$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
346 reviews
Fantastico!!!!!

Exelente.place .real good services.l like to come back on my next vacation.very fun people See full review

  • laveloz
  • Sep 27, 2014
great family entertaiment

a very positive experience, hotel staff , from waiters to entertainers, were excellent. rooms were... See full review

  • wmartinez
  • Aug 17, 2014
A lush 604-room resort. The resort offers an atmosphere of never-ending fun, thanks to the variety of activities and the chance to explore the culture and history of Mexico. Viva Wyndham Maya encourages guests to bring hearty appetites when visiting the all-inclusive resort. Designed to satisfy the palates of its guests, this resort offers an eclectic blend of local and international culinary delights. The hotel is located right on the beach and it offers a fresh water pool with ocean front, Jacuzzi, cocktail and snack bar (swim-up bar), lobby bar, disco bar, four restaurants, Covered theater with capacity of 600 persons, Discotheque, Two tennis courts lighted & hard surface, Gymnasium, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam bath & shower area, Scuba Diving Center, Guest services, Hospitality and tour desk, Tobacco shop, Jewelry, Boutique, Beauty parlor, Photo shop, Laundry services, Free parking, First aid services, Medical service, Viva Wyndham Kids Club, Car rental, Money exchange, Spa and Meeting Room. ALL INCLUSIVE: Full breakfast / lunch / dinner, Snacks, Unlimited national drinks, Cocktails and national wine, Welcome cocktail, Unlimited non-motorized sports, 24-hour snack, Taxes and tips, Daily activities program, International entertainment staff, Live nightly entertainment, Theme parties, Disco, Dance classes, Trapeze, Climbing Wall, Gym, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Childrens program from 4 to 12 years old, mini disco for kids, In-room safe box (surcharge), Lounge chairs and beach towels. Sports included in the package: Windsurfing, Kayaking, Sailing, Introductory dive lessons, Boogie boards, Water polo, Paddleboard, Archery, Table tennis, Water aerobics, Tennis, Bicycling, Gym with trainer, Aerobics, Stretching, Beach volleyball, and bocce ball on the beach and Trapeze (with instructor). Sports available at extra charge: Scuba diving with Scuba Caribe Diving (PADI certified courses), fishing, golf at the Playacar golf course (18 holes, PAR 72 Championship Golf Course designed Robert Von Hagge), horseback riding (20 Kms. from property), Cenotes snorkeling, cave diving, snorkeling. Viva Circus is the new entertainment program with amazing acrobatic stunts, thrilling interactive trapeze lessons and astounding circus juggling and entertainment. Viva Wyndham Maya will continue to entertain its guests with a full line-up of circus performances and interactive stunts with trained professionals, further expanding its comprehensive all-inclusive entertainment offerings. OPTIONAL PACKAGES: Honeymoon Package: For a minimum of 4 days and 3 nights stay, your clients will be able to enjoy, at no additional charge an upgrade to a higher category room (based on hotel availability) a bottle of champagne / sparkling wine, a fruit basket, a hors dovres tray, a 7 x 4 picture, 2 t-shirts, plus our all inclusive package. Copy of the marriage certificate required upon check in. Within six month of marriage. Packages Available with Extra Charge: Wedding Package: Includes Civil Judge and all legal expenses (does not include legalization), Wedding cake for 10 persons, Bar for 10 guests, Decoration, Bride bouquet, Wedding coordinator, 10 pictures, and Music. The corkage is free of charge. Also available Spa, Diving and Excursion packages.

Hotel Map

20.6079 -87.0869
Area served
Playa del Carmen-Riveria Maya
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport, 45 miles.
Area description
In the Riviera Maya, at the Playacar complex, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen Town, 45 miles from Cancun International Airport.

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Garden View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Ocean View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Deluxe Room
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed with garden view, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with bathtub, terrace , hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Adjoining rooms with communicated door are available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Vista Room
All rooms have one king size bed and are situated ocean front, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Cribs available upon request
All Together Room
These are two guaranteed adjoining rooms with connecting door, allowing parents to be closed to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Each room has two queen size bed (or one King bed) air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), terrace, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor. Cribs are available upon request.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room: Capacity 200 persons, divisible in two sections for 100 persons each.

Dining

La Terraza
International buffet restaurant with theme dinner open for breakfast, lunch and dinner No reservation required).
Hacienda Don Diego
Mexican a la carte restaurant, open for dinner, reservation required.
Portofino
Mediterranean cuisine restaurant a la carte, open for dinner, reservations required.
Miramare
Pizza and pasta restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required).
Viva Cafe
A fusion a la carte restaurant with an international and modern cuisine, open for dinner, reservation required
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Xul ha
Mayan specialty restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Bamboo
Oriental restaurant a la carte open for dinner, (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (346)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 346
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JennyLauz22
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Oct 23, 2014

Great, easy, cheap getaway!

I loved this resoirt. For the money you are paying, it was great! We went to one restaurant on the resort each night (Don Diego was our favorite). Delicious food and easy accessibility to drinks! Plenty of lounge chairs around the pool and around the beach. The staff could not have been nicer. It isnt a 5-star resort or anything so you need to keep that in mind. The rooms were clean and decent (but you shouldnt spend too much time in there anyways). The beds were not super comfy but that is forgivable. It called for rain everyday we were there and it rained everyday but only for an hour or two (except one day it rained the whole time). It didnt ruin the trip for us. I would recommend this to other people as well as I will be going back here in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don Diego is delicious. All the restaurants are worth a try. Left being very full and satisfied each night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
laveloz
Business
Chicago Ill.
Sep 27, 2014

Fantastico!!!!!

Exelente.place .real good services.l like to come back on my next vacation.very fun people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Love the bicycle ride to playa very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
danny125
Business
montevideo,uruguay
Sep 17, 2014

GOOD VACATION FOR THE PRICE

We have enjoyed 8 days with my wiife in this hotel and the location is very good, food is like all inclusives, standar, and the beach is nice,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Danny0103
Business
Chicago,Illinois
Aug 21, 2014

Not a typical hotel

The staff wasn't out to pamper the guest. No room service was a big upset. Room cleanliness was also not the greatest. No wifi in the rooms either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
El Traveestador
Business
Lafayette, Indians
May 17, 2014

poor food quality, sleep on rocks

The a la carte restaurants were fantastic. However the buffet restaurant for the 15 other meals were awful. Found under or overcooked meat, the nightly variety food special was nonexistent, and hot dogs have apparently become the main staple of Mexico as they were included in 25 different dishes offered there, yes, we counted. The beach lounge chairs were more comfortable than the bed. The facilities and the beach were absolutely immaculate The staff was friendly, especially if you were a college age girl!! If, not, don't expect prompt service. All in all we feel it could be better if a little more effort was allocated in other areas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay away from 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen. They will try to swindle you blind

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rock93
Business
Willmar mn
Mar 27, 2014

Adorable family vacation

We had a great family vacation at this resort. Beautiful beaches..Lots of chairs for everyone. Clean rooms and grounds. Lots of activities for everyone . Good food and drinks. No complaints and was a great value .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk into town on beach... Not that far and take a taxi back to hotel if sick of walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuzieQ629
Business
Maryland
Jan 13, 2014

Great all inclusive

The hotel was very nice. Trying to get reservations at the hotel restaurants was difficult if you don't plan 24-48 hours in advance.The buffet for meals was excellent and adequate. There were plenty of activities, especially for fitness fanatics and children. Very close proximity to 5th Avenue (great shopping and restaurants) and many tourist attractions (ruins and activities off site). Horseback riding on the beach with snorkeling was my favorite. I would stay here again! I think the price was very fair. The girls in the hotel gift shop were not extremely courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bob pip
Business
michigan
Dec 9, 2013

good value

We have stayed at this property about 15 times. Great location, beach, and well laided out. The staff has always been good to us. They know us by our names as soon as they see us pull up. If you are looking for 5 star this is not the place. If your looking for a good time and a lot of fun.... this place can work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kini of Clackamas
Business
Portland, Oregon
Sep 29, 2013

Viva Wynham Maya August 2013

We have stayed previously at three other Playacar all-inclusive facilities. The Maya was, in comparison to our other Playacar lodgings, superior in some respects and lacking in others. Specifically: * Entertainment (5 out of 5). The nightly entertainment was excellent! Best of any property we've been too. For instance, on Las Vegas night, we were expecting some cheesy show-girl type of thing that we'd end up walking out on. Instead, we were treated to something similar to Cirque du Soleil. * Beach (5 of 5). The beach had plenty of palapas, providing plenty of opportunities for shade. The beach itself is deep and powdery. This is the best beach setting of any of the properties we've visited. * Pool (2 of 5). As nice as the beach is, the pool area by the beach is small, crowded, and has an unimaginative layout. This pool area is in need of a basic remodel. The water was apparently heated, and for some reason they had it at near hot tub temperature. We instead used the ocean to cool off. This was the worst pool setting of any of the properties we've visited. * Room (4 of 5). The room was spacious, quiet, cool, and very clean. The bed was comfortable. The setting was pretty with a nice view of the quiet pool (near the entrance). * Specialty Restaurants (3 of 5). The ambiance in the specialty restaurant was fine, the food quite good. (We went to three different restaurants, two of which were at the Viva Azteca, a ten minute walk down the street.) Availability of required reservations was rather limited, but the restaurants themselves were never full when we attended at our reserved time. However, these restaurants were a very welcome break from the tired buffet described next. * Main Buffet (1 of 5). This is the achilles heel of the Maya. The salon is not air conditioned and is unattractive. The buffet layout is very crowded. Decorations or other efforts to make the presentation of the food more attractive were non-existent. But the real issue with the buffet is that the food lacked variety, and often just wasn't very tasty. For breakfast, you have to ask for bacon (when they have it at all), then you get strips that have been warmed but not actually cooked. The buffet was easily the worst of any of the properties we've been to and the single thing that takes what is otherwise a really good property and turns it into a mediocre experience. With a remodel of this area, some air conditioning, some thought into making the food presentation more attractive, and an upgrade to the food quality and selection, the Maya would simply be our new favorite property at the Playacar. The Wyndham Maya would do well to look at what they do at any of the Rius. Overall, this could be a top property with a basic fix of the buffet area and a pool remodel. We would love to return for the entertainment and beach, once the eating experience has been improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
latinpop
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 17, 2013

We had a wonderful time.

We enjoyed everything about this resort. The Terraza restaurant just opened for the buffet and there was a wide variety of food. Our waiter, Antonio was always pleasant and even sang. The staff was friendly and efficient. The beach is beautiful and the area is safe and very pretty. We will definitely be going back soon. Costa Rica was my favorite place before visiting here but I think it is going to be my second place now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

We went to Cozumel on the ferry and did all our shopping over there. It is cheaper than in Playa. The ferry ride was fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top