$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
346 reviews
Fantastico!!!!!

Exelente.place .real good services.l like to come back on my next vacation.very fun people See full review

  • laveloz
  • Sep 27, 2014
great family entertaiment

a very positive experience, hotel staff , from waiters to entertainers, were excellent. rooms were... See full review

  • wmartinez
  • Aug 17, 2014
A lush 604-room resort. The resort offers an atmosphere of never-ending fun, thanks to the variety of activities and the chance to explore the culture and history of Mexico. Viva Wyndham Maya encourages guests to bring hearty appetites when visiting the all-inclusive resort. Designed to satisfy the palates of its guests, this resort offers an eclectic blend of local and international culinary delights. The hotel is located right on the beach and it offers a fresh water pool with ocean front, Jacuzzi, cocktail and snack bar (swim-up bar), lobby bar, disco bar, four restaurants, Covered theater with capacity of 600 persons, Discotheque, Two tennis courts lighted & hard surface, Gymnasium, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam bath & shower area, Scuba Diving Center, Guest services, Hospitality and tour desk, Tobacco shop, Jewelry, Boutique, Beauty parlor, Photo shop, Laundry services, Free parking, First aid services, Medical service, Viva Wyndham Kids Club, Car rental, Money exchange, Spa and Meeting Room. ALL INCLUSIVE: Full breakfast / lunch / dinner, Snacks, Unlimited national drinks, Cocktails and national wine, Welcome cocktail, Unlimited non-motorized sports, 24-hour snack, Taxes and tips, Daily activities program, International entertainment staff, Live nightly entertainment, Theme parties, Disco, Dance classes, Trapeze, Climbing Wall, Gym, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Childrens program from 4 to 12 years old, mini disco for kids, In-room safe box (surcharge), Lounge chairs and beach towels. Sports included in the package: Windsurfing, Kayaking, Sailing, Introductory dive lessons, Boogie boards, Water polo, Paddleboard, Archery, Table tennis, Water aerobics, Tennis, Bicycling, Gym with trainer, Aerobics, Stretching, Beach volleyball, and bocce ball on the beach and Trapeze (with instructor). Sports available at extra charge: Scuba diving with Scuba Caribe Diving (PADI certified courses), fishing, golf at the Playacar golf course (18 holes, PAR 72 Championship Golf Course designed Robert Von Hagge), horseback riding (20 Kms. from property), Cenotes snorkeling, cave diving, snorkeling. Viva Circus is the new entertainment program with amazing acrobatic stunts, thrilling interactive trapeze lessons and astounding circus juggling and entertainment. Viva Wyndham Maya will continue to entertain its guests with a full line-up of circus performances and interactive stunts with trained professionals, further expanding its comprehensive all-inclusive entertainment offerings. OPTIONAL PACKAGES: Honeymoon Package: For a minimum of 4 days and 3 nights stay, your clients will be able to enjoy, at no additional charge an upgrade to a higher category room (based on hotel availability) a bottle of champagne / sparkling wine, a fruit basket, a hors dovres tray, a 7 x 4 picture, 2 t-shirts, plus our all inclusive package. Copy of the marriage certificate required upon check in. Within six month of marriage. Packages Available with Extra Charge: Wedding Package: Includes Civil Judge and all legal expenses (does not include legalization), Wedding cake for 10 persons, Bar for 10 guests, Decoration, Bride bouquet, Wedding coordinator, 10 pictures, and Music. The corkage is free of charge. Also available Spa, Diving and Excursion packages.

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Garden View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Ocean View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Deluxe Room
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed with garden view, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with bathtub, terrace , hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Adjoining rooms with communicated door are available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Vista Room
All rooms have one king size bed and are situated ocean front, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Cribs available upon request
All Together Room
These are two guaranteed adjoining rooms with connecting door, allowing parents to be closed to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Each room has two queen size bed (or one King bed) air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), terrace, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor. Cribs are available upon request.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

La Terraza
International buffet restaurant with theme dinner open for breakfast, lunch and dinner No reservation required).
Hacienda Don Diego
Mexican a la carte restaurant, open for dinner, reservation required.
Portofino
Mediterranean cuisine restaurant a la carte, open for dinner, reservations required.
Miramare
Pizza and pasta restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required).
Viva Cafe
A fusion a la carte restaurant with an international and modern cuisine, open for dinner, reservation required
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Xul ha
Mayan specialty restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Bamboo
Oriental restaurant a la carte open for dinner, (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room: Capacity 200 persons, divisible in two sections for 100 persons each.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (346)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
346 out of 346
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dawn Sc
Business
Cottage Grove, MN
Mar 25, 2013

spring break trip with daughter and friends

2nd time at the viva maya playa del carmen. Love,love,love, the location and beach is awesome. Front desk could be a little friendlier, escpecially because it is your first impression. Resort store help not so friendly also. They are very picky on the money they take, not sure why. Bills with write marks on them or small tears they will not accept. The market across the street is more accomodating. Entertainment staff and bartenders awesome. Restaurant food is awesome buffet is average. There is something for everyone. My big complaint was the dampness and odor in our room. Tried to regulate the air with the fan, but didn't always help. Felt very safe at this hotel. Lots to do but we chose to just lay on the beach, it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely make reservations at the restaurants, the food is awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PatnElsie
Business
Greensboro, NC
Mar 25, 2013

Our Cancun One Week Getaway

It was our second time at this resort. It was as good as our first visit but the daily charge for the room safe annoyed me somewhat. The ala carte restaurants were all very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diandra
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 10, 2013

Beautiful!

The hotel staff was very friendly and so efficient. The second I was done eating something, they'd take away my dirty plate. They didn't need to be THAT efficient, but it was really nice being catered to. Kayaking, paddle boarding, beach volleyball, and all the fun activities were great and included in the fee. The location is absolutely beautiful since it's a beach front property. The Mayan restaurant at the sister resort is super delicious and I highly recommend it. The only downside I think is that you can only reserve 3 of the resort's restaurants for a 7 night stay. It's okay though since the menu for the buffet changes every night (i.e. Monday - Mexican, Tuesday - Italian, etc) Unfortunately, they don't have a shuttle going to Playa Del Carmen or Cancun. A taxi to Cancun would cost $55, so that's $110 round trip plus tax and so we didn't go there. We were told that it was only a 10 minute walk to Playa del Carmen but that was a ridiculous underestimation since the walk is 30-40 minutes. I know that since we did this round trip walk 4 out of the 7 nights we were there. Overall though, the experience was excellent. The beach was beautiful, the waitstaff friendly, and the food delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RBird
Business
Rancho Mirage
Feb 18, 2013

Good getaway place

Don't know what others have written about this place, but it is in a perfect location--GREAT beach to walk all the way up to Playa del Carmen or in the other direction to the jungle. Staff is very friendly & helpful. Food in all restaurants was good or very good. Big variety that changed even on the buffet. There are 2 pools; one that allows kids & another that is somewhat hidden for adults only. Alot of European travelers where here when we were here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen is only about 2-3 miles away. The ferry stop is easily within walking distance. If you plan to make many purchases I would suggest driving so you don't have to carry the stuff, but very nice walk along the beach or even on the sidewalks which go all the way into Playa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bob pip
Business
michigan
Feb 16, 2013

Great location to site and 5th ave.

We have been to this property over 12 times. It's location works well for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

From cancun to tulum. Lot to see and do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Professional Suntanner
Business
Ogden, UT
Oct 27, 2012

20th Anniversary Vacation

This is our 6th visit to the Playacar area and we absolutely love it. We stayed at Wyndham Maya about 5 years ago (we did not choose the hotel, it was through a tour/group), and since then have stayed at their sister hotel, Viva Wyndham Azteca and other hotels in this area. We went back to the Wyndham Maya because of the location and the price. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the hotel has maintained its clean and extremely friendly atmosphere. The rooms now have central air (before it was the wall mounted air conditioning), they have partially enclosed the pool bar and grill to protect against rain/wind. Only complaint is the beds are very hard !!! Seems to be that way in every hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and always say "Hola" when then pass you in the halls. The kids in charge of daytime entertainment are very energetic and friendly. There is always something to do from yoga/stretching, water aerobics, dance lessons (right by the pool), darts, beach games (coconut bowling), volley ball etc. There are Hobie Cats, kayaks and boogie boards. For a price you can parasail or rent wave runners. The hotel has cute activity for children too. There are plenty of chairs by the pool and on the beach. Best of all, the quality of the food has improved so much!! There is something for everyone and every culture. The specialty restaurants were amazing ! We were never disappointed. You must make reservations early because they fill up fast. While we were there we visited Xplor and Xcaret. Xplor has 14 zip lines, underground rivers to swim or raft in, and amphibious vehicles you drive above and underground. Xcaret is a zoo but not like the zoo's in the US. Its more for animal protection and conservation, very interesting and informative. The best part of Xcaret is the Mayan show they do every night. It is spectacular and a must see. Other places we have visited in the past include Chichen Itza, Tulum, Xel-Ha, and Coba. You're only about 1 mile from the ferry that takes you over to Cozumel where you can snorkle, scuba dive, or rent scooters and check out the island. We've also snorkeled at Akamal and a little-known place called Yal-Ku. I would definately recommend this hotel to friends and family. Its not a 5 star by any means but it's very clean and the atmosphere is welcoming. The beach is beautiful and the area is very safe. Playacar is a gated community.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy souveniers and any personal amenities on 5th Ave in Playa Del Carmen. The prices are much cheaper than at the hotel(s). Short taxi ride is about $7 or you can walk in about 20 min.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ZDisappointed Honeymooner
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jul 25, 2012

Terrible Unsafe Hotel

We booked this trip for our honeymoon...big mistake!! The hotel must have been falsely advertised. The beach was not even visible from our "ocean-view" room. Our room was just outside a stage where obnoxious loud music was playing until at least 3 a.m. Our room was no better than that of a cheap motel and it was hardly kept clean. The balcony was small and dirty. Our special "honeymoon package" included a "free photo," which we had to spend $50 to ever see. Our welcome snack was 3 pieces of ham and rotten fruit. The food was terrible. All of the meat was questionable and reservations had to be made far in advance for any of the decent restaurants. We tried to call home but the hotel would not unlock our phone. We offered to pay the fee but they still did not unlock our phone until the following morning. We sent our room number to our parents via email, hoping they would call so they could help us get out of there. We waited by the phone, listening to children screaming and running down the halls all night. During the night, the door to our room was even opened. The whole trip was a total bust. The beach is full of drug dealings and most of the activities are run by people who will not even help you. Would not ever go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
windsor canada
Jul 21, 2012

nothing wrong with this resort

hotel was worthy of a 4.5 star rating. Food was good and plentiful, hotel grounds and pool/ beach were 5 star. Nightly shows were very good. Staff were polite and constantly cleaning tables, beach sand... Have been to over 12 all inclusives in Mexico, punta cana, carribean and this is the best resort for the money hands down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rittzy
Business
New Jersey
Jul 19, 2012

Great Location Isn't Everything

I traveled with a large group of 11 friends from the age of 22-30 mostly couples but some of us single. As for the location you couldn't ask for better, beautiful beach great for laying around and doing nothing (unless you wanted a drink you had to get up to do that no drink service not even around the pool). To many kids, and I don't mind kids but when you cant get to the pool bar because every spot is taken up by a kid then it gets annoying. Why are the kids at the bar anyway? Rooms were nice and were always cleaned to perfection so I hate to wrap the cleaning crew into my negative review of the rest of the staff. My main problem was with the front desk and making reservations for dinner, it was always a fight. They're six restaurants to choose from, 3 at viva maya and 3 at viva aztec (their "sister" resort 2 locations down, they tell you that you can go there and enjoy all the same things that you do at viva maya but when your there the bar staff limits you to one drink) and there were never any reservations available. However, when you walk by the restaurants on your way to the horrible buffet (which has no a/c and its always 90 plus degrees inside) they are always empty. I've been to this area before and feel like the competition is to great to have this lack in customer service. I will not be staying here again and would not recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out a restaurant called Alux in town. Went here on one of the nights we couldn't get a reservation and it was one of the most amazing restaurants I've eaten in. The food the good and the atmosphere amazing. If your nice to your waiter you may just get a tour at the end.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Risen Savior Travel Club
Business
Wichita, KS, USA
Jul 19, 2012

Awesome family value!!

The Wyndam Maya was a great place to take the family and enjoy the Carribbean to the fullest. The room was fine, nothing super or lousy,with plenty of room for four.( 2 teens). The bars are great with plenty of top shelf choices and great service. The nonbuffet restaurants were great with nice choices and beautiful presentations. Make your resevations early and BE NICE!!! You'll be treated to a great experience. We loved our dive shop @ the resort. Our family had 2 brand new divers and we were given great service and education from the staff. Thanks Roberto!! The resort was full, but you could always find someplace to enjoy the beach or the pool. Too many chairs are reserved with no one sitting in them, but thats pretty common with all inclusives. The trapeze staff was not as friendly as the last time we visited. There was never an opportunity to do a pass from one flyer to another, BUMMER! Overall, a great place to explore the Playa Del Carmen area and enjoy what the resort and beach has to offer.It is not a 5 star resort but, it is the most resort for the dollar we have found. To blessed to be stessed!!! Mark

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations asap and be flexible with your timing. Give good service a few bucks. These guys work hard and most truly enjoy what they do, so we should reward them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top