$252 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
371 out of 371
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caseydog
Business
Iowa, USA
Mar 24, 2014

Great Spring Break Trip

We traveled with 5 families over spring break - kids were teenagers to young adult. There was always something for the kids to do as the entertainment staff is great. Games during the day, shows at night and the disco were enjoyed by the kids. Loved the location as it's in a gated area - always felt safe. Walked to 5th avenue quite a few times and never was afraid. Food is so-so and reservation system needs to be improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bidou
Business
Québec, Canada
Mar 23, 2014

Excellent vacation with my family!

Very nice experience. We were a bit disapointed with the front desk staff. We arrived one day late, our flight was canceled because of the bad weather. When we arrived at the Hotel around lunch time, our room was not ready even if we were charged for the night we missed. They over booked the Hotel, so they gave our room to someone else. We had to wait up until 2h30 for our room to be ready. Because they gave our room to someone else the night we missed, we asked for a credit for that night and they refused. That was our only disapointment. We have already stayed twice at there sister Hotel, The Viva Wyndham Azteca so we were disapointed with that part of the service. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vova
Business
Toronto, Ont
Mar 17, 2014

Very good family vacation

Beatiful beach,nice cozy hotel, a lots of attraction near by

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuzieQ629
Business
Maryland
Jan 13, 2014

Great all inclusive

The hotel was very nice. Trying to get reservations at the hotel restaurants was difficult if you don't plan 24-48 hours in advance.The buffet for meals was excellent and adequate. There were plenty of activities, especially for fitness fanatics and children. Very close proximity to 5th Avenue (great shopping and restaurants) and many tourist attractions (ruins and activities off site). Horseback riding on the beach with snorkeling was my favorite. I would stay here again! I think the price was very fair. The girls in the hotel gift shop were not extremely courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Friends vacation
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 12, 2014

Winter vacation

We had a great time at the Wyndham Maya. The beach and water were beautiful. They had many thing for both adults and kids to do. Plenty of workers keeping the grounds looking beautiful. The food at the buffet was good as well as the restaurant with 5 course meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bob pip
Business
michigan
Dec 9, 2013

good value

We have stayed at this property about 15 times. Great location, beach, and well laided out. The staff has always been good to us. They know us by our names as soon as they see us pull up. If you are looking for 5 star this is not the place. If your looking for a good time and a lot of fun.... this place can work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debbie V.
Business
Falls Church, VA
Nov 22, 2013

Wonderful staff, good food, great location

This trip was taken at the beginning of November when the travelers to the resorts are at their lowest. My family traveled with two adults, a 3 year old, and a 1 year old. The food met our expectations. We don't expect high end food, but good food. With the choices that were available at the buffet, we were able to find food for everyone to eat without complaints. An all-inclusive is great for families, because the buffet provides so many choices for young children. We did also go to one of the restaurants (the Mexican one) on one night, and found the staff responsive and the food enjoyable. The room was clean and adequate. When we first moved in, there was an issue with the door latching. The staff immediately came to fix the issue, and we were extra careful to pull the door shut. We did ask for a crib in the room, and parents should be warned (if all the cribs are the same) that the sides are not quite old enough for older toddlers. The side only came up to the bellybutton of our 1-year old. Therefore, we had to always be on watch for when she would wake up. The resort also has a free child care area. It includes a playset, a pool, and an indoor area with a playstation, dvd player, and art supplies. The childcare director happened to meet us on the path on our first night and invited our son to the daycare program. He didn't take to it the first day (as he wanted to be in the big pool), but the second day he wouldn't leave. He got to play in the pool and they even took them to the archery course. The best thing about this resort (and a resort we had gone to before) is the special attention the staff give to the kids. One of the activity directors was dancing the salsa with my daughter. The concierge was asking my son what he did each day, what souveniers he bought, etc. They go out of their way to make it enjoyable for everyone. Some staff even made the effort to remember our kids names, when there are hundreds of visitors coming and going. The pool was big and nice. We brought a life jacket for our son. The beach was secluded, and I did not notice any people selling their wares on the beach. Since we went during the off-season, there were a lot of chairs available on the beach and at the pool. We did not make it to the adult pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MagnumRJ
Business
Woodland, Al
Nov 20, 2013

Great PLace

You won,t find a better place on the beach. Rooms need a little up grade.Good food this is the second time we stayed here.People and staff are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

up town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rebehka
Business
Bham, al
Nov 5, 2013

It was a trick and not a treat

100.00 Round trip to airport, no good. Could only eat 2 xs in Resturants. All other meals at a buffet, not very good. Staff not friendly, nor helpful Nothing special in the rooms. The gym was very small, no air condition or windows Overall, the resort was worn out and need some TLC The best thing was being with our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Downtown Playa had great shopping, Resturants and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmtravel
Business
bloomington, il
Oct 25, 2013

beautiful beach and fun for family!

Wonderful beach; can't get any better than this location. Employees were true entertainers--with nightly shows, tons of activities, and really something for all of us. Kids are 8 & 9 and said this was the best vaca ever! They got to learn trapeze! The kids club was separate from main activities and really needed more planned, fun activities (movies (in Spanish) do not keep kids attention). I hope they improve this and include a pager/communication system for parents. Food was also only average at best, a few improvements (such as air conditioning in the buffet area and learning how to cook a basic, decent, tomato sauce) would make a huge difference. Overall -- beach, pool, cleanliness, service, drinks were fantastic!!! We will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top