$202 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2014 Check-out: May 6, 2014

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
315 reviews
Wonderful staff, good food, great location

This trip was taken at the beginning of November when the travelers to the resorts are at their... See full review

  • Debbie V.
  • Nov 22, 2013
Wonderful room with a view!

Great place, great beach, great and such a wonderful and helpful staff. The food at the restaurants... See full review

  • Beach Girlllllllllllllll
  • Sep 14, 2013
Caribbean beach resort with swim-up bar and Jacuzzi near Mayan ruins
The all-inclusive Viva Wyndham Maya is located just two miles from Playa del Carmen and a short drive to archaeological Mayan ruins. The resort boasts 480 suites, four restaurants, a covered theater, freshwater pool with ocean view, Jacuzzi, tobacco shop, swim-up bar, Renova Spa and Wyndam Kids Club. The newly added Viva Circus program at Viva Wyndham Maya combines acrobatic stunts, interactive trapeze lessons, juggling and high-powered entertainment.
Highlights:
  • Family-friendly with kids club and Viva Circus entertainment
  • Near Playa del Carmen shopping, nightlife and entertainment
  • On-site Renova Spa
Rooms:

All Viva Wyndham Maya suites face either the ocean or the garden and are decorated in modest, contemporary decor. They feature marble flooring and queen beds, satellite TV and balconies. Family rooms allow parents some privacy while kids enjoy provided Wii and Xbox games. Superior suites feature Caribbean-inspired decor, new modern artwork, colorful accents and flat-screen TVs. In the superior plus suite, a private Jacuzzi and glassed-in, marble shower create a luxurious, relaxing atmosphere.

Features:

Guests at Viva Wyndham Maya enjoy live nightly entertainment, theme parties, dancing, tennis, windsurfing and kayaking. For the adventurous guest, the all-inclusive package includes passes to the climbing wall, super jump trampoline and circus trapeze with instructor. For a serene experience with nature, grab the complementary snorkeling gear and experience the long stretch of the Mayan Reef coral. Relax in the Renova Spa with a massage or hydrating facial (fees apply).

Dining

Four restaurants allow guests to choose a variety of cuisines for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Three bars, including a swim-up pool bar, are available at no additional cost. If you're traveling to the Riviera for love, the hotel offers wedding packages that include a civil judge, wedding coordinator and more. Check with the Viva Wyndham Maya's concierge for details and applicable fees before booking.   

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 miles)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Xcaret ecological/archeological theme park (6 mi/10.3 km)
  • Cancun (45 mi/73 km)
Business­
  • Meeting room - capacity 200 people
  • Business center and concierge (fees may apply)

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Garden View
All rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, hair dryer, balcony and safety deposit box. Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request,featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Ocean View
All rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, hair dryer, balcony and safety deposit box. Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Deluxe with Jacuzzi
Feature Caribbean inspired, contemporary dcor, including tall built-in headboards with an interior light, tranquil ivory and light blue bedding, a modern rattan chair, marble floors, a flat screen television and balconies. The beautifully appointed bathrooms feature a marble vanity with a double sink, marble walls and a Jacuzzi tub, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Family Room
The Family Room is two connecting rooms and now when guests book the room, kids 17 years of age and younger are permitted to stay in the connecting room allowing parents to be next to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Additionally, the Family Rooms now feature WII and XBOX games included in the all-inclusive price. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

20.6079 -87.0869
Area served
Playa del Carmen-Riveria May
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport, 45 miles.
Area description
In the Riviera Maya, at the Playacar complex, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen Town, 45 miles from Cancun International Airport.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room: Capacity 200 persons, divisible in two sections for 100 persons each.

Dining

Hacienda Don Diego
Mexican menu a la carte for dinner (reservations required for dinner).
La Terraza
International buffet restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Portofino
Mediterranean cuisine restaurant a la carte, open for dinner, reservations required.
Miramare
Pizza and pasta restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required).
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Xul ha
Mayan specialty restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Bambu
Oriental restaurant a la carte open for dinner, (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (315)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
315 out of 315
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
USA
Jul 12, 2009

Not bad, not great

Food wasn't very good. Restaurants that required reservations were a mess. It was hard to book and when we did, were rushed because of a late dinner seating time. Also, could not have more than 6 people per table.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Westland, MI
Jul 6, 2009

Very Disappointing!

We have stayed at numerous all-inclusive resorts and the Viva Wyndham Maya had, by far, the worst buffets. It didn't matter if it was breakfast, lunch or dinner - they were all bad. Very few choices and what they did have wasn't good. We arrived Saturday morning and by Tuesday we were going off-site and paying for meals. It was better to pay for something good than to eat the buffet one more time. Also, we booked a superior, ocean front room and when we got to our room all we could see was trees and foliage and a little bit of blue ocean. They told us they didn't have anything that night but would move us on Sunday. Well, the line of people waiting to be moved was very long. It seems they do this all the time, they were used to it. We have stayed at other Wyndham's and had very good experiences. We will NEVER go back to the VWM. If you like to eat, and enjoy good food, this is not the place for you. Until next year, Hungry Traveler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Parilla and Blue Lobster restaurants. They are really, really good.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
Family fun in the sun
Austin, TX
Jun 30, 2009

Great no frills vacation June 2009

This is a nice property with a great location and a wonderful beach. The rooms are clean and an average size. The beds are uncomfortable (too hard). The buffet food is mediocre and we never could get reservations to any of the restaurants on the property or the sister hotel (Azteca). If you are looking for a clean place to stay with a great beach, then this could be the place for you. It is what it is though - no frills, barely average food and drinks, but a great pool (closes at 8 p.m.though) and a spectacular beach. Not the place to stay if you are looking to be pampered or waited on hand/foot in the lap of luxury. It's a very "do it yourself" type of atmosphere. You could spend a little more and get into a lot nicer hotel with more amenities and service. Our kids are grown so they didn't participate, but we did notice that they had a lot of great activities with the kids club. Our kids did try para-sailing and had a great time. We weren't in our rooms much, we were mostly at the pool and beach all week. The palapas are great for getting out of the hot sun every now and then. We did go on one excursion to Tulum (2 hrs) and Xelha (5 hrs)and we highly recommend it. We relaxed and had a great no frills vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5th Avenue (Avenida Quinta) has a lot of shopping and dining options and a fun nightlife. It's about five minutes away from the hotel and a $6 cab ride. Go see and do - it's worth the trip! (You can also catch the ferry to Cozumel here. We recommend going to Paradise Beach.)

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
SeaPea
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 30, 2009

Moslty Great, but the room

I went with my mom and she is handicap. I did try to explain to them that I needed a centralized room on the first floor. But they gave me a handicap room, which means a bigger bathroom with no tub. It was fine, but the room needed up-keep. We stayed in room 3124. One of the lamps was missing a lamp shade, the other one had electrical tape around it's base. It was a little mickey mousey. On the positive the hotel overall was what we needed. Not too much of a big resort, ocean front, and walking distance to downtown playa del carmen. The staff was very friendly and courteous. I really appreciated the relaxing pool. Sometimes peace and quiet is what was needed. The breakfast/lunch/dinner buffet's was amazing. I loved the variety. This includes the restaurants. Although I am a vegetarian and they didn't have a lot of options in the restaurants for us veggies. I would stay in this hotel again but try another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It was a short walk to downtown playa del carmen. Perfect location, and the walk is beautiful as well. I felt I was in Miami and not Mexico.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
White sands, blue water
Austin, TX
Jun 28, 2009

Beach Get-Away

My Fiancee and I were looking for a quick get away and happen to stumble across this location via Orbitz. While at Viva Maya, we pretty much kicked back and enjoyed beach time. We had a great location (ocean view)and easy access to the beach. I do suggest you upgrade to an ocean view room. It is well worth it!! With beverages (alcoholic and non-alcoholic), umbrella huts, food and chairs at your finger tips,it made relaxing easy. Entertainment - I was not really "wowed" by the entertainment provided. They have daily water activities, aerobics, stage acts but nothing jaw dropping. If you had nothing else to do, the night shows are something to do to past time while you are outside. If you are looking for a great get a away and looking to hit the beach, I would recommend this location. Watch out for the solicitors, they try to take your time and sell you time shares. I did not want to be bother. Just wanted to just enjoy time with my Fiancee, in which we did. Hope you Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want a better dinner experience, you will want to set up reservations upon arrival. The food quality if much better than the buffet.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
cgig
Nashville, TN
Jun 21, 2009

Loved it!

I totally enjoyed my vacation. The resort is beautiful. It has a very relaxed atmosphere. The pools are bigand well kept. The food was good and the rooms are very nice and clean. I will be planning another vacation in the exact same place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Missoula,MT
Jun 19, 2009

June 09

staff was very welcoming and accommodating/activities staff was very fun and involved everyone (who wanted to be involved)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

visit xel ha - beautiful place

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
wishing4fishing
Missoula Montana
Jun 17, 2009

Great Value

Great location near town. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
Ticked Off Tina
Galveston, TX
Jun 14, 2009

Viva Wyndham AZTECA

First of all, we had reservations at the Viva Wyndham MAYA, and were changed to the AZTECA due to the Swine Flu. The first night we were there, we had no a/c. The maintenance people had to send the guy TWICE before they fixed it at 2:00 am. Room service would not bring drinks. You had to walk up a flight of stairs to get to the bar, which is about a football field away from the beach. No swim up bar in pool. No bottled water, everything was in "purified water" drink despensers which tasted like flavored water. We could not get reservations at any of the restaurants. The food wasn't that great, flies everywhere. Nothing has A/C except for rooms... not even public bathrooms. This resort was extremely small compared to where we were supposed to have stayed. Highly disappointed with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5th Ave. Great shopping. (Go in the evening)

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
LOVETOVACATION
SACRAMENTO, CA
Jun 12, 2009

FANTABULOUS VACATION!!!!

VIVA WYNDHAM MAYA WAS CLODED WHEN WE GOT THERE, SO ACTUALLY THIS REWIEW IS ON VIVA AZTECA, THE SISTER HOTEL THEY PUT US IN. IT WAS ONLY WALKING DISTANCE FROM MAYA. THE LOCATION IS FANTASTIC, VERY CLOSE TO PLAYA DEL CARMEN. WE HAD THE BEST BEACH ON THE STRIP, CLEAR WITH LOTS OF FISH. OUR ROOM FACED THE OCEAN AND THE POOL BOOMING WITH LOTS OF ACTIVITIES. CAN GET KIND OF LOUD IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT BECAUSE THE BAR IS OPEN 24 HOURS. IT DIDN'T BOTHER US. THE FOOD WAS FANTASTIC, IT DOES REPEAT ITSELF BUT THAT'S ALLRIGHT. THE ONE THINK THAT I NOTICED AND WAS DISSAPOINTED ABOUT WAS THAT PEOPLE WERE NOT TIPING THE STAFF. I UNDERSTAND THAT THEY SAY TIPS ARE INCLUDED BUT THE STAFF WORK SOOOOOO HARD ALL DAY AND THEY DESERVE IT!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top