$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
341 reviews
great family entertaiment

a very positive experience, hotel staff , from waiters to entertainers, were excellent. rooms were... See full review

  • wmartinez
  • Aug 17, 2014
Great Family Resort

Traveled with my 2 teenage kids. We all had a great time with all the activities available. Buffet... See full review

  • Florida Fan of Mexico
  • Aug 13, 2014
Caribbean beach resort with swim-up bar and Jacuzzi near Mayan ruins
The all-inclusive Viva Wyndham Maya is located just two miles from Playa del Carmen and a short drive to archaeological Mayan ruins. The resort boasts 480 suites, four restaurants, a covered theater, freshwater pool with ocean view, Jacuzzi, tobacco shop, swim-up bar, Renova Spa and Wyndam Kids Club. The newly added Viva Circus program at Viva Wyndham Maya combines acrobatic stunts, interactive trapeze lessons, juggling and high-powered entertainment.
Highlights:
  • Family-friendly with kids club and Viva Circus entertainment
  • Near Playa del Carmen shopping, nightlife and entertainment
  • On-site Renova Spa
Rooms:

All Viva Wyndham Maya suites face either the ocean or the garden and are decorated in modest, contemporary decor. They feature marble flooring and queen beds, satellite TV and balconies. Family rooms allow parents some privacy while kids enjoy provided Wii and Xbox games. Superior suites feature Caribbean-inspired decor, new modern artwork, colorful accents and flat-screen TVs. In the superior plus suite, a private Jacuzzi and glassed-in, marble shower create a luxurious, relaxing atmosphere.

Features:

Guests at Viva Wyndham Maya enjoy live nightly entertainment, theme parties, dancing, tennis, windsurfing and kayaking. For the adventurous guest, the all-inclusive package includes passes to the climbing wall, super jump trampoline and circus trapeze with instructor. For a serene experience with nature, grab the complementary snorkeling gear and experience the long stretch of the Mayan Reef coral. Relax in the Renova Spa with a massage or hydrating facial (fees apply).

Dining

Four restaurants allow guests to choose a variety of cuisines for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Three bars, including a swim-up pool bar, are available at no additional cost. If you're traveling to the Riviera for love, the hotel offers wedding packages that include a civil judge, wedding coordinator and more. Check with the Viva Wyndham Maya's concierge for details and applicable fees before booking.   

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 miles)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Xcaret ecological/archeological theme park (6 mi/10.3 km)
  • Cancun (45 mi/73 km)
Business
  • Meeting room - capacity 200 people
  • Business center and concierge (fees may apply)

Hotel Map

20.6079 -87.0869
Area served
Playa del Carmen-Riveria May
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport, 45 miles.
Area description
In the Riviera Maya, at the Playacar complex, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen Town, 45 miles from Cancun International Airport.

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Garden View
All rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, hair dryer, balcony and safety deposit box. Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request,featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Ocean View
All rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, hair dryer, balcony and safety deposit box. Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Deluxe with Jacuzzi
Feature Caribbean inspired, contemporary dcor, including tall built-in headboards with an interior light, tranquil ivory and light blue bedding, a modern rattan chair, marble floors, a flat screen television and balconies. The beautifully appointed bathrooms feature a marble vanity with a double sink, marble walls and a Jacuzzi tub, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Family Room
The Family Room is two connecting rooms and now when guests book the room, kids 17 years of age and younger are permitted to stay in the connecting room allowing parents to be next to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Additionally, the Family Rooms now feature WII and XBOX games included in the all-inclusive price. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Hacienda Don Diego
Mexican menu a la carte for dinner (reservations required for dinner).
La Terraza
International buffet restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Portofino
Mediterranean cuisine restaurant a la carte, open for dinner, reservations required.
Miramare
Pizza and pasta restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required).
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Xul ha
Mayan specialty restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Bambu
Oriental restaurant a la carte open for dinner, (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room: Capacity 200 persons, divisible in two sections for 100 persons each.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (341)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 341
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Danny0103
Chicago,Illinois
Aug 21, 2014

Not a typical hotel

The staff wasn't out to pamper the guest. No room service was a big upset. Room cleanliness was also not the greatest. No wifi in the rooms either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
El Traveestador
Lafayette, Indians
May 17, 2014

poor food quality, sleep on rocks

The a la carte restaurants were fantastic. However the buffet restaurant for the 15 other meals were awful. Found under or overcooked meat, the nightly variety food special was nonexistent, and hot dogs have apparently become the main staple of Mexico as they were included in 25 different dishes offered there, yes, we counted. The beach lounge chairs were more comfortable than the bed. The facilities and the beach were absolutely immaculate The staff was friendly, especially if you were a college age girl!! If, not, don't expect prompt service. All in all we feel it could be better if a little more effort was allocated in other areas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay away from 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen. They will try to swindle you blind

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rock93
Willmar mn
Mar 27, 2014

Adorable family vacation

We had a great family vacation at this resort. Beautiful beaches..Lots of chairs for everyone. Clean rooms and grounds. Lots of activities for everyone . Good food and drinks. No complaints and was a great value .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk into town on beach... Not that far and take a taxi back to hotel if sick of walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuzieQ629
Maryland
Jan 13, 2014

Great all inclusive

The hotel was very nice. Trying to get reservations at the hotel restaurants was difficult if you don't plan 24-48 hours in advance.The buffet for meals was excellent and adequate. There were plenty of activities, especially for fitness fanatics and children. Very close proximity to 5th Avenue (great shopping and restaurants) and many tourist attractions (ruins and activities off site). Horseback riding on the beach with snorkeling was my favorite. I would stay here again! I think the price was very fair. The girls in the hotel gift shop were not extremely courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bob pip
michigan
Dec 9, 2013

good value

We have stayed at this property about 15 times. Great location, beach, and well laided out. The staff has always been good to us. They know us by our names as soon as they see us pull up. If you are looking for 5 star this is not the place. If your looking for a good time and a lot of fun.... this place can work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kini of Clackamas
Portland, Oregon
Sep 29, 2013

Viva Wynham Maya August 2013

We have stayed previously at three other Playacar all-inclusive facilities. The Maya was, in comparison to our other Playacar lodgings, superior in some respects and lacking in others. Specifically: * Entertainment (5 out of 5). The nightly entertainment was excellent! Best of any property we've been too. For instance, on Las Vegas night, we were expecting some cheesy show-girl type of thing that we'd end up walking out on. Instead, we were treated to something similar to Cirque du Soleil. * Beach (5 of 5). The beach had plenty of palapas, providing plenty of opportunities for shade. The beach itself is deep and powdery. This is the best beach setting of any of the properties we've visited. * Pool (2 of 5). As nice as the beach is, the pool area by the beach is small, crowded, and has an unimaginative layout. This pool area is in need of a basic remodel. The water was apparently heated, and for some reason they had it at near hot tub temperature. We instead used the ocean to cool off. This was the worst pool setting of any of the properties we've visited. * Room (4 of 5). The room was spacious, quiet, cool, and very clean. The bed was comfortable. The setting was pretty with a nice view of the quiet pool (near the entrance). * Specialty Restaurants (3 of 5). The ambiance in the specialty restaurant was fine, the food quite good. (We went to three different restaurants, two of which were at the Viva Azteca, a ten minute walk down the street.) Availability of required reservations was rather limited, but the restaurants themselves were never full when we attended at our reserved time. However, these restaurants were a very welcome break from the tired buffet described next. * Main Buffet (1 of 5). This is the achilles heel of the Maya. The salon is not air conditioned and is unattractive. The buffet layout is very crowded. Decorations or other efforts to make the presentation of the food more attractive were non-existent. But the real issue with the buffet is that the food lacked variety, and often just wasn't very tasty. For breakfast, you have to ask for bacon (when they have it at all), then you get strips that have been warmed but not actually cooked. The buffet was easily the worst of any of the properties we've been to and the single thing that takes what is otherwise a really good property and turns it into a mediocre experience. With a remodel of this area, some air conditioning, some thought into making the food presentation more attractive, and an upgrade to the food quality and selection, the Maya would simply be our new favorite property at the Playacar. The Wyndham Maya would do well to look at what they do at any of the Rius. Overall, this could be a top property with a basic fix of the buffet area and a pool remodel. We would love to return for the entertainment and beach, once the eating experience has been improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
latinpop
Austin, TX
Sep 17, 2013

We had a wonderful time.

We enjoyed everything about this resort. The Terraza restaurant just opened for the buffet and there was a wide variety of food. Our waiter, Antonio was always pleasant and even sang. The staff was friendly and efficient. The beach is beautiful and the area is safe and very pretty. We will definitely be going back soon. Costa Rica was my favorite place before visiting here but I think it is going to be my second place now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

We went to Cozumel on the ferry and did all our shopping over there. It is cheaper than in Playa. The ferry ride was fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juls nestea
Calgary
Sep 1, 2013

Excellent place! I just can't wait to go back

This hotel offers away more than what a 4* hotel do. You have all kind of free activities( kayaking, wind surfing, catamaran , gym, etc.) . They have every nite different show, is amaizing facility! I will go back tomorrow if i can! You have food on the table 16 hrs/ day (6am-11pm), ocean is gorgeous, ...i was shocked to see that nobody bugged me for tip , like in Vallarta , and the whole stuff r very , very friendly. I would say was 10 out of 10 , at least for me , and trust me, i travell a lot , all over the places .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Be there away before 9.30 if u want a good seat for the show !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AMOGO
MEXICO CITY
Jul 5, 2013

Great fun get away

Everything was pretty good, I just feel that some of the staff from the hotel need to be more polite and friendly,sometimes when they give you information they way they answer is like its your supposed know and that they dont want to help out,but the Hotel is beutiful,pools very clean the private beach is awsome,drinks too, but definetly need to do something about the menú of the buffete, also they need to have more music playing arround pools and events at the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Fifth Ave is beutiful very enjoying but kind of far to walk back and fouth to the hotel,so I would recommend you take the bicicles that the hotel lend you

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael N.
Atlanta, GA
Jun 10, 2013

Awesome Week!

Everything was as described although we did have one little issue with the a/c the first night the staff was very attentive and responsive. Would definitely recommend this resort. The week was just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

bargain on everything, nothing is as-is in Mexico!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search