$281 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
359 out of 359
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RKMoore
Business
Lexington, North Carolina
Jun 10, 2013

Staff

Great entertainment crew!!! They were focussed on ensuring everyone is having a great time even though it rained for a week nonstop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GOSARES
Business
Fairfield, Connecticut
May 14, 2013

It is Good Place

I like the location, very clean, beautiful views of the Ocean, and the food was good too. Lost of activities scheduled to do during the day, nice shows at night. Over all it was a good place to stay. The only complain I have is the Front Desk people; very un polite. The room was not ready for us after 4 PM, even though check in was at 3PM (we arrived at about 1:30 PM) nobody took the time to explain the activities, nor what to do while we waited for the room, besides a restaurant and the bathroom. One of the ladies who sits in the front of the reception did not acknowledge us even though we were siting right in front of her, we just wanted to ask questions about a reservation for a restaurant. I suggest the reception should have activities for those who wait for their rooms, and bathrooms with showers to refresh and get changed. We would not have minded the wait if there was a bit more of direction... The rest of the stuff was really great, very helpful and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring pesos in cash with you $$$, buy them before you arrive, and make sure you are paying the official exchange rate. If you want to do the activities that are not included in your package, it is better to negotiate in their money. It is a hustle to pay with your credit card, and you could be end up paying a lot more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wilnelia
Business
Puerto Rico
Apr 29, 2013

Expectacular!!!

The best experience for ever, the food, the beach, the shows, excellent service! Thanks!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The Night Show!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Al Tex
Business
South Texas
Apr 23, 2013

Awesome vacation getaway

My wife and I truly enjoyed this Hotel. Everything was perfect, and we'll gladly book another trip soon..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You definately don't need to leave your Hotel for dining. Everything you could ever want is at your footsteps...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dawn Sc
Business
Cottage Grove, MN
Mar 25, 2013

spring break trip with daughter and friends

2nd time at the viva maya playa del carmen. Love,love,love, the location and beach is awesome. Front desk could be a little friendlier, escpecially because it is your first impression. Resort store help not so friendly also. They are very picky on the money they take, not sure why. Bills with write marks on them or small tears they will not accept. The market across the street is more accomodating. Entertainment staff and bartenders awesome. Restaurant food is awesome buffet is average. There is something for everyone. My big complaint was the dampness and odor in our room. Tried to regulate the air with the fan, but didn't always help. Felt very safe at this hotel. Lots to do but we chose to just lay on the beach, it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely make reservations at the restaurants, the food is awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PatnElsie
Business
Greensboro, NC
Mar 25, 2013

Our Cancun One Week Getaway

It was our second time at this resort. It was as good as our first visit but the daily charge for the room safe annoyed me somewhat. The ala carte restaurants were all very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diandra
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 10, 2013

Beautiful!

The hotel staff was very friendly and so efficient. The second I was done eating something, they'd take away my dirty plate. They didn't need to be THAT efficient, but it was really nice being catered to. Kayaking, paddle boarding, beach volleyball, and all the fun activities were great and included in the fee. The location is absolutely beautiful since it's a beach front property. The Mayan restaurant at the sister resort is super delicious and I highly recommend it. The only downside I think is that you can only reserve 3 of the resort's restaurants for a 7 night stay. It's okay though since the menu for the buffet changes every night (i.e. Monday - Mexican, Tuesday - Italian, etc) Unfortunately, they don't have a shuttle going to Playa Del Carmen or Cancun. A taxi to Cancun would cost $55, so that's $110 round trip plus tax and so we didn't go there. We were told that it was only a 10 minute walk to Playa del Carmen but that was a ridiculous underestimation since the walk is 30-40 minutes. I know that since we did this round trip walk 4 out of the 7 nights we were there. Overall though, the experience was excellent. The beach was beautiful, the waitstaff friendly, and the food delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RBird
Business
Rancho Mirage
Feb 18, 2013

Good getaway place

Don't know what others have written about this place, but it is in a perfect location--GREAT beach to walk all the way up to Playa del Carmen or in the other direction to the jungle. Staff is very friendly & helpful. Food in all restaurants was good or very good. Big variety that changed even on the buffet. There are 2 pools; one that allows kids & another that is somewhat hidden for adults only. Alot of European travelers where here when we were here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen is only about 2-3 miles away. The ferry stop is easily within walking distance. If you plan to make many purchases I would suggest driving so you don't have to carry the stuff, but very nice walk along the beach or even on the sidewalks which go all the way into Playa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bob pip
Business
michigan
Feb 16, 2013

Great location to site and 5th ave.

We have been to this property over 12 times. It's location works well for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

From cancun to tulum. Lot to see and do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Professional Suntanner
Business
Ogden, UT
Oct 27, 2012

20th Anniversary Vacation

This is our 6th visit to the Playacar area and we absolutely love it. We stayed at Wyndham Maya about 5 years ago (we did not choose the hotel, it was through a tour/group), and since then have stayed at their sister hotel, Viva Wyndham Azteca and other hotels in this area. We went back to the Wyndham Maya because of the location and the price. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the hotel has maintained its clean and extremely friendly atmosphere. The rooms now have central air (before it was the wall mounted air conditioning), they have partially enclosed the pool bar and grill to protect against rain/wind. Only complaint is the beds are very hard !!! Seems to be that way in every hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and always say "Hola" when then pass you in the halls. The kids in charge of daytime entertainment are very energetic and friendly. There is always something to do from yoga/stretching, water aerobics, dance lessons (right by the pool), darts, beach games (coconut bowling), volley ball etc. There are Hobie Cats, kayaks and boogie boards. For a price you can parasail or rent wave runners. The hotel has cute activity for children too. There are plenty of chairs by the pool and on the beach. Best of all, the quality of the food has improved so much!! There is something for everyone and every culture. The specialty restaurants were amazing ! We were never disappointed. You must make reservations early because they fill up fast. While we were there we visited Xplor and Xcaret. Xplor has 14 zip lines, underground rivers to swim or raft in, and amphibious vehicles you drive above and underground. Xcaret is a zoo but not like the zoo's in the US. Its more for animal protection and conservation, very interesting and informative. The best part of Xcaret is the Mayan show they do every night. It is spectacular and a must see. Other places we have visited in the past include Chichen Itza, Tulum, Xel-Ha, and Coba. You're only about 1 mile from the ferry that takes you over to Cozumel where you can snorkle, scuba dive, or rent scooters and check out the island. We've also snorkeled at Akamal and a little-known place called Yal-Ku. I would definately recommend this hotel to friends and family. Its not a 5 star by any means but it's very clean and the atmosphere is welcoming. The beach is beautiful and the area is very safe. Playacar is a gated community.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy souveniers and any personal amenities on 5th Ave in Playa Del Carmen. The prices are much cheaper than at the hotel(s). Short taxi ride is about $7 or you can walk in about 20 min.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top