Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
398 out of 398
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pks1
Middletown, New Jersey
Jul 15, 2013

Excellent Stay at this Resort

This was our third consecutive year at this resort and it has shown improvements. Quick check-in, pleasant staff and great food at the buffet. The best a la carte restaurant was "Café International" - skip the others. The resort is close to the beach and there's always something to drink or snack on. Would definitely go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Café International

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
laveloz
Business
Chicago Ill.
Sep 27, 2014

Fantastico!!!!!

Exelente.place .real good services.l like to come back on my next vacation.very fun people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Love the bicycle ride to playa very nice.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emilio Morales
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 24, 2014

Good

It was decent for what we paid. We would go back. We liked overall but we thought food could have been better. It is located in a really good and safe location and the staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
danny125
Business
montevideo,uruguay
Sep 17, 2014

GOOD VACATION FOR THE PRICE

We have enjoyed 8 days with my wiife in this hotel and the location is very good, food is like all inclusives, standar, and the beach is nice,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Danny0103
Business
Chicago,Illinois
Aug 21, 2014

Not a typical hotel

The staff wasn't out to pamper the guest. No room service was a big upset. Room cleanliness was also not the greatest. No wifi in the rooms either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meghan R
Business
Loveland, CO
Aug 18, 2014

Great spot for families

My kids and I had a terrific time at this resort. They have so many activities and almost all of them are included! We enjoyed the show every night, the activities by the pool and the non-motorized water sports. The staff was amazing and went out of the way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff was great. The food at La Terazza was good, but got a bit redundant after a week stay and it would be nice if the restaurant was air conditioned. Other than that, the trip was amazing. The resort is beautiful and the ocean is absolutely breathtaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wmartinez
Business
Staten island, NY
Aug 17, 2014

great family entertaiment

a very positive experience, hotel staff , from waiters to entertainers, were excellent. rooms were always clean on time and very efficiently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Tres
Business
Columbiana, Ohio
Aug 14, 2014

50th Anniversary

I was a little nervous about booking this 3 star resort because of the many negative reviews. We are an average family that mainly stay at Days Inns and don't need all the frills. My wife and daughters (16) took our parents for their 50th Anniversay. But let me tell you this, it's really a nice place for the value. It is very well upkept and the staff are the best. The only downfall, were the rooms were warm and wouldn't get cooler as I'd like. If you are looking to go to Viva Maya, Go, you won't be disappointed for the price. Also visit Portofino for dinner, it was the best, Diego's Mexican wasn't as good. Its in a gated community and always felt safe. The beach here is the best, always clean and a lot of chaise lounge chairs with shade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Haileerose
Business
St.paul, Minnesota
Aug 14, 2014

Amazing place

I had an amazing time at this hotel from the minute I got there until the minute that I left! The hotel was in the perfect location by the beach and the rooms were fully air conditioned! The staff was absolutely phenomenal! They were all so friendly and accommodating. They have a group called Animation that leads tons of activities from 930am- 11pm at night. They really excelled when it came to make sure the guests were having a great time. I met so many new people and they were all great! There are different restaurants at the hotel that were delicious that you get to try with part of your stay, depending how many days that you are there. The food in the main buffet is absolutely amazing! Everyday you can eat something different and it never gets old. The only minor complaint I have about that is that the buffet area was pretty hot and sometimes was annoying to sit in after being in the sun all day. But it was still amazing! The bartenders were fantastic too and even remembered what drinks I liked! Pretty impressive! The bedrooms were cleaned thoroughly every day and they were decorated cool as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
short on sleep
Business
mid west
Aug 13, 2014

great people

The people that work at Viva Wyndham make the place. There is limited access to a la carte restaurants for larger groups (extended family of 8). The location is great for access to local activities, off site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Senior Frogs. 20 minute walking along the beach.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Florida Fan of Mexico
Business
Florida
Aug 13, 2014

Great Family Resort

Traveled with my 2 teenage kids. We all had a great time with all the activities available. Buffet was good, not gourmet, but with all the variety, there is something for everyone. Staff is fantastic and very accommodating, especially the bartenders.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get bicycles with a bike lock at no extra charge & ride into town (Playa del Carmen). It's a ten minute ride & it saves you the $14.00 round trip taxi fare. Only drawback is that you have to return the bikes within 3 hours.

Back to menu Return to top