$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
348 reviews
great family entertaiment

a very positive experience, hotel staff , from waiters to entertainers, were excellent. rooms were... See full review

  • wmartinez
  • Aug 17, 2014
Great Family Resort

Traveled with my 2 teenage kids. We all had a great time with all the activities available. Buffet... See full review

  • Florida Fan of Mexico
  • Aug 13, 2014
Caribbean beach resort with swim-up bar and Jacuzzi near Mayan ruins
The all-inclusive Viva Wyndham Maya is located just two miles from Playa del Carmen and a short drive to archaeological Mayan ruins. The resort boasts 480 suites, four restaurants, a covered theater, freshwater pool with ocean view, Jacuzzi, tobacco shop, swim-up bar, Renova Spa and Wyndam Kids Club. The newly added Viva Circus program at Viva Wyndham Maya combines acrobatic stunts, interactive trapeze lessons, juggling and high-powered entertainment.
Highlights:
  • Family-friendly with kids club and Viva Circus entertainment
  • Near Playa del Carmen shopping, nightlife and entertainment
  • On-site Renova Spa
Rooms:

All Viva Wyndham Maya suites face either the ocean or the garden and are decorated in modest, contemporary decor. They feature marble flooring and queen beds, satellite TV and balconies. Family rooms allow parents some privacy while kids enjoy provided Wii and Xbox games. Superior suites feature Caribbean-inspired decor, new modern artwork, colorful accents and flat-screen TVs. In the superior plus suite, a private Jacuzzi and glassed-in, marble shower create a luxurious, relaxing atmosphere.

Features:

Guests at Viva Wyndham Maya enjoy live nightly entertainment, theme parties, dancing, tennis, windsurfing and kayaking. For the adventurous guest, the all-inclusive package includes passes to the climbing wall, super jump trampoline and circus trapeze with instructor. For a serene experience with nature, grab the complementary snorkeling gear and experience the long stretch of the Mayan Reef coral. Relax in the Renova Spa with a massage or hydrating facial (fees apply).

Dining

Four restaurants allow guests to choose a variety of cuisines for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Three bars, including a swim-up pool bar, are available at no additional cost. If you're traveling to the Riviera for love, the hotel offers wedding packages that include a civil judge, wedding coordinator and more. Check with the Viva Wyndham Maya's concierge for details and applicable fees before booking.   

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 miles)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Xcaret ecological/archeological theme park (6 mi/10.3 km)
  • Cancun (45 mi/73 km)
Business
  • Meeting room - capacity 200 people
  • Business center and concierge (fees may apply)

Hotel Map

20.6079 -87.0869
Area served
Playa del Carmen-Riveria May
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport, 45 miles.
Area description
In the Riviera Maya, at the Playacar complex, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen Town, 45 miles from Cancun International Airport.

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Garden View
All rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, hair dryer, balcony and safety deposit box. Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request,featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Ocean View
All rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, hair dryer, balcony and safety deposit box. Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Deluxe with Jacuzzi
Feature Caribbean inspired, contemporary dcor, including tall built-in headboards with an interior light, tranquil ivory and light blue bedding, a modern rattan chair, marble floors, a flat screen television and balconies. The beautifully appointed bathrooms feature a marble vanity with a double sink, marble walls and a Jacuzzi tub, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Family Room
The Family Room is two connecting rooms and now when guests book the room, kids 17 years of age and younger are permitted to stay in the connecting room allowing parents to be next to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Additionally, the Family Rooms now feature WII and XBOX games included in the all-inclusive price. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Hacienda Don Diego
Mexican menu a la carte for dinner (reservations required for dinner).
La Terraza
International buffet restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Portofino
Mediterranean cuisine restaurant a la carte, open for dinner, reservations required.
Miramare
Pizza and pasta restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required).
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Xul ha
Mayan specialty restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Bambu
Oriental restaurant a la carte open for dinner, (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room: Capacity 200 persons, divisible in two sections for 100 persons each.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (348)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
348 out of 348
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RKMoore
Lexington, North Carolina
Jun 10, 2013

Staff

Great entertainment crew!!! They were focussed on ensuring everyone is having a great time even though it rained for a week nonstop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GOSARES
Fairfield, Connecticut
May 14, 2013

It is Good Place

I like the location, very clean, beautiful views of the Ocean, and the food was good too. Lost of activities scheduled to do during the day, nice shows at night. Over all it was a good place to stay. The only complain I have is the Front Desk people; very un polite. The room was not ready for us after 4 PM, even though check in was at 3PM (we arrived at about 1:30 PM) nobody took the time to explain the activities, nor what to do while we waited for the room, besides a restaurant and the bathroom. One of the ladies who sits in the front of the reception did not acknowledge us even though we were siting right in front of her, we just wanted to ask questions about a reservation for a restaurant. I suggest the reception should have activities for those who wait for their rooms, and bathrooms with showers to refresh and get changed. We would not have minded the wait if there was a bit more of direction... The rest of the stuff was really great, very helpful and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring pesos in cash with you $$$, buy them before you arrive, and make sure you are paying the official exchange rate. If you want to do the activities that are not included in your package, it is better to negotiate in their money. It is a hustle to pay with your credit card, and you could be end up paying a lot more.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wilnelia
Puerto Rico
Apr 29, 2013

Expectacular!!!

The best experience for ever, the food, the beach, the shows, excellent service! Thanks!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The Night Show!!

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Al Tex
South Texas
Apr 23, 2013

Awesome vacation getaway

My wife and I truly enjoyed this Hotel. Everything was perfect, and we'll gladly book another trip soon..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You definately don't need to leave your Hotel for dining. Everything you could ever want is at your footsteps...

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dawn Sc
Cottage Grove, MN
Mar 25, 2013

spring break trip with daughter and friends

2nd time at the viva maya playa del carmen. Love,love,love, the location and beach is awesome. Front desk could be a little friendlier, escpecially because it is your first impression. Resort store help not so friendly also. They are very picky on the money they take, not sure why. Bills with write marks on them or small tears they will not accept. The market across the street is more accomodating. Entertainment staff and bartenders awesome. Restaurant food is awesome buffet is average. There is something for everyone. My big complaint was the dampness and odor in our room. Tried to regulate the air with the fan, but didn't always help. Felt very safe at this hotel. Lots to do but we chose to just lay on the beach, it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely make reservations at the restaurants, the food is awesome!

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PatnElsie
Greensboro, NC
Mar 25, 2013

Our Cancun One Week Getaway

It was our second time at this resort. It was as good as our first visit but the daily charge for the room safe annoyed me somewhat. The ala carte restaurants were all very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diandra
Boston, MA
Mar 10, 2013

Beautiful!

The hotel staff was very friendly and so efficient. The second I was done eating something, they'd take away my dirty plate. They didn't need to be THAT efficient, but it was really nice being catered to. Kayaking, paddle boarding, beach volleyball, and all the fun activities were great and included in the fee. The location is absolutely beautiful since it's a beach front property. The Mayan restaurant at the sister resort is super delicious and I highly recommend it. The only downside I think is that you can only reserve 3 of the resort's restaurants for a 7 night stay. It's okay though since the menu for the buffet changes every night (i.e. Monday - Mexican, Tuesday - Italian, etc) Unfortunately, they don't have a shuttle going to Playa Del Carmen or Cancun. A taxi to Cancun would cost $55, so that's $110 round trip plus tax and so we didn't go there. We were told that it was only a 10 minute walk to Playa del Carmen but that was a ridiculous underestimation since the walk is 30-40 minutes. I know that since we did this round trip walk 4 out of the 7 nights we were there. Overall though, the experience was excellent. The beach was beautiful, the waitstaff friendly, and the food delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RBird
Rancho Mirage
Feb 18, 2013

Good getaway place

Don't know what others have written about this place, but it is in a perfect location--GREAT beach to walk all the way up to Playa del Carmen or in the other direction to the jungle. Staff is very friendly & helpful. Food in all restaurants was good or very good. Big variety that changed even on the buffet. There are 2 pools; one that allows kids & another that is somewhat hidden for adults only. Alot of European travelers where here when we were here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen is only about 2-3 miles away. The ferry stop is easily within walking distance. If you plan to make many purchases I would suggest driving so you don't have to carry the stuff, but very nice walk along the beach or even on the sidewalks which go all the way into Playa.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bob pip
michigan
Feb 16, 2013

Great location to site and 5th ave.

We have been to this property over 12 times. It's location works well for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

From cancun to tulum. Lot to see and do.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Professional Suntanner
Ogden, UT
Oct 27, 2012

20th Anniversary Vacation

This is our 6th visit to the Playacar area and we absolutely love it. We stayed at Wyndham Maya about 5 years ago (we did not choose the hotel, it was through a tour/group), and since then have stayed at their sister hotel, Viva Wyndham Azteca and other hotels in this area. We went back to the Wyndham Maya because of the location and the price. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the hotel has maintained its clean and extremely friendly atmosphere. The rooms now have central air (before it was the wall mounted air conditioning), they have partially enclosed the pool bar and grill to protect against rain/wind. Only complaint is the beds are very hard !!! Seems to be that way in every hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and always say "Hola" when then pass you in the halls. The kids in charge of daytime entertainment are very energetic and friendly. There is always something to do from yoga/stretching, water aerobics, dance lessons (right by the pool), darts, beach games (coconut bowling), volley ball etc. There are Hobie Cats, kayaks and boogie boards. For a price you can parasail or rent wave runners. The hotel has cute activity for children too. There are plenty of chairs by the pool and on the beach. Best of all, the quality of the food has improved so much!! There is something for everyone and every culture. The specialty restaurants were amazing ! We were never disappointed. You must make reservations early because they fill up fast. While we were there we visited Xplor and Xcaret. Xplor has 14 zip lines, underground rivers to swim or raft in, and amphibious vehicles you drive above and underground. Xcaret is a zoo but not like the zoo's in the US. Its more for animal protection and conservation, very interesting and informative. The best part of Xcaret is the Mayan show they do every night. It is spectacular and a must see. Other places we have visited in the past include Chichen Itza, Tulum, Xel-Ha, and Coba. You're only about 1 mile from the ferry that takes you over to Cozumel where you can snorkle, scuba dive, or rent scooters and check out the island. We've also snorkeled at Akamal and a little-known place called Yal-Ku. I would definately recommend this hotel to friends and family. Its not a 5 star by any means but it's very clean and the atmosphere is welcoming. The beach is beautiful and the area is very safe. Playacar is a gated community.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy souveniers and any personal amenities on 5th Ave in Playa Del Carmen. The prices are much cheaper than at the hotel(s). Short taxi ride is about $7 or you can walk in about 20 min.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search