$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
365 out of 365
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 22, 2010

smaller resort - great beach

Nice hotel - rooms were clean and we felt very safe. It is on the smaller size, so there is only one pool. Staff did not seem all that friendly - they did not smile and certainly did not go out of their way. In fact, I often felt like a pain asking for things/assistance. The entertianment staff was very nice, though (they are the ones who do the activities and evening shows) The rooms are a good size and are clean, but lack charm - a little color on the walls would go a far way (they are all white). They could also use more kid activities between the hours of 7:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m. The show starts at 9:30 each night and was OK, but not always good for kids. My kids were ages 6 & 11 and they did not want to go to the Kids Club because it was geared toward younger kids even though they say it is for kids up to 12. Did not make it to gym or spa, but they looked very nice. I don't regret going to this hotel, but would not return for another trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

make reservations at the restaurants the first day you get there. We waiting and then found out all the reservations were taken for the whole week! We ate dinner at the buffet every night as a result.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rain drenched customer
Business
Oconomowoc, WI
Apr 20, 2010

it was ok

I would have preferred a hotel with a bath/shower combo. The food was good and readily available. The waves on the beach were a little rough. We were located right next to the pool and the theater so it was more noisy than we would have liked. They do have quiter sections and they should ask their customers what they would like. The shows were ok, not great. There was a person who was trying to sell us time shares at the hotel who was a pain in the neck. There was not enough computers for using the internet. It cost extra money, plus there were long waiting lines. The staff was friendly. The pool was adequate, nothing spectacular. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The only transportation there was by taxi. It would have been nice if the hotel had a shuttle to downtown or to several of the nearby attractions. Out of six days of our stay, five were filled with torrential downpours. There was not enough indoor things to do except watch TV or drink. The drains backed up in the bathrooms quite a lot. Nothing ever dried out because it was too humid. We did not have a fan in our room which might have helped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If there are two or more people, take a taxi to your hotel. It is a lot cheaper than the shuttle. The shuttles you pay per person. The taxi you pay per taxi no matter how many people there are.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Fl
Apr 14, 2010

Fantastic getaway

like

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westfield, IN
Apr 12, 2010

Great location for the price

The resort was in a good location. Rooms were very clean. Good service. Nice pool. OK fitness. Food could have been improved upon. Really nice close beach. Nice shopping nearby. Great town nearby with restarants and shopping. Would go back especially with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

need to make dining reservations immediately upon arrival, they are very limited. There should be more availablility

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Single Mom and Daughter
Business
NJ
Apr 11, 2010

You get what you pay for

Did not get an opportunity to take advantage of a lot of the activities. There are many! Some staff are friendly, but many weren't. Most of the beachchairs were reserved with towels and never used. Nighttime shows were fun, but late for us (10:30 EST).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

No washcloths are available. Bring your own. Book special restaurants as soon as you arrive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrea, "Mom" of six teenagers!
Business
Louisville, KY
Apr 11, 2010

Viva Maya 2010

Very active trip with our teenagers and their friends. Did a couple excursions, which were excellent. Lots of options available for what to do. Took part in many activities provided by hotel: Bocce on the beach, volleyball, "crazy" game, Bingo, cooking class, boogie boards, and darts. Took advantage of the pools, beach, gym, and shows. We have been on LOTS of trips, many more expensive and rated with more stars. This hotel was very very clean, the people were extremely friendly and hard working, and the grounds were beautiful. The rooms were clean and updated, but only adequate, not luxurious. This trip, however, was meant to entertain and provide a great spring break for six teenagers, which it did perfectly. The food and noise were our only concerns. The buffets did not lack in quantity for certain, but the quality of the food was lacking. The HUGE main restaurant was providing food for hundreds of people all day each day, so the food was prepared and kept warm like all other buffets. The best dishes here were the few that were being prepared "while you wait." Each morning someone was making homemade waffles and doughnuts. There was a chef preparing Mongolian grill selections to order. Another was making omelettes or eggs any style to order. Someone was making empanadas on many evenings. Food in the Mexican specialty restaurant, which required reservations, was excellent. I tried to make reservations in more than one of the specialized restaurants, but was turned down and told that there was not space on ANY of the other nights we were there. I strongly suspect that these reservations are one per customer, although it was not advertised this way. Our room was on the outside wall of the hotel which faced a hotel next door. Unfortunately, this hotel has very loud shows and music every night until very late. People travelling with smaller children would find it impossible to get little ones to sleep. It did not bother us; our kids were up and out late each night, but people who like to get to bed early would not be able to sleep. It was SO loud that we had to turn up the TV for it to be heard. Extremely loud. Downtown Playa Del Carmen was a $5 taxi ride away. We enjoyed shopping and eating there on a couple evenings. Very touristy, but lots of fun. The hotel saves money, and stays "green" by having housekeeping leave towels that guests hang up. They also do not provide small soaps and other products. There is liquid soap by the sink, and liquid shampoo and shower gel in the shower. No other products are provided in the rooms except a bottle of water each day. (filtered, bottled water is available to drink at all bars and restaurants)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make specialty restaurant reservations the very first day you arrive so you can choose a good time and day and maybe get more than one. But don't be afraid to go downtown for an authentic and delicious alternative to the all inclusive meals. In-town meals are very reasonably priced. AND, there is a Starbucks with internet access across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pleasanton, CA
Apr 10, 2010

Major Disappointment

Loved the location, the food at the hotel was marginal. Our room was small. Worst of all the room next to ours smoked up a storm, we shared a common door and AC system, thus the smoke was constantly being circulated into our room. The hotel staff was incompetent and could not rectify the situation. The entertainment staff was friendly, but I would NEVER stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
In Need of Another Vacation
Business
Austin, Texas
Mar 25, 2010

Mediocre at Best

Our experience at the hotel wasn't as great as we expected. However, I must start with a large positive - the beach! They have a great spot on the beach and the chairs are comfortable, nice huts to lay under and read a book, very great beach front property with beautiful water. Unfortunately upon arrival we were both very sick with a cold. However, that was the least of our frustrations during our trip. We stayed for 4 nights and 5 days, and what they don't ever tell you is that if you stay more than 2 nights you can't eat in all of their restaurants. You can ONLY make 2 reservations while on the premises at their restaurants or the other restaurants at the Azteca property. VERY frustrating - so one night we had to eat in the cafeteria and one night we had to go out and spend additional money on food that we thought was "all included" in our package. The food was very poor quality, everything was bland the cafeteria area was gross, the food looked like it has been sitting there since yesterday. Even though we were sick we were still hungry and wanted to try out the foods, and unfortunately the foods made us feel worse. Water - if you need purified water, good luck. You get two small bottles a day after housekeeping comes. We spent a majority of our money on large bottles of water in the gift shop because they didn't have any other places for us to get water even though they say they had large water distributors at the end of the hall - it's a lie, we looked for over 30 min on multiple floors and asked several people and never found one, and when we asked they just all directed us to the gift shop. Day 2 we got a couples massage on the beach - worst location EVER for a massage hut on the beach. Right next to the scuba diving center and next to the pool where all the kids are yelling and screaming. We paid almost $150 to listen to kids screaming and the scuba center yelling at people to come & try it out. Very annoying. I was highly disappointed. After being sick a day or so we visited the guest services desk they told us that if we wanted to see a doctor we'd have to pay $130 and then they directed us to the pharmacy across the street, once there no one helped us find any medicine after asking them for help on what we should get. The drinks were good - for an all inclusive they gave us good liquor and plenty of it. However, since we were sick we were unable to drink much. The rooms were clean, plain - but clean, but they do have renovated bathrooms which is nice. Very family friendly here so there is lots of noise and kids screaming and playing. Overall - less than stellar experience - if you're a couple with no kids, go to another resort I'd recommend adults only locations. If you like to eat more than 2 nice meals on a trip you spent $1,800 thinking it would get you all your meals - go somewhere else. Mainly - just go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We tipped the housekeeper and she did a great job on our room and left us pretty little towel animals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flytime
Business
Allentown, PA
Mar 16, 2010

You get what you pay for.....

This hotel is a very nice all-inclusive for a vacationer that does not expect luxurious accomodations. The hotel suited us late 20's couples fine, however a few things stuck out on the negative side.First, the hotel warns right off the bat, if you lose your towel or towel cards they charge you $20. If you lose your room key, it's $20. And we found out that if you lose anything else (a camera and sandals) those become the property of the hotel as well.The food was very good, the staff overall were extremely friendly and accommodating, and the hotel was aestheticly pleasing in a great location with a beautiful beach. However, I won't go to this hotel again b/c I personally enjoy upgraded ammenities and don't want to spend the whole vacation keeping an eye on my beach towel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Spend a day of your vacation with Edventures. They are a great excursion company!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyC
Mar 12, 2010

Great time, Sad to leave

Nice hotel. Great Staff. Good Selection of food in the buffet. The entertainment team, always kept you busy. Their was a wonderful show put on every night at 9:30 pm, they also had a pre-show for little kids, which the parents seem to like. This hotel is made up of 3 complexes, when booking request the 1000 or 2000 block. Those are right by the beach and the main pool. Block 3000 is near the back of the hotel and it just feels, like you are in no man's land. Upon arrival we requested to change to the block 1000 and 2000 and they changed it for us. That was the only complaint we had, but was quickly fixed. The beach was nicely groomed. Did not have to go outside at 6am to get a good seat. They had a snack bar right on the beach that served full meals all day, ranging from fresh pizza, burgers, hot dogs, to actual dish entries. The main thing I hated was having to go home. Also this hotel is in the Playacar complex. Very safe community wich is a 3 minute cab ride to 5 ave on playa del carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top