$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

3 stars
Av. Xcacel, Puerto Aventuras Riviera Maya, Puerto Aventuras, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
204 reviews
Great friendcation!

Great price, great location, great time! Hotel is located with a nice reef just offshore, marine... See full review

  • Baltimore Bartender
  • Nov 19, 2014
Once again, PERFECT!!

Amenities, staff, food, everything is perfect. We are regular guests at this resort. It isthe best... See full review

  • Carlitos5150
  • Nov 14, 2014
Family-friendly Caribbean resort on private Puerto Aventuras estate
Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan sits in the heart of Riviera Maya on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. This all-inclusive, family-friendly resort is 50 miles from Cancun's International Airport and 15 minutes from the beach town of Playa del Carmen. Catalonia boasts five swimming pools, including a children's pool, six restaurants, seven bars, fitness center, disco, tennis court and kids club. Surrounded by white sand beaches and the second largest coral reef in the world, Catalonia's backdrop couldn't be more spectacular.
Highlights:
  • Located on private estate
  • Family-friendly with children's pool, kids club
  • Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes
Rooms:

Expect soothing, neutral colors and Mexican/Caribbean decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors at Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan. Rooms include a king or two double beds, private balcony, stocked mini-bar, satellite TV, direct access phone and alarm clock. The 12 oceanfront superior rooms are modernly decorated and include plasma TV, free safe deposit box and stunning ocean views. Privileged suites offer guests LCD TVs, Wi-Fi, bathrobes and slippers, walk-in closets and private mini-pool on the terrace or balcony.

Features:

Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan's convenient location is within walking distance to a beach boardwalk with shops and restaurants as well as a nine-hole golf course. On-site activities include non-motorized water sports such as snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, water aerobics, water polo and pool volleyball. Guests also enjoy beach volleyball, table tennis, shuffleboard, basketball, archery, cycling and daytime tennis. The resort boasts the two-floor Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes, complex hydrotherapy circuit, sauna, ice puddle and hydromassage bath. For a fee, guest may book a service such as massage or hair appointment with the spa.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 mi/80 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/9.5 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (44 mi/71 km)
  • Chichen Itza (155 mi/250 km)
Business­
  • Conference facilities and wireless Internet are available for a fee

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Rooms

2 Bedroom Privileged Family Suite
2 Bedroom Privileged Family Suite Brand new rooms with modern decoration, Bedroom with 02 Queen bed and separated living room with pullout sofabed, Walk-in closet, Private duplex bath tub on the terrace or balcony, Air conditioning and ceiling fan, Coffee maker, 2 Plasma/LCD cable TV, Complimentary minibar refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer and Free Safety deposit box
Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
The standard rooms are equipped with:1 king size bed or two double beds - Air conditioning - Satellite TV - Direct access phone - Safety deposit box (with extra charge) - Full bathroom with shower and bathtub - Hair dryer - Rooms with terrace or balcony.
Privileged Garden view with Private Balcony
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Rooms, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with king 1 size bed or 2 twin bed, LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, bathrobes and slippers, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and terrace/balcony.
Privileged Suite with Terrace, Private Pool
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Suites, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with a living room and a separate bed room with king size bed, Walk-in closet, 2 LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and a private mini pool on the terrace/balcony.
Oceanfront with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Large oceanfront rooms with a modern style. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box ($). The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya.
Pool or Ocean View with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Large pool or ocean view rooms with a Mexican-Caribbean. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box ($). The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya
Privileged Honeymoon Garden View with Private Balcony
Privileged Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bellavista
Delicious la carte Italian specialties o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
Los Alebrijes
Authentic Mexican cuisine la carte o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
La Creperie
Icecream, Milkshakes and Crepes Specialties a-la-carte
La Brisa
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Tequila Bar
Swim up bar.
El Mercado
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Bamboleo
The best Grill & Steak specialties la carte o Open air o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual
La Pinata
Disco Bar.
Margaritas
Swim up bar.
Mikado
Asiatic cuisine la carte with teppanyaki tables and sushi o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (204)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.5

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 31, 2010

"Great price and location"

Beware of hidden charges, upon our arrival we were told that we would have to pay an additional $20.00 a day to be switch to either a pool/ocean view room even though that's what we had booked and were guaranteed. The very unfriendly female front desk person would not release the rooms even though they were available. She wanted us to pay the extra amount which we refused.The hotel grounds were clean and well maintained. The location was perfect no locals or vendors in the area because it is a gated resort. There was something for everyone at the buffet resturants so you really do not go hungry. The Italian was the best a la carte, Mexican was ok in my opinion. Crepes were awesome. We did not spend much time in the hot pools. We went in a few times early in the morning while everyone was having breakfast and before they use the pools as urinals. Most of the staff was friendly. You need water shoes at the beach because it is very, very rocky. All in all it wasn't a bad choice of hotel for the money and we made the best of it, lots of laugh and drinks, we took great pictures. For a low budget quick trip it was perfect. The hotel construction was unique and the huts by the beach provided shade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You absolutely need water shoes, the beach is very, very rocky and the shoes are expensive at the resort store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Aug 16, 2010

Short solo trip

Great experience! Everyone was very nice and helpful. Upgraded to priviledged room - it was beautiful and clean! Entire resort was well-kept. Liked the rocky beach - lots of fish!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, MO
Aug 15, 2010

Just ok...

The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating when we asked for anything. Our only difficulty with the staff was the ladies in the lobby gift shop. I needed to return an used bottle of sunscreen, they told me to come back the next day, and when I did, they tried to tell me that I was out the $18 dollars and couldn't return it even though they told me to come back that day. Needless to say, we were a bit frustrated with the huge lack of communication. Our room was fantastic--right next to the ocean with a BEAUTIFUL view, huge king sized bed and wonderful bathroom. Food was just ok. My husband was sick the entire week, so that put a damper on everything, and we think it was the food. I really liked the Japanese restaurant--very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marisela
Business
Houston,Tx
Aug 7, 2010

it was ok

food ok,japanese restaurant and steak restaurant the best,italian restaurant ok, mexican restaurant food and services no good,enterteiment was good,rooms to old need to be fix, problems with electricity and air condition small beach but beautiful,but overall was a good experience staff work very hard to please you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kenthub
Business
Dallas, Tx
Jul 30, 2010

Not bad.

It rained the majority of the time we were there but the bartenders kept us entertained with alcohol. It was my first trip to Mexico and not a bad one. Would say that the location was not bad, but a good hour drive from the airport. No problems with the "drug violence". The beaches were very rocky (luckily I took my vibrams) There was a good mixture of people there all the way from honeymooners, to family vacationers. All inclusive was good but you get what you pay for and the food was a buffet style. Decent but nothing fancy. Alcohol was cheep, and beer was cheep. But if you tip the waiter a dollar each time they will be sure to find the good stuff underneath the bar. We went to Xplor and had a great time. Definitely worth the 120 bucks (although I claim that is where I got my food poisoning from) because the attractions were phenomenal. Overall the staff was good, food decent, and was location decent. Will not be going back anytime soon, but would not turn it down as a place to stay either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
derekscot
Business
Allen, TX
Jul 29, 2010

Great Vacation for the Price!!

Our experience at this hotel was very positive. Although the hotel was a bit far away from the airport, the value for the vacation, the hotel staff, the rooms, and the overall experience was great! The Xplor excursion offered by the hotel was a lot of fun, and it allowed all of us to do something active and out of the ordinary. The beach was beautiful, although due to the high amount of coral in the area, it would be a wise idea to bring the proper footwear other than just bare feet. We had a great time!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xplor

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CancunChica
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 29, 2010

Give it some time

Wanted to leave as soon as we got there. Resort is kind of run down looking, small, small pools, did not get the room we booked, was told it did not exist, fridge was broken and no hot water. Had to spend 11 days in a small hotel room with our 10 year old son. BUT- things did get better, the staff is wonderful here, lots of activities, good snorkeling, the lagoon is neat, Puerto Aventuras is a nice town to walk around in, the drinks were pretty good here. Food is terrible or great, not really any in between. Steakhouse, Japanese great, everything else terrible! The balconies all face one another so there is no privacy at all, and I would definitely upgrade to the Privilged section so you are not facing the street or a trash area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping and dining available in Puerto Aventuras at the marina, just 15 min walk or 5 min bike ride, cheaper than the gift shop, much better food! Watch the resturant prices as they can be quite expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aeisenhower
Business
Austin, AR
Jul 27, 2010

Fun in the Sun

Staff really friendly. Not impressed with the food. Not my type of food. Needs more of an American twist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take $1.00 bills with you. They come in handy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 25, 2010

Great Rooms and Service, Poor Food qual.

The service was great, I do not recomend booking your aiport transfers with Grayline! They are unfriendly and showed up an hour early to take us to the airport from the hotel and told us we had to leave anyways if we didn't want to take a taxi. Ridiculous! I recomend booking the privleged suites defiently worth they extra money! Standard room did not include an alarm clock or safe and the suites are about twice the size of the standard! Refrigerator is included with suit which made it even better! Food quality and quantity was horrible! The only good speciality resturant was the Japaneese resturant, mexican and italian were the worst. Serive was great however and the staff was friendly, we did tip reguarly however. All shows were good except the mexican show, it was pretty standard!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Defiently walk to the marina! It is aboout a five minute walk and there are shops, returants and ocean adentures. You can watch dolphin, sea lions, and manatee shows for free. We swam with all three for about 200 dollars a person and it is well worth it. The park is very disorganized but the experience and interaction with the sea animals makes up for it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VA-guy
Business
Leesburg, VA
Jul 22, 2010

Wonderful Time at the Cat!

This was our third stay at the CAT. We enjoyed ourselves even more this time than during our previous stays. The addition of the Tapas restaurant rounds out the choices. We upgraded to a suite each time we stayed at the CAT. We found it well worth the cost. Overall the food was good; the specialty restaurants lived up to expectations. Remember that the Italian is not the Macaroni Grill nor is the Mexican Chili's and you will be fine. The Japanese was excellent!!! The marinated flank steak in Bambolino's was very good. Of course, the Crepe restaurant was excellent. We normally skipped deserts and finished our meal there. The buffets were very good with many choices for breakfast and lunch. Remember this is not 5* dinning. The grill was fine. The usual burgers, hot dogs and fries. They also added some nice specialty items from the regular buffets -- usually a fish or seafood choice and some nice veggies. The pools were fine and different pools catered to different activities from water aerobics to just R & R. Yes the beach is rocky but water shoes make it just fine. Also, there are points of entry where they are not needed; you just need to look. The snorkeling was great in the area near the lagoon. You could feed the fish and they would eat out of your hand. Overall the CAT provides excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The town of Pureto Aventuras is a short walk from the complex; there are snorkeling tours, Dolphin Encounters and other activities if you want to leave the hotel yet be close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top