$252 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
392 out of 392
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marissa Disappointed
Business
Jersey City, NJ
May 28, 2014

Ruined Bachelorette Party

After sitting at the airport for almost an for waiting for our shuttle we finally arrived to the hotel, only to be told we had been upgraded to Riu next door. When arriving at Riu- the rooms smelled like mold, the beds were wet & there was dust everywhere. No one answers the phone at Viva Wyndham so I needed to walk back to the hotel- where the manager at the front desk Omar- yelled and screamed at me for wanting to come back. He was so rude and so mean that it was upsetting to be anywhere around him. I then had to walk back to Riu & gather our belongings. We were not given a shuttle to return to the Viva Maya hotel, so we had to drag our luggage in the hot sun a couple blocks back to our hotel. When we came back we went to our rooms, one room had non-working AC & the other had men working on the balcony. We then had to switch rooms AGAIN! Finally we wanted to go to the pool and we were never given towel cards. I spent more time at the front desk then I did with my friends. We were there with 7 people- 3 rooms for a Bachelorette Party and it was awful. The food was terrible, we went out every night trying to find food that was edible. the restaurants were better but my reservations always had problems- that I needed to go back to the front desk. The drinks were terrible and our rooms keys needed to be changed out all the time. (Back and forth to the front desk again and again). We were only there from Friday to Monday and that short time was ruined by nonsense by the hotel. The only saving grace was Dodo & the other Guest Services gentleman (originally from the states) that tried to alleviate some of the problems but all and all it was a bust. I will not be happy until I receive some type of compensation for this awful trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into the town- better food, drinks and better people

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MMiz
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
May 24, 2014

Fantastic!

Viva wyndham was such an amazing time. The staff were nothing but friendly and they had energy to make every day different and fun! The beach was so beautiful and the pool was great! I had no complaints about the food or the room. The buffet offered plenty of different options every night and the rooms were clean! I am definitely planning on returning back to viva wyndham!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If they offer coco bongo tickets definitely go. They are somewhat expensive but it was absolutely worth the trip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
El Traveestador
Business
Lafayette, Indians
May 17, 2014

poor food quality, sleep on rocks

The a la carte restaurants were fantastic. However the buffet restaurant for the 15 other meals were awful. Found under or overcooked meat, the nightly variety food special was nonexistent, and hot dogs have apparently become the main staple of Mexico as they were included in 25 different dishes offered there, yes, we counted. The beach lounge chairs were more comfortable than the bed. The facilities and the beach were absolutely immaculate The staff was friendly, especially if you were a college age girl!! If, not, don't expect prompt service. All in all we feel it could be better if a little more effort was allocated in other areas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay away from 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen. They will try to swindle you blind

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago PA
Business
Chicago, IL
May 11, 2014

Amazing Mexican getaway

I went to Mexico for the 6th time and loved viva wyndham! Everything is great at this resort, especially the entertainment staff. There are so many of them and they truly make your stay so much more enjoyable! There are a lot of young people vacationing at the resort. The only minor downfall is the food, which is not the great. Other than that we had an excellent vacation and I would love to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpringBreak Relax
Business
Colorado
Apr 19, 2014

Great experience

Viva Wyndham Maya was a great place to stay for our spring break. Rooms were clean and comfortable, with enough space. The staff was fantastic, almost everyone had smiles on their faces all the time. Grounds were beautiful, lush and green with nice open spaces to gather. Pools were nice, if a little small. Beach area was very nice, plenty of chairs both in the sun and in the shade and really nice atmosphere. Food was good, plenty of it. The one restaurant we went to, the Don Diego had great staff but marginal food. Clientele was very diverse, lots of European guests. Lots of activities all day, from ping-pong to Zumba, and nightly shows were fun. Kids did not get bored. Good to do a tour of the grounds on day one of your stay and figure out what you want to do and make sure you know the protocol (reservations required for tennis, for example, and trapeze is only available 4-6 and only for 15+). Walk to Playa del Carmen is about 30 minutes, or you can use one of the hotel's bikes or take a $7 cab ride. Internet access was spotty, but hey, you're on vacation, get off your computer already. Don't be afraid to ask guest service for help, they can do more than just make dinner reservations. We booked excursions on our own, the excursion staff seems a bit pushy. Tip the staff well, they work their butts off for about $6/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ckclarkclan
Business
Iowa
Apr 16, 2014

Good For the price

The hotel was perfect for the price. You had a great beach, great pool, great staff and rooms were comfortable. It was not over priced for what they offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great for shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kendall's Lady
Business
Iowa
Apr 1, 2014

2nd time here, like the first a great time!

This was our second time staying at this property and we very much enjoyed it. I did request a change of rooms the day of check in, (we had paid for a superior ocean view and found the only view of the ocean was if you stood on a chair stretching) anyway the staff was very friendly and told us that we could come down the next day to the guest service counter and be able to change, which we did, much, much, much better view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make dinner reservations early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacey K
Business
British Columbia, Canada
Mar 29, 2014

Great Family getaway

Staff are very friendly and go out of their way for you. Our teenage children enjoyed the shows and many activities. Beach was clean and had fine, white sand. Really enjoyed the buffet and restaurants. Delicious food even for the pickiest eater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rock93
Business
Willmar mn
Mar 27, 2014

Adorable family vacation

We had a great family vacation at this resort. Beautiful beaches..Lots of chairs for everyone. Clean rooms and grounds. Lots of activities for everyone . Good food and drinks. No complaints and was a great value .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk into town on beach... Not that far and take a taxi back to hotel if sick of walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AmyLinn
Business
Cherokee, Iowa
Mar 25, 2014

Will not return

I was not aware that this hotel is a time share resort. We never got hounded to buy a time share, but the resort certainly did cater to the time share holders. We couldn't even get a reservation at our own hotel. The only reservation we were able to get was at the sister resort up the beach a little way on the last night of our stay. That food was good! Other than that the food at the regular restaurant and by the beach bar were very repetitive. For a week's stay it would be nice to have more of a variety. We even left the resort to pay for meals because we were tired of eating the same thing over and over. The rooms were not stocked with any beverages. I have stayed in 5 other resorts in this area, including right next door at the Riu Playacar, and those rooms included a stocked refrigerator, and free water. The Viva Wyndham Maya gave one complimentary bottle of water, then we were required to buy additional water at the gift shop of $2 a bottle. I thought this was an "All Inclusive" vacation...buying water???? Not impressed. The rooms were ok but could definitely use some updating and repair. We were with a group of people and not all rooms even had refrigerators, not that it mattered because there was nothing in them anyway. The beach was beautiful and the best part of the vacation. I will definitely return to this area again, but never to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed our walk to Playa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top