$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

3 stars
Av. Xcacel, Puerto Aventuras Riviera Maya, Puerto Aventuras, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
200 reviews
fun couples getaway

best vacation ever. fun, sun ,good food . staff very pleasant See full review

  • maddog233
  • May 27, 2014
30th Anniversary Get-Away

My husband and I had a wonderful time at this resort! The staff was very friendly, the room was... See full review

  • Turquoise Water Lover
  • Mar 24, 2014
Family-friendly Caribbean resort on private Puerto Aventuras estate
Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan sits in the heart of Riviera Maya on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. This all-inclusive, family-friendly resort is 50 miles from Cancun's International Airport and 15 minutes from the beach town of Playa del Carmen. Catalonia boasts five swimming pools, including a children's pool, six restaurants, seven bars, fitness center, disco, tennis court and kids club. Surrounded by white sand beaches and the second largest coral reef in the world, Catalonia's backdrop couldn't be more spectacular.
Highlights:
  • Located on private estate
  • Family-friendly with children's pool, kids club
  • Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes
Rooms:

Expect soothing, neutral colors and Mexican/Caribbean decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors at Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan. Rooms include a king or two double beds, private balcony, stocked mini-bar, satellite TV, direct access phone and alarm clock. The 12 oceanfront superior rooms are modernly decorated and include plasma TV, free safe deposit box and stunning ocean views. Privileged suites offer guests LCD TVs, Wi-Fi, bathrobes and slippers, walk-in closets and private mini-pool on the terrace or balcony.

Features:

Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan's convenient location is within walking distance to a beach boardwalk with shops and restaurants as well as a nine-hole golf course. On-site activities include non-motorized water sports such as snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, water aerobics, water polo and pool volleyball. Guests also enjoy beach volleyball, table tennis, shuffleboard, basketball, archery, cycling and daytime tennis. The resort boasts the two-floor Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes, complex hydrotherapy circuit, sauna, ice puddle and hydromassage bath. For a fee, guest may book a service such as massage or hair appointment with the spa.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 mi/80 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/9.5 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (44 mi/71 km)
  • Chichen Itza (155 mi/250 km)
Business­
  • Conference facilities and wireless Internet are available for a fee

Hotel Map

20.5041 -87.2208
Area served
Near Playa del Carmen (15 minutes)
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (1 hour)
Area description
A great marina with restaurants and bars at a walking distance as well as a 9-hole golf course makes Puerto Aventuras a place that stands out, a place for those looking for the authentic Caribbean.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Rooms

2 Bedroom Privileged Family Suite
2 Bedroom Privileged Family Suite Brand new rooms with modern decoration, Bedroom with 02 Queen bed and separated living room with pullout sofabed, Walk-in closet, Private duplex bath tub on the terrace or balcony, Air conditioning and ceiling fan, Coffee maker, 2 Plasma/LCD cable TV, Complimentary minibar refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer and Free Safety deposit box
Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
The standard rooms are equipped with:1 king size bed or two double beds - Air conditioning - Satellite TV - Direct access phone - Safety deposit box (with extra charge) - Full bathroom with shower and bathtub - Hair dryer - Rooms with terrace or balcony.
Privileged Garden view with Private Balcony
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Rooms, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with king 1 size bed or 2 twin bed, LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, bathrobes and slippers, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and terrace/balcony.
Privileged Suite with Terrace, Private Pool
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Suites, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with a living room and a separate bed room with king size bed, Walk-in closet, 2 LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and a private mini pool on the terrace/balcony.
Oceanfront with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Large oceanfront rooms with a modern style. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box ($). The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya.
Pool or Ocean View with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Large pool or ocean view rooms with a Mexican-Caribbean. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box ($). The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya
Privileged Honeymoon Garden View with Private Balcony
Privileged Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bellavista
Delicious la carte Italian specialties o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
Los Alebrijes
Authentic Mexican cuisine la carte o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
La Creperie
Icecream, Milkshakes and Crepes Specialties a-la-carte
La Brisa
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Tequila Bar
Swim up bar.
El Mercado
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Bamboleo
The best Grill & Steak specialties la carte o Open air o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual
La Pinata
Disco Bar.
Margaritas
Swim up bar.
Mikado
Asiatic cuisine la carte with teppanyaki tables and sushi o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 200
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.5

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelers J S
Eugene, Oregon
Nov 14, 2013

Can't wait to get back here.

This was our 12th time to this resort, this time with 5 friends, and it is always a great vacation. We have been to many different resort around the Carribean, but we always look forward to coming back to the CAT. We've had better food and fancier rooms, but for the money you won't find a better value and friendlier staff. Great Time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chiller Out
Los Angeles, California
Oct 29, 2013

16 Nights review

Review Part 2. Food review, please consider that they are cooking for folks from USA to Europeans, Russians, and not forgetting their own Mexican nationality that visits this resort. As a whole the food, living in Los Angeles, I give it a 3 star, like Golden Coral standard, Even for the restaurants. Which is not bad. The staff, 95% is very friendly. "Hola" all the way. Please try to learn some greetings, and how to order some coffee or tea or ice water in spanish. It will be equivalent to not knowing these basic English when in USA. Room cleaning staff, I leave $2 us dollars on my full bed everyday for Ms. Maria. And it does miracles. Appreciate them instead of treating them like you have your rights or you already paid for it and expect to be treated like little gods. I paid for the up grade, "Privilege" must get that if you can, $10 per person, for my Wife and myself (they say it the special, usually $20 per person). Go to your bank before you leave and change $100 us dollars in ones for any tips that you might want to give to, like your favorite waiter that you see every morning at the buffet, again it does miracle. The resort as a whole, no mosquitos, a little ant here and there, but it is the tropics, very hard to keep them away, do not bring food into your rooms or if you buy chips or chocolate, put them in zip lock bags, do not eat in your rooms or have sweets drinks in cups left in the room at any time. There will be ants. Rinse the cup of coffee you make in your room in the morning after use. I grew up in the tropics so any reviews that you read about ants in the room, usually 99%, occupants are eating in the room and have crumbs left here and there to invite them. Front desk is about communication. I check front desk on 3 different occasions, and one last time before I left on my last day, and so it makes check out fast and easy, no bills, no surprises. I paid up front with my credit card for some stuff my Wife bought at some stores at the desk, so don't have to deal with it at check out and of course I ask them if it is paid. All came out good. They gave me the survey form and I took time to fill it out the night before I check out, and also I arranged for the staff to come up to the room on the day I leave to carry all my suitcase to the lobby and they came 20 minutes before I before I have to be at the lobby for my Greyline transportation pickup to go to the airport. Snorkel at the beck where there is the stepping stones, lots of fish and more fish. Take some bread from the hotel and put it in the bottle water and mix it with sea water and release it slowly. Bring your water sandals so the stones is not a problem, you can snorkel with and sandals. (bike sandals, water sandals, tied up sandals). Bring your own snorkel mask and breather, because the hotel ones only allow usage for one hour each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the village, one store is closing, 50% OFF. If you find the stuff you like, e.g. UV shirts, good deal. Look at the Dolphins all you like, Seals, Mantees, alot of fish in the Mantees pool, wow. Keep walking to the end of the pier where the boats and yachts come in. One way walk less than 1.5 mile. You will walk past the Dreams Resort, you can go in and look around, and they have Dolphins too. But the village is were they have more than 40 to 50 Dolphins. And you can see people have fun with the dolphins for what they pay for. They come from as far as Cancun down to here and we can just walk over there.

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chiller Out
Los Angeles
Oct 17, 2013

Pretty Good but you must ask and ask to get what you want

I am still here, day six out of seventeen days spend here. Day one, the electrical bathroom light had water coming out of it, all 3 light outlet in the ceiling, had to move out of the room at around 2am, first night in the hotel, my Wife called the lobby and they sent a technician and he took a look ant straight away called the lobby to have us move or have else someone might get electrocuted. We paid extra $320 to have this upgrade, and all the privileged in building "B" upgrade is on the Forth floor in which the elevator has not been working for god knows how long it has been, the poor cleaning crews had to climb up and down and carry their cleaning stuff, big stuff daily. We moved to building "C" but the room had a musty smell, too much humidity, humidity in the refrigeration is not strong enough to remove it so there is mold in the ducting system, you can smell it, and if you walk in and you get a headache then you know it is mold growing. The bed was bad. We had to call them to let them know that we are staying here for a long time and we need a comfortable bed. So we got move the third day back to building "B" forth floor which you had to walk everyday up and down, but the bed was really good, and no musty smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

10 miles by TAXI US$15, one way, to Akumal for good snorkeling.

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jason and Amber
E-Town, KY
Jul 4, 2013

Awesome

Wonderful place. Everything was amazing. The rooms were very nice. I would recommend getting preferred rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a marina down the road outside resort with really good food.

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jason and Amber
E-Town, KY
Jun 28, 2013

AWESOME TIME!!!!

From the moment my wife and I arrived to the moment we left the staff was wonderful. We stayed in a Privileged Suite and it was incredible. Staff cleaned everyday and if we ever needed anything they were more than happy to grant whatever our request was. I would recommend this resort to anyone. Were are already planning our next visit there. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a little town inside a marina a short walk away that has wonderful Mexican food. You can eat while watching dolphins.

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach Lover II
Dallas, Texas
Jun 17, 2013

Just OK

The hotel itself is well kept. The food was good at all the restaurants. The room cleanliness was something less than desired. There were two days where our room was not cleaned for no apparent reason. On our return to our rom after 6:00pm we found that our room was not cleaned, no fresh towels or sheets. Upon calling the front desk to inquire as to why or could the room be cleaned they stated that the staff that attended to the cleaning of the roms left at 6:00pm. After a second call they offered to at least bring clean towels and some coffee and bottled water. The last thing was the beach... what a disappointment, it was very rocky and you need water shoes. Not the pretty whitesand beaches we are accustomed to at Playa Del Carmen. We will not be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enis
Erie,PA
Jun 1, 2013

Very clean!

Nice resort,We have room with perfect view on the pool and the sea!Very clean place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Puerto Aventuras ,safe!

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momodonn4
New Jersey
May 21, 2013

Staff

The staff makes the grade! Everyone was so mice and pleasant The rooms are average, no mini bar very old tv's but they were clean and kept clean. Many activiites bars are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Japanse was awesome.

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Morfin Salinas
Costa Mesa, California
May 6, 2013

Family vacation

We had a pleasant stay. All the staff was very attentive and friendly. We enjoyed all the amenities, such as pools, spa, water sports; and the restaurants were amazing, this resort was a total value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Supermarket (Chedraui) right outside the entrance to Puerto Aventura, you can find everything there for a much cheaper price, they even have a pharmacy and you can see a Doctor for $5 USD. Medicine at the hotel or pharmacy inside the complex extremely overpriced.

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PAMBEACH
Bronx, New york
Apr 14, 2013

First Time Experience! GREAT!

Great Experience and Great Value for the money!. The upgrade to the Privileged suite made the vacation for us! Only 20 dollars per day extra and the suite had two rooms, huge bathroom and a great balcony with plunge pool! Food was good, to go to restaurants early as they do not take reservations. Already planning second trip back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search