$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 23, 2015

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
348 reviews
Excellent vacation destination

We had a fantastic time on our vacation. Everyone there was courteous, professional and... See full review

  • S 1st timer
  • Nov 30, 2014
Fantastico!!!!!

Exelente.place .real good services.l like to come back on my next vacation.very fun people See full review

  • laveloz
  • Sep 27, 2014
Caribbean beach resort with swim-up bar and Jacuzzi near Mayan ruins
The all-inclusive Viva Wyndham Maya is located just two miles from Playa del Carmen and a short drive to archaeological Mayan ruins. The resort boasts 604 rooms, four restaurants, a covered theater, freshwater pool with ocean view, Jacuzzi, tobacco shop, swim-up bar, Renova Spa and Wyndam Kids Club. The newly added Viva Circus program at Viva Wyndham Maya combines acrobatic stunts, interactive trapeze lessons, juggling and high-powered entertainment.
Highlights:
  • Family-friendly with kids club and Viva Circus entertainment
  • Near Playa del Carmen shopping, nightlife and entertainment
  • On-site Renova Spa
Rooms:

All Viva Wyndham Maya suites face either the ocean or the garden and are decorated in modest, contemporary decor. They feature marble flooring and queen beds, satellite TV and balconies. Family rooms allow parents some privacy while kids enjoy provided Wii and Xbox games. Superior suites feature Caribbean-inspired decor, new modern artwork, colorful accents and flat-screen TVs. In the superior plus suite, a private Jacuzzi and glassed-in, marble shower create a luxurious, relaxing atmosphere.

Features:

Guests at Viva Wyndham Maya enjoy live nightly entertainment, theme parties, dancing, tennis, windsurfing and kayaking. For the adventurous guest, the all-inclusive package includes passes to the climbing wall, super jump trampoline and circus trapeze with instructor. For a serene experience with nature, grab the complementary snorkeling gear and experience the long stretch of the Mayan Reef coral. Relax in the Renova Spa with a massage or hydrating facial (fees apply).

Dining

Four restaurants allow guests to choose a variety of cuisines for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Three bars, including a swim-up pool bar, are available at no additional cost. If you're traveling to the Riviera for love, the hotel offers wedding packages that include a civil judge, wedding coordinator and more. Check with the Viva Wyndham Maya's concierge for details and applicable fees before booking.   

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 miles)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Xcaret ecological/archeological theme park (6 mi/10.3 km)
  • Cancun (45 mi/73 km)
Business
  • Meeting room - capacity 200 people
  • Business center and concierge (fees may apply)

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

All Together Room
These are two guaranteed adjoining rooms with connecting door, allowing parents to be closed to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Each room has two queen size bed (or one King bed) air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), terrace, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor. Cribs are available upon request.
Superior Garden View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Ocean View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Deluxe Room
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed with garden view, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with bathtub, terrace , hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Adjoining rooms with communicated door are available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Vista Room
All rooms have one king size bed and are situated ocean front, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Cribs available upon request

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room: Capacity 200 persons, divisible in two sections for 100 persons each.

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental restaurant a la carte open for dinner, (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
La Terraza
International buffet restaurant with theme dinner open for breakfast, lunch and dinner No reservation required).
Hacienda Don Diego
Mexican a la carte restaurant, open for dinner, reservation required.
Portofino
Mediterranean cuisine restaurant a la carte, open for dinner, reservations required.
Miramare
Pizza and pasta restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required).
Viva Cafe
A fusion a la carte restaurant with an international and modern cuisine, open for dinner, reservation required
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Xul ha
Mayan specialty restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (348)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
348 out of 348
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lynz1027
Business
Springfield, IL
Jun 5, 2012

Not worth the price

This hotel was dirty and 2 of us got food poisoning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ZDisappointed Honeymooner
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jul 25, 2012

Terrible Unsafe Hotel

We booked this trip for our honeymoon...big mistake!! The hotel must have been falsely advertised. The beach was not even visible from our "ocean-view" room. Our room was just outside a stage where obnoxious loud music was playing until at least 3 a.m. Our room was no better than that of a cheap motel and it was hardly kept clean. The balcony was small and dirty. Our special "honeymoon package" included a "free photo," which we had to spend $50 to ever see. Our welcome snack was 3 pieces of ham and rotten fruit. The food was terrible. All of the meat was questionable and reservations had to be made far in advance for any of the decent restaurants. We tried to call home but the hotel would not unlock our phone. We offered to pay the fee but they still did not unlock our phone until the following morning. We sent our room number to our parents via email, hoping they would call so they could help us get out of there. We waited by the phone, listening to children screaming and running down the halls all night. During the night, the door to our room was even opened. The whole trip was a total bust. The beach is full of drug dealings and most of the activities are run by people who will not even help you. Would not ever go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Natha0310
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 17, 2013

Stay away from this hotel

I recently visited this hotel last week for a family vacation and it has been by far the worst time of my life. When we arrived we were disappointed to know that our room was on the opposite side of the resort with no view to the beach. Our room was on a third floor and the building had no elevator. It was a long distance walk to the lobby, beach and all the restaurants. After checking in, I discovered that I only had 2 nights’ reservations to the restaurants, the other 3 nights I was only allowed to eat from the buffet dinner or snack bar by the pool. On our second night we decided to have dinner at the Mexican restaurant, the food and service was great, we were having such a good time that we decided to take my 4yr old son and my two nieces 9 and 5yrs old to the kids club so we could continue to have a great time. The person in charge of the kids club told me that the kids were going to participate in the night show and they needed to be picked-up there by 9:30. We decide to leave the restaurant at 9:10 to see the kids in the show and when we got there our kids were not in the show, I immediately freaked-out and got on stage to ask for my kids, they pointed to the seat in the crowed and continue the show as if nothing had happened. Of course the kids were not sitting there and we started running around the resort looking for them, in the meantime the staff was reported and didn’t do anything to find them. No one move or ran to look for my kids, after 5 minutes of terror I found the kids walking around looking for us. They were felt unattended because they didn’t want to participate on stage. We reported the incident to the manager and although she was very apologetic for what had happened, she didn’t do anything else. From that point on, the key to our room kept getting deactivated and we had to go to the lobby to get new cards every single time. It was very inconvenient because the lobby was so far from our room, we reported the problem multiple times and to different staff members but nothing got resolved. They constantly apologized but did nothing to fix our problems. What happen with my kids is unacceptable; they should have a kids club if they are not going to take good care of them!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marissa Disappointed
Business
Jersey City, NJ
May 28, 2014

Ruined Bachelorette Party

After sitting at the airport for almost an for waiting for our shuttle we finally arrived to the hotel, only to be told we had been upgraded to Riu next door. When arriving at Riu- the rooms smelled like mold, the beds were wet & there was dust everywhere. No one answers the phone at Viva Wyndham so I needed to walk back to the hotel- where the manager at the front desk Omar- yelled and screamed at me for wanting to come back. He was so rude and so mean that it was upsetting to be anywhere around him. I then had to walk back to Riu & gather our belongings. We were not given a shuttle to return to the Viva Maya hotel, so we had to drag our luggage in the hot sun a couple blocks back to our hotel. When we came back we went to our rooms, one room had non-working AC & the other had men working on the balcony. We then had to switch rooms AGAIN! Finally we wanted to go to the pool and we were never given towel cards. I spent more time at the front desk then I did with my friends. We were there with 7 people- 3 rooms for a Bachelorette Party and it was awful. The food was terrible, we went out every night trying to find food that was edible. the restaurants were better but my reservations always had problems- that I needed to go back to the front desk. The drinks were terrible and our rooms keys needed to be changed out all the time. (Back and forth to the front desk again and again). We were only there from Friday to Monday and that short time was ruined by nonsense by the hotel. The only saving grace was Dodo & the other Guest Services gentleman (originally from the states) that tried to alleviate some of the problems but all and all it was a bust. I will not be happy until I receive some type of compensation for this awful trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into the town- better food, drinks and better people

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 7, 2008

Awful

The Viva Maya was the worst vacation ever. The food is awful, cannot get reservations for the specialty restaurants. Staff is very rude, cannot speak english. I could go on and on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5.00 taxi ride to down-town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
IOWA
Feb 14, 2009

don't go here!!!

Our room was a Superior Garden view- looking out to a chain link fence with a vine and path to a storage area, the room itself was run down,damp,paint peeling, not enough hot water for a bath, loud neighbors , loud dehumidifier and and loud air conditioner so we asked to change rooms ,it took two days, our 2nd room was by the ocean and the large loud air conditioning unit for that part of hotel was just outside our door and the indoor unit was loud as well, but we were not alone, we had visitors , at least a thousand ants, the ants got in our suitcases and while flying home I had ants crawling down my arms. If you do want to dine in the restaurants know that you must be in line before they open at eight and then be told they are all booked ,if you complain, they will get you in at 9:30 to eat. ALO NOTE THAT THER IS NO TRAMPOLINE, JACUZZI OR CLIMBING WALL IN SERVICE, The sand is nice but not a beach for easy swiming or water sports,, Programs offered can't be found, no one knows where they are,there is no nightly international entertainment staff, just a bunch of kids that work at the hotel during the day ,dressing up at night. Try not to get an injury to your foot, after waiting 40 mins and several phone calls, the 'nurse' will tell you to walk off the property, turn left and find a pharmacy in a small market area. there wasn't as much as a bandaid anywhere ,in the hotel or gift shop. THIS IS A TRUE REPORT AND I HOPE IT HELPS YOU MAKE YOUR CHOICE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, Texas
Oct 30, 2009

What a Nightmare

I have made dozens of trips to the Maya Riviera and stayed at many resorts over the past few years, and this experience was without question the worst hotel experience I have ever had. I must preface my comments with the fact that I'm not a complainer, I realize that the staff at the hotels are human and we all have bad days; But this completely unreasonable.First, a few good points about the Wyndham Maya. The beach and pool areas were great. Lots of room and lots of people enjoying the many activities that were offered. The beach is beautiful and clean. The staff at the bars and the restaurants were great; very friendly and service oriented. The grounds are well kept and manicured in the tropical setting. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make dinner reservations early in the day, I noticed that the sign indicating the restaurants were full was usually out by noon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The 4 Okies
Business
Oklahoma
Sep 25, 2010

Bad to the Bone!

Oh, where to start! When we first got there ( At the Maya)We where told we were getting an upgrade and they wisked us over to the Azteca. Thought that would be great, little did we know! We get to our room and the beds are like bricks, but lumpy, springs poking us. There wasn't any place to put our luggage, Oh, and lets not forget, the a/c is not working. The staff did get to work on the a/c but couldn't fix it. They moved us to another room witch the a/c worked. Beds still the same! The food was fair, restaurants were great. Most of the staff was rude and unfriendly. [...] and [...] were helpful and friendly. The bellman that took our luggage was very friendly and seemed to be happy all the time. The shows were great. The actors multi-tasked and did a wonderful job at every thing they did. Of course they weren't responsable for the weather, but the diving was really bad. Won't go out with there dive crew again!! There wasn't any thing to do accept eat and drink. We would have to go back to the Maya to get snorkeling gear. The reason we chose Wyndham was because we had stayed at Cozumel and had a wonderful time! We payed more for this trip than any we have taken and received less.Well needless to say we wont be going back to Playa del Carmen Wyndham.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The little shopping center within walking distance was great, and compared to the shopping in Playa Del Carmen, it cost less.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westland, MI
Jul 6, 2009

Very Disappointing!

We have stayed at numerous all-inclusive resorts and the Viva Wyndham Maya had, by far, the worst buffets. It didn't matter if it was breakfast, lunch or dinner - they were all bad. Very few choices and what they did have wasn't good. We arrived Saturday morning and by Tuesday we were going off-site and paying for meals. It was better to pay for something good than to eat the buffet one more time. Also, we booked a superior, ocean front room and when we got to our room all we could see was trees and foliage and a little bit of blue ocean. They told us they didn't have anything that night but would move us on Sunday. Well, the line of people waiting to be moved was very long. It seems they do this all the time, they were used to it. We have stayed at other Wyndham's and had very good experiences. We will NEVER go back to the VWM. If you like to eat, and enjoy good food, this is not the place for you. Until next year, Hungry Traveler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Parilla and Blue Lobster restaurants. They are really, really good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maddog!
Business
Riverside, Ca.
Aug 3, 2009

Bait and Switch!

We got to the Wyndham Maya and they said there was a problem with the booking! They told us that we would have to stay at the Wyndham Azteca 1/2 mile down the road. They said it was an "Upgrade with in room refridgerator and room service!" We wnt to take a look at it and it was a "Rundown, no shade, no air, version of the Maya!" I said "Hel_ No" and made them take us back to the "Maya" where they tried to give me a room in a building under construction with a view of the "Alley!" I paid for "Superior Garden View" so once again I call the front desk far less than happy! After arguing with the Managr and threatening to call their Corporate Office, We found ourselves in an "Ocean View" room! All the rooms had refridgerators, so they obviously lied. You could NOT get reservations for the restaurants we wanted on the days we wanted. They said they were "Booked 5-Days out!" I asked them if we could at least get one of the restaurants on our "Anniversary" which was 3-days away and they said "I told you they were booked!" We walked passed them every night while going to the "Buffet" and they were always only 1/4 full! We will never stay at any of their properties again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't plan on eating there! Some "All Inclusive" if you can't get in!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top