$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 23, 2015

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
348 reviews
Excellent vacation destination

We had a fantastic time on our vacation. Everyone there was courteous, professional and... See full review

  • S 1st timer
  • Nov 30, 2014
Fantastico!!!!!

Exelente.place .real good services.l like to come back on my next vacation.very fun people See full review

  • laveloz
  • Sep 27, 2014
Caribbean beach resort with swim-up bar and Jacuzzi near Mayan ruins
The all-inclusive Viva Wyndham Maya is located just two miles from Playa del Carmen and a short drive to archaeological Mayan ruins. The resort boasts 604 rooms, four restaurants, a covered theater, freshwater pool with ocean view, Jacuzzi, tobacco shop, swim-up bar, Renova Spa and Wyndam Kids Club. The newly added Viva Circus program at Viva Wyndham Maya combines acrobatic stunts, interactive trapeze lessons, juggling and high-powered entertainment.
Highlights:
  • Family-friendly with kids club and Viva Circus entertainment
  • Near Playa del Carmen shopping, nightlife and entertainment
  • On-site Renova Spa
Rooms:

All Viva Wyndham Maya suites face either the ocean or the garden and are decorated in modest, contemporary decor. They feature marble flooring and queen beds, satellite TV and balconies. Family rooms allow parents some privacy while kids enjoy provided Wii and Xbox games. Superior suites feature Caribbean-inspired decor, new modern artwork, colorful accents and flat-screen TVs. In the superior plus suite, a private Jacuzzi and glassed-in, marble shower create a luxurious, relaxing atmosphere.

Features:

Guests at Viva Wyndham Maya enjoy live nightly entertainment, theme parties, dancing, tennis, windsurfing and kayaking. For the adventurous guest, the all-inclusive package includes passes to the climbing wall, super jump trampoline and circus trapeze with instructor. For a serene experience with nature, grab the complementary snorkeling gear and experience the long stretch of the Mayan Reef coral. Relax in the Renova Spa with a massage or hydrating facial (fees apply).

Dining

Four restaurants allow guests to choose a variety of cuisines for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Three bars, including a swim-up pool bar, are available at no additional cost. If you're traveling to the Riviera for love, the hotel offers wedding packages that include a civil judge, wedding coordinator and more. Check with the Viva Wyndham Maya's concierge for details and applicable fees before booking.   

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 miles)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Xcaret ecological/archeological theme park (6 mi/10.3 km)
  • Cancun (45 mi/73 km)
Business
  • Meeting room - capacity 200 people
  • Business center and concierge (fees may apply)

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

All Together Room
These are two guaranteed adjoining rooms with connecting door, allowing parents to be closed to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Each room has two queen size bed (or one King bed) air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), terrace, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor. Cribs are available upon request.
Superior Garden View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Ocean View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Deluxe Room
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed with garden view, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with bathtub, terrace , hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Adjoining rooms with communicated door are available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Vista Room
All rooms have one king size bed and are situated ocean front, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Cribs available upon request

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental restaurant a la carte open for dinner, (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
La Terraza
International buffet restaurant with theme dinner open for breakfast, lunch and dinner No reservation required).
Hacienda Don Diego
Mexican a la carte restaurant, open for dinner, reservation required.
Portofino
Mediterranean cuisine restaurant a la carte, open for dinner, reservations required.
Miramare
Pizza and pasta restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required).
Viva Cafe
A fusion a la carte restaurant with an international and modern cuisine, open for dinner, reservation required
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Xul ha
Mayan specialty restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room: Capacity 200 persons, divisible in two sections for 100 persons each.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (348)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
348 out of 348
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
El Traveestador
Business
Lafayette, Indians
May 17, 2014

poor food quality, sleep on rocks

The a la carte restaurants were fantastic. However the buffet restaurant for the 15 other meals were awful. Found under or overcooked meat, the nightly variety food special was nonexistent, and hot dogs have apparently become the main staple of Mexico as they were included in 25 different dishes offered there, yes, we counted. The beach lounge chairs were more comfortable than the bed. The facilities and the beach were absolutely immaculate The staff was friendly, especially if you were a college age girl!! If, not, don't expect prompt service. All in all we feel it could be better if a little more effort was allocated in other areas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay away from 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen. They will try to swindle you blind

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago PA
Business
Chicago, IL
May 11, 2014

Amazing Mexican getaway

I went to Mexico for the 6th time and loved viva wyndham! Everything is great at this resort, especially the entertainment staff. There are so many of them and they truly make your stay so much more enjoyable! There are a lot of young people vacationing at the resort. The only minor downfall is the food, which is not the great. Other than that we had an excellent vacation and I would love to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpringBreak Relax
Business
Colorado
Apr 19, 2014

Great experience

Viva Wyndham Maya was a great place to stay for our spring break. Rooms were clean and comfortable, with enough space. The staff was fantastic, almost everyone had smiles on their faces all the time. Grounds were beautiful, lush and green with nice open spaces to gather. Pools were nice, if a little small. Beach area was very nice, plenty of chairs both in the sun and in the shade and really nice atmosphere. Food was good, plenty of it. The one restaurant we went to, the Don Diego had great staff but marginal food. Clientele was very diverse, lots of European guests. Lots of activities all day, from ping-pong to Zumba, and nightly shows were fun. Kids did not get bored. Good to do a tour of the grounds on day one of your stay and figure out what you want to do and make sure you know the protocol (reservations required for tennis, for example, and trapeze is only available 4-6 and only for 15+). Walk to Playa del Carmen is about 30 minutes, or you can use one of the hotel's bikes or take a $7 cab ride. Internet access was spotty, but hey, you're on vacation, get off your computer already. Don't be afraid to ask guest service for help, they can do more than just make dinner reservations. We booked excursions on our own, the excursion staff seems a bit pushy. Tip the staff well, they work their butts off for about $6/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ckclarkclan
Business
Iowa
Apr 16, 2014

Good For the price

The hotel was perfect for the price. You had a great beach, great pool, great staff and rooms were comfortable. It was not over priced for what they offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great for shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kendall's Lady
Business
Iowa
Apr 1, 2014

2nd time here, like the first a great time!

This was our second time staying at this property and we very much enjoyed it. I did request a change of rooms the day of check in, (we had paid for a superior ocean view and found the only view of the ocean was if you stood on a chair stretching) anyway the staff was very friendly and told us that we could come down the next day to the guest service counter and be able to change, which we did, much, much, much better view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make dinner reservations early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacey K
Business
British Columbia, Canada
Mar 29, 2014

Great Family getaway

Staff are very friendly and go out of their way for you. Our teenage children enjoyed the shows and many activities. Beach was clean and had fine, white sand. Really enjoyed the buffet and restaurants. Delicious food even for the pickiest eater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rock93
Business
Willmar mn
Mar 27, 2014

Adorable family vacation

We had a great family vacation at this resort. Beautiful beaches..Lots of chairs for everyone. Clean rooms and grounds. Lots of activities for everyone . Good food and drinks. No complaints and was a great value .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk into town on beach... Not that far and take a taxi back to hotel if sick of walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AmyLinn
Business
Cherokee, Iowa
Mar 25, 2014

Will not return

I was not aware that this hotel is a time share resort. We never got hounded to buy a time share, but the resort certainly did cater to the time share holders. We couldn't even get a reservation at our own hotel. The only reservation we were able to get was at the sister resort up the beach a little way on the last night of our stay. That food was good! Other than that the food at the regular restaurant and by the beach bar were very repetitive. For a week's stay it would be nice to have more of a variety. We even left the resort to pay for meals because we were tired of eating the same thing over and over. The rooms were not stocked with any beverages. I have stayed in 5 other resorts in this area, including right next door at the Riu Playacar, and those rooms included a stocked refrigerator, and free water. The Viva Wyndham Maya gave one complimentary bottle of water, then we were required to buy additional water at the gift shop of $2 a bottle. I thought this was an "All Inclusive" vacation...buying water???? Not impressed. The rooms were ok but could definitely use some updating and repair. We were with a group of people and not all rooms even had refrigerators, not that it mattered because there was nothing in them anyway. The beach was beautiful and the best part of the vacation. I will definitely return to this area again, but never to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed our walk to Playa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caseydog
Business
Iowa, USA
Mar 24, 2014

Great Spring Break Trip

We traveled with 5 families over spring break - kids were teenagers to young adult. There was always something for the kids to do as the entertainment staff is great. Games during the day, shows at night and the disco were enjoyed by the kids. Loved the location as it's in a gated area - always felt safe. Walked to 5th avenue quite a few times and never was afraid. Food is so-so and reservation system needs to be improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bidou
Business
Québec, Canada
Mar 23, 2014

Excellent vacation with my family!

Very nice experience. We were a bit disapointed with the front desk staff. We arrived one day late, our flight was canceled because of the bad weather. When we arrived at the Hotel around lunch time, our room was not ready even if we were charged for the night we missed. They over booked the Hotel, so they gave our room to someone else. We had to wait up until 2h30 for our room to be ready. Because they gave our room to someone else the night we missed, we asked for a credit for that night and they refused. That was our only disapointment. We have already stayed twice at there sister Hotel, The Viva Wyndham Azteca so we were disapointed with that part of the service. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top