$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
341 reviews
great family entertaiment

a very positive experience, hotel staff , from waiters to entertainers, were excellent. rooms were... See full review

  • wmartinez
  • Aug 17, 2014
Great Family Resort

Traveled with my 2 teenage kids. We all had a great time with all the activities available. Buffet... See full review

  • Florida Fan of Mexico
  • Aug 13, 2014
Caribbean beach resort with swim-up bar and Jacuzzi near Mayan ruins
The all-inclusive Viva Wyndham Maya is located just two miles from Playa del Carmen and a short drive to archaeological Mayan ruins. The resort boasts 480 suites, four restaurants, a covered theater, freshwater pool with ocean view, Jacuzzi, tobacco shop, swim-up bar, Renova Spa and Wyndam Kids Club. The newly added Viva Circus program at Viva Wyndham Maya combines acrobatic stunts, interactive trapeze lessons, juggling and high-powered entertainment.
Highlights:
  • Family-friendly with kids club and Viva Circus entertainment
  • Near Playa del Carmen shopping, nightlife and entertainment
  • On-site Renova Spa
Rooms:

All Viva Wyndham Maya suites face either the ocean or the garden and are decorated in modest, contemporary decor. They feature marble flooring and queen beds, satellite TV and balconies. Family rooms allow parents some privacy while kids enjoy provided Wii and Xbox games. Superior suites feature Caribbean-inspired decor, new modern artwork, colorful accents and flat-screen TVs. In the superior plus suite, a private Jacuzzi and glassed-in, marble shower create a luxurious, relaxing atmosphere.

Features:

Guests at Viva Wyndham Maya enjoy live nightly entertainment, theme parties, dancing, tennis, windsurfing and kayaking. For the adventurous guest, the all-inclusive package includes passes to the climbing wall, super jump trampoline and circus trapeze with instructor. For a serene experience with nature, grab the complementary snorkeling gear and experience the long stretch of the Mayan Reef coral. Relax in the Renova Spa with a massage or hydrating facial (fees apply).

Dining

Four restaurants allow guests to choose a variety of cuisines for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Three bars, including a swim-up pool bar, are available at no additional cost. If you're traveling to the Riviera for love, the hotel offers wedding packages that include a civil judge, wedding coordinator and more. Check with the Viva Wyndham Maya's concierge for details and applicable fees before booking.   

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 miles)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Xcaret ecological/archeological theme park (6 mi/10.3 km)
  • Cancun (45 mi/73 km)
Business
  • Meeting room - capacity 200 people
  • Business center and concierge (fees may apply)

Hotel Map

20.6079 -87.0869
Area served
Playa del Carmen-Riveria May
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport, 45 miles.
Area description
In the Riviera Maya, at the Playacar complex, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen Town, 45 miles from Cancun International Airport.

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Garden View
All rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, hair dryer, balcony and safety deposit box. Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request,featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Ocean View
All rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, hair dryer, balcony and safety deposit box. Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Deluxe with Jacuzzi
Feature Caribbean inspired, contemporary dcor, including tall built-in headboards with an interior light, tranquil ivory and light blue bedding, a modern rattan chair, marble floors, a flat screen television and balconies. The beautifully appointed bathrooms feature a marble vanity with a double sink, marble walls and a Jacuzzi tub, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Family Room
The Family Room is two connecting rooms and now when guests book the room, kids 17 years of age and younger are permitted to stay in the connecting room allowing parents to be next to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Additionally, the Family Rooms now feature WII and XBOX games included in the all-inclusive price. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Hacienda Don Diego
Mexican menu a la carte for dinner (reservations required for dinner).
La Terraza
International buffet restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Portofino
Mediterranean cuisine restaurant a la carte, open for dinner, reservations required.
Miramare
Pizza and pasta restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required).
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Xul ha
Mayan specialty restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Bambu
Oriental restaurant a la carte open for dinner, (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room: Capacity 200 persons, divisible in two sections for 100 persons each.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (341)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
341 out of 341
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pks1
Middletown, New Jersey
Jul 15, 2013

Excellent Stay at this Resort

This was our third consecutive year at this resort and it has shown improvements. Quick check-in, pleasant staff and great food at the buffet. The best a la carte restaurant was "Café International" - skip the others. The resort is close to the beach and there's always something to drink or snack on. Would definitely go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Café International

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AmyLinn
Cherokee, Iowa
Mar 25, 2014

Will not return

I was not aware that this hotel is a time share resort. We never got hounded to buy a time share, but the resort certainly did cater to the time share holders. We couldn't even get a reservation at our own hotel. The only reservation we were able to get was at the sister resort up the beach a little way on the last night of our stay. That food was good! Other than that the food at the regular restaurant and by the beach bar were very repetitive. For a week's stay it would be nice to have more of a variety. We even left the resort to pay for meals because we were tired of eating the same thing over and over. The rooms were not stocked with any beverages. I have stayed in 5 other resorts in this area, including right next door at the Riu Playacar, and those rooms included a stocked refrigerator, and free water. The Viva Wyndham Maya gave one complimentary bottle of water, then we were required to buy additional water at the gift shop of $2 a bottle. I thought this was an "All Inclusive" vacation...buying water???? Not impressed. The rooms were ok but could definitely use some updating and repair. We were with a group of people and not all rooms even had refrigerators, not that it mattered because there was nothing in them anyway. The beach was beautiful and the best part of the vacation. I will definitely return to this area again, but never to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed our walk to Playa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caseydog
Iowa, USA
Mar 24, 2014

Great Spring Break Trip

We traveled with 5 families over spring break - kids were teenagers to young adult. There was always something for the kids to do as the entertainment staff is great. Games during the day, shows at night and the disco were enjoyed by the kids. Loved the location as it's in a gated area - always felt safe. Walked to 5th avenue quite a few times and never was afraid. Food is so-so and reservation system needs to be improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bidou
Québec, Canada
Mar 23, 2014

Excellent vacation with my family!

Very nice experience. We were a bit disapointed with the front desk staff. We arrived one day late, our flight was canceled because of the bad weather. When we arrived at the Hotel around lunch time, our room was not ready even if we were charged for the night we missed. They over booked the Hotel, so they gave our room to someone else. We had to wait up until 2h30 for our room to be ready. Because they gave our room to someone else the night we missed, we asked for a credit for that night and they refused. That was our only disapointment. We have already stayed twice at there sister Hotel, The Viva Wyndham Azteca so we were disapointed with that part of the service. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vova
Toronto, Ont
Mar 17, 2014

Very good family vacation

Beatiful beach,nice cozy hotel, a lots of attraction near by

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuzieQ629
Maryland
Jan 13, 2014

Great all inclusive

The hotel was very nice. Trying to get reservations at the hotel restaurants was difficult if you don't plan 24-48 hours in advance.The buffet for meals was excellent and adequate. There were plenty of activities, especially for fitness fanatics and children. Very close proximity to 5th Avenue (great shopping and restaurants) and many tourist attractions (ruins and activities off site). Horseback riding on the beach with snorkeling was my favorite. I would stay here again! I think the price was very fair. The girls in the hotel gift shop were not extremely courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Friends vacation
Wisconsin
Jan 12, 2014

Winter vacation

We had a great time at the Wyndham Maya. The beach and water were beautiful. They had many thing for both adults and kids to do. Plenty of workers keeping the grounds looking beautiful. The food at the buffet was good as well as the restaurant with 5 course meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bob pip
michigan
Dec 9, 2013

good value

We have stayed at this property about 15 times. Great location, beach, and well laided out. The staff has always been good to us. They know us by our names as soon as they see us pull up. If you are looking for 5 star this is not the place. If your looking for a good time and a lot of fun.... this place can work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debbie V.
Falls Church, VA
Nov 22, 2013

Wonderful staff, good food, great location

This trip was taken at the beginning of November when the travelers to the resorts are at their lowest. My family traveled with two adults, a 3 year old, and a 1 year old. The food met our expectations. We don't expect high end food, but good food. With the choices that were available at the buffet, we were able to find food for everyone to eat without complaints. An all-inclusive is great for families, because the buffet provides so many choices for young children. We did also go to one of the restaurants (the Mexican one) on one night, and found the staff responsive and the food enjoyable. The room was clean and adequate. When we first moved in, there was an issue with the door latching. The staff immediately came to fix the issue, and we were extra careful to pull the door shut. We did ask for a crib in the room, and parents should be warned (if all the cribs are the same) that the sides are not quite old enough for older toddlers. The side only came up to the bellybutton of our 1-year old. Therefore, we had to always be on watch for when she would wake up. The resort also has a free child care area. It includes a playset, a pool, and an indoor area with a playstation, dvd player, and art supplies. The childcare director happened to meet us on the path on our first night and invited our son to the daycare program. He didn't take to it the first day (as he wanted to be in the big pool), but the second day he wouldn't leave. He got to play in the pool and they even took them to the archery course. The best thing about this resort (and a resort we had gone to before) is the special attention the staff give to the kids. One of the activity directors was dancing the salsa with my daughter. The concierge was asking my son what he did each day, what souveniers he bought, etc. They go out of their way to make it enjoyable for everyone. Some staff even made the effort to remember our kids names, when there are hundreds of visitors coming and going. The pool was big and nice. We brought a life jacket for our son. The beach was secluded, and I did not notice any people selling their wares on the beach. Since we went during the off-season, there were a lot of chairs available on the beach and at the pool. We did not make it to the adult pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MagnumRJ
Woodland, Al
Nov 20, 2013

Great PLace

You won,t find a better place on the beach. Rooms need a little up grade.Good food this is the second time we stayed here.People and staff are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

up town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rebehka
Bham, al
Nov 5, 2013

It was a trick and not a treat

100.00 Round trip to airport, no good. Could only eat 2 xs in Resturants. All other meals at a buffet, not very good. Staff not friendly, nor helpful Nothing special in the rooms. The gym was very small, no air condition or windows Overall, the resort was worn out and need some TLC The best thing was being with our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Downtown Playa had great shopping, Resturants and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search