$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
347 reviews
great family entertaiment

a very positive experience, hotel staff , from waiters to entertainers, were excellent. rooms were... See full review

  • wmartinez
  • Aug 17, 2014
Great Family Resort

Traveled with my 2 teenage kids. We all had a great time with all the activities available. Buffet... See full review

  • Florida Fan of Mexico
  • Aug 13, 2014
A lush 480-room resort . The resort offers an atmosphere of never-ending fun, thanks to the variety of activities and the chance to explore the culture and history of Mexico.

Viva Wyndham Maya encourages guests to bring hearty appetites when visiting the all-inclusive resort.Designed to satisfy the palates of its guests, this resort offers an eclectic blend of local and international culinary delights.

The hotel is located right on the beach and it offers a fresh water pool with ocean front, jacuzzi, cocktail and snack bar (swim-up bar), lobby bar, disco bar, four restaurants, Covered theater with capacity of 600 persons, Discotheque, Two tennis courts lighted & hard surface, Gymnasium, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam bath & shower area, Scuba Diving Center, Guest services, Hospitality and tour desk, Tobacco shop, Jewelry, Boutique, Beauty parlor, Photo shop, Laundry services, Free parking, First aid services, Medical service, Viva Wyndham Kids Club, Car rental, Money exchange, Spa and Meeting Room.

ALL INCLUSIVE:
Full breakfast / lunch / dinner, Snacks, Unlimited national drinks, Cocktails and national wine, Welcome cocktail, Unlimited non-motorized sports, Taxes and tips, Daily activities program, International entertainment staff, Live nightly entertainment, Junior Club, Theme parties, Discotheque, Dance classes, Trampoline, Climbing Wall, Gymnasium, Sauna, Jacuzzi and Steam bath, Childrens program from 4 to 12 years old, In-room safe box, Lounge chairs and beach towels.

Sports included in the package: Windsurfing, Kayaking, Sailing, Snorkeling, Introductory dive lessons, Boogie boards, Water polo, Water aerobics, Tennis, Bicycling, Climbing wall, Super Jump Trampoline, Gymnasium with trainer, Aerobics, Stretching, Beach volleyball, Mini soccer and bocce ball on the beach and Circus Trapez (with instructor).

Sports available at extra charge: Scuba diving with Scuba Caribe Diving (PADI certified courses), fishing, golf at the Playacar golf course (18 holes, PAR 72 Championship Golf Course designed Robert Von Hagge), horseback riding (20 Kms. from property), cenote snorkeling, cave diving.

Viva Circus is the new entertainment program with amazing acrobatic stunts, thrilling interactive trapeze lessons and astounding circus juggling and entertainment. Viva Wyndham Maya will continue to entertain its guests with a full line-up of circus performances and interactive stunts with trained professionals, further expanding its comprehensive all-inclusive entertainment offerings.

OPTIONAL PACKAGES:

Honeymoon Package: For a minimum of 4 days and 3 nights stay, your clients will be able to enjoy, at no additional charge an upgrade to a higher category room (based on hotel availability) a bottle of champagne / sparkling wine, a fruit basket, a hors dovres tray, a 7 x 4 picture, 2 t-shirts, plus our all inclusive package. Copy of the marriage certificate required upon check in.


- Packages Available with Extra Charge:


Wedding Package: Includes Civil Judge and all legal expenses (does not include legalization), Wedding cake for 10 persons, Bar for 10 guests, Decoration, Bride bouquet, Wedding coordinator, 10 pictures, and Music. The corkage is free of charge.

Also available Spa, Diving and Excursion packages.

Hotel Map

20.6079 -87.0869
Area served
Playa del Carmen-Riveria May
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport, 45 miles.
Area description
In the Riviera Maya, at the Playacar complex, 2 miles from Playa del Carmen Town, 45 miles from Cancun International Airport.

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Superior Garden View
All rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, hair dryer, balcony and safety deposit box. Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request,featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Ocean View
All rooms have two queen size beds, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with tub and shower, hair dryer, balcony and safety deposit box. Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Deluxe with Jacuzzi
Feature Caribbean inspired, contemporary dcor, including tall built-in headboards with an interior light, tranquil ivory and light blue bedding, a modern rattan chair, marble floors, a flat screen television and balconies. The beautifully appointed bathrooms feature a marble vanity with a double sink, marble walls and a Jacuzzi tub, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Family Room
The Family Room is two connecting rooms and now when guests book the room, kids 17 years of age and younger are permitted to stay in the connecting room allowing parents to be next to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Additionally, the Family Rooms now feature WII and XBOX games included in the all-inclusive price. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room: Capacity 200 persons, divisible in two sections for 100 persons each.

Dining

Hacienda Don Diego
Mexican menu a la carte for dinner (reservations required for dinner).
La Terraza
International buffet restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Portofino
Mediterranean cuisine restaurant a la carte, open for dinner, reservations required.
Miramare
Pizza and pasta restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required).
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Xul ha
Mayan specialty restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Bambu
Oriental restaurant a la carte open for dinner, (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (347)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
347 out of 347
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
windsor canada
Jul 21, 2012

nothing wrong with this resort

hotel was worthy of a 4.5 star rating. Food was good and plentiful, hotel grounds and pool/ beach were 5 star. Nightly shows were very good. Staff were polite and constantly cleaning tables, beach sand... Have been to over 12 all inclusives in Mexico, punta cana, carribean and this is the best resort for the money hands down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meghan R
Loveland, CO
Aug 18, 2014

Great spot for families

My kids and I had a terrific time at this resort. They have so many activities and almost all of them are included! We enjoyed the show every night, the activities by the pool and the non-motorized water sports. The staff was amazing and went out of the way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff was great. The food at La Terazza was good, but got a bit redundant after a week stay and it would be nice if the restaurant was air conditioned. Other than that, the trip was amazing. The resort is beautiful and the ocean is absolutely breathtaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wmartinez
Staten island, NY
Aug 17, 2014

great family entertaiment

a very positive experience, hotel staff , from waiters to entertainers, were excellent. rooms were always clean on time and very efficiently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Tres
Columbiana, Ohio
Aug 14, 2014

50th Anniversary

I was a little nervous about booking this 3 star resort because of the many negative reviews. We are an average family that mainly stay at Days Inns and don't need all the frills. My wife and daughters (16) took our parents for their 50th Anniversay. But let me tell you this, it's really a nice place for the value. It is very well upkept and the staff are the best. The only downfall, were the rooms were warm and wouldn't get cooler as I'd like. If you are looking to go to Viva Maya, Go, you won't be disappointed for the price. Also visit Portofino for dinner, it was the best, Diego's Mexican wasn't as good. Its in a gated community and always felt safe. The beach here is the best, always clean and a lot of chaise lounge chairs with shade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
short on sleep
mid west
Aug 13, 2014

great people

The people that work at Viva Wyndham make the place. There is limited access to a la carte restaurants for larger groups (extended family of 8). The location is great for access to local activities, off site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Senior Frogs. 20 minute walking along the beach.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Florida Fan of Mexico
Florida
Aug 13, 2014

Great Family Resort

Traveled with my 2 teenage kids. We all had a great time with all the activities available. Buffet was good, not gourmet, but with all the variety, there is something for everyone. Staff is fantastic and very accommodating, especially the bartenders.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get bicycles with a bike lock at no extra charge & ride into town (Playa del Carmen). It's a ten minute ride & it saves you the $14.00 round trip taxi fare. Only drawback is that you have to return the bikes within 3 hours.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
john c
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Aug 11, 2014

Family Vacation

Everything was great from arrival to departure staff was very friendly,restaurants were great..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elletian
New York, NY
Aug 11, 2014

First All-Inclusive - and it was great!

Had a great time with my Mom and sister on our first trip to Riviera Maya staying at the Viva Wyndham Maya. The staff were very accommodating and the location was perfect! I honestly didn't have a lot of expectations based on some of the reviews, but everything worked out great. The buffet was had such a variety of choices and the a la carte restaurants were delicious as well (don diego for the win!). The shows were cheesy, but hey it's entertainment. Cons: - access to wifi is a bit of a drag - could have provided more than 1 bottled of complimentary water

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Playa del carmen shopping isn't that great. You'd get better bargains outside of the city. The vendors at Chichen Itza were better and more negotiable!

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Erica
Chicago
Aug 6, 2014

Great Family Vacation

We just got home from a one week stay at the Maya. We stayed in the Garden View building which is the furthest from the beach. When I first arrived I was slightly disappointed but when I walked to where the action was I got excited. It is a great beach, amazing turquoise water and fine white sand. The hotel staff was very personable and engaging with the many activities they offer. The buffet is decent but gets old after a few days. We stayed 6 nights and were allowed 2 dinner reservations. Every time we went to ask the desk between 2-3 pm if there were openings, we were offered one every time. We ate at Il Palco (Italian), Portofino (Mediterranean), Bamboo (Asian) and the Mexican restaurant at the Maya. All good! We visited the Azteca when we had our dinners there and it is very nice. A little more quiet but more upscale as well. Definitely not as family friendly as the Maya. My kids were both happy that we were at the Maya. I would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Check with guest services every day between 2-3 to get a dinner reservation that night.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vacation Traveling Joe
Dallas Texas
Aug 6, 2014

Nothing could go right

We booked 3 rooms, 2 ocean view and 1 garden. When we got there they had no ocean view available. They put us way up front in 2 deluxe rooms, furthest away from beach as possible. They did allow us to move the next day, after waiting in line for 50 minutes for the one person available to help. We moved all 3 rooms. One was a ocean view, one kind of a ocean view and one a garden view. They were too busy so we had to move all our bags ourselves. Please remember each of the rooms were down 2 flights of stairs and up 2 flights of stairs, no elevators and we were now on the complete opposite side of resort. We found only one room was clean and ready. Oh yeah, one of the rooms the air conditioning didn't work so we moved once again. This was all with first 24 hours. Suffice to say we had a horrible experience with the room situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bmore brian
baltimorr , md
Jul 31, 2014

you get what you pay for...

Rooms were just average and a little dated. Food was just okay, though alacarte restaraunts were better choice. Activities were great with trapeze school, catermarans, paddle boards, windsurfer and kayaks. Activity staff and evenings shows were very good. Smaller resort, which was also nice. Beautiful brach and convenient to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Akamul snorkeling if you want to see sea turtles.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search