$322 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 16, 2015 Check-out: Mar 19, 2015

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

3 stars
Av. Xcacel, Puerto Aventuras Riviera Maya, Puerto Aventuras, 77750
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
211 reviews
Great place for the whole family

Great trip as always, the staff is the best here, our 4th trip to the same hotel and we would/will... See full review

  • Benjamin M.
  • Jan 7, 2015
Awsome

Very nice hotel and location. Small, everything was close by, food is average, staff nice and... See full review

  • Ro Girl
  • Dec 29, 2014
Family-friendly Caribbean resort on private Puerto Aventuras estate
Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan sits in the heart of Riviera Maya on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. This all-inclusive, family-friendly resort is 50 miles from Cancun's International Airport and 15 minutes from the beach town of Playa del Carmen. Catalonia boasts five swimming pools, including a children's pool, six restaurants, seven bars, fitness center, disco, tennis court and kids club. Surrounded by white sand beaches and the second largest coral reef in the world, Catalonia's backdrop couldn't be more spectacular.
Highlights:
  • Located on private estate
  • Family-friendly with children's pool, kids club
  • Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes
Rooms:

Expect soothing, neutral colors and Mexican/Caribbean decor with dark wood accents and tiled floors at Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan. Rooms include a king or two double beds, private balcony, stocked mini-bar, satellite TV, direct access phone and alarm clock. The 12 oceanfront superior rooms are modernly decorated and include plasma TV, free safe deposit box and stunning ocean views. Privileged suites offer guests LCD TVs, Wi-Fi, bathrobes and slippers, walk-in closets and private mini-pool on the terrace or balcony.

Features:

Catalonia Riviera Maya & Yucatan's convenient location is within walking distance to a beach boardwalk with shops and restaurants as well as a nine-hole golf course. On-site activities include non-motorized water sports such as snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, water aerobics, water polo and pool volleyball. Guests also enjoy beach volleyball, table tennis, shuffleboard, basketball, archery, cycling and daytime tennis. The resort boasts the two-floor Spa Alegria with full gym, yoga and Pilates classes, complex hydrotherapy circuit, sauna, ice puddle and hydromassage bath. For a fee, guest may book a service such as massage or hair appointment with the spa.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (50 mi/80 km)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (5 mi/9.5 km)
  • Tulum pyramids (44 mi/71 km)
  • Chichen Itza (155 mi/250 km)
Business­
  • Conference facilities and wireless Internet are available for a fee

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Family Suite
2 Bedroom Privileged Family Suite Brand new rooms with modern decoration, Bedroom with 02 Queen bed and separated living room with pullout sofabed, Walk-in closet, Private duplex bath tub on the terrace or balcony, Air conditioning and ceiling fan, Coffee maker, 2 Plasma/LCD cable TV, Complimentary minibar refreshed with water, soft drinks and beer and Free Safety deposit box
Standard Room - Garden View with Private Balcony
The standard rooms are equipped with:1 king size bed or two double beds - Air conditioning - LCD/TV - Direct access phone - Safety deposit box - Full bathroom with shower and bathtub - Hair dryer - Rooms with terrace or balcony.
Privileged Superior
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Rooms, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with king 1 size bed or 2 Dbl bed, LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, bathrobes and slippers, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and terrace/balcony.
Privileged Suite with Terrace, Private Pool
Catalonia Riviera Maya, Privileged Section. Privileged Suites, furnished in a contemporary style, equipped with a living room and a separate bed room with king size bed, Walk-in closet, 2 LCD-TV's, WI-FI, mini bar, coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling fan, direct access phone, safety deposit box, a full bathroom with hairdryer, and a private mini pool on the terrace/balcony.
Oceanfront with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Oceanfront rooms with a modern style. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box. The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya.
Pool or Ocean View with Private Balcony
Catalonia Yucatan Section. Pool or ocean view rooms with a Mexican-Caribbean. They are provided with balcony, full bathroom with tube, shower and hairdryer, Cable TV, telephone, WiFi internet, and safety deposit box. The rooms are located at Catalonia Yucatan side sharing all services and facilities with Catalonia Riviera Maya
Privileged Honeymoon Garden View with Private Balcony
Privileged Honeymoon rooms with a modern and romantic decoration and special amenities, a 30 minutes coupe massage and a romantic private dinner is included in the room amenities. Canopy king size bed with special bed linens. Special amenities for honeymooners (decoration with flowers and towels upon arrival), Sparkling wine and chocolate covered fruit in room upon arrival, A picture of the couple taken by our hotel photographer. Surprise gift, Breakfast in bed (1 time during the stay).

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bellavista
Delicious la carte Italian specialties o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
Los Alebrijes
Authentic Mexican cuisine la carte o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress code: Casual
La Creperie
Icecream, Milkshakes and Crepes Specialties a-la-carte
La Brisa
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Tequila Bar
Swim up bar.
El Mercado
International buffet style with nightly theme dinners.
Bamboleo
The best Grill & Steak specialties la carte o Open air o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual
La Pinata
Disco Bar.
Margaritas
Swim up bar.
Mikado
Asiatic cuisine la carte with teppanyaki tables and sushi o Air-conditioned o Dinner only o Dress Code: Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.5

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chinito Lindo
Business
Newark, NJ
Jul 13, 2014

Resort was OK, but I would not come back

As you first arrive at the Catalonia Riviera Maya, the lobby was rather small, hot (as of lack of ventilation), and did not offer that welcoming feel. Our room was just an ordinary room. I expected a mini fridge and an iron for which none came with. The various buffet restaurants in the resort offered great selection of food items, but each item ran out fast. People had to wait a while for the kitchen to bring out new food. The beach was a disappointment. It was rocky and people can barely walk into the water past your knees. As a tip, you can walk onto the beach from the resort next door. The one left of the Catalonia. We snorkeled there and swam with lots of fish. From the dates we traveled, the Catalonia Riviera Maya was the most economical package among all search results along the Mayan Riviera. Our regret is that we should have paid a little extra per person for a better resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

In addition to the two buffets in the resort, guests also have the option to dine at several A La Carte restaurants for Japanese, Mexican, Italian, and fine cuts steakhouse. They are ready to serve dinner at 6:00pm daily. They don't take reservations, only first come fist serve. If you get there after 8:00pm, you won't get a table at all. So, get there early if you want to eat at one of those places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eby555
Business
Houston
Jul 7, 2014

Eby

I was very cool with the resort except for the fact that I had to pay extra to use a safe in my room. It is totally ridiculous, the hotel should provide a safe for every room so that customers will have that confidence that their items are safe without having to pay extra for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The night shows and live bands were awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeeShayzoh
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 7, 2014

Awesome Vacation!! but theres always room for improvement

I had a great time on vacation. Before I get into the details on the hotel please be advised that the resort is about an HOUR away from the Cancun airport. I didnt realize this until I booked the vacation. While for some people that may not be an issue, but I am still apprehensive about the safety off the resorts in mexico. But nevertheless we were safe. We took a shuttle to and from the airport. it was about $125.00 per person round trip but it was worth the safety. I wouldnt trust a taxi. Anywhoo, once we arrived at the resort we were welcomed with drinks and they took our luggage. Check in was easy. Everyone was very friendly. The food on the resort was ok. I was excited about all inclusive but I felt like I was in college at the cafeteria with the buffet style setting. We had unlimited drinks all day and night but I never got drunk (which never happens). Maybe they dilute the alcohol. The beach was beautiful but please be adviced that the beach is VERY ROCKY!!!! I read a review that said the same thing and I brought water shoes from Walmart for $5.00. My bf did not buy any water shoes in advance and had to pay $40.00 at the resort for his water shoes. Overall, we had an amazing time. I loved snorkling, the hibatchi restaurant was AMAZING, entertainment was exciting, the weather was perfect, jetskiing was fun. I recommend this resort for the price, but in the future I know what things I like and do not like on my vacation. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

long drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charna Family
Business
South Carolina
Jul 2, 2014

Great Couples Retreat!

What a great value! The location was amazing with a beach and some areas with less rocks so you could actually enjoy the water. There's a small city center about 10 min walk away with multiple bars, restaurants, and stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk downtown in 10 min to see dolphins!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ro Tex
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jun 4, 2014

Great for price

I've never done the Mexico all-inclusive thing before, and it was as advertised. It was a shame that during half our stay there was a downpour, but the grounds were beautiful so no complaints there. Really, the main issue with the hotel was the food. Got pretty sick from something at the buffet, but as I hear, that may be the case for most all-inclusives. Overall, it was definitely worth the low price, but it did get annoying with workers trying to up-sale you on everything, including pushing timeshares.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can rent a bike for free outside the hotel or make the walk down to the marina, where there's dolphins/manatees/seals and various restaurants/bars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maddog233
Business
hobart,in
May 27, 2014

fun couples getaway

best vacation ever. fun, sun ,good food . staff very pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

barter

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ro Girl
Business
Chicago, IL
May 18, 2014

Better than we expected!

Very very nice grounds, small and everything is close by, unlike other huge resorts where you have to walk a lot from the room to the beach/restaurants. Very clean rooms and grounds. We upgraded to the privilege to get a better room, because we choose to, nobody pushed us to upgrade, and we got a nice remodeled room. Food is average at the buffets, but we always find something good.. The other restaurants, open for dinner, are good, especially the Creperie. There is a snack bar/restaurant by the pool open from 10:30 to 5 pm, which was great! ( my 3 year old was getting hungry in between the main meals and the restaurants were closed, so this snack bar was perfect for me and my son!) For kids they have an indoor kids club staffed with 2 nice girls that actually speak very very good English!!! My son loved the kids club! Also on the beach there is a nice lagoon on the left side of the resort, with small water and lots lots of fish, and my son loved this very much. The beach is beautiful, clean, plenty of chairs , no need to reserve a spot early in the morning. If you upgrade to privilege, there is a very nice bar on the beach, Pure Chill, gorgeous views, nice drinks. The only downfall to the beach and the water is that going into water a few steps there are many rocks for a small portion, then sand again, so you have to be very careful going into water, but once you passed those rocks, its nice again and with nice sand. Everybody was very nice, very helpful. Overall was a very good stay, beautiful grounds, clean, lots of restaurants, nice beach, much better than we've expected for the money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Snack bar open when restaurants are closed, great option for kids that nap for lunch or get hungry in between meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Disappointed Family
Business
New Jersey
Apr 19, 2014

WORST HOTEL EVER!

We booked our reservation 5 months in advance with plenty of room availability. After traveling for 10 hours with a group of 6 adults and 2 small children, we finally arrived at the hotel only to be told they didn’t have any rooms for us because they overbooked. We fought with the managers for about 2 hours to no avail. Both the managers showed no sympathy or emotion, just spoke to us with a smirk on their face, and would not even give us a refund for their mistake. 100% their fault, yet we had no options but to go to a different hotel of theirs 40 minutes away. They also claimed they could not offer us a room the next day when people checked out and when others arrived after us they still got their rooms. They flat out lied to us. Never in my life have I dealt with such useless people who showed no sympathy whatsoever. To top it all off when we got there they did not tell us that they didn’t have rooms for us. Instead they pretended to offer us an upgraded room package if we chose to go to the other hotel. We were so tired of traveling that we turned down their supposed special offer. That’s when we found out that we only got the offer because they did not have our rooms. I hope nobody ever has to go through that experience again, so PLEASE STAY AWAY from this hotel for your own good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Turquoise Water Lover
Business
Colorado
Mar 24, 2014

30th Anniversary Get-Away

My husband and I had a wonderful time at this resort! The staff was very friendly, the room was comfortable, and clean. The food was great, and the beach and pools were awesome. We would highly recommend Catalonia Riviera Maya! The price was very reasonable, and we were able to go see the Mayan ruins one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deanaldo
Business
Marshalltown, IA 50158, USA
Feb 28, 2014

Catalonia Riviera Maya February 2014

We spent 9 night at this property and enjoyed every one of them! Our 3rd time staying at this location and the added services are great (room service 24 hrs a day) for the privileged booking. The staff bust their backs for the guests!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book DreamDays private transfer to save time from the airport to the resort which was in Puerto Aventuras.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top