$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
393 out of 393
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blakes
Business
Minnesota
May 3, 2010

Viva Wyndham Maya - Review

Overall we had a really nice stay. The room walls are pretty thin so you can hear everything and everyone out in the hallways. They didn't change the sheets every time they cleaned the room either. I'm all about conserving energy and water so it didn't bother me, but for those of you who are particular about getting fresh sheets, make sure you let them know. For the most part, the staff was very friendly, with the exeption of the gift shop employees and one guest services employee. We mostly lounged in the pool and on the beach; both of which were great! We didn't do any excursions, but wished we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your a la carte reservations the moment you check in. We never got to eat at our hotel resturants (not even once) because they were booked every single day. We ended up having to eat over at Viva Wyndham Azteca if we didn't want to do buffet every day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego , Ca
May 1, 2010

Week under the Sun

Excellent location and outstanding food and bar services. With the exception of the guess services staff at the lobby we had a great time. The Mayan ruins are incredible and good shopping at the playa del carmen town.Do not recommend this resort if you do not like children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Exchange your dollars into pesos, you will save more by paying in pesos rather than dollars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T. MERRILL
Business
Massachusettes
May 1, 2010

So,So

The hotel was nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was good, beautiful beach/ocean. Short distance from Fifth Ave. (Shopping District). Went their quite often. Did'nt like being harassed by the sales people. Hotel suggestions, liquid soap dispenser should be in the shower as well as by the sink.They offered no facecloths. Suggest coffeemaker in room or room service. Trip to chit ze nitza was a nightmare. Would have really enjoyed it if the guide did'nt lose me and my son, as well as the way back to hotel being dropped off in the middle of highway by bus and left their. Great place for families except the topless needs to stay at the adult resorts. As far as comparison to previous trips? Ocean warmer which I loved. But I have been to better places.All in all my son and I had a good time.One more thing about the hotel. Maybe I'm picky?, but I think they need some help on the food.The good thing? I lost 5 lbs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hazlet, New Jersey
May 1, 2010

Nice Getaway

staff helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vermont
Apr 30, 2010

april girls trip

this hotel was great, the food was good the rooms were clean and updated,had a great beach and the staff was super friendly. There was always something to do.I liked Playa much better than cancun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

book your dinners early! they book up fast. Always check that night to see if you can get in earlier

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sioux City, IA
Apr 25, 2010

Sisters' vacation

Except for the people at the front desk, everyone was terrific. We were told we had a jacuzzi room and they don't even have them!!!!! The food is the best in Mexico and I've been there 12 times!!! Didn't give enough bottled water in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food in all the restaurants was excellent and service was awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 22, 2010

smaller resort - great beach

Nice hotel - rooms were clean and we felt very safe. It is on the smaller size, so there is only one pool. Staff did not seem all that friendly - they did not smile and certainly did not go out of their way. In fact, I often felt like a pain asking for things/assistance. The entertianment staff was very nice, though (they are the ones who do the activities and evening shows) The rooms are a good size and are clean, but lack charm - a little color on the walls would go a far way (they are all white). They could also use more kid activities between the hours of 7:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m. The show starts at 9:30 each night and was OK, but not always good for kids. My kids were ages 6 & 11 and they did not want to go to the Kids Club because it was geared toward younger kids even though they say it is for kids up to 12. Did not make it to gym or spa, but they looked very nice. I don't regret going to this hotel, but would not return for another trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

make reservations at the restaurants the first day you get there. We waiting and then found out all the reservations were taken for the whole week! We ate dinner at the buffet every night as a result.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rain drenched customer
Business
Oconomowoc, WI
Apr 20, 2010

it was ok

I would have preferred a hotel with a bath/shower combo. The food was good and readily available. The waves on the beach were a little rough. We were located right next to the pool and the theater so it was more noisy than we would have liked. They do have quiter sections and they should ask their customers what they would like. The shows were ok, not great. There was a person who was trying to sell us time shares at the hotel who was a pain in the neck. There was not enough computers for using the internet. It cost extra money, plus there were long waiting lines. The staff was friendly. The pool was adequate, nothing spectacular. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The only transportation there was by taxi. It would have been nice if the hotel had a shuttle to downtown or to several of the nearby attractions. Out of six days of our stay, five were filled with torrential downpours. There was not enough indoor things to do except watch TV or drink. The drains backed up in the bathrooms quite a lot. Nothing ever dried out because it was too humid. We did not have a fan in our room which might have helped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If there are two or more people, take a taxi to your hotel. It is a lot cheaper than the shuttle. The shuttles you pay per person. The taxi you pay per taxi no matter how many people there are.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rain drenched customer
Business
Oconomowoc, WI
Apr 20, 2010

it was ok

I would have preferred a hotel with a bath/shower combo. The food was good and readily available. The waves on the beach were a little rough. We were located right next to the pool and the theater so it was more noisy than we would have liked. They do have quiter sections and they should ask their customers what they would like. The shows were ok, not great. There was a person who was trying to sell us time shares at the hotel who was a pain in the neck. There was not enough computers for using the internet. It cost extra money, plus there were long waiting lines. The staff was friendly. The pool was adequate, nothing spectacular. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The only transportation there was by taxi. It would have been nice if the hotel had a shuttle to downtown or to several of the nearby attractions. Out of six days of our stay, five were filled with torrential downpours. There was not enough indoor things to do except watch TV or drink. The drains backed up in the bathrooms quite a lot. Nothing ever dried out because it was too humid. We did not have a fan in our room which might have helped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If there are two or more people, take a taxi to your hotel. It is a lot cheaper than the shuttle. The shuttles you pay per person. The taxi you pay per taxi no matter how many people there are.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Fl
Apr 14, 2010

Fantastic getaway

like

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top