$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 23, 2015

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
348 reviews
Excellent vacation destination

We had a fantastic time on our vacation. Everyone there was courteous, professional and... See full review

  • S 1st timer
  • Nov 30, 2014
Fantastico!!!!!

Exelente.place .real good services.l like to come back on my next vacation.very fun people See full review

  • laveloz
  • Sep 27, 2014
Caribbean beach resort with swim-up bar and Jacuzzi near Mayan ruins
The all-inclusive Viva Wyndham Maya is located just two miles from Playa del Carmen and a short drive to archaeological Mayan ruins. The resort boasts 604 rooms, four restaurants, a covered theater, freshwater pool with ocean view, Jacuzzi, tobacco shop, swim-up bar, Renova Spa and Wyndam Kids Club. The newly added Viva Circus program at Viva Wyndham Maya combines acrobatic stunts, interactive trapeze lessons, juggling and high-powered entertainment.
Highlights:
  • Family-friendly with kids club and Viva Circus entertainment
  • Near Playa del Carmen shopping, nightlife and entertainment
  • On-site Renova Spa
Rooms:

All Viva Wyndham Maya suites face either the ocean or the garden and are decorated in modest, contemporary decor. They feature marble flooring and queen beds, satellite TV and balconies. Family rooms allow parents some privacy while kids enjoy provided Wii and Xbox games. Superior suites feature Caribbean-inspired decor, new modern artwork, colorful accents and flat-screen TVs. In the superior plus suite, a private Jacuzzi and glassed-in, marble shower create a luxurious, relaxing atmosphere.

Features:

Guests at Viva Wyndham Maya enjoy live nightly entertainment, theme parties, dancing, tennis, windsurfing and kayaking. For the adventurous guest, the all-inclusive package includes passes to the climbing wall, super jump trampoline and circus trapeze with instructor. For a serene experience with nature, grab the complementary snorkeling gear and experience the long stretch of the Mayan Reef coral. Relax in the Renova Spa with a massage or hydrating facial (fees apply).

Dining

Four restaurants allow guests to choose a variety of cuisines for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Three bars, including a swim-up pool bar, are available at no additional cost. If you're traveling to the Riviera for love, the hotel offers wedding packages that include a civil judge, wedding coordinator and more. Check with the Viva Wyndham Maya's concierge for details and applicable fees before booking.   

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 miles)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Xcaret ecological/archeological theme park (6 mi/10.3 km)
  • Cancun (45 mi/73 km)
Business
  • Meeting room - capacity 200 people
  • Business center and concierge (fees may apply)

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

All Together Room
These are two guaranteed adjoining rooms with connecting door, allowing parents to be closed to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Each room has two queen size bed (or one King bed) air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), terrace, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor. Cribs are available upon request.
Superior Garden View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Ocean View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Deluxe Room
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed with garden view, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with bathtub, terrace , hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Adjoining rooms with communicated door are available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Vista Room
All rooms have one king size bed and are situated ocean front, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Cribs available upon request

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room: Capacity 200 persons, divisible in two sections for 100 persons each.

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental restaurant a la carte open for dinner, (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
La Terraza
International buffet restaurant with theme dinner open for breakfast, lunch and dinner No reservation required).
Hacienda Don Diego
Mexican a la carte restaurant, open for dinner, reservation required.
Portofino
Mediterranean cuisine restaurant a la carte, open for dinner, reservations required.
Miramare
Pizza and pasta restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required).
Viva Cafe
A fusion a la carte restaurant with an international and modern cuisine, open for dinner, reservation required
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Xul ha
Mayan specialty restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (348)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
348 out of 348
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Msb363
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 20, 2013

Great location, fun atmosphere

The staff at the hotel was either super nice, like the entertainment crew that goes around making sure that guests have a good time, or very unfriendly/unhelpful, like front desk staff and concierge. Rooms were very clean and had great AC. Food was not good unless you went to one of the resort's restaurants. But we found out when we arrived that you are only allowed two restaurant nights per five night stay, which is unfortunate because the restaurants are practically empty whenever you go. I went with friends and it was a good time. I would recommend it because I did feel like we got our moneys worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You can get more than two restaurant reservations if you go to the concierge at noon the day that you want your extra reservation for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
latinpop
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 17, 2013

We had a wonderful time.

We enjoyed everything about this resort. The Terraza restaurant just opened for the buffet and there was a wide variety of food. Our waiter, Antonio was always pleasant and even sang. The staff was friendly and efficient. The beach is beautiful and the area is safe and very pretty. We will definitely be going back soon. Costa Rica was my favorite place before visiting here but I think it is going to be my second place now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

We went to Cozumel on the ferry and did all our shopping over there. It is cheaper than in Playa. The ferry ride was fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Akila pasamos bien.
Business
Mexico City
Sep 17, 2013

Nice vacations despite the weather.

First vacations in five years and I don't regret picking this ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT. Even when the weather was not cooperative, IT RAINES every day due to the season, the staff was GREAT, the food really good and the 24 hours open ba was AWESOME. Definitely coming back to this hotel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Natha0310
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 17, 2013

Stay away from this hotel

I recently visited this hotel last week for a family vacation and it has been by far the worst time of my life. When we arrived we were disappointed to know that our room was on the opposite side of the resort with no view to the beach. Our room was on a third floor and the building had no elevator. It was a long distance walk to the lobby, beach and all the restaurants. After checking in, I discovered that I only had 2 nights’ reservations to the restaurants, the other 3 nights I was only allowed to eat from the buffet dinner or snack bar by the pool. On our second night we decided to have dinner at the Mexican restaurant, the food and service was great, we were having such a good time that we decided to take my 4yr old son and my two nieces 9 and 5yrs old to the kids club so we could continue to have a great time. The person in charge of the kids club told me that the kids were going to participate in the night show and they needed to be picked-up there by 9:30. We decide to leave the restaurant at 9:10 to see the kids in the show and when we got there our kids were not in the show, I immediately freaked-out and got on stage to ask for my kids, they pointed to the seat in the crowed and continue the show as if nothing had happened. Of course the kids were not sitting there and we started running around the resort looking for them, in the meantime the staff was reported and didn’t do anything to find them. No one move or ran to look for my kids, after 5 minutes of terror I found the kids walking around looking for us. They were felt unattended because they didn’t want to participate on stage. We reported the incident to the manager and although she was very apologetic for what had happened, she didn’t do anything else. From that point on, the key to our room kept getting deactivated and we had to go to the lobby to get new cards every single time. It was very inconvenient because the lobby was so far from our room, we reported the problem multiple times and to different staff members but nothing got resolved. They constantly apologized but did nothing to fix our problems. What happen with my kids is unacceptable; they should have a kids club if they are not going to take good care of them!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Girlllllllllllllll
Business
NYC
Sep 14, 2013

Wonderful room with a view!

Great place, great beach, great and such a wonderful and helpful staff. The food at the restaurants was delicious, but the buffets do get old after a few days. Change it up by going into Playa del Carmen for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book round trip transportation with a private service and make the trip to the resort from the airport (about 45 minutes) as smooth as possible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juls nestea
Business
Calgary
Sep 1, 2013

Excellent place! I just can't wait to go back

This hotel offers away more than what a 4* hotel do. You have all kind of free activities( kayaking, wind surfing, catamaran , gym, etc.) . They have every nite different show, is amaizing facility! I will go back tomorrow if i can! You have food on the table 16 hrs/ day (6am-11pm), ocean is gorgeous, ...i was shocked to see that nobody bugged me for tip , like in Vallarta , and the whole stuff r very , very friendly. I would say was 10 out of 10 , at least for me , and trust me, i travell a lot , all over the places .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Be there away before 9.30 if u want a good seat for the show !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rolliep
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 25, 2013

Perfect Vacation

Number one on everything.Excellent service from the staff and location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gmoon
Business
eau claire wis
Aug 23, 2013

viva maya

This is my 3rd stay in 10 months at this motel. They never disappoint me. My big draw here is the nightly shows and fun atmosphere. Ive brought both my husband and girls from work all enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caroline S
Business
Montréal, Canada
Aug 17, 2013

Gréât vacations

We loved it ! The hotel was very clean and everything was near to the beautiful beach and the rest of the facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ge0rgie and Co
Business
London, UK
Aug 13, 2013

One of the Best Holidays

Great family holiday, animation team were brilliant we looked forward to the nightly performances. During the day the same staff entertained Children and Adults with various activities. Lots of activities to keep even the most restless child happy. Buffet food was nice however very repetitive after 10 days we'd had enough. The Mediterranean restaurant was really nice, Mexican and Italian OK... A Tip left most days ensured the maids kept our rooms clean and tidy and the fridge well stocked with bottles of water. The hotel does need to do something about the reserving of sun loungers, I decided against joining this growing movement of people getting up at 5 to put out towels so never managed to gain prime spots by the pool, But did observe empty loungers all day where people didn't turn up and use them. I think all towels should be rounded up if no-one arrives by 10.00 to give everyone a chance. Overall this hotel definitely gets a thumbs up from us and I would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel didn't have Soya or rice milk for my daughter so we got a taxi to Walmart (70 pesos each way) and found what we needed, and also found plenty of souvenirs being sold much cheaper than the resort and local shops... A visit to 5th Avenue is also a good idea, but beware of pricing, haggle on everything...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top