of Puerto Adventuras! With great hand made items for all ages you can't find any better. The people are so nice and are negotiable on the price!!!

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
speedi
Business
Quebec, Canada
Nov 2, 2010

Good resort!

Privileged suite are awsome and cheap! Animation staff is incridible. Service at the resort is more like a 5 stars that 4 star. Speciality restaurant are great. Buffet is just ok not because quality problem but the choice is too limited. The beach is fine but short and rocky. Overall it's a great 4 star hotel and the bang for buck is definatly there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SLC
Nov 2, 2010

Love it

So much fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas Honeymooners
Business
San Antonio, TX
Oct 30, 2010

much better than most 3 stars!

There are many reviews of this hotel and they are truly spot on! I'll start from the beginning. When I arrived in the Cancun Airport there is all sorts of people yelling at you to come and buy there transportation, timeshare and activities while in Mexico. I got suckered in because they will also just act like they work for the airport and are directing you to the shuttles. Jerks. I had purchased pre-paid transportation from Cancun Transfers. It was cheaper than booking it through [...] and included drinks and private transportation. The Catalonia Hotel is really far from the airport (like 1 1/2 hours). I think it is well worth the drive. There seems to be an ongoing theme that the reservation staff is incompetent. I agree, they didn't have my reservation and I had to pay $300 for the first night I was there. I had to make a very expensive phone call to [...] the next day (because they wouldn't) and [...] cleared it up right away. The whole process took up quite a bit of our 1st vacation day. I did get a refund. Some people were complaining that no one speaks English. First of all, you're in Mexico not England. Why you would expect people to speak English in a Spanish speaking country is beyond me. But, almost all the staff speaks at least enough English to get by. Spanish is helpful, but not necessary at the Cat. All the signs are in English and Spanish. The beach was really clean. We took a day trip(on the free shuttle service from the hotel) to Playa del Carmen. Though the sand and water was much cleaner and prettier than the Texas beaches I'm used to, there was trash everywhere. Staff cleans the beach at the Cat. everyday to remove seaweed and other debris. The beach is rocky and shoes are highly recommended. The beach was also rocky at Playa del Carmen. Back at the hotel, I slipped and fell on the rocks trying to enter the lagoon area. I cut my hand open really bad. The lifeguard is super nice and cleaned me up. I'm used to cleaning my wounds with soap and water here in Texas--hello, the tap water in Mexico is undrinkable! Thus, I got an infection, but the lifeguard cleaned it up again and my hand is fine. They told me to just find a lifeguard and they would clean it as often as I needed for free. There are lots of kids and babies, but it didn't bother me too bad. I'll probably try an adult-only resort next time though. The Room:We had the honeymoon suite. All the honeymoon suites are next to the Japanese restaurant, but I never heard them and my room shared a wall with the restaurant. There are some honeymoon suites with less private balconies. Try not to get rooms 6101-6104 since they are in plain open view of everyone walking by. I was disappointed that the suites did not have living room spaces. I would have booked a different package (not the honeymoon package) if I would have known. The honeymoon package included a bottle of sparking wine and chocolate covered strawberries(3 small strawberries in dark chocolate), breakfast in bed (continental breakfast--we didn't eat it and went to the buffet as soon as we saw it), a photograph taken by the hotel photographer (does not include any pictures with the animals), a romantic dinner for two (we ate at the Italian restaurant for this, please read my review of the Italian), a couples massage, a privelege suite and a surprize gift. I would say that the honeymoon package is not worth it, but upgrading your room definitely is! We got a minifridge stocked daily, daily towel art that was super cute, modern decor, a plunge pool on the deck, flat screen tv, awesome shower, free access to a safe, an extra dinner voucher and access to the Tapas Restaurant. (Trust me, you're sick of buffets by the end of your trip and you won't have to eat dinner there with this privelege.)Restaurants:Las Brisas Buffet:This is where I ate the most since the "nicer" restaurants only open for dinner. This is the bird/no air conditioning restaurant that othe...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy snorkeling equipment before you go. There is a really nice lagoon at the hotel with lots of fish. You can rent the equipment for free, but they never had any available. If you forget, the store in the hotel sells it for cheaper than the the people at the rental place. Also, do not book any activites online, they are cheaper when you get to the hotel. Same goes for transportation, it's way cheaper when you get to the airport. Just don't get in a shady looking taxi.

Back to menu Return to top