$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

3 stars
Av. Xcacel, Puerto Aventuras Riviera Maya, Puerto Aventuras, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
205 reviews
Great friendcation!

Great price, great location, great time! Hotel is located with a nice reef just offshore, marine... See full review

  • Baltimore Bartender
  • Nov 19, 2014
Once again, PERFECT!!

Amenities, staff, food, everything is perfect. We are regular guests at this resort. It isthe best... See full review

  • Carlitos5150
  • Nov 14, 2014
Family-friendly Caribbean resort on private Puerto Aventuras estate
Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan sits in the heart of Riviera Maya on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. This all-inclusive, family-friendly resort is 50 miles from Cancun's International Airport and 15 minutes from the beach town of Playa del Carmen. Catalonia boasts five swimming pools, including a children's pool, six restaurants, seven bars, fitness center, disco, tennis court and kids club. Surrounded by white sand beaches and the second largest coral reef in the world, Catalonia's backdrop couldn't be more spectacular.
Highlights:
  • Located on private estate
  • Family-friendly with children's pool, kids club
  • Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes
Rooms:

Expect soothing, neutral colors and Mexican/Caribbean decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors at Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan. Rooms include a king or two double beds, private balcony, stocked mini-bar, satellite TV, direct access phone and alarm clock. The 12 oceanfront superior rooms are modernly decorated and include plasma TV, free safe deposit box and stunning ocean views. Privileged suites offer guests LCD TVs, Wi-Fi, bathrobes and slippers, walk-in closets and private mini-pool on the terrace or balcony.

Features:

Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan's convenient location is within walking distance to a beach boardwalk with shops and restaurants as well as a nine-hole golf course. On-site activities include non-motorized water sports such as snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, water aerobics, water polo and pool volleyball. Guests also enjoy beach volleyball, table tennis, shuffleboard, basketball, archery, cycling and daytime tennis. The resort boasts the two-floor Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes, complex hydrotherapy circuit, sauna, ice puddle and hydromassage bath. For a fee, guest may book a service such as massage or hair appointment with the spa.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 mi/80 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/9.5 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (44 mi/71 km)
  • Chichen Itza (155 mi/250 km)
Business­
  • Conference facilities and wireless Internet are available for a fee

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Rooms

2 Bedroom Privileged Family Suite
2 Bedroom Privileged Family Suite Brand new rooms with modern decoration, Bedroom with 02 Queen bed and separated living room with pullout sofabed, Walk-in closet, Private duplex bath tub on the terrace or balcony, Air conditioning and ceiling fan, Coffee maker, 2 Plasma/LCD cable TV, Complimentary minibar refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer and Free Safety deposit box
Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
The standard rooms are equipped with:1 king size bed or two double beds - Air conditioning - Satellite TV - Direct access phone - Safety deposit box (with extra charge) - Full bathroom with shower and bathtub - Hair dryer - Rooms with terrace or balcony.
Privileged Garden view with Private Balcony
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Rooms, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with king 1 size bed or 2 twin bed, LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, bathrobes and slippers, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and terrace/balcony.
Privileged Suite with Terrace, Private Pool
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Suites, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with a living room and a separate bed room with king size bed, Walk-in closet, 2 LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and a private mini pool on the terrace/balcony.
Oceanfront with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Large oceanfront rooms with a modern style. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box ($). The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya.
Pool or Ocean View with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Large pool or ocean view rooms with a Mexican-Caribbean. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box ($). The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya
Privileged Honeymoon Garden View with Private Balcony
Privileged Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bellavista
Delicious la carte Italian specialties o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
Los Alebrijes
Authentic Mexican cuisine la carte o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
La Creperie
Icecream, Milkshakes and Crepes Specialties a-la-carte
La Brisa
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Tequila Bar
Swim up bar.
El Mercado
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Bamboleo
The best Grill & Steak specialties la carte o Open air o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual
La Pinata
Disco Bar.
Margaritas
Swim up bar.
Mikado
Asiatic cuisine la carte with teppanyaki tables and sushi o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (205)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
205 out of 205
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.5

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Feb 20, 2011

Mixed feelings

This is my 6th all inclusive resort stay. The staff was the best I've seen as far as enthusiasm and working hard. They would always say hi. Bartenders would always make sure you had a drink even if you were not sitting at the bar. The grounds were very nice too and well kept. However, I've come to expect in the Riviera Maya when you arrive to your hotel you travel down the highway then exit off to about a mile of jungle terrain and then emerges this beautiful resort. Not here, you travel through the town of Puerto Aventuras (which is nice) and you are dropped off at a hotel lobby which is slightly better than most holiday inns. We booked an upgraded suite and were given a standard upgraded room. So we changed rooms. Then the not so private "plunge pool" which was really a large bathtub was in plain view of everyone who walked down the heavily traveled walk path. So we moved rooms again, upstairs to give us a little more privacy on the balcony. Our third room faced the north end of the resort which had a street running next to it where you will be woken up to speeding cars at 6AM. Again, having a view of the street and hearing cars are not what I expect from a Riviera Maya all inclusive. The food is good in all inclusive terms. Even the buffet. But if you are staying for more than 4 or 5 days you will get tired of the same food from the same buffet for breakfast, lunch, and even dinner after you use all of your a la carte coupons. The last thing that bothered me was to escape the sun you were either in your room, in the lobby, or in the pure chill out bar. Everywhere else was in direct view of the sun. Only about 20 or 25 umbrellas on the entire resort and unless you get up early you're not going to get one of those.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The el mercado restaurant is the buffet for the yucatan side. It has the same food as the Riviera side except only a fraction of the number of people go there. So it helps to go there if you don't like waiting in line for your omelets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess n Nick
Business
Machesney Park, IL
Feb 14, 2011

Had a great time!

Hotel was very nice, and all staff were helpful and very kind! We went to the Riveria Maya for a relaxing time and were able to get that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All of the fine dining restaurants at the hotel are well worth going to. You just need to remember to bring nice clothes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crawfordthegreat
Business
Washington DC
Dec 14, 2010

Pretty nice

Place was pretty cool. Lots of booze, good weather. The buffet gets old, but that's to be expected. The rooms were ok, didn't spend much time in them really. Pool was nice, didn't go to the beach much. Bottom line: this is a great value. Basically got 3 squares a day, got hammer-timed constantly, and had a reasonably comfortably bed. Good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pks
Business
michigan
Dec 12, 2010

wonderful vacation spot

This was our first time at an all-inclusive resort. It was a wonderful experience. The staff was there to take care of you. We had no problems with the room - usually I have a problem with the beds - but this was was extremely comfortable one. The food was great - a good variety at the buffet as well as at the specialty restaurants. We were able to go snorkeling, kayaking, biking and going on a catamaran all at the resort with no extra cost. Plenty of entertainment during the day and at the theater at night. A very positive experience and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We used a transportation company to go directly to the resort. This saved on time from stopping at different resorts along the way. Also able to learn about the area from the drivers - your own little tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
eugene oregon
Dec 8, 2010

overall good place for the money

pools were very nice and clean quiet side, and busy side, staff very friendly japenese restaurant very good. room was always spotless only complaint was lack of enough bathrooms near the pool and beach area. drinks were everywere if you asked for a double they would give it to you which if you want to taste it that is the way to go. short walk to the marina to watch the dolphins and various shops and bars. overall a nice resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

put your name in at the japanese restaurant you need coupon 1 coupon per couple we got 4 coupons for ten days we had a prevliged room and were able to eat at tapas without coupon which also was very nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 2, 2010

Too much fun

The staff was friendly and accomidating; the rooms were always clean and just the right tempature. The pools were clean and fun to hang out around as the staff entertains the guests. It was a bit of a long drive from the airport, but theres nothing you can do to change that. We had such a good time, I would also recommend the Tulum/Tankah excursion... more fun than we could have hoped for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

By taking a quick walk out from the resort (or better yet, get a bike from the front desk)you will find the fabulous city of Puerto Adventuras! With great hand made items for all ages you can't find any better. The people are so nice and are negotiable on the price!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
speedi
Business
Quebec, Canada
Nov 2, 2010

Good resort!

Privileged suite are awsome and cheap! Animation staff is incridible. Service at the resort is more like a 5 stars that 4 star. Speciality restaurant are great. Buffet is just ok not because quality problem but the choice is too limited. The beach is fine but short and rocky. Overall it's a great 4 star hotel and the bang for buck is definatly there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SLC
Nov 2, 2010

Love it

So much fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas Honeymooners
Business
San Antonio, TX
Oct 30, 2010

much better than most 3 stars!

There are many reviews of this hotel and they are truly spot on! I'll start from the beginning. When I arrived in the Cancun Airport there is all sorts of people yelling at you to come and buy there transportation, timeshare and activities while in Mexico. I got suckered in because they will also just act like they work for the airport and are directing you to the shuttles. Jerks. I had purchased pre-paid transportation from Cancun Transfers. It was cheaper than booking it through [...] and included drinks and private transportation. The Catalonia Hotel is really far from the airport (like 1 1/2 hours). I think it is well worth the drive. There seems to be an ongoing theme that the reservation staff is incompetent. I agree, they didn't have my reservation and I had to pay $300 for the first night I was there. I had to make a very expensive phone call to [...] the next day (because they wouldn't) and [...] cleared it up right away. The whole process took up quite a bit of our 1st vacation day. I did get a refund. Some people were complaining that no one speaks English. First of all, you're in Mexico not England. Why you would expect people to speak English in a Spanish speaking country is beyond me. But, almost all the staff speaks at least enough English to get by. Spanish is helpful, but not necessary at the Cat. All the signs are in English and Spanish. The beach was really clean. We took a day trip(on the free shuttle service from the hotel) to Playa del Carmen. Though the sand and water was much cleaner and prettier than the Texas beaches I'm used to, there was trash everywhere. Staff cleans the beach at the Cat. everyday to remove seaweed and other debris. The beach is rocky and shoes are highly recommended. The beach was also rocky at Playa del Carmen. Back at the hotel, I slipped and fell on the rocks trying to enter the lagoon area. I cut my hand open really bad. The lifeguard is super nice and cleaned me up. I'm used to cleaning my wounds with soap and water here in Texas--hello, the tap water in Mexico is undrinkable! Thus, I got an infection, but the lifeguard cleaned it up again and my hand is fine. They told me to just find a lifeguard and they would clean it as often as I needed for free. There are lots of kids and babies, but it didn't bother me too bad. I'll probably try an adult-only resort next time though. The Room:We had the honeymoon suite. All the honeymoon suites are next to the Japanese restaurant, but I never heard them and my room shared a wall with the restaurant. There are some honeymoon suites with less private balconies. Try not to get rooms 6101-6104 since they are in plain open view of everyone walking by. I was disappointed that the suites did not have living room spaces. I would have booked a different package (not the honeymoon package) if I would have known. The honeymoon package included a bottle of sparking wine and chocolate covered strawberries(3 small strawberries in dark chocolate), breakfast in bed (continental breakfast--we didn't eat it and went to the buffet as soon as we saw it), a photograph taken by the hotel photographer (does not include any pictures with the animals), a romantic dinner for two (we ate at the Italian restaurant for this, please read my review of the Italian), a couples massage, a privelege suite and a surprize gift. I would say that the honeymoon package is not worth it, but upgrading your room definitely is! We got a minifridge stocked daily, daily towel art that was super cute, modern decor, a plunge pool on the deck, flat screen tv, awesome shower, free access to a safe, an extra dinner voucher and access to the Tapas Restaurant. (Trust me, you're sick of buffets by the end of your trip and you won't have to eat dinner there with this privelege.)Restaurants:Las Brisas Buffet:This is where I ate the most since the "nicer" restaurants only open for dinner. This is the bird/no air conditioning restaurant that othe...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy snorkeling equipment before you go. There is a really nice lagoon at the hotel with lots of fish. You can rent the equipment for free, but they never had any available. If you forget, the store in the hotel sells it for cheaper than the the people at the rental place. Also, do not book any activites online, they are cheaper when you get to the hotel. Same goes for transportation, it's way cheaper when you get to the airport. Just don't get in a shady looking taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
Oct 16, 2010

Excellent stay!

We were a group of 8 ( 4 adult children, parents and grandparents). All had a wonderful time, there is enough to do for everyone. The activities team were wonderful, activities all day long if you wanted to participate or others could just enjoy the serenity of the ocean. The shows they put on in the evening we good also. The resort has a comfortable laid back atmosphere.(not a stuffy 6 star) I liked the thatched roofs and mature plantings. It is not too large, and laid out nicely. 2 of the 4 couples upgraded rooms. We were happy we upgraded, since we wanted a safe and minibar, but the others that didn't were equally satisfied. The non-upgraded rooms are average, sufficient and clean. Drinks were plentiful, and the food was good. Japenese and Mexican were the favorites along with the Crepre at night. YOu can walk to a marina near by and swim with the dolphins. The snorkeling is awesome! We saw hundreds of differnt tropical fish, squid, barricuda, parrot fish, Lion fish - 2 colors, tanks, angelfish, etc. If you love easy right off the shore snorkeling this is the place! If it is a calm day don't be afaid to swim on the other side of the rock barrier, it isn't that deep and lots of fish. We have been to Riveria Maya area and Cancun a lot, and this is a resort we would go back to. We like the size, upgraded rooms, automosphere, ocean for snokeling. Note: You really don't need water shoes as some of the reviews state. You can enter the water of the lagoon (all sand) or ocean if you go to the far right when facing the ocean (last steps off the boardwalk) If you are looking for a long expansive beach with waves to play in however, this would not be the place, there many other resorts for this. All in all it was a great place at a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top