$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
530 reviews
Best vacation

We really enjoyed this trip. We went to the beach every single morning and watched the shows at... See full review

  • Best parent ever
  • Jun 20, 2014
Fantastic!

Viva wyndham was such an amazing time. The staff were nothing but friendly and they had energy to... See full review

  • MMiz
  • May 24, 2014
Caribbean beach resort with swim-up bar and Jacuzzi near Mayan ruins
The all-inclusive Viva Wyndham Maya is located just two miles from Playa del Carmen and a short drive to archaeological Mayan ruins. The resort boasts 480 suites, four restaurants, a covered theater, freshwater pool with ocean view, Jacuzzi, tobacco shop, swim-up bar, Renova Spa and Wyndam Kids Club. The newly added Viva Circus program at Viva Wyndham Maya combines acrobatic stunts, interactive trapeze lessons, juggling and high-powered entertainment.
Highlights:
  • Family-friendly with kids club and Viva Circus entertainment
  • Near Playa del Carmen shopping, nightlife and entertainment
  • On-site Renova Spa
Rooms:

All Viva Wyndham Maya suites face either the ocean or the garden and are decorated in modest, contemporary decor. They feature marble flooring and queen beds, satellite TV and balconies. Family rooms allow parents some privacy while kids enjoy provided Wii and Xbox games. Superior suites feature Caribbean-inspired decor, new modern artwork, colorful accents and flat-screen TVs. In the superior plus suite, a private Jacuzzi and glassed-in, marble shower create a luxurious, relaxing atmosphere.

Features:

Guests at Viva Wyndham Maya enjoy live nightly entertainment, theme parties, dancing, tennis, windsurfing and kayaking. For the adventurous guest, the all-inclusive package includes passes to the climbing wall, super jump trampoline and circus trapeze with instructor. For a serene experience with nature, grab the complementary snorkeling gear and experience the long stretch of the Mayan Reef coral. Relax in the Renova Spa with a massage or hydrating facial (fees apply).

Dining

Four restaurants allow guests to choose a variety of cuisines for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Three bars, including a swim-up pool bar, are available at no additional cost. If you're traveling to the Riviera for love, the hotel offers wedding packages that include a civil judge, wedding coordinator and more. Check with the Viva Wyndham Maya's concierge for details and applicable fees before booking.   

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 miles)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Xcaret ecological/archeological theme park (6 mi/10.3 km)
  • Cancun (45 mi/73 km)
Business
  • Meeting room - capacity 200 people
  • Business center and concierge (fees may apply)

Hotel Map

20.6079 -87.0869
Area served
Playa del Carmen-Riveria May
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport, 45 miles.
Area description
In the Riviera Maya, at the Playacar complex, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen Town, 45 miles from Cancun International Airport.

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Garden View
All rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, hair dryer, balcony and safety deposit box. Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request,featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Ocean View
All rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, hair dryer, balcony and safety deposit box. Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Deluxe with Jacuzzi
Feature Caribbean inspired, contemporary dcor, including tall built-in headboards with an interior light, tranquil ivory and light blue bedding, a modern rattan chair, marble floors, a flat screen television and balconies. The beautifully appointed bathrooms feature a marble vanity with a double sink, marble walls and a Jacuzzi tub, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Family Room
The Family Room is two connecting rooms and now when guests book the room, kids 17 years of age and younger are permitted to stay in the connecting room allowing parents to be next to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Additionally, the Family Rooms now feature WII and XBOX games included in the all-inclusive price. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room: Capacity 200 persons, divisible in two sections for 100 persons each.

Dining

Hacienda Don Diego
Mexican menu a la carte for dinner (reservations required for dinner).
La Terraza
International buffet restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Portofino
Mediterranean cuisine restaurant a la carte, open for dinner, reservations required.
Miramare
Pizza and pasta restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required).
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Xul ha
Mayan specialty restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Bambu
Oriental restaurant a la carte open for dinner, (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (530)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 530
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.2
Value:
2.9

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Network
NYC
Oct 17, 2011

Average vacation

Nothing to complain about and nothing super just another week in Mexico

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
20 Something Traveler
Washington D.C.
Jul 26, 2011

Overbooked, and Overwhlemed

[...] The next day we came back to Maya and they still made us wait untill 2:00pm to check in. Needless to say, our first day was HORRIBLE.-Food was average. Nothing gormet at the buffet, and we were not able to make reservations at any place for dinner. (You have to call at like 7am, and even then sometimes they say nothing is available)-Disco was fun, but didn't start untill 11pm. However, it did have AIR CONDITIONING, so that was awesome.-The staff was amazing, and super friendly. The only people I did not like were the ones at the front desk. The people at the front desk had major attitudes every time we needed something.-The beach was clean, and water was gorgeous. -The pool was great, and very warm. You have to get out super early to reserve chairs, otherwise, you will not find any shade till after 5pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a trip to CoCo Bongo for a fun time! They have packages that all drinks are included with VIP tables at a small fee.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
20 Something Traveler
Washington D.C.
Jul 26, 2011

Overbooked, and Overwhlemed

[...] The next day we came back to Maya and they still made us wait untill 2:00pm to check in. Needless to say, our first day was HORRIBLE.-Food was average. Nothing gormet at the buffet, and we were not able to make reservations at any place for dinner. (You have to call at like 7am, and even then sometimes they say nothing is available)-Disco was fun, but didn't start untill 11pm. However, it did have AIR CONDITIONING, so that was awesome.-The staff was amazing, and super friendly. The only people I did not like were the ones at the front desk. The people at the front desk had major attitudes every time we needed something.-The beach was clean, and water was gorgeous. -The pool was great, and very warm. You have to get out super early to reserve chairs, otherwise, you will not find any shade till after 5pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a trip to CoCo Bongo for a fun time! They have packages that all drinks are included with VIP tables at a small fee.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
CO
Dec 6, 2010

Average

We were there for a long weekend and the hotel was pretty average. The front desk and reservation people were not friendly and had actually lost our reservation so we had to wait 30+ min to even check in. Then we tried to get reservations for dinner but since they hadn't put us in the computer yet she wouldn't let us even get a reservation even though she was 2 feet from the check in and saw us check in. The room was average and the toilet ran. The food at the buffet was not very good. Other than that, the actual restaurants were very good. The entertainment staff was very nice and fun. The beach is nice and they do try to get you involved in everything. The shows were OK and at least entertaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Get reservations as soon as you get there because you DON'T want to eat at the buffet

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
CO
Dec 6, 2010

Average

We were there for a long weekend and the hotel was pretty average. The front desk and reservation people were not friendly and had actually lost our reservation so we had to wait 30+ min to even check in. Then we tried to get reservations for dinner but since they hadn't put us in the computer yet she wouldn't let us even get a reservation even though she was 2 feet from the check in and saw us check in. The room was average and the toilet ran. The food at the buffet was not very good. Other than that, the actual restaurants were very good. The entertainment staff was very nice and fun. The beach is nice and they do try to get you involved in everything. The shows were OK and at least entertaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Get reservations as soon as you get there because you DON'T want to eat at the buffet

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newton, NC
Jun 12, 2010

Overall Great!

It is a nice mid-class hotel on a beuatiful beach, approx 1.5 miles from downtown Playa del Carmen. The food is sometimes good and sometimes bland but always adequate. I particularly liked the fact that this is a "green hotel" that doesn't produce tons of plastic garbage everyday. In the bar and in the restaurants you actually get a beer served in a cold glass and not in a Dixie cup. Every evening there is a different show with comedy and or dancing, always very entertaining. My only criticism of this hotel is their ridiculous telephone policy. They do not allow the use of telephone cards (and they monitor this) so that they can gouge the guest with their own outrageous fees. I had to make an urgent call to the US and when I tried to make the call from my room the operator told me I would have to go to the front dest and present my credit card as a deposit before I could make the call. No one could even tell me what the minute rate is for a long distance or international call, only that a local call costs $0.50 a minute. So one can imagine what an international call costs. If you buy a telephone card the minute only costs $0.03 to the US. It really made me angry that I had to leave the hotel and find a public telephone every time I called the US. Otherwise I would have spent all my pocket money on telephone calls. I would love to return but this experience really left a nasty aftertaste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
playa
philla
Sep 24, 2009

playa

i loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
playa
philla
Sep 24, 2009

playa

i loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
san diego CA
Aug 22, 2009

unorganized check in-unprofessional

Definitely not a good first impression I was looking for. First they sent me to the wrong room. After I walked in on a couple dressing the bellboy said "oops". This was not how I wanted to unwind after along day of traveling. The problem was resolved after a half hour or me waiting in the hallway for the employee to return. Only to tell me my room is now on the other side of the resort. DO NOT GO TO THIS RESORT LOOKING FOR A QUIET RELAXING STAY!! The main pool is a constant party. There is a secluded pool located in the back which fortunately was empty, this was a huge plus. This pool also had a bar, which made better drinks and more friendly service then busy main pool bar. The food buffet was not bad but definitely not spectacular. You must make reservations early (the minute you arrive) or you will be stuck eating dorm food. The guest services were very helpful. The computer lab was great, however it was full of teens checking their face book and streaming the web too often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
san diego CA
Aug 22, 2009

unorganized check in-unprofessional

Definitely not a good first impression I was looking for. First they sent me to the wrong room. After I walked in on a couple dressing the bellboy said "oops". This was not how I wanted to unwind after along day of traveling. The problem was resolved after a half hour or me waiting in the hallway for the employee to return. Only to tell me my room is now on the other side of the resort. DO NOT GO TO THIS RESORT LOOKING FOR A QUIET RELAXING STAY!! The main pool is a constant party. There is a secluded pool located in the back which fortunately was empty, this was a huge plus. This pool also had a bar, which made better drinks and more friendly service then busy main pool bar. The food buffet was not bad but definitely not spectacular. You must make reservations early (the minute you arrive) or you will be stuck eating dorm food. The guest services were very helpful. The computer lab was great, however it was full of teens checking their face book and streaming the web too often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top