$252 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
371 out of 371
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Tres
Business
Columbiana, Ohio
Aug 14, 2014

50th Anniversary

I was a little nervous about booking this 3 star resort because of the many negative reviews. We are an average family that mainly stay at Days Inns and don't need all the frills. My wife and daughters (16) took our parents for their 50th Anniversay. But let me tell you this, it's really a nice place for the value. It is very well upkept and the staff are the best. The only downfall, were the rooms were warm and wouldn't get cooler as I'd like. If you are looking to go to Viva Maya, Go, you won't be disappointed for the price. Also visit Portofino for dinner, it was the best, Diego's Mexican wasn't as good. Its in a gated community and always felt safe. The beach here is the best, always clean and a lot of chaise lounge chairs with shade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Haileerose
Business
St.paul, Minnesota
Aug 14, 2014

Amazing place

I had an amazing time at this hotel from the minute I got there until the minute that I left! The hotel was in the perfect location by the beach and the rooms were fully air conditioned! The staff was absolutely phenomenal! They were all so friendly and accommodating. They have a group called Animation that leads tons of activities from 930am- 11pm at night. They really excelled when it came to make sure the guests were having a great time. I met so many new people and they were all great! There are different restaurants at the hotel that were delicious that you get to try with part of your stay, depending how many days that you are there. The food in the main buffet is absolutely amazing! Everyday you can eat something different and it never gets old. The only minor complaint I have about that is that the buffet area was pretty hot and sometimes was annoying to sit in after being in the sun all day. But it was still amazing! The bartenders were fantastic too and even remembered what drinks I liked! Pretty impressive! The bedrooms were cleaned thoroughly every day and they were decorated cool as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
short on sleep
Business
mid west
Aug 13, 2014

great people

The people that work at Viva Wyndham make the place. There is limited access to a la carte restaurants for larger groups (extended family of 8). The location is great for access to local activities, off site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Senior Frogs. 20 minute walking along the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Florida Fan of Mexico
Business
Florida
Aug 13, 2014

Great Family Resort

Traveled with my 2 teenage kids. We all had a great time with all the activities available. Buffet was good, not gourmet, but with all the variety, there is something for everyone. Staff is fantastic and very accommodating, especially the bartenders.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get bicycles with a bike lock at no extra charge & ride into town (Playa del Carmen). It's a ten minute ride & it saves you the $14.00 round trip taxi fare. Only drawback is that you have to return the bikes within 3 hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
john c
Business
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Aug 11, 2014

Family Vacation

Everything was great from arrival to departure staff was very friendly,restaurants were great..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elletian
Business
New York, NY
Aug 11, 2014

First All-Inclusive - and it was great!

Had a great time with my Mom and sister on our first trip to Riviera Maya staying at the Viva Wyndham Maya. The staff were very accommodating and the location was perfect! I honestly didn't have a lot of expectations based on some of the reviews, but everything worked out great. The buffet was had such a variety of choices and the a la carte restaurants were delicious as well (don diego for the win!). The shows were cheesy, but hey it's entertainment. Cons: - access to wifi is a bit of a drag - could have provided more than 1 bottled of complimentary water

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa del carmen shopping isn't that great. You'd get better bargains outside of the city. The vendors at Chichen Itza were better and more negotiable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Erica
Business
Chicago
Aug 6, 2014

Great Family Vacation

We just got home from a one week stay at the Maya. We stayed in the Garden View building which is the furthest from the beach. When I first arrived I was slightly disappointed but when I walked to where the action was I got excited. It is a great beach, amazing turquoise water and fine white sand. The hotel staff was very personable and engaging with the many activities they offer. The buffet is decent but gets old after a few days. We stayed 6 nights and were allowed 2 dinner reservations. Every time we went to ask the desk between 2-3 pm if there were openings, we were offered one every time. We ate at Il Palco (Italian), Portofino (Mediterranean), Bamboo (Asian) and the Mexican restaurant at the Maya. All good! We visited the Azteca when we had our dinners there and it is very nice. A little more quiet but more upscale as well. Definitely not as family friendly as the Maya. My kids were both happy that we were at the Maya. I would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Check with guest services every day between 2-3 to get a dinner reservation that night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vacation Traveling Joe
Business
Dallas Texas
Aug 6, 2014

Nothing could go right

We booked 3 rooms, 2 ocean view and 1 garden. When we got there they had no ocean view available. They put us way up front in 2 deluxe rooms, furthest away from beach as possible. They did allow us to move the next day, after waiting in line for 50 minutes for the one person available to help. We moved all 3 rooms. One was a ocean view, one kind of a ocean view and one a garden view. They were too busy so we had to move all our bags ourselves. Please remember each of the rooms were down 2 flights of stairs and up 2 flights of stairs, no elevators and we were now on the complete opposite side of resort. We found only one room was clean and ready. Oh yeah, one of the rooms the air conditioning didn't work so we moved once again. This was all with first 24 hours. Suffice to say we had a horrible experience with the room situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dezand family
Business
Ft Myers Florida
Aug 6, 2014

Viva Wyndham maya

The Buffett is very hot inside.could use air conditioner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bmore brian
Business
baltimorr , md
Jul 31, 2014

you get what you pay for...

Rooms were just average and a little dated. Food was just okay, though alacarte restaraunts were better choice. Activities were great with trapeze school, catermarans, paddle boards, windsurfer and kayaks. Activity staff and evenings shows were very good. Smaller resort, which was also nice. Beautiful brach and convenient to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Akamul snorkeling if you want to see sea turtles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top