$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
530 reviews
Best vacation

We really enjoyed this trip. We went to the beach every single morning and watched the shows at... See full review

  • Best parent ever
  • Jun 20, 2014
Fantastic!

Viva wyndham was such an amazing time. The staff were nothing but friendly and they had energy to... See full review

  • MMiz
  • May 24, 2014
Caribbean beach resort with swim-up bar and Jacuzzi near Mayan ruins
The all-inclusive Viva Wyndham Maya is located just two miles from Playa del Carmen and a short drive to archaeological Mayan ruins. The resort boasts 480 suites, four restaurants, a covered theater, freshwater pool with ocean view, Jacuzzi, tobacco shop, swim-up bar, Renova Spa and Wyndam Kids Club. The newly added Viva Circus program at Viva Wyndham Maya combines acrobatic stunts, interactive trapeze lessons, juggling and high-powered entertainment.
Highlights:
  • Family-friendly with kids club and Viva Circus entertainment
  • Near Playa del Carmen shopping, nightlife and entertainment
  • On-site Renova Spa
Rooms:

All Viva Wyndham Maya suites face either the ocean or the garden and are decorated in modest, contemporary decor. They feature marble flooring and queen beds, satellite TV and balconies. Family rooms allow parents some privacy while kids enjoy provided Wii and Xbox games. Superior suites feature Caribbean-inspired decor, new modern artwork, colorful accents and flat-screen TVs. In the superior plus suite, a private Jacuzzi and glassed-in, marble shower create a luxurious, relaxing atmosphere.

Features:

Guests at Viva Wyndham Maya enjoy live nightly entertainment, theme parties, dancing, tennis, windsurfing and kayaking. For the adventurous guest, the all-inclusive package includes passes to the climbing wall, super jump trampoline and circus trapeze with instructor. For a serene experience with nature, grab the complementary snorkeling gear and experience the long stretch of the Mayan Reef coral. Relax in the Renova Spa with a massage or hydrating facial (fees apply).

Dining

Four restaurants allow guests to choose a variety of cuisines for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Three bars, including a swim-up pool bar, are available at no additional cost. If you're traveling to the Riviera for love, the hotel offers wedding packages that include a civil judge, wedding coordinator and more. Check with the Viva Wyndham Maya's concierge for details and applicable fees before booking.   

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 miles)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Xcaret ecological/archeological theme park (6 mi/10.3 km)
  • Cancun (45 mi/73 km)
Business
  • Meeting room - capacity 200 people
  • Business center and concierge (fees may apply)

Hotel Map

20.6079 -87.0869
Area served
Playa del Carmen-Riveria May
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport, 45 miles.
Area description
In the Riviera Maya, at the Playacar complex, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen Town, 45 miles from Cancun International Airport.

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Garden View
All rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, hair dryer, balcony and safety deposit box. Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request,featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Ocean View
All rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, hair dryer, balcony and safety deposit box. Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Deluxe with Jacuzzi
Feature Caribbean inspired, contemporary dcor, including tall built-in headboards with an interior light, tranquil ivory and light blue bedding, a modern rattan chair, marble floors, a flat screen television and balconies. The beautifully appointed bathrooms feature a marble vanity with a double sink, marble walls and a Jacuzzi tub, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Family Room
The Family Room is two connecting rooms and now when guests book the room, kids 17 years of age and younger are permitted to stay in the connecting room allowing parents to be next to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Additionally, the Family Rooms now feature WII and XBOX games included in the all-inclusive price. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room: Capacity 200 persons, divisible in two sections for 100 persons each.

Dining

Hacienda Don Diego
Mexican menu a la carte for dinner (reservations required for dinner).
La Terraza
International buffet restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Portofino
Mediterranean cuisine restaurant a la carte, open for dinner, reservations required.
Miramare
Pizza and pasta restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required).
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Xul ha
Mayan specialty restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Bambu
Oriental restaurant a la carte open for dinner, (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (530)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
530 out of 530
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hkpink18
Springfield, IL
Dec 19, 2011

Started off bad, but got better

Got to hotel and checked into room to find no towels in room, no hot water, and the whirlpool that we paid extra for not working either. The hot water was fixed after complaining to atleast 5 people. The concierge is pushy and will call your room every day to see if you want to sit through a presentation on the Viva Condos. We upgraded to a nicer room (60.00/day) and had a better view of the ocean and there were finally no problems with the room. The food is good, but doesn't vary that much at all from day to day. There are a lot of things to do at the hotel and a lot of shops right outside the hotel, the ferry to Cozumel is less than a 5 minute cab ride away, and the beach and pool are both great. I would stay here again, but in the upgraded room from the very beginning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
insect
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Dec 13, 2011

relaxing but far of playa del carmen where is the fun

it is a nice hotel. kind of cute. the wireless doesn't work right. If you want to have fun you have to schedule your plans before to arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joodz
New York, NY, USA
Dec 12, 2011

fun getaway with sisters

great place for a group of friends. food was great, beach was lovely , rooms were basic but clean. you pay for what you get

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mommyoftwo
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 4, 2011

Great Week at Viva Maya

We stayed in block 3000 with 2 kids 7 and 2. Nice big room with a small balcony facing the adult pool. If there is one thing the hotel should spend money on, it is definitely the pillows. Never been in a hotel with such small and uncomfortable pillows. The beds are nice and comfortable. The resort itself is comfortably small and cozy with a beautiful beach. Their entertainment staff is their biggest asset. Very lively atmosphere. However this is not a place for you if you are looking for a quiet and peaceful pool/beach time. This is for people who like a lot of fun, entertainment and loud music. It was perfect for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LouieLouie
Boulder, Colorado
Nov 28, 2011

Viva Maya Worth Your Stay

We just got back and are already scheming our next trip the the Viva Maya. The accomodations, the facilities, the staff and the food were all wonderful. I would recommend anyone staying there. It is worth your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you are going to use the reservation only restaurants (not the buffet), ensure you make your reservations as soon as you get there as there are only very limited spots available.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Becca1478
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Nov 25, 2011

Fun, Fun, and more Fun

Perfect place for a couple and to meet with friends. Love the staff, love the place...LOVE IT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Coco Bongo, Mandala, Pez Azul Bar, and lots of places at the 5th avenue.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joodz
New York, NY, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Mexico review

This hotel is perfect for groups of young people looking to be close to the play clubs and also looking to stay on a nice beach. It is clean and very affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southbridge Jody
Southbridge, MA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Ocean & Sunshine & Drinks...Oh My!

This was our third trip to Mexico specifically third time at the Viva Wyndham Maya. We had the BEST time AGAIN!! The resort is very clean and the grounds are constantly being manicured, trimmed, cut, raked, etc. which keeps the place looking AWESOME. The beach is white/tan fine sand and easily accessable to enter the ocean. The water temperature was around 85 F and the ambient air temp was 85-90 F day and 70-75 F at night. Most days were clear & sunny with relatively calm seas. The food was great and available pretty much 24/7. The variety of food was very diverse from traditional American to authentic Mexican cuisine and dinners seemed to follow a general theme. There is entertainment in the form of theatrical compositions based on themes every night such as "Hollywood", "The 70's", "Mayan Culture", etc and everything is performed by the workers that you see and befriend throughout your stay. Let me say that these young adults work their butts of all day and then provide a wonderful show at night for all to enjoy. These same "kids" provide activities throughout the day and try to get the guests involved in such things as dancing, beach sports, games, etc. You can participate or simply say no, not today, with no hassles. All beverages are also included both alcoholic and non alcoholic and the bartenders are fabulous! There are a few pools contained within the resort with a large hot tub near the beach. One pool is lomited to adults only. The resort is open to all ages but we went in October and there were not many children there. The rooms are very nice and the staff completely cleans them every day. We had rooms right on the beach.....AWESOME!! This resort is very secure as well as located within a LARGE gated community that houses other resorts also. We have NEVER had any problems with our vacation hrer. The other great aspect of this vacation package was the price. Airfare, ground transportaion to & from the airport, lodging, meals, drinks, water activities, etc are all included in one easy to swallow price. We went for 10 days for a fee that was ridiculously affordable ( a Disney vacation would cost way more). There is no way you will ever come close to this experience for such a reasonable price (and we have been to Jamaica a few times prior). We will continue to vacation here for many, many years to come. We love the Viva Wyndham Maya!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A place called 5th Avenue is very close to the resort and is a compilation of small independently owned & operated stores & shops where one can find just about anything and most things are handmade and price is always negotiable.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phreeze06
New Jersey, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Relaxing

The hotel has a very nice layout and can be very romantic. The staff was great but the only real problem we had were ants in our room. At first we though bc we were in Mexico that this was normal but we went with a group of people and it was not till after our trip we realized we were the only ones with ants. They got into our bags and clothes as well. Other than that everything else was good. The food was average resort food but the drinks were flowing really nice. The beach was beautiful and the pool was very clean. We most likely would not stay again because of the ants but if you get a room without ants, you will enjoy this location and its amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go down to where coco bongo is and you will have a great club experience. We had an amazing time over there.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Network
NYC
Oct 17, 2011

Average vacation

Nothing to complain about and nothing super just another week in Mexico

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top