$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
341 reviews
great family entertaiment

a very positive experience, hotel staff , from waiters to entertainers, were excellent. rooms were... See full review

  • wmartinez
  • Aug 17, 2014
Great Family Resort

Traveled with my 2 teenage kids. We all had a great time with all the activities available. Buffet... See full review

  • Florida Fan of Mexico
  • Aug 13, 2014
Caribbean beach resort with swim-up bar and Jacuzzi near Mayan ruins
The all-inclusive Viva Wyndham Maya is located just two miles from Playa del Carmen and a short drive to archaeological Mayan ruins. The resort boasts 480 suites, four restaurants, a covered theater, freshwater pool with ocean view, Jacuzzi, tobacco shop, swim-up bar, Renova Spa and Wyndam Kids Club. The newly added Viva Circus program at Viva Wyndham Maya combines acrobatic stunts, interactive trapeze lessons, juggling and high-powered entertainment.
Highlights:
  • Family-friendly with kids club and Viva Circus entertainment
  • Near Playa del Carmen shopping, nightlife and entertainment
  • On-site Renova Spa
Rooms:

All Viva Wyndham Maya suites face either the ocean or the garden and are decorated in modest, contemporary decor. They feature marble flooring and queen beds, satellite TV and balconies. Family rooms allow parents some privacy while kids enjoy provided Wii and Xbox games. Superior suites feature Caribbean-inspired decor, new modern artwork, colorful accents and flat-screen TVs. In the superior plus suite, a private Jacuzzi and glassed-in, marble shower create a luxurious, relaxing atmosphere.

Features:

Guests at Viva Wyndham Maya enjoy live nightly entertainment, theme parties, dancing, tennis, windsurfing and kayaking. For the adventurous guest, the all-inclusive package includes passes to the climbing wall, super jump trampoline and circus trapeze with instructor. For a serene experience with nature, grab the complementary snorkeling gear and experience the long stretch of the Mayan Reef coral. Relax in the Renova Spa with a massage or hydrating facial (fees apply).

Dining

Four restaurants allow guests to choose a variety of cuisines for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Three bars, including a swim-up pool bar, are available at no additional cost. If you're traveling to the Riviera for love, the hotel offers wedding packages that include a civil judge, wedding coordinator and more. Check with the Viva Wyndham Maya's concierge for details and applicable fees before booking.   

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 miles)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Xcaret ecological/archeological theme park (6 mi/10.3 km)
  • Cancun (45 mi/73 km)
Business
  • Meeting room - capacity 200 people
  • Business center and concierge (fees may apply)

Hotel Map

20.6079 -87.0869
Area served
Playa del Carmen-Riveria May
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport, 45 miles.
Area description
In the Riviera Maya, at the Playacar complex, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen Town, 45 miles from Cancun International Airport.

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Garden View
All rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, hair dryer, balcony and safety deposit box. Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request,featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Ocean View
All rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, hair dryer, balcony and safety deposit box. Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Deluxe with Jacuzzi
Feature Caribbean inspired, contemporary dcor, including tall built-in headboards with an interior light, tranquil ivory and light blue bedding, a modern rattan chair, marble floors, a flat screen television and balconies. The beautifully appointed bathrooms feature a marble vanity with a double sink, marble walls and a Jacuzzi tub, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Family Room
The Family Room is two connecting rooms and now when guests book the room, kids 17 years of age and younger are permitted to stay in the connecting room allowing parents to be next to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Additionally, the Family Rooms now feature WII and XBOX games included in the all-inclusive price. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room: Capacity 200 persons, divisible in two sections for 100 persons each.

Dining

Hacienda Don Diego
Mexican menu a la carte for dinner (reservations required for dinner).
La Terraza
International buffet restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Portofino
Mediterranean cuisine restaurant a la carte, open for dinner, reservations required.
Miramare
Pizza and pasta restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required).
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Xul ha
Mayan specialty restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Bambu
Oriental restaurant a la carte open for dinner, (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (341)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
341 out of 341
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gmoon
eau claire wis
Aug 23, 2013

viva maya

This is my 3rd stay in 10 months at this motel. They never disappoint me. My big draw here is the nightly shows and fun atmosphere. Ive brought both my husband and girls from work all enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caroline S
Montréal, Canada
Aug 17, 2013

Gréât vacations

We loved it ! The hotel was very clean and everything was near to the beautiful beach and the rest of the facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ge0rgie and Co
London, UK
Aug 13, 2013

One of the Best Holidays

Great family holiday, animation team were brilliant we looked forward to the nightly performances. During the day the same staff entertained Children and Adults with various activities. Lots of activities to keep even the most restless child happy. Buffet food was nice however very repetitive after 10 days we'd had enough. The Mediterranean restaurant was really nice, Mexican and Italian OK... A Tip left most days ensured the maids kept our rooms clean and tidy and the fridge well stocked with bottles of water. The hotel does need to do something about the reserving of sun loungers, I decided against joining this growing movement of people getting up at 5 to put out towels so never managed to gain prime spots by the pool, But did observe empty loungers all day where people didn't turn up and use them. I think all towels should be rounded up if no-one arrives by 10.00 to give everyone a chance. Overall this hotel definitely gets a thumbs up from us and I would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel didn't have Soya or rice milk for my daughter so we got a taxi to Walmart (70 pesos each way) and found what we needed, and also found plenty of souvenirs being sold much cheaper than the resort and local shops... A visit to 5th Avenue is also a good idea, but beware of pricing, haggle on everything...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikevic
Omaha ne
Aug 12, 2013

Fabulous trip!

Viva Maya had everything our family wanred and much more. The staff made every minute so much fun for our kids. It was our first time in Playa and we cant wait to come back again. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
george pav
astoria ny
Aug 1, 2013

great hotel

this is the perfect spot right on the water with excellent service and cleanliness to the max

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

paseo del carmen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pks1
Middletown, New Jersey
Jul 15, 2013

Excellent Stay at this Resort

This was our third consecutive year at this resort and it has shown improvements. Quick check-in, pleasant staff and great food at the buffet. The best a la carte restaurant was "Café International" - skip the others. The resort is close to the beach and there's always something to drink or snack on. Would definitely go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Café International

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tammy1970
Chresterfield, MI
Jul 14, 2013

Family getaway

This was an absolutely wonderful family vacation! We just got back last night and I am still on Cloud 9! I would highly recommend this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don Diego restaurant at the resort is awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Westmich
Ada, mi
Jul 9, 2013

Very Satisfied

This is a 3-star property, no more no less. Exactly what we expected. Perfect for us. Wife, myself and 2 teen boys for a week in July 2013. Shared room with 2 beds. Great beach, which was key for us. Clean room and plenty big for 4 adults. Good bathroom as well, though shower soaks bathroom floor daily. Bike ride to pdc is 10 minutes. Food was decent--you get what you pay for. This was a low-priced resort but the food was better than the last ace we stayed in pdc. I am a picky eater and ate very well. Fresh fruits and good veggies, as well as great variety of meats, regional fare and pasta bar to order daily. 1 of us had a stomache bug, she may have brushed teeth with tap water on day one. Cipro killed it in a day. Sit-down restaurants were a nice change of pace but not great food. Poor wine selection but nice service. Main pool is loud, not for my taste, quiet adult pool in back is small but indeed peaceful. Evening shows were fun. I usually despise those things but we had fun. Leave a few bucks for maids each day and they will stock your fridge with water bottles and other drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Stake out beach chairs early, like 8 am, or they will be gone

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AMOGO
MEXICO CITY
Jul 5, 2013

Great fun get away

Everything was pretty good, I just feel that some of the staff from the hotel need to be more polite and friendly,sometimes when they give you information they way they answer is like its your supposed know and that they dont want to help out,but the Hotel is beutiful,pools very clean the private beach is awsome,drinks too, but definetly need to do something about the menú of the buffete, also they need to have more music playing arround pools and events at the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Fifth Ave is beutiful very enjoying but kind of far to walk back and fouth to the hotel,so I would recommend you take the bicicles that the hotel lend you

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dawn Delightful
Paradise, California
Jun 17, 2013

Family and friend Maya Rivera vacation!

The Viva Wyndham Maya Resort was wonderful. It was clean and safe. The staff was amazing. Everyone was kind and friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable. The food was good. The ocean was breathtaking. We will come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search