$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
343 out of 343
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
waverunner
Indiana
Jul 23, 2014

Great Vacation

This resort is one of the cleanest I have ever stayed at. The staff was so friendly and helpful!! Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

make your reservations as soon as you arrive for the air conditioned ones.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vacation Traveling Joe
Business
Dallas Texas
Aug 6, 2014

Nothing could go right

We booked 3 rooms, 2 ocean view and 1 garden. When we got there they had no ocean view available. They put us way up front in 2 deluxe rooms, furthest away from beach as possible. They did allow us to move the next day, after waiting in line for 50 minutes for the one person available to help. We moved all 3 rooms. One was a ocean view, one kind of a ocean view and one a garden view. They were too busy so we had to move all our bags ourselves. Please remember each of the rooms were down 2 flights of stairs and up 2 flights of stairs, no elevators and we were now on the complete opposite side of resort. We found only one room was clean and ready. Oh yeah, one of the rooms the air conditioning didn't work so we moved once again. This was all with first 24 hours. Suffice to say we had a horrible experience with the room situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dezand family
Business
Ft Myers Florida
Aug 6, 2014

Viva Wyndham maya

The Buffett is very hot inside.could use air conditioner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bmore brian
Business
baltimorr , md
Jul 31, 2014

you get what you pay for...

Rooms were just average and a little dated. Food was just okay, though alacarte restaraunts were better choice. Activities were great with trapeze school, catermarans, paddle boards, windsurfer and kayaks. Activity staff and evenings shows were very good. Smaller resort, which was also nice. Beautiful brach and convenient to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Akamul snorkeling if you want to see sea turtles.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tan Tina
Business
Sacramento, California
Jul 29, 2014

Great location, mediocre food

First off, let me say that we had a mostly fantastic vacation at the Viva Wyndham Maya resort. We've stayed at a lot of all-inclusive resorts. This one had beautiful grounds, and tons of activities. The activities were endless: bocce ball, volleyball, windsurfing, catamarans, stand up paddle boards, trapeze, archery, a gym with a climbing wall, pottery painting, great nightly shows. All were included too! We stayed for a week, so we also got to go to three of the restaurants that were reservation-only. Tip: be sure to book these the first day you get there, because they fill up fast! The reservation restaurants had great food!! The rest of the trip, you eat at the buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Like I said, we've gone to a lot of all-inclusives. Usually, they rotate the food so there's a lot of variety. This one literally had the same food every. Single. Day. It wasn't very good. Not at all. Actually, it was the worst food we've ever had at an all-inclusive resort. And none of us are picky eaters at all! So, take a taxi and eat in town at least a few times if you stay here. Or just drink a lot, since any drink you can think of is here, including a great espresso bar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Directly across the street is a little shopping center. Get your souvineers there! Good prices and they will haggle with you-sometimes even to half of what their starting price was!

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt aka Buckle
Business
Texas
Jul 28, 2014

Great Family spot

Tons of activities for adults and kids and unique amenities like trapeze and nightly shows. Great value for the cost compared to other resorts. Only complaint is that eating and common areas have no air conditioning so I will go in October-November time frame next time. Rooms also get wet and sticky due to extreme humidity. Overall, a great vacation spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop around at local outdoor mall and negotiate with vendors before buying. Negotiate even more if you buy more than 1 thing from same vendor.

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yesi the traveler
Business
California
Jul 27, 2014

Family getaway

Beach at the resort was amazing best part of our trip! Food was the same everyday not the best tasting we got tired of the buffet food quick and made the whole family sick! Rooms were old and very noisy we came to relax and were woken up very early with hallway noise everyday! Its ok if your looking for a inexpensive stay buy i will not stay at this resort again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ride the bikes to shopping area

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
papa ring
Business
NC
Jul 16, 2014

get what you pay for

We didn't even get what we paid for. No mini bar, coffee maker even after looking at over 12 rooms. Lunch/Dinner Buffet mostly leftovers. Will never go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bubbacup
Business
Austin TX
Jul 14, 2014

Great vacation for the price!

The staff was amazing, the facility well maintained. The buffet food was good but at times to warm in the room to enjoy the meal. I would recommend larger fans in that room. Pack a lot of shirts as you will sweat through them quickly. This is the second time I have been and I will go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do the Explor park-amazing!

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Best parent ever
Business
Chicago
Jun 20, 2014

Best vacation

We really enjoyed this trip. We went to the beach every single morning and watched the shows at night. The restaurants we went to were amazing as well as the buffet at the hotel. Everything was perfect and very enjoyable. The activities were so fun and the staff there were the best! This trip to us was by far the best and we look forward to coming again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Enjoy

Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Playa del Carment joy
Business
Playa del Carmen
Jun 11, 2014

Great family getaway

The all inclusive worked really great for our family. There were 9 of us. The hotel was very nice. the only thing is it was a bit difficult to get into the restaurants because you have to do it 24 hours in advance. But overall it was fabulous trip we enjoyed all the amenities of the zumba, unmotorized watercraft activities, the shows they perform for entertainment and great frozen margaritas!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Really check out all places before you buy there is a great range of prices for same items so you need to shop around to get the best deals.

Back to menu Return to top