$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
398 reviews
Excelent Stay!

Had a great time with the family. Great rooms, great hotel, the food was excellent. The all day... See full review

  • Jorge F.
  • Jun 23, 2015
Awesome trip

This hotel was great. VERY clean, staff was constantly cleaning. They even had someone going around... See full review

  • Larry C.
  • May 10, 2015
The all-inclusive Viva Wyndham Maya is located just two miles from Playa del Carmen and a short drive to archaeological Mayan ruins. The resort boasts 604 rooms, four restaurants, a covered theater, freshwater pool with ocean view, Jacuzzi, tobacco shop, swim-up bar, Renova Spa and Wyndam Kids Club. The newly added Viva Circus program at Viva Wyndham Maya combines acrobatic stunts, interactive trapeze lessons, juggling and high-powered entertainment.
Dining

Four restaurants allow guests to choose a variety of cuisines for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Three bars, including a swim-up pool bar, are available at no additional cost. If you're traveling to the Riviera for love, the hotel offers wedding packages that include a civil judge, wedding coordinator and more. Check with the Viva Wyndham Maya's concierge for details and applicable fees before booking.   

Rooms

All Viva Wyndham Maya suites face either the ocean or the garden and are decorated in modest, contemporary decor. They feature marble flooring and queen beds, satellite TV and balconies. Family rooms allow parents some privacy while kids enjoy provided Wii and Xbox games. Superior suites feature Caribbean-inspired decor, new modern artwork, colorful accents and flat-screen TVs. In the superior plus suite, a private Jacuzzi and glassed-in, marble shower create a luxurious, relaxing atmosphere.

Property features

Guests at Viva Wyndham Maya enjoy live nightly entertainment, theme parties, dancing, tennis, windsurfing and kayaking. For the adventurous guest, the all-inclusive package includes passes to the climbing wall, super jump trampoline and circus trapeze with instructor. For a serene experience with nature, grab the complementary snorkeling gear and experience the long stretch of the Mayan Reef coral. Relax in the Renova Spa with a massage or hydrating facial (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Family-friendly with kids club and Viva Circus entertainment
  • Near Playa del Carmen shopping, nightlife and entertainment
  • On-site Renova Spa
Nearby attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Xcaret ecological/archeological theme park (6 mi/10.3 km)
  • Cancun (45 mi/73 km)
Business
  • Meeting room - capacity 200 people
  • Business center and concierge (fees may apply)
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 miles)

Top hotels

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

All Together Room
These are two guaranteed adjoining rooms with connecting door, allowing parents to be closed to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Each room has two queen size bed (or one King bed) air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), terrace, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor. Cribs are available upon request.
Superior Garden View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Ocean View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Deluxe Room
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed with garden view, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with bathtub, terrace , hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Adjoining rooms with communicated door are available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental restaurant a la carte open for dinner, (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
La Terraza
International buffet restaurant with theme dinner open for breakfast, lunch and dinner No reservation required).
Hacienda Don Diego
Mexican a la carte restaurant, open for dinner, reservation required.
Portofino
Mediterranean cuisine restaurant a la carte, open for dinner, reservations required.
Miramare
Pizza and pasta restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required).
Viva Cafe
A fusion a la carte restaurant with an international and modern cuisine, open for dinner, reservation required
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Xul ha
Mayan specialty restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room: Capacity 200 persons, divisible in two sections for 100 persons each.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 398
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ZRXrider
Business
N/A
Jun 20, 2015

A rough start!

There was a mild storm the day we arrived, plus the next day. Sometime during the first night, the AC quit working, then the TV went out along with all power for a bit. We changed hotels on the third day because of the AC issue. The staff was friendly, but kept telling us that the AC would be fixed in a few hours. I'm not sure when it came back on, because as I stated above, we left. Because of the rain, the smokers at the hotel lined the covered walkway. If you wanted to go anywhere and stay dry, you had to travel the hall of smoke. Not pleasant if you don't smoke, probably not a big deal if you do. I honestly have mixed feelings. There were many issues, but I'm not sure how many were the hotels fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian M.
Business
Fort Worth
May 31, 2015

Wonderful Stay on the Beach

We had a great stay. The staff was friendly and assisted me with my wedding proposal. Everything worked out great. The comfort of the rooms were good and food was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Larry C.
Business
N/A
May 10, 2015

Awesome trip

This hotel was great. VERY clean, staff was constantly cleaning. They even had someone going around the pool and patio area with a squeegee to make sure there was no water around the pool. Staff was very friendly and went out of their way to say Ola. The food was great, however the one complaint was it was so hot in the main buffet area. No a/c so at times it was unbearable. The drinks were great with a large selection. Bartenders all very nice, especially by the pool bar. The rooms were clean and spacious. There is no fans in the rooms so in the heat of the day it would get hot but a night the a/c finally won and cooled off the room. There is a small fridge in the rooms so that was nice. There are no washcloths so bring your own if you use them. There is also no coffee pot in the room but our room was really close to the pool bar and they make an excellent cappuccino, coffee or espresso. We were in building 1 that was right by the beach and the pool and I would definitely recommend this building as some of them are quite a walk from the beach. The noise was never an issue. I did have some concerns that this maybe a party hotel because of the reasonable cost but most of the guests were young families to older couples. Everyone had a good time but it wasn't a drink until you're falling down kinda place. The beach is one of the best in the area and they worked hard at keeping it clean. It was VERY safe there, never an issue about safety. It is in an area called Playacar that is a private area that you have to go through a security gate just to get into the area, then another security gate at the hotel. Made you feel very safe. There is a Starbucks a short walk from the hotel and a few nice shops. This is definitely an area to stay as you are so close to everything here. Some of the resorts are 10 minutes off the main road to anything, this one is not that way so there is plenty of places within walking distance and 5th Avenue shopping is a 25 minute walk or a $10 cab ride away. I would also recommend the do your own ceramic painting place by the main stage. You get to pick out your ceramic souvenir and paint it yourself. They will finish it for you and put it in the kiln for you to pick up the next day. I made one of the Mexican spoon rests and painted it the colors that would match my kitchen. It was only $15 to do and quite relaxing. I'm not artistic but it turned out great, even young kids were painting something. Would I stay here again? Most definitely, couldn't ask for a better value in Playa Del Carmen. If you want 5 star food this isn't your place but for the value and service I would give it 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betsy
Business
Tucson
Apr 26, 2015

Amazing value for price

Given the price of the trip, we did not go with high expectations. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room and the beautiful beach. Lunch and dinner were problematic for us. The cafeteria was extremely hot, and basically no more than what it claimed to be -- a large open space with lots of food of medicocre quality. We ended up going into Playa del Carmen two nights, and checking with guest services at 2pm for last minute space on other nights. In respect to our nights in town, we wished guest services had access to better information on top restaurants in the area. I ended up doing my own research on internet sites. As for lunch by the pool, it was ok if you liked mexican food or overcooked hamburgers. Occasionally they had chicken, which was really good. Otherwise, the choices were scant. We could deal with the lunches, but wished we had some way to expand the nights at the better on-site restaurants (we would have been willing to pay to go more often, but that wasn't an option). Three out of nine nights in the restaurant left us with too many evenings in the cafeteria, which cast a pall over the trip, unless you were willing to pay to go into town (which we did). Breakfasts in the cafeteria were good. Note: positive recommendation below is qualified, based on the restaurant comment. We did love the beach area, and the room was large, comfortable, had a good view, and was well-maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda S.
Business
Salem
Apr 24, 2015

Relax

Nice hotel. Food good. Great value for money as it is one of the least expensive resorts in the area. Not a lot of amenities in the room (no tissues, bars of soap, ect.) but room was comfortable. Staff was friendly and worked very hard. Beach was amazing. Beautiful courtyard for relaxing with a drink. Ate in one specialty restaurant (Portofino), great service and good food although the portions were small. Great side trip was Aktun Chen, a one hour walk through underground cave and Akumal Bay, swim with turtles, both amazing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Taylor P.
Business
N/A
Apr 15, 2015

Vacation

Our Tay was great! We were in town for a vacation, to get away. The hotel met our expectations. The room was quiet, clean and enjoyable. The beds were a little bit hard and the pillows were VERY thin. While we were there, we visited the Mayan ruins in tulum and coba and snorkeled in an ocean inlet, centre, and cave. The restaurant at the hotel, Don Diego was fabulous. It was great food and a fun and inviting atmosphere. A better food choice at the buffet would have made our trip better. There was a worm-like insect found in the tostadas one evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LSJS
Business
N/A
Feb 23, 2015

Relaxing Get Away

Hotel in a great location. Walk out onto the beautiful white sand and turquoise ocean. Staff was great, food was great, entertainment was very nice. Massage at the Spa was fantastic. Would definitely return for another vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sara S.
Business
Warba
Jan 15, 2015

Great Activities Crew

A group of four of us took a trip here and enjoyed ourselves very much. Food on the buffet could use some help but you also wont go hungry. Snack bar during the day was actually pretty good and I LOVED the Mexican and Italian specialty restaurants. Kudos to the activities department we had a blast participating in the activities by the pool and beach. Located in a good area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

.Must go to a local spot for dinner called El Fagon any taxi will know where it is. Best cheese fondue ever with great prices. The menu is in spanish but the wait staff had problem helping us.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joseph G.
Business
Lynn Haven
Jan 14, 2015

Family Trip

Awesome time, great hotel, great service, food, entertainment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jennifer M.
Business
Andover
Jan 7, 2015

Below Average

My husband and I stayed at the Viva Wyndam Maya Sept. 8th-12th of 2013 and it was less than impressive. We've stayed at other all-inclusive resorts in the Caribbean so we have a basis for comparison. You really get what you pay for here, so don't expect a luxury resort! Rooms - Pretty outdated and the bed was terribly uncomfortable and the pillows were like something you would receive on an airplane. We requested a King bed and were given a room with 2 double beds. When asked if we could switch to a room with a King they said they were all out. Lastly, we upgraded to an "oceanview" room" and I use that term very loosely. To actually see the ocean we had to peer around the corner of out TINY balcony and only then we saw a little glimpse of the ocean. However, we didn't go to spend a lot of time in our room so this wasn't a huge deal for us. Food/Drinks - The food was terrible! I don't consider myself a very picky eater and I had a very hard time finding something decent to eat. We were only allowed to eat in one of the restaurants once since we were only staying 4 nights and the number of reservations you can make is dependent on the number of nights you stay. So the majority of the time we had to eat the buffet. The buffet was awful! Each night featured a different cuisine however, the food didn't really change that much night after night. Also, the building where the buffet is located does not have air conditioning and it's on the 2nd floor, so it is VERY HOT in there. Also, there is no room service at the resort. There also isn't any alcohol available in the room. I actually ended up getting very sick from the food and was sick for about a week after I got home. The only thing that was really good about the resort was the beach. They do have a very nice beach and there were plenty of chairs everyday. However, it rained the majority of the time we were there so we didn't get to spend as much time on the beach as we would have liked. Overall, save your money and go somewhere better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top