$202 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2014 Check-out: May 6, 2014

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
314 reviews
Wonderful staff, good food, great location

This trip was taken at the beginning of November when the travelers to the resorts are at their... See full review

  • Debbie V.
  • Nov 22, 2013
Wonderful room with a view!

Great place, great beach, great and such a wonderful and helpful staff. The food at the restaurants... See full review

  • Beach Girlllllllllllllll
  • Sep 14, 2013
Caribbean beach resort with swim-up bar and Jacuzzi near Mayan ruins
The all-inclusive Viva Wyndham Maya is located just two miles from Playa del Carmen and a short drive to archaeological Mayan ruins. The resort boasts 480 suites, four restaurants, a covered theater, freshwater pool with ocean view, Jacuzzi, tobacco shop, swim-up bar, Renova Spa and Wyndam Kids Club. The newly added Viva Circus program at Viva Wyndham Maya combines acrobatic stunts, interactive trapeze lessons, juggling and high-powered entertainment.
Highlights:
  • Family-friendly with kids club and Viva Circus entertainment
  • Near Playa del Carmen shopping, nightlife and entertainment
  • On-site Renova Spa
Rooms:

All Viva Wyndham Maya suites face either the ocean or the garden and are decorated in modest, contemporary decor. They feature marble flooring and queen beds, satellite TV and balconies. Family rooms allow parents some privacy while kids enjoy provided Wii and Xbox games. Superior suites feature Caribbean-inspired decor, new modern artwork, colorful accents and flat-screen TVs. In the superior plus suite, a private Jacuzzi and glassed-in, marble shower create a luxurious, relaxing atmosphere.

Features:

Guests at Viva Wyndham Maya enjoy live nightly entertainment, theme parties, dancing, tennis, windsurfing and kayaking. For the adventurous guest, the all-inclusive package includes passes to the climbing wall, super jump trampoline and circus trapeze with instructor. For a serene experience with nature, grab the complementary snorkeling gear and experience the long stretch of the Mayan Reef coral. Relax in the Renova Spa with a massage or hydrating facial (fees apply).

Dining

Four restaurants allow guests to choose a variety of cuisines for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Three bars, including a swim-up pool bar, are available at no additional cost. If you're traveling to the Riviera for love, the hotel offers wedding packages that include a civil judge, wedding coordinator and more. Check with the Viva Wyndham Maya's concierge for details and applicable fees before booking.   

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 miles)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Xcaret ecological/archeological theme park (6 mi/10.3 km)
  • Cancun (45 mi/73 km)
Business­
  • Meeting room - capacity 200 people
  • Business center and concierge (fees may apply)

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Garden View
All rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, hair dryer, balcony and safety deposit box. Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request,featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Ocean View
All rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, hair dryer, balcony and safety deposit box. Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Deluxe with Jacuzzi
Feature Caribbean inspired, contemporary dcor, including tall built-in headboards with an interior light, tranquil ivory and light blue bedding, a modern rattan chair, marble floors, a flat screen television and balconies. The beautifully appointed bathrooms feature a marble vanity with a double sink, marble walls and a Jacuzzi tub, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Family Room
The Family Room is two connecting rooms and now when guests book the room, kids 17 years of age and younger are permitted to stay in the connecting room allowing parents to be next to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Additionally, the Family Rooms now feature WII and XBOX games included in the all-inclusive price. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

20.6079 -87.0869
Area served
Playa del Carmen-Riveria May
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport, 45 miles.
Area description
In the Riviera Maya, at the Playacar complex, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen Town, 45 miles from Cancun International Airport.

Dining

Hacienda Don Diego
Mexican menu a la carte for dinner (reservations required for dinner).
La Terraza
International buffet restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Portofino
Mediterranean cuisine restaurant a la carte, open for dinner, reservations required.
Miramare
Pizza and pasta restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required).
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Xul ha
Mayan specialty restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Bambu
Oriental restaurant a la carte open for dinner, (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room: Capacity 200 persons, divisible in two sections for 100 persons each.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (314)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
314 out of 314
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
Three Happy Travelers
Dallas, TX
May 29, 2009

Great Family Vacation for Good Value

As a family, we have traveled to Mexican resorts in the past but this trip rivaled all else. Our vacation was for five days from May 19 - 23. While we were initially booked to stay at the Viva Wyndham Maya, the lack of tourism caused for the resort to be shut down temporarily and we were moved to their sister resort the Azteca. As it proved to have the same amenities and was very similar in quality and more so we were not dissappointed in the least. When we arrived the resort was about 30% full again due to a lack of tourists because of the flu scare. However, when we left it was nearly 70% full. This caused us to get five star service and treatment from the staff while bearing in mind that this is still a three star resort. The rooms are quaint, yet clean and nice. No request went unanswered. The food in the a la carte restaurants was excellent. There was absolutely nothing wrong with the buffets as they did a supurb job on creating a variety of food each day; enough so that you would not grow tired of the selection. The nightly entertainment shows were fun to attend. Although several of the actors had other jobs in the hotel, they still gave great performances and would interact with the audience. Beyond the room, food, beach, and shows, from first arriving until leaving VIP service staff member [...] personally served as our representative and helped to book reservations to the restaurants and how to go scuba diving through the resort and how to manage around town. Further, Orbitz had a rep. on hand at the resort to make sure all our arrangements and excursions were properly handled.To conclude, this was probably the best vacation package our family has benn on and we will definitely be going back to a Wyndham resort and will use Orbitz for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just across from the Wyndham Maya and merely a short walk from the Azteca is the Plaza Playacar, a small but interesting shopping area which usually has better prices than the shops in town on Fifth Avenue.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Maryland
May 26, 2009

Cozy Get-A-Way!

This hotel was a perfectly priced get-a-way! We really liked the cozy, smaller resort, as it gave a more authentic feel to it, as opposed to the Riu that is just over the top. The only complaint we had was the maid service ignored the "Do not Disturb" that is provided, that we hung on the door. They serviced our room 3 days in a row, even though we knew they saw the sign because they would take it off the front of the door and leave it in our room. We complained at the front desk and it promptly stopped. All-in-all it was a nice, friendly, not too "over the top" resort. Would recommend to a friend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Full body massages down on 5th ave. for $30 are AWESOME! My boyfriend and I went twice during our visit. It's a $5 cab ride one way, or about a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Flower Mound, Texas
May 26, 2009

Hotel was Changed to the Azteca !

The pool does not have a swim up bar as we thought it did. There was a show we attended one night - it was not worth the time. The spa was excellent !!! We selected several packages. I must share that the snorkel trip returned almost an hour late and I missed my stone massage ! I was so looking forward to it - allow enough time for scheduling such as this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book your snorkeling trip prior to your trip.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
May 25, 2009

Viva Wyndham Azteca - All Inclusive

My friend & I were on a girls long weekend. We were moved from Wyndham Maya to Azteca due to closure. Had a great time; staff friendly and overall experience was great. Great room near pool area - but not too loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel doesn't have much of a night life, so recommend going into town of Playacar and there you will find a lot of clubs, etc.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
terri mcc
Michigan
May 10, 2009

Excellent stay & wedding!

We vacationed here last year and returned in April to get married. we had a wonderful experience and would recommend this resort to anyone. What a great getaway that includes food, drinks, a great beach and shows! Not bad at all & well eorth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
Big Wally
Vancouver, Washington
Apr 26, 2009

Review Wyndam Maya

Not much to add over others' comments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Lincoln, NE
Apr 23, 2009

Great Value resort!!!

Great resort for the money! Had a blast would definitely go back, only complaint would be if you are a person who is sensitive to mildew or smoke you might need to try a few rooms before you get one that will work. Rooms closest to the road share a central air conditioner that can carry the smoke smell from smoking rooms to non-smoking rooms and our room had a farley strong mildew odor, but that is kind of typical for Mexico. But other than that great resort and a lot of fun! AWESOME BEACH! AWESOME SERVICE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your reservations first thing when you get to the resort, restaurants fill up fast.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
IOWA
Feb 14, 2009

don't go here!!!

Our room was a Superior Garden view- looking out to a chain link fence with a vine and path to a storage area, the room itself was run down,damp,paint peeling, not enough hot water for a bath, loud neighbors , loud dehumidifier and and loud air conditioner so we asked to change rooms ,it took two days, our 2nd room was by the ocean and the large loud air conditioning unit for that part of hotel was just outside our door and the indoor unit was loud as well, but we were not alone, we had visitors , at least a thousand ants, the ants got in our suitcases and while flying home I had ants crawling down my arms. If you do want to dine in the restaurants know that you must be in line before they open at eight and then be told they are all booked ,if you complain, they will get you in at 9:30 to eat. ALO NOTE THAT THER IS NO TRAMPOLINE, JACUZZI OR CLIMBING WALL IN SERVICE, The sand is nice but not a beach for easy swiming or water sports,, Programs offered can't be found, no one knows where they are,there is no nightly international entertainment staff, just a bunch of kids that work at the hotel during the day ,dressing up at night. Try not to get an injury to your foot, after waiting 40 mins and several phone calls, the 'nurse' will tell you to walk off the property, turn left and find a pharmacy in a small market area. there wasn't as much as a bandaid anywhere ,in the hotel or gift shop. THIS IS A TRUE REPORT AND I HOPE IT HELPS YOU MAKE YOUR CHOICE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
black barbie
Aptos, CA
Dec 19, 2008

Very family friendly and engaging.

The air conditioner and the shower in our room was not working properly. We reported it to the front desk but the problems were never fixed. During our check out, we mentioned the problems we had in our room and no comments were made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Brooklyn
Oct 23, 2008

PAY ONE GET TWO...HOTELS

Viva Wyndham Maya and Viva Wyndham Azteca is sister's Hotels, you can use restaurants, bars, and all activities . GREAT!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top