$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 6, 2014 Check-out: Dec 9, 2014

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

3 stars
Av. Xcacel, Puerto Aventuras Riviera Maya, Puerto Aventuras, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
203 reviews
Wonderful week

Our 6 time in Cancun second time at Catalonia Riviera Maya. Great hotel, employees are just... See full review

  • Yerl
  • Oct 13, 2014
The best resort and service ever!!!

As soon as we got to the hotel they serve us right away with drinks and made sure that everything's... See full review

  • Hannah urruchi
  • Aug 29, 2014
Family-friendly Caribbean resort on private Puerto Aventuras estate
Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan sits in the heart of Riviera Maya on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. This all-inclusive, family-friendly resort is 50 miles from Cancun's International Airport and 15 minutes from the beach town of Playa del Carmen. Catalonia boasts five swimming pools, including a children's pool, six restaurants, seven bars, fitness center, disco, tennis court and kids club. Surrounded by white sand beaches and the second largest coral reef in the world, Catalonia's backdrop couldn't be more spectacular.
Highlights:
  • Located on private estate
  • Family-friendly with children's pool, kids club
  • Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes
Rooms:

Expect soothing, neutral colors and Mexican/Caribbean decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors at Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan. Rooms include a king or two double beds, private balcony, stocked mini-bar, satellite TV, direct access phone and alarm clock. The 12 oceanfront superior rooms are modernly decorated and include plasma TV, free safe deposit box and stunning ocean views. Privileged suites offer guests LCD TVs, Wi-Fi, bathrobes and slippers, walk-in closets and private mini-pool on the terrace or balcony.

Features:

Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan's convenient location is within walking distance to a beach boardwalk with shops and restaurants as well as a nine-hole golf course. On-site activities include non-motorized water sports such as snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, water aerobics, water polo and pool volleyball. Guests also enjoy beach volleyball, table tennis, shuffleboard, basketball, archery, cycling and daytime tennis. The resort boasts the two-floor Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes, complex hydrotherapy circuit, sauna, ice puddle and hydromassage bath. For a fee, guest may book a service such as massage or hair appointment with the spa.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 mi/80 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/9.5 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (44 mi/71 km)
  • Chichen Itza (155 mi/250 km)
Business­
  • Conference facilities and wireless Internet are available for a fee

Hotel Map

20.5041 -87.2208
Area served
Near Playa del Carmen (15 minutes)
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (1 hour)
Area description
A great marina with restaurants and bars at a walking distance as well as a 9-hole golf course makes Puerto Aventuras a place that stands out, a place for those looking for the authentic Caribbean.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Rooms

2 Bedroom Privileged Family Suite
2 Bedroom Privileged Family Suite Brand new rooms with modern decoration, Bedroom with 02 Queen bed and separated living room with pullout sofabed, Walk-in closet, Private duplex bath tub on the terrace or balcony, Air conditioning and ceiling fan, Coffee maker, 2 Plasma/LCD cable TV, Complimentary minibar refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer and Free Safety deposit box
Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
The standard rooms are equipped with:1 king size bed or two double beds - Air conditioning - Satellite TV - Direct access phone - Safety deposit box (with extra charge) - Full bathroom with shower and bathtub - Hair dryer - Rooms with terrace or balcony.
Privileged Garden view with Private Balcony
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Rooms, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with king 1 size bed or 2 twin bed, LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, bathrobes and slippers, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and terrace/balcony.
Privileged Suite with Terrace, Private Pool
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Suites, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with a living room and a separate bed room with king size bed, Walk-in closet, 2 LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and a private mini pool on the terrace/balcony.
Oceanfront with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Large oceanfront rooms with a modern style. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box ($). The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya.
Pool or Ocean View with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Large pool or ocean view rooms with a Mexican-Caribbean. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box ($). The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya
Privileged Honeymoon Garden View with Private Balcony
Privileged Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bellavista
Delicious la carte Italian specialties o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
Los Alebrijes
Authentic Mexican cuisine la carte o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
La Creperie
Icecream, Milkshakes and Crepes Specialties a-la-carte
La Brisa
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Tequila Bar
Swim up bar.
El Mercado
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Bamboleo
The best Grill & Steak specialties la carte o Open air o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual
La Pinata
Disco Bar.
Margaritas
Swim up bar.
Mikado
Asiatic cuisine la carte with teppanyaki tables and sushi o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (203)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.5

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deanaldo
Business
Marshalltown, IA 50158, USA
Feb 28, 2014

Catalonia Riviera Maya February 2014

We spent 9 night at this property and enjoyed every one of them! Our 3rd time staying at this location and the added services are great (room service 24 hrs a day) for the privileged booking. The staff bust their backs for the guests!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book DreamDays private transfer to save time from the airport to the resort which was in Puerto Aventuras.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rocadel
Business
Oregon
Jan 22, 2014

Very good hotel need somes updates but is a perfec family all inclusive

Location is the key in catalonia because we when to the mayans ruins and cancun and is close to all mane atractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy all yours souvenirs in playa and not in tulum, buy only in a shop whit market prices on each article

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gedma
Business
Vancouver, Washington
Jan 14, 2014

Great family getaway

Our experience was good. The room with the privet swimming pool outside was awesome for our kids, the room was clean as well. They had a nice lagoon that you can swim when the ocean gets too wavey. The food was good but they didn't have crab, lobster tail or shrimp except @ the Japanese restaurant. The kids also loved the mini club but if they are under 4 years old you have to be their with your kids you can't just leave them. Non of the other trips we went to had an option for a privet swimming pool it's great to have with kids cuz they get too cold in the ocean or the hotel pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mark fenix 354
Business
new york
Jan 12, 2014

hotel and beach

Great hotel really enjoy myself, great beaches and staff was very friendly. The reef was very beautiful and the beach activates was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dimzzy
Business
Boston
Dec 7, 2013

Good deal, but not if you have kids

We bought Catalonia Riviera Maya Hotel deal, but on the place we've been moved to the Catalonia Yucatan Beach which has oldest, heavily used rooms. For better rooms advertised in the web site they want extra $25 per person per night. Beach is not really for swimming: it's rocky and has sea urchins. We used beach of the nearby hotel. Food was good. There were 4 restaurants of choice (Japan, Mexican, Italian and Steak) and creperie (which was actually great). There were 2 negative moments: 1 - our hairdryer stopped working, we asked to repair it or change it, but we were waiting for replacement for about 4 days! And we reminded them twice per day to fix it. 2 - in the last night of our stay there was a beach party, a very loud one just opposite our room, window was closed but it was impossible to sleep. Hotel administration did not care... There were four of us: parents and two kids (3 and 5).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss creperie

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The canuk
Business
BC Canada
Nov 24, 2013

A great first time at an affordable All Inclusive Resort

The Catalonia Rivera Maya is a great value for the money All inclusive Resort, it is very safe with a very comfortable atmosphere, close to all kinds of other local entertainment spots and points of interest . We found there to be lots of choice at the two well prepared buffets and incredible fine dining in all the Alacart Restaurants in the Evening. The staff are incredible , so friendly, kind and so much fun, we found the ALL the staff would make a point to go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and special. The garden rooms are average at best although we were given the opportunity to upgrade for an additional cost we found we were not spending any time in the room other than to shower and sleep so it was not good economics to upgrade the room. The Grounds are kept well manicured and clean, the beaches are beautiful and well set up although one little complaint would be the first 5 ft of water is quite rocky and hard to get in and out of in bare feet, but once in the water the area in front of the beach made for some incredible snorkeling with a very diverse sea life dwelling in the reefs . I would highly recommend the resort if looking for a good vacation that is very affordable and family friendly in the beautiful Mexican Caribbean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Alacart dining within the resort is incredible

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelers J S
Business
Eugene, Oregon
Nov 14, 2013

Can't wait to get back here.

This was our 12th time to this resort, this time with 5 friends, and it is always a great vacation. We have been to many different resort around the Carribean, but we always look forward to coming back to the CAT. We've had better food and fancier rooms, but for the money you won't find a better value and friendlier staff. Great Time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chiller Out
Business
Los Angeles, California
Oct 29, 2013

16 Nights review

Review Part 2. Food review, please consider that they are cooking for folks from USA to Europeans, Russians, and not forgetting their own Mexican nationality that visits this resort. As a whole the food, living in Los Angeles, I give it a 3 star, like Golden Coral standard, Even for the restaurants. Which is not bad. The staff, 95% is very friendly. "Hola" all the way. Please try to learn some greetings, and how to order some coffee or tea or ice water in spanish. It will be equivalent to not knowing these basic English when in USA. Room cleaning staff, I leave $2 us dollars on my full bed everyday for Ms. Maria. And it does miracles. Appreciate them instead of treating them like you have your rights or you already paid for it and expect to be treated like little gods. I paid for the up grade, "Privilege" must get that if you can, $10 per person, for my Wife and myself (they say it the special, usually $20 per person). Go to your bank before you leave and change $100 us dollars in ones for any tips that you might want to give to, like your favorite waiter that you see every morning at the buffet, again it does miracle. The resort as a whole, no mosquitos, a little ant here and there, but it is the tropics, very hard to keep them away, do not bring food into your rooms or if you buy chips or chocolate, put them in zip lock bags, do not eat in your rooms or have sweets drinks in cups left in the room at any time. There will be ants. Rinse the cup of coffee you make in your room in the morning after use. I grew up in the tropics so any reviews that you read about ants in the room, usually 99%, occupants are eating in the room and have crumbs left here and there to invite them. Front desk is about communication. I check front desk on 3 different occasions, and one last time before I left on my last day, and so it makes check out fast and easy, no bills, no surprises. I paid up front with my credit card for some stuff my Wife bought at some stores at the desk, so don't have to deal with it at check out and of course I ask them if it is paid. All came out good. They gave me the survey form and I took time to fill it out the night before I check out, and also I arranged for the staff to come up to the room on the day I leave to carry all my suitcase to the lobby and they came 20 minutes before I before I have to be at the lobby for my Greyline transportation pickup to go to the airport. Snorkel at the beck where there is the stepping stones, lots of fish and more fish. Take some bread from the hotel and put it in the bottle water and mix it with sea water and release it slowly. Bring your water sandals so the stones is not a problem, you can snorkel with and sandals. (bike sandals, water sandals, tied up sandals). Bring your own snorkel mask and breather, because the hotel ones only allow usage for one hour each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the village, one store is closing, 50% OFF. If you find the stuff you like, e.g. UV shirts, good deal. Look at the Dolphins all you like, Seals, Mantees, alot of fish in the Mantees pool, wow. Keep walking to the end of the pier where the boats and yachts come in. One way walk less than 1.5 mile. You will walk past the Dreams Resort, you can go in and look around, and they have Dolphins too. But the village is were they have more than 40 to 50 Dolphins. And you can see people have fun with the dolphins for what they pay for. They come from as far as Cancun down to here and we can just walk over there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chiller Out
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 17, 2013

Pretty Good but you must ask and ask to get what you want

I am still here, day six out of seventeen days spend here. Day one, the electrical bathroom light had water coming out of it, all 3 light outlet in the ceiling, had to move out of the room at around 2am, first night in the hotel, my Wife called the lobby and they sent a technician and he took a look ant straight away called the lobby to have us move or have else someone might get electrocuted. We paid extra $320 to have this upgrade, and all the privileged in building "B" upgrade is on the Forth floor in which the elevator has not been working for god knows how long it has been, the poor cleaning crews had to climb up and down and carry their cleaning stuff, big stuff daily. We moved to building "C" but the room had a musty smell, too much humidity, humidity in the refrigeration is not strong enough to remove it so there is mold in the ducting system, you can smell it, and if you walk in and you get a headache then you know it is mold growing. The bed was bad. We had to call them to let them know that we are staying here for a long time and we need a comfortable bed. So we got move the third day back to building "B" forth floor which you had to walk everyday up and down, but the bed was really good, and no musty smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

10 miles by TAXI US$15, one way, to Akumal for good snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jason and Amber
Business
E-Town, KY
Jul 4, 2013

Awesome

Wonderful place. Everything was amazing. The rooms were very nice. I would recommend getting preferred rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a marina down the road outside resort with really good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top