$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Av. Xcacel, Puerto Aventuras Riviera Maya, Puerto Aventuras, 77750

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.5

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mai N.
Business
Vienna
Feb 18, 2015

It's ok. I won't be back.

Hotel is not impressive, old and average in everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Benjamin M.
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Great place for the whole family

Great trip as always, the staff is the best here, our 4th trip to the same hotel and we would/will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carina B.
Business
chicago
Jan 5, 2015

NYE in Mexico

Overall we had a nice time but there are some things that management could do differently. First, the ala carte restaurants do not take reservations (unless you upgrade, such as purchasing a lobster for the steakhouse). This was often a headache especially for larger parties with wait times 1-2 hours and some restaurants "selling out". Second, the free wifi was spotting at best. Never got a connection in the room and it wasn't guaranteed in the lobby either. Three, there was no beach it pool side service. Not a deal breaker but would have been nice. The did put on a great show for NYE and while initially disappointed that only the buffet restaurants were open, they really went all out. The beach is pretty rocky but if you can get over that it was nice and refreshing - lots of fish to see while snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ro Girl
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Awsome

Very nice hotel and location. Small, everything was close by, food is average, staff nice and friendly, beach is nice with plenty chairs and palapas, no need to reserve chairs on the beach early in the morning like other resorts we've been to. Very nice grounds, overall very beautiful. Advice: do not upgrade to privilege until you see your room, because it may be nice already. We upgraded to privilege suites, just to have another room for my sister in law, and the suites are absolute gorgeous!!!! Brand new remodeled and beautiful, you get a bedroom and a living room, and a huge balcony with bathtub. Kids club was great for my 2 yo, with 2 young teachers that were great and actually spoke English very well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the transportation when you book your trip, because cab/taxi was 120 $ from the airport to the resort!!!( 50 min drive with cab).

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baltimore Bartender
Business
Baltimore, MD
Nov 19, 2014

Great friendcation!

Great price, great location, great time! Hotel is located with a nice reef just offshore, marine life includes: eels, toad fish, puffers, lots of parrot fish, angel fish, sea snails, sea cucumbers, sea snakes, and barracuda. No need for snorkeling excursions. Hotel provides many activities throughout the day from archery, bike tours, volleyball, ping pong, water polo,etc. Food was decent at buffets, somewhat repetitive, but good enough. There are four a la carte restaurants included, number of visits is dependent on length of stay (we had four for a six night stay). The food there is great. There is also a snack bar/grill during the day by the pool. There is also a crepe bar and tapas bar that are included. We did not choose to upgrade to "privilege" level as we did not spend much time in room, and didn't think we missed out on anything. The hotel is located in puerto aventures which is a gated community that includes residential and hotels along with a marina that has shops and restaurants. That area is 10-15 minute walk and is very safe. The marina has an area to swim with dolphins and manatees. Did not participate, so can not comment on prices, but did view them one evening. All in all great vacation and great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The a la carte restaurants are first come first serve so get there early

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlitos5150
Business
New Jersey
Nov 14, 2014

Once again, PERFECT!!

Amenities, staff, food, everything is perfect. We are regular guests at this resort. It isthe best value in the Riviera Maya. Excellent accommodations and the staff is perfect. No complaints when staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kim and Clark
Business
Redfield , New York
Oct 22, 2014

Much needed vacation

My husband , friends, and I had a wonderful weeks vacation. I liked that it was a smaller resort than I have been to in the past. Had a lot of things to do, didn't even do everything available, would go back. Staff was very friendly and always cleaning pool and dining ereas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get to restaurant early.

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snusink
Business
salem, Utah
Oct 14, 2014

very good experience would go back.

Resort was very clean and the staff was amazing. check in was a little slow but that was due to volume and thoroughness. explaining all the resort had to offer. We didn't upgrade and didn't miss it. The food was very good at the buffet and the al la carts were outstanding. beach is rocky but lagoon has soft sand and plenty of fish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
From Jersey
Business
USA
Oct 14, 2014

"Standard room" you don't get all amenities. ....... very rocKY beach

First thing that happens when you get there is they tell you "you only paid for a standard room" and you need to upgrade to preferred status. That is $15, $25, $30, $35, or $45 a day per person. This gives you preferred seating and some other extras. Even with this preferred status most of the rooms have a horrible view of the next building. This hotel is in a big complex it takes 5 minutes to get there off the main road. Costs $25 to get to the nearest town Playa del Carmen and about $80 to airport by taxi...... even more to Cancun. If your into a nice clear beach, well the water seems clear but there was a lot of rocks... I've been to Cancun and this beach is no where near as nice. Overall the place is nice and relaxing if you do go make sure you visit the Japanese restaurant it is hibachi style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Visit the Japanese restaurant.... hibachi style very nice.

Review of Catalonia Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yerl
Business
Hasbrouck Heights, NJ
Oct 13, 2014

Wonderful week

Our 6 time in Cancun second time at Catalonia Riviera Maya. Great hotel, employees are just wonderful always wanting to help you and please in every possible aspect. Will definitely go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top