$330 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 7, 2015 Check-out: Mar 10, 2015

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
357 reviews
amazing family trip

went in the end of august with my bf and 4 years old daughter... great staff great food no stomach... See full review

  • rita a.
  • Jan 21, 2015
Family trip

Great Location! Staff was amazing!! Disco was not so good! See full review

  • LILLYBOO
  • Jan 16, 2015
Caribbean beach resort with swim-up bar and Jacuzzi near Mayan ruins
The all-inclusive Viva Wyndham Maya is located just two miles from Playa del Carmen and a short drive to archaeological Mayan ruins. The resort boasts 604 rooms, four restaurants, a covered theater, freshwater pool with ocean view, Jacuzzi, tobacco shop, swim-up bar, Renova Spa and Wyndam Kids Club. The newly added Viva Circus program at Viva Wyndham Maya combines acrobatic stunts, interactive trapeze lessons, juggling and high-powered entertainment.
Highlights:
  • Family-friendly with kids club and Viva Circus entertainment
  • Near Playa del Carmen shopping, nightlife and entertainment
  • On-site Renova Spa
Rooms:

All Viva Wyndham Maya suites face either the ocean or the garden and are decorated in modest, contemporary decor. They feature marble flooring and queen beds, satellite TV and balconies. Family rooms allow parents some privacy while kids enjoy provided Wii and Xbox games. Superior suites feature Caribbean-inspired decor, new modern artwork, colorful accents and flat-screen TVs. In the superior plus suite, a private Jacuzzi and glassed-in, marble shower create a luxurious, relaxing atmosphere.

Features:

Guests at Viva Wyndham Maya enjoy live nightly entertainment, theme parties, dancing, tennis, windsurfing and kayaking. For the adventurous guest, the all-inclusive package includes passes to the climbing wall, super jump trampoline and circus trapeze with instructor. For a serene experience with nature, grab the complementary snorkeling gear and experience the long stretch of the Mayan Reef coral. Relax in the Renova Spa with a massage or hydrating facial (fees apply).

Dining

Four restaurants allow guests to choose a variety of cuisines for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Three bars, including a swim-up pool bar, are available at no additional cost. If you're traveling to the Riviera for love, the hotel offers wedding packages that include a civil judge, wedding coordinator and more. Check with the Viva Wyndham Maya's concierge for details and applicable fees before booking.   

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 miles)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Xcaret ecological/archeological theme park (6 mi/10.3 km)
  • Cancun (45 mi/73 km)
Business
  • Meeting room - capacity 200 people
  • Business center and concierge (fees may apply)

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

All Together Room
These are two guaranteed adjoining rooms with connecting door, allowing parents to be closed to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Each room has two queen size bed (or one King bed) air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), terrace, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor. Cribs are available upon request.
Superior Garden View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Ocean View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Deluxe Room
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed with garden view, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with bathtub, terrace , hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Adjoining rooms with communicated door are available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Vista Room
All rooms have one king size bed and are situated ocean front, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Cribs available upon request

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room: Capacity 200 persons, divisible in two sections for 100 persons each.

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental restaurant a la carte open for dinner, (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
La Terraza
International buffet restaurant with theme dinner open for breakfast, lunch and dinner No reservation required).
Hacienda Don Diego
Mexican a la carte restaurant, open for dinner, reservation required.
Portofino
Mediterranean cuisine restaurant a la carte, open for dinner, reservations required.
Miramare
Pizza and pasta restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required).
Viva Cafe
A fusion a la carte restaurant with an international and modern cuisine, open for dinner, reservation required
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Xul ha
Mayan specialty restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (357)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
357 out of 357
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Florida Fan of Mexico
Business
Florida
Aug 13, 2014

Great Family Resort

Traveled with my 2 teenage kids. We all had a great time with all the activities available. Buffet was good, not gourmet, but with all the variety, there is something for everyone. Staff is fantastic and very accommodating, especially the bartenders.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get bicycles with a bike lock at no extra charge & ride into town (Playa del Carmen). It's a ten minute ride & it saves you the $14.00 round trip taxi fare. Only drawback is that you have to return the bikes within 3 hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
john c
Business
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Aug 11, 2014

Family Vacation

Everything was great from arrival to departure staff was very friendly,restaurants were great..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elletian
Business
New York, NY
Aug 11, 2014

First All-Inclusive - and it was great!

Had a great time with my Mom and sister on our first trip to Riviera Maya staying at the Viva Wyndham Maya. The staff were very accommodating and the location was perfect! I honestly didn't have a lot of expectations based on some of the reviews, but everything worked out great. The buffet was had such a variety of choices and the a la carte restaurants were delicious as well (don diego for the win!). The shows were cheesy, but hey it's entertainment. Cons: - access to wifi is a bit of a drag - could have provided more than 1 bottled of complimentary water

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa del carmen shopping isn't that great. You'd get better bargains outside of the city. The vendors at Chichen Itza were better and more negotiable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Erica
Business
Chicago
Aug 6, 2014

Great Family Vacation

We just got home from a one week stay at the Maya. We stayed in the Garden View building which is the furthest from the beach. When I first arrived I was slightly disappointed but when I walked to where the action was I got excited. It is a great beach, amazing turquoise water and fine white sand. The hotel staff was very personable and engaging with the many activities they offer. The buffet is decent but gets old after a few days. We stayed 6 nights and were allowed 2 dinner reservations. Every time we went to ask the desk between 2-3 pm if there were openings, we were offered one every time. We ate at Il Palco (Italian), Portofino (Mediterranean), Bamboo (Asian) and the Mexican restaurant at the Maya. All good! We visited the Azteca when we had our dinners there and it is very nice. A little more quiet but more upscale as well. Definitely not as family friendly as the Maya. My kids were both happy that we were at the Maya. I would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Check with guest services every day between 2-3 to get a dinner reservation that night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vacation Traveling Joe
Business
Dallas Texas
Aug 6, 2014

Nothing could go right

We booked 3 rooms, 2 ocean view and 1 garden. When we got there they had no ocean view available. They put us way up front in 2 deluxe rooms, furthest away from beach as possible. They did allow us to move the next day, after waiting in line for 50 minutes for the one person available to help. We moved all 3 rooms. One was a ocean view, one kind of a ocean view and one a garden view. They were too busy so we had to move all our bags ourselves. Please remember each of the rooms were down 2 flights of stairs and up 2 flights of stairs, no elevators and we were now on the complete opposite side of resort. We found only one room was clean and ready. Oh yeah, one of the rooms the air conditioning didn't work so we moved once again. This was all with first 24 hours. Suffice to say we had a horrible experience with the room situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bmore brian
Business
baltimorr , md
Jul 31, 2014

you get what you pay for...

Rooms were just average and a little dated. Food was just okay, though alacarte restaraunts were better choice. Activities were great with trapeze school, catermarans, paddle boards, windsurfer and kayaks. Activity staff and evenings shows were very good. Smaller resort, which was also nice. Beautiful brach and convenient to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Akamul snorkeling if you want to see sea turtles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tan Tina
Business
Sacramento, California
Jul 29, 2014

Great location, mediocre food

First off, let me say that we had a mostly fantastic vacation at the Viva Wyndham Maya resort. We've stayed at a lot of all-inclusive resorts. This one had beautiful grounds, and tons of activities. The activities were endless: bocce ball, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, stand up paddle boards, trapeze, archery, a gym with a climbing wall, pottery painting, great nightly shows. All were included too! We stayed for a week, so we also got to go to three of the restaurants that were reservation-only. Tip: be sure to book these the first day you get there, because they fill up fast! The reservation restaurants had great food!! The rest of the trip, you eat at the buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Like I said, we've gone to a lot of all-inclusives. Usually, they rotate the food so there's a lot of variety. This one literally had the same food every. Single. Day. It wasn't very good. Not at all. Actually, it was the worst food we've ever had at an all-inclusive resort. And none of us are picky eaters at all! So, take a taxi and eat in town at least a few times if you stay here. Or just drink a lot, since any drink you can think of is here, including a great espresso bar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Directly across the street is a little shopping center. Get your souvineers there! Good prices and they will haggle with you-sometimes even to half of what their starting price was!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt aka Buckle
Business
Texas
Jul 28, 2014

Great Family spot

Tons of activities for adults and kids and unique amenities like trapeze and nightly shows. Great value for the cost compared to other resorts. Only complaint is that eating and common areas have no air conditioning so I will go in October-November time frame next time. Rooms also get wet and sticky due to extreme humidity. Overall, a great vacation spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop around at local outdoor mall and negotiate with vendors before buying. Negotiate even more if you buy more than 1 thing from same vendor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yesi the traveler
Business
California
Jul 27, 2014

Family getaway

Beach at the resort was amazing best part of our trip! Food was the same everyday not the best tasting we got tired of the buffet food quick and made the whole family sick! Rooms were old and very noisy we came to relax and were woken up very early with hallway noise everyday! Its ok if your looking for a inexpensive stay buy i will not stay at this resort again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ride the bikes to shopping area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
waverunner
Business
Indiana
Jul 23, 2014

Great Vacation

This resort is one of the cleanest I have ever stayed at. The staff was so friendly and helpful!! Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

make your reservations as soon as you arrive for the air conditioned ones.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top