$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
343 out of 343
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pks1
Middletown, New Jersey
Jul 15, 2013

Excellent Stay at this Resort

This was our third consecutive year at this resort and it has shown improvements. Quick check-in, pleasant staff and great food at the buffet. The best a la carte restaurant was "Café International" - skip the others. The resort is close to the beach and there's always something to drink or snack on. Would definitely go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Café International

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
danny125
Business
montevideo,uruguay
Sep 17, 2014

GOOD VACATION FOR THE PRICE

We have enjoyed 8 days with my wiife in this hotel and the location is very good, food is like all inclusives, standar, and the beach is nice,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Danny0103
Business
Chicago,Illinois
Aug 21, 2014

Not a typical hotel

The staff wasn't out to pamper the guest. No room service was a big upset. Room cleanliness was also not the greatest. No wifi in the rooms either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meghan R
Business
Loveland, CO
Aug 18, 2014

Great spot for families

My kids and I had a terrific time at this resort. They have so many activities and almost all of them are included! We enjoyed the show every night, the activities by the pool and the non-motorized water sports. The staff was amazing and went out of the way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff was great. The food at La Terazza was good, but got a bit redundant after a week stay and it would be nice if the restaurant was air conditioned. Other than that, the trip was amazing. The resort is beautiful and the ocean is absolutely breathtaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wmartinez
Business
Staten island, NY
Aug 17, 2014

great family entertaiment

a very positive experience, hotel staff , from waiters to entertainers, were excellent. rooms were always clean on time and very efficiently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Haileerose
Business
St.paul, Minnesota
Aug 14, 2014

Amazing place

I had an amazing time at this hotel from the minute I got there until the minute that I left! The hotel was in the perfect location by the beach and the rooms were fully air conditioned! The staff was absolutely phenomenal! They were all so friendly and accommodating. They have a group called Animation that leads tons of activities from 930am- 11pm at night. They really excelled when it came to make sure the guests were having a great time. I met so many new people and they were all great! There are different restaurants at the hotel that were delicious that you get to try with part of your stay, depending how many days that you are there. The food in the main buffet is absolutely amazing! Everyday you can eat something different and it never gets old. The only minor complaint I have about that is that the buffet area was pretty hot and sometimes was annoying to sit in after being in the sun all day. But it was still amazing! The bartenders were fantastic too and even remembered what drinks I liked! Pretty impressive! The bedrooms were cleaned thoroughly every day and they were decorated cool as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
short on sleep
Business
mid west
Aug 13, 2014

great people

The people that work at Viva Wyndham make the place. There is limited access to a la carte restaurants for larger groups (extended family of 8). The location is great for access to local activities, off site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Senior Frogs. 20 minute walking along the beach.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Florida Fan of Mexico
Business
Florida
Aug 13, 2014

Great Family Resort

Traveled with my 2 teenage kids. We all had a great time with all the activities available. Buffet was good, not gourmet, but with all the variety, there is something for everyone. Staff is fantastic and very accommodating, especially the bartenders.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get bicycles with a bike lock at no extra charge & ride into town (Playa del Carmen). It's a ten minute ride & it saves you the $14.00 round trip taxi fare. Only drawback is that you have to return the bikes within 3 hours.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
john c
Business
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Aug 11, 2014

Family Vacation

Everything was great from arrival to departure staff was very friendly,restaurants were great..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elletian
Business
New York, NY
Aug 11, 2014

First All-Inclusive - and it was great!

Had a great time with my Mom and sister on our first trip to Riviera Maya staying at the Viva Wyndham Maya. The staff were very accommodating and the location was perfect! I honestly didn't have a lot of expectations based on some of the reviews, but everything worked out great. The buffet was had such a variety of choices and the a la carte restaurants were delicious as well (don diego for the win!). The shows were cheesy, but hey it's entertainment. Cons: - access to wifi is a bit of a drag - could have provided more than 1 bottled of complimentary water

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa del carmen shopping isn't that great. You'd get better bargains outside of the city. The vendors at Chichen Itza were better and more negotiable!

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Erica
Business
Chicago
Aug 6, 2014

Great Family Vacation

We just got home from a one week stay at the Maya. We stayed in the Garden View building which is the furthest from the beach. When I first arrived I was slightly disappointed but when I walked to where the action was I got excited. It is a great beach, amazing turquoise water and fine white sand. The hotel staff was very personable and engaging with the many activities they offer. The buffet is decent but gets old after a few days. We stayed 6 nights and were allowed 2 dinner reservations. Every time we went to ask the desk between 2-3 pm if there were openings, we were offered one every time. We ate at Il Palco (Italian), Portofino (Mediterranean), Bamboo (Asian) and the Mexican restaurant at the Maya. All good! We visited the Azteca when we had our dinners there and it is very nice. A little more quiet but more upscale as well. Definitely not as family friendly as the Maya. My kids were both happy that we were at the Maya. I would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Check with guest services every day between 2-3 to get a dinner reservation that night.

Back to menu Return to top