Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$286
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 29, 2016 Check-out: Mar 3, 2016

Can't wait to get back here.

Would recommend Thu, Nov 14, 2013
This was our 12th time to this resort, this time with 5 friends, and it is always a great vacation. We have been to many different resort around the Carribean, but we always look forward to coming back to the CAT. We've had better food and fancier rooms, but for the money you won't find a better value and friendlier staff. Great Time.

| Eugene, Oregon Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

16 Nights review

Would recommend Tue, Oct 29, 2013
Review Part 2. Food review, please consider that they are cooking for folks from USA to Europeans, Russians, and not forgetting their own Mexican nationality that visits this resort. As a whole the food, living in Los Angeles, I give it a 3 star, like Golden Coral standard, Even for the restaurants. Which is not bad. The staff, 95% is very friendly. "Hola" all the way. Please try to learn some greetings, and how to order some coffee or tea or ice water in spanish. It will be equivalent to not knowing these basic English when in USA. Room cleaning staff, I leave $2 us dollars on my full bed everyday for Ms. Maria. And it does miracles. Appreciate them instead of treating them like you have your rights or you already paid for it and expect to be treated like little gods. I paid for the up grade, "Privilege" must get that if you can, $10 per person, for my Wife and myself (they say it the special, usually $20 per person). Go to your bank before you leave and change $100 us dollars in ones for any tips that you might want to give to, like your favorite waiter that you see every morning at the buffet, again it does miracle. The resort as a whole, no mosquitos, a little ant here and there, but it is the tropics, very hard to keep them away, do not bring food into your rooms or if you buy chips or chocolate, put them in zip lock bags, do not eat in your rooms or have sweets drinks in cups left in the room at any time. There will be ants. Rinse the cup of coffee you make in your room in the morning after use. I grew up in the tropics so any reviews that you read about ants in the room, usually 99%, occupants are eating in the room and have crumbs left here and there to invite them. Front desk is about communication. I check front desk on 3 different occasions, and one last time before I left on my last day, and so it makes check out fast and easy, no bills, no surprises. I paid up front with my credit card for some stuff my Wife bought at some stores at the desk, so don't have to deal with it at check out and of course I ask them if it is paid. All came out good. They gave me the survey form and I took time to fill it out the night before I check out, and also I arranged for the staff to come up to the room on the day I leave to carry all my suitcase to the lobby and they came 20 minutes before I before I have to be at the lobby for my Greyline transportation pickup to go to the airport. Snorkel at the beck where there is the stepping stones, lots of fish and more fish. Take some bread from the hotel and put it in the bottle water and mix it with sea water and release it slowly. Bring your water sandals so the stones is not a problem, you can snorkel with and sandals. (bike sandals, water sandals, tied up sandals). Bring your own snorkel mask and breather, because the hotel ones only allow usage for one hour each time.

Shopping hint

Walk to the village, one store is closing, 50% OFF. If you find the stuff you like, e.g. UV shirts, good deal. Look at the Dolphins all you like, Seals, Mantees, alot of fish in the Mantees pool, wow. Keep walking to the end of the pier where the boats and yachts come in. One way walk less than 1.5 mile. You will walk past the Dreams Resort, you can go in and look around, and they have Dolphins too. But the village is were they have more than 40 to 50 Dolphins. And you can see people have fun with the dolphins for what they pay for. They come from as far as Cancun down to here and we can just walk over there.

| Los Angeles, California Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Pretty Good but you must ask and ask to get what you want

Would recommend Thu, Oct 17, 2013
I am still here, day six out of seventeen days spend here. Day one, the electrical bathroom light had water coming out of it, all 3 light outlet in the ceiling, had to move out of the room at around 2am, first night in the hotel, my Wife called the lobby and they sent a technician and he took a look ant straight away called the lobby to have us move or have else someone might get electrocuted. We paid extra $320 to have this upgrade, and all the privileged in building "B" upgrade is on the Forth floor in which the elevator has not been working for god knows how long it has been, the poor cleaning crews had to climb up and down and carry their cleaning stuff, big stuff daily. We moved to building "C" but the room had a musty smell, too much humidity, humidity in the refrigeration is not strong enough to remove it so there is mold in the ducting system, you can smell it, and if you walk in and you get a headache then you know it is mold growing. The bed was bad. We had to call them to let them know that we are staying here for a long time and we need a comfortable bed. So we got move the third day back to building "B" forth floor which you had to walk everyday up and down, but the bed was really good, and no musty smell.

Entertainment hint

10 miles by TAXI US$15, one way, to Akumal for good snorkeling.

| Los Angeles Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Just OK

Would not recommend Mon, Jun 17, 2013
The hotel itself is well kept. The food was good at all the restaurants. The room cleanliness was something less than desired. There were two days where our room was not cleaned for no apparent reason. On our return to our rom after 6:00pm we found that our room was not cleaned, no fresh towels or sheets. Upon calling the front desk to inquire as to why or could the room be cleaned they stated that the staff that attended to the cleaning of the roms left at 6:00pm. After a second call they offered to at least bring clean towels and some coffee and bottled water. The last thing was the beach... what a disappointment, it was very rocky and you need water shoes. Not the pretty whitesand beaches we are accustomed to at Playa Del Carmen. We will not be coming back.

| Dallas, Texas Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Staff

Would recommend Tue, May 21, 2013
The staff makes the grade! Everyone was so mice and pleasant The rooms are average, no mini bar very old tv's but they were clean and kept clean. Many activiites bars are great.

Dining

Japanse was awesome.

| New Jersey Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Family vacation

Would recommend Mon, May 6, 2013
We had a pleasant stay. All the staff was very attentive and friendly. We enjoyed all the amenities, such as pools, spa, water sports; and the restaurants were amazing, this resort was a total value for your money.

Money saver

There is a Supermarket (Chedraui) right outside the entrance to Puerto Aventura, you can find everything there for a much cheaper price, they even have a pharmacy and you can see a Doctor for $5 USD. Medicine at the hotel or pharmacy inside the complex extremely overpriced.

| Costa Mesa, California Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

First Time Experience! GREAT!

Would recommend Sun, Apr 14, 2013
Great Experience and Great Value for the money!. The upgrade to the Privileged suite made the vacation for us! Only 20 dollars per day extra and the suite had two rooms, huge bathroom and a great balcony with plunge pool! Food was good, to go to restaurants early as they do not take reservations. Already planning second trip back!

| Bronx, New york Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Just ok

Would not recommend Sun, Mar 31, 2013
We had stayed at another hotel in Puerto Aventuras which is a "boutique hotel" and LOVED it. Wanted to bring our kids back and have more amenities in the same area. Wasn't super impressed. The rooms were actually kind of gross. Food was just ok. Great beach and pools though.

| Minnesota Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Pretty average

Would not recommend Mon, Mar 18, 2013
I'll preface this by saying this is my first time to the Cancun/Riviera Maya area of Mexico and I'm not a big resort/all inclusive traveler. The facilities were pretty good. We had a "priveledged room," which offered some very nice upgrades. Still, the TV service barely worked, very limited outlets, horrible lighting in the room, and the AC made loud BANG noises (I assume this was a damper dropping). The food was very very average and I never really craved anything they were offering and I'm not even that picky when it comes to food, so that says something. Service for drinks was kind of so so and it was difficult to get ice in any drink. It's a good place for kids and older people as even during spring break, it was fairly tame. Overall I think it was a decent value, but I'm sure there are a lot nicer resorts in that region.

Attractions

If they haven't fully developed around it yet, there's an old ruin on a lagoon that sits just to the SW of Puerto Aventuras. It's REALLY cool.

| Iowa, USA Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Better than I thought

Would recommend Tue, Nov 13, 2012
The price that we payed was really good so I expected less than what the Hotel provides. Some furniture of the room looks a little bit old but everything else was ok. Amenities, food and everything else were very good.

Attractions

We had a great time at Xplor park and the location of this resort it's near from every other park so that it´s really comfortable. (Rent a car)

| México City Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 5 /5