$252 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
371 out of 371
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank aka Pancho
Business
Santa Rosa
Oct 20, 2013

Viva Wyndham

The Staff was helpful, water activities was fun, bartender made strong drinks and just about any type of drink you can think off. Safe location, close to the city. Food was good. Shows were entertaining. If you want a good time to relax, play, go to town and do some shopping, this is the place to go. Very safe to walk to town and bring back gifts for your family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into playa del Carmen and do your shopping, haggle and you will get a good price. the shops across the street have high prices. Stop by the walmart on 30th street, they have a small selection but the prices are decent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kini of Clackamas
Business
Portland, Oregon
Sep 29, 2013

Viva Wynham Maya August 2013

We have stayed previously at three other Playacar all-inclusive facilities. The Maya was, in comparison to our other Playacar lodgings, superior in some respects and lacking in others. Specifically: * Entertainment (5 out of 5). The nightly entertainment was excellent! Best of any property we've been too. For instance, on Las Vegas night, we were expecting some cheesy show-girl type of thing that we'd end up walking out on. Instead, we were treated to something similar to Cirque du Soleil. * Beach (5 of 5). The beach had plenty of palapas, providing plenty of opportunities for shade. The beach itself is deep and powdery. This is the best beach setting of any of the properties we've visited. * Pool (2 of 5). As nice as the beach is, the pool area by the beach is small, crowded, and has an unimaginative layout. This pool area is in need of a basic remodel. The water was apparently heated, and for some reason they had it at near hot tub temperature. We instead used the ocean to cool off. This was the worst pool setting of any of the properties we've visited. * Room (4 of 5). The room was spacious, quiet, cool, and very clean. The bed was comfortable. The setting was pretty with a nice view of the quiet pool (near the entrance). * Specialty Restaurants (3 of 5). The ambiance in the specialty restaurant was fine, the food quite good. (We went to three different restaurants, two of which were at the Viva Azteca, a ten minute walk down the street.) Availability of required reservations was rather limited, but the restaurants themselves were never full when we attended at our reserved time. However, these restaurants were a very welcome break from the tired buffet described next. * Main Buffet (1 of 5). This is the achilles heel of the Maya. The salon is not air conditioned and is unattractive. The buffet layout is very crowded. Decorations or other efforts to make the presentation of the food more attractive were non-existent. But the real issue with the buffet is that the food lacked variety, and often just wasn't very tasty. For breakfast, you have to ask for bacon (when they have it at all), then you get strips that have been warmed but not actually cooked. The buffet was easily the worst of any of the properties we've been to and the single thing that takes what is otherwise a really good property and turns it into a mediocre experience. With a remodel of this area, some air conditioning, some thought into making the food presentation more attractive, and an upgrade to the food quality and selection, the Maya would simply be our new favorite property at the Playacar. The Wyndham Maya would do well to look at what they do at any of the Rius. Overall, this could be a top property with a basic fix of the buffet area and a pool remodel. We would love to return for the entertainment and beach, once the eating experience has been improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Msb363
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 20, 2013

Great location, fun atmosphere

The staff at the hotel was either super nice, like the entertainment crew that goes around making sure that guests have a good time, or very unfriendly/unhelpful, like front desk staff and concierge. Rooms were very clean and had great AC. Food was not good unless you went to one of the resort's restaurants. But we found out when we arrived that you are only allowed two restaurant nights per five night stay, which is unfortunate because the restaurants are practically empty whenever you go. I went with friends and it was a good time. I would recommend it because I did feel like we got our moneys worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You can get more than two restaurant reservations if you go to the concierge at noon the day that you want your extra reservation for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
latinpop
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 17, 2013

We had a wonderful time.

We enjoyed everything about this resort. The Terraza restaurant just opened for the buffet and there was a wide variety of food. Our waiter, Antonio was always pleasant and even sang. The staff was friendly and efficient. The beach is beautiful and the area is safe and very pretty. We will definitely be going back soon. Costa Rica was my favorite place before visiting here but I think it is going to be my second place now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

We went to Cozumel on the ferry and did all our shopping over there. It is cheaper than in Playa. The ferry ride was fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Akila pasamos bien.
Business
Mexico City
Sep 17, 2013

Nice vacations despite the weather.

First vacations in five years and I don't regret picking this ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT. Even when the weather was not cooperative, IT RAINES every day due to the season, the staff was GREAT, the food really good and the 24 hours open ba was AWESOME. Definitely coming back to this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Natha0310
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 17, 2013

Stay away from this hotel

I recently visited this hotel last week for a family vacation and it has been by far the worst time of my life. When we arrived we were disappointed to know that our room was on the opposite side of the resort with no view to the beach. Our room was on a third floor and the building had no elevator. It was a long distance walk to the lobby, beach and all the restaurants. After checking in, I discovered that I only had 2 nights’ reservations to the restaurants, the other 3 nights I was only allowed to eat from the buffet dinner or snack bar by the pool. On our second night we decided to have dinner at the Mexican restaurant, the food and service was great, we were having such a good time that we decided to take my 4yr old son and my two nieces 9 and 5yrs old to the kids club so we could continue to have a great time. The person in charge of the kids club told me that the kids were going to participate in the night show and they needed to be picked-up there by 9:30. We decide to leave the restaurant at 9:10 to see the kids in the show and when we got there our kids were not in the show, I immediately freaked-out and got on stage to ask for my kids, they pointed to the seat in the crowed and continue the show as if nothing had happened. Of course the kids were not sitting there and we started running around the resort looking for them, in the meantime the staff was reported and didn’t do anything to find them. No one move or ran to look for my kids, after 5 minutes of terror I found the kids walking around looking for us. They were felt unattended because they didn’t want to participate on stage. We reported the incident to the manager and although she was very apologetic for what had happened, she didn’t do anything else. From that point on, the key to our room kept getting deactivated and we had to go to the lobby to get new cards every single time. It was very inconvenient because the lobby was so far from our room, we reported the problem multiple times and to different staff members but nothing got resolved. They constantly apologized but did nothing to fix our problems. What happen with my kids is unacceptable; they should have a kids club if they are not going to take good care of them!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Girlllllllllllllll
Business
NYC
Sep 14, 2013

Wonderful room with a view!

Great place, great beach, great and such a wonderful and helpful staff. The food at the restaurants was delicious, but the buffets do get old after a few days. Change it up by going into Playa del Carmen for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book round trip transportation with a private service and make the trip to the resort from the airport (about 45 minutes) as smooth as possible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juls nestea
Business
Calgary
Sep 1, 2013

Excellent place! I just can't wait to go back

This hotel offers away more than what a 4* hotel do. You have all kind of free activities( kayaking, wind surfing, catamaran , gym, etc.) . They have every nite different show, is amaizing facility! I will go back tomorrow if i can! You have food on the table 16 hrs/ day (6am-11pm), ocean is gorgeous, ...i was shocked to see that nobody bugged me for tip , like in Vallarta , and the whole stuff r very , very friendly. I would say was 10 out of 10 , at least for me , and trust me, i travell a lot , all over the places .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Be there away before 9.30 if u want a good seat for the show !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rolliep
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 25, 2013

Perfect Vacation

Number one on everything.Excellent service from the staff and location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gmoon
Business
eau claire wis
Aug 23, 2013

viva maya

This is my 3rd stay in 10 months at this motel. They never disappoint me. My big draw here is the nightly shows and fun atmosphere. Ive brought both my husband and girls from work all enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top