$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
353 reviews
GREAT RESORT

AMAZING RESORT!!! COULD'NT SAY ONE BAD THING ABOUT IT!! See full review

  • Sana M.
  • Aug 24, 2015
Girls Getaway

We had a great week stay at Viva Maya! This was a comfortable resort that offered everything we... See full review

  • Travel bug
  • Aug 20, 2015
The all-inclusive Viva Wyndham Maya is located just two miles from Playa del Carmen and a short drive to archaeological Mayan ruins. The resort boasts 604 rooms, four restaurants, a covered theater, freshwater pool with ocean view, Jacuzzi, tobacco shop, swim-up bar, Renova Spa and Wyndam Kids Club. The newly added Viva Circus program at Viva Wyndham Maya combines acrobatic stunts, interactive trapeze lessons, juggling and high-powered entertainment.
Dining

Four restaurants allow guests to choose a variety of cuisines for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Three bars, including a swim-up pool bar, are available at no additional cost. If you're traveling to the Riviera for love, the hotel offers wedding packages that include a civil judge, wedding coordinator and more. Check with the Viva Wyndham Maya's concierge for details and applicable fees before booking.   

Rooms

All Viva Wyndham Maya suites face either the ocean or the garden and are decorated in modest, contemporary decor. They feature marble flooring and queen beds, satellite TV and balconies. Family rooms allow parents some privacy while kids enjoy provided Wii and Xbox games. Superior suites feature Caribbean-inspired decor, new modern artwork, colorful accents and flat-screen TVs. In the superior plus suite, a private Jacuzzi and glassed-in, marble shower create a luxurious, relaxing atmosphere.

Property features

Guests at Viva Wyndham Maya enjoy live nightly entertainment, theme parties, dancing, tennis, windsurfing and kayaking. For the adventurous guest, the all-inclusive package includes passes to the climbing wall, super jump trampoline and circus trapeze with instructor. For a serene experience with nature, grab the complementary snorkeling gear and experience the long stretch of the Mayan Reef coral. Relax in the Renova Spa with a massage or hydrating facial (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Family-friendly with kids club and Viva Circus entertainment
  • Near Playa del Carmen shopping, nightlife and entertainment
  • On-site Renova Spa
Nearby attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Xcaret ecological/archeological theme park (6 mi/10.3 km)
  • Cancun (45 mi/73 km)
Business
  • Meeting room - capacity 200 people
  • Business center and concierge (fees may apply)
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 miles)

Top hotels

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

All Together Room
These are two guaranteed adjoining rooms with connecting door, allowing parents to be closed to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Each room has two queen size bed (or one King bed) air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), terrace, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor. Cribs are available upon request.
Superior Garden View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Ocean View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Deluxe Room
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed with garden view, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with bathtub, terrace , hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Adjoining rooms with communicated door are available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental restaurant a la carte open for dinner, (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
La Terraza
International buffet restaurant with theme dinner open for breakfast, lunch and dinner No reservation required).
Hacienda Don Diego
Mexican a la carte restaurant, open for dinner, reservation required.
Portofino
Mediterranean cuisine restaurant a la carte, open for dinner, reservations required.
Miramare
Pizza and pasta restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required).
Viva Cafe
A fusion a la carte restaurant with an international and modern cuisine, open for dinner, reservation required
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Xul ha
Mayan specialty restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room: Capacity 200 persons, divisible in two sections for 100 persons each.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
353 out of 353
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ARFA
Family
maryland, usa
Jul 14, 2012

relaxing & full of fun family vacation

Very good & beautiful resort,, very safe, staff is very helpful.Easy to get taxis to go anywhere reception people call taxis whenever you needed. Also different tours available at the guest service which is very helpful. So many activities included in the resort charges different games, archery, trapeze, canoing and catamaran trips are very interesting. Only thing we missing was internet access there is no wifi you have to buy internet .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book chitchinitza trip worth seeing.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
carlos n.
Family
N/A
Aug 25, 2015

Great location and best beach

Didn't get the room I reserved and didn't get refunded as I was promised from management

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sana M.
Friends
queens village
Aug 24, 2015

GREAT RESORT

AMAZING RESORT!!! COULD'NT SAY ONE BAD THING ABOUT IT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sana M.
Friends
queens village
Aug 24, 2015

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE!

I had reservations for this resort for 4 nights. Out of the 4 nights 3 nights the front desk gave us a hard time with various things. The first day we arrived I was told we never had reservations. I showed them the confirmation and itinerary which I luckily printed as well as I had it on my phone but they insisted there was nothing in their computer. I had to wait over a hour to for them to figure out the glitch they had in the system. ASIDE FROM THAT THE SECURITY GUARD BY THE POOL STOLE MY PHONE. I COMPLAINED RIGHT AWAY TO THE FRONT DESK WHICH THEY DID ABSOLUTELY NOTHING ABOUT. I ASKED THE MANAGER TO ALLOW ME TO USE A COMPUTER TO SIGN INTO AN APPLICATION THAT ALLOWS ME TO CHECK THE LOCATION OF MY PHONE. AFTER INSISTING THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT AND I HAD TO PAY FOR THE HOTEL WIFI. EVENTUALLY I PURCHASED A WIFI CARD WHICH HAD AN ACCESS CODE TO USE THE WIFI. THE ACCESS CODE NEVER WORKED. THEY REFUSED TO LET US CHECK THE SECURITY GUARD WHO TOOK MY PHONE. BOTTOM LINE IS LACK OF SECURITY AT THIS RESORT AND CUSTOMER SERVICE IS AWFUL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel bug
Friends
N/A
Aug 20, 2015

Girls Getaway

We had a great week stay at Viva Maya! This was a comfortable resort that offered everything we needed to have a great time. The reservation restaurants were fabulous. The buffet was a buffet. We always found something we liked. The beach was absolutely beautiful!! The staff were unbelievably friendly, remembered who we were and made our stay extra special by making an effort to accomidate us! Everyone from the front desk to the bar attendants were awesome! The animation team really work hard to make sure the guests had a good time and really give their all during the nightly shows. We would definitely return to this resort in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juan D.
Family
Downey
Aug 19, 2015

Awesome Trip

We spent a week at this Resort and we enjoyed it everyday. The staff is friendly ,the room was cleaned .We stayed at Deluxe room ,Garden View and the pool near us was beautiful and relaxing at the same time. We also visited Isla Mujeres and it is really an unforgetable Paradise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ninfa G.
Family
N/A
Aug 15, 2015

Great place for family get together, friendly staff and ready to do their best at any time

Several things that we would like to be better are: Have designated smoking areas, elevators to rooms, include local calls, reservations staff should be on site not at another location, customer service personnel should be more friendly and helpful even to say the phone calls need to be paid, sales staff are so annoying trying to sell shared time next taking too much of guests time knowing that it was our family vacation and wanted to enjoy as much as possible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thong N.
Family
San Jose
Aug 10, 2015

Nice trip

Nice trip, nice beach but bad food. Please improve the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JORGE V
Family
N/A
Aug 10, 2015

Awesome family trip

Good experience. They got a tons of activities from the entire family including the little ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JORGE V
Family
N/A
Aug 10, 2015

Awesome Families trip

Simply Fantastic!! They have this kids club who take care and entertainment my 6 years old boy. Great people. Not need to go out from the hotel. They just have everything. The only 'Cons' was 2 things: 1.-The lady on the shop store is always keeping a bad attitude. 2.-Free internet ONLY in areas next to the lobby. YOU HAVE TO PAY $35 to get internet outside from that or your room. Other than that....Great service. Take your kids don't be afraid they got TONS of activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jay The Family Man
Family
Penticton
Aug 10, 2015

1st Family Trip to Mexico

We stayed here because it was suppose to be good for kids and families. My 13 year old son tried to get included In the daily pool activities. Other than the aqua aerobics, he was told they were for adults only. He was very disappointed and so were we. The pool was very boring for the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top