$252 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
392 out of 392
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachael T.
Business
THORNTON
Feb 4, 2015

vaca

Beds were not comfy but nice resort. Within walking distance of town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rita a.
Business
Laval
Jan 21, 2015

amazing family trip

went in the end of august with my bf and 4 years old daughter... great staff great food no stomach ache for anyone....loved the daycare .... the shows and the beach. clean and nice rooms recommend 100 will go back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LILLYBOO
Business
Houston
Jan 16, 2015

Family trip

Great Location! Staff was amazing!! Disco was not so good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sara S.
Business
Warba
Jan 15, 2015

Great Activities Crew

A group of four of us took a trip here and enjoyed ourselves very much. Food on the buffet could use some help but you also wont go hungry. Snack bar during the day was actually pretty good and I LOVED the Mexican and Italian specialty restaurants. Kudos to the activities department we had a blast participating in the activities by the pool and beach. Located in a good area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

.Must go to a local spot for dinner called El Fagon any taxi will know where it is. Best cheese fondue ever with great prices. The menu is in spanish but the wait staff had problem helping us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joseph G.
Business
Lynn Haven
Jan 14, 2015

Family Trip

Awesome time, great hotel, great service, food, entertainment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carl F.
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

First Time in Mexico

Family of 4 vacation two boys 13 and 11--had a great time. I cannot say enough about the staff. They are very hard working and always willing to go the extra mile. The food was good but we are not picky eaters-we enjoy a nice meal but we went for the value and the beach. Shows at night were great beaches were clean and awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

book your shuttle service ahead of time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jennifer M.
Business
Andover
Jan 7, 2015

Below Average

My husband and I stayed at the Viva Wyndam Maya Sept. 8th-12th of 2013 and it was less than impressive. We've stayed at other all-inclusive resorts in the Caribbean so we have a basis for comparison. You really get what you pay for here, so don't expect a luxury resort! Rooms - Pretty outdated and the bed was terribly uncomfortable and the pillows were like something you would receive on an airplane. We requested a King bed and were given a room with 2 double beds. When asked if we could switch to a room with a King they said they were all out. Lastly, we upgraded to an "oceanview" room" and I use that term very loosely. To actually see the ocean we had to peer around the corner of out TINY balcony and only then we saw a little glimpse of the ocean. However, we didn't go to spend a lot of time in our room so this wasn't a huge deal for us. Food/Drinks - The food was terrible! I don't consider myself a very picky eater and I had a very hard time finding something decent to eat. We were only allowed to eat in one of the restaurants once since we were only staying 4 nights and the number of reservations you can make is dependent on the number of nights you stay. So the majority of the time we had to eat the buffet. The buffet was awful! Each night featured a different cuisine however, the food didn't really change that much night after night. Also, the building where the buffet is located does not have air conditioning and it's on the 2nd floor, so it is VERY HOT in there. Also, there is no room service at the resort. There also isn't any alcohol available in the room. I actually ended up getting very sick from the food and was sick for about a week after I got home. The only thing that was really good about the resort was the beach. They do have a very nice beach and there were plenty of chairs everyday. However, it rained the majority of the time we were there so we didn't get to spend as much time on the beach as we would have liked. Overall, save your money and go somewhere better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sara S.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Fogreat activity department

Fun time had by all but food could use a upgrade. Very fun activities department. Food complaint is that it never changed at all the whole week and very little selection compared to most all inclusives I have been to in Mexico. Good drinks and excellent coffee. All staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelAshley
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 2, 2014

You get what you pay for

We stayed here for 5 days. Probably my least favorite hotel we have ever stayed at - but it was also the cheapest. Food, drink, grounds, and beach were great. The rooms down right sucked. I am not picky at all when it comes to beds, but the beds here were so uncomfortable with their airplane pillows it was impossible to sleep. However, we didn't come to Mexico to spend time in the room, so outside of that, it was a good trip and value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S 1st timer
Business
Henderson, Nevada
Nov 30, 2014

Excellent vacation destination

We had a fantastic time on our vacation. Everyone there was courteous, professional and accommodating. I would recommend Viva Wyndham Maya for anyone looking for a great vacation destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

We booked some great excursions at while staying at the hotel. There are plenty to choose from. Thank you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top