$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 23, 2015

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
348 reviews
Excellent vacation destination

We had a fantastic time on our vacation. Everyone there was courteous, professional and... See full review

  • S 1st timer
  • Nov 30, 2014
Fantastico!!!!!

Exelente.place .real good services.l like to come back on my next vacation.very fun people See full review

  • laveloz
  • Sep 27, 2014
Caribbean beach resort with swim-up bar and Jacuzzi near Mayan ruins
The all-inclusive Viva Wyndham Maya is located just two miles from Playa del Carmen and a short drive to archaeological Mayan ruins. The resort boasts 604 rooms, four restaurants, a covered theater, freshwater pool with ocean view, Jacuzzi, tobacco shop, swim-up bar, Renova Spa and Wyndam Kids Club. The newly added Viva Circus program at Viva Wyndham Maya combines acrobatic stunts, interactive trapeze lessons, juggling and high-powered entertainment.
Highlights:
  • Family-friendly with kids club and Viva Circus entertainment
  • Near Playa del Carmen shopping, nightlife and entertainment
  • On-site Renova Spa
Rooms:

All Viva Wyndham Maya suites face either the ocean or the garden and are decorated in modest, contemporary decor. They feature marble flooring and queen beds, satellite TV and balconies. Family rooms allow parents some privacy while kids enjoy provided Wii and Xbox games. Superior suites feature Caribbean-inspired decor, new modern artwork, colorful accents and flat-screen TVs. In the superior plus suite, a private Jacuzzi and glassed-in, marble shower create a luxurious, relaxing atmosphere.

Features:

Guests at Viva Wyndham Maya enjoy live nightly entertainment, theme parties, dancing, tennis, windsurfing and kayaking. For the adventurous guest, the all-inclusive package includes passes to the climbing wall, super jump trampoline and circus trapeze with instructor. For a serene experience with nature, grab the complementary snorkeling gear and experience the long stretch of the Mayan Reef coral. Relax in the Renova Spa with a massage or hydrating facial (fees apply).

Dining

Four restaurants allow guests to choose a variety of cuisines for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Three bars, including a swim-up pool bar, are available at no additional cost. If you're traveling to the Riviera for love, the hotel offers wedding packages that include a civil judge, wedding coordinator and more. Check with the Viva Wyndham Maya's concierge for details and applicable fees before booking.   

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 miles)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Xcaret ecological/archeological theme park (6 mi/10.3 km)
  • Cancun (45 mi/73 km)
Business
  • Meeting room - capacity 200 people
  • Business center and concierge (fees may apply)

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

All Together Room
These are two guaranteed adjoining rooms with connecting door, allowing parents to be closed to their children while still enjoying some privacy. Each room has two queen size bed (or one King bed) air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), terrace, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. There is a minimum occupancy of 2 adults and 2 kids in order to book these rooms, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor. Cribs are available upon request.
Superior Garden View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Superior Ocean View
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower (bathtub upon request), hair dryer, ironing board and iron, balcony and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Handicapped rooms with one queen size bed and adjoining rooms available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Deluxe Room
All rooms have two queen size beds or one king size bed with garden view, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with bathtub, terrace , hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Adjoining rooms with communicated door are available. Cribs available upon request, featuring a Caribbean inspired, contemporary decor.
Vista Room
All rooms have one king size bed and are situated ocean front, air conditioning, color satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower, terrace with outdoor Jacuzzi, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, and safety deposit box (surcharge). Power voltage: 110 V, 60HZ. Cribs available upon request

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting room: Capacity 200 persons, divisible in two sections for 100 persons each.

Dining

Bamboo
Oriental restaurant a la carte open for dinner, (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
La Terraza
International buffet restaurant with theme dinner open for breakfast, lunch and dinner No reservation required).
Hacienda Don Diego
Mexican a la carte restaurant, open for dinner, reservation required.
Portofino
Mediterranean cuisine restaurant a la carte, open for dinner, reservations required.
Miramare
Pizza and pasta restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required).
Viva Cafe
A fusion a la carte restaurant with an international and modern cuisine, open for dinner, reservation required
Il Palco
Italian restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
Xul ha
Mayan specialty restaurant a la carte for dinner (reservations required, extra charge). Located at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (348)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
348 out of 348
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vova
Business
Toronto, Ont
Mar 17, 2014

Very good family vacation

Beatiful beach,nice cozy hotel, a lots of attraction near by

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuzieQ629
Business
Maryland
Jan 13, 2014

Great all inclusive

The hotel was very nice. Trying to get reservations at the hotel restaurants was difficult if you don't plan 24-48 hours in advance.The buffet for meals was excellent and adequate. There were plenty of activities, especially for fitness fanatics and children. Very close proximity to 5th Avenue (great shopping and restaurants) and many tourist attractions (ruins and activities off site). Horseback riding on the beach with snorkeling was my favorite. I would stay here again! I think the price was very fair. The girls in the hotel gift shop were not extremely courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Friends vacation
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 12, 2014

Winter vacation

We had a great time at the Wyndham Maya. The beach and water were beautiful. They had many thing for both adults and kids to do. Plenty of workers keeping the grounds looking beautiful. The food at the buffet was good as well as the restaurant with 5 course meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bob pip
Business
michigan
Dec 9, 2013

good value

We have stayed at this property about 15 times. Great location, beach, and well laided out. The staff has always been good to us. They know us by our names as soon as they see us pull up. If you are looking for 5 star this is not the place. If your looking for a good time and a lot of fun.... this place can work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debbie V.
Business
Falls Church, VA
Nov 22, 2013

Wonderful staff, good food, great location

This trip was taken at the beginning of November when the travelers to the resorts are at their lowest. My family traveled with two adults, a 3 year old, and a 1 year old. The food met our expectations. We don't expect high end food, but good food. With the choices that were available at the buffet, we were able to find food for everyone to eat without complaints. An all-inclusive is great for families, because the buffet provides so many choices for young children. We did also go to one of the restaurants (the Mexican one) on one night, and found the staff responsive and the food enjoyable. The room was clean and adequate. When we first moved in, there was an issue with the door latching. The staff immediately came to fix the issue, and we were extra careful to pull the door shut. We did ask for a crib in the room, and parents should be warned (if all the cribs are the same) that the sides are not quite old enough for older toddlers. The side only came up to the bellybutton of our 1-year old. Therefore, we had to always be on watch for when she would wake up. The resort also has a free child care area. It includes a playset, a pool, and an indoor area with a playstation, dvd player, and art supplies. The childcare director happened to meet us on the path on our first night and invited our son to the daycare program. He didn't take to it the first day (as he wanted to be in the big pool), but the second day he wouldn't leave. He got to play in the pool and they even took them to the archery course. The best thing about this resort (and a resort we had gone to before) is the special attention the staff give to the kids. One of the activity directors was dancing the salsa with my daughter. The concierge was asking my son what he did each day, what souveniers he bought, etc. They go out of their way to make it enjoyable for everyone. Some staff even made the effort to remember our kids names, when there are hundreds of visitors coming and going. The pool was big and nice. We brought a life jacket for our son. The beach was secluded, and I did not notice any people selling their wares on the beach. Since we went during the off-season, there were a lot of chairs available on the beach and at the pool. We did not make it to the adult pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MagnumRJ
Business
Woodland, Al
Nov 20, 2013

Great PLace

You won,t find a better place on the beach. Rooms need a little up grade.Good food this is the second time we stayed here.People and staff are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

up town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rebehka
Business
Bham, al
Nov 5, 2013

It was a trick and not a treat

100.00 Round trip to airport, no good. Could only eat 2 xs in Resturants. All other meals at a buffet, not very good. Staff not friendly, nor helpful Nothing special in the rooms. The gym was very small, no air condition or windows Overall, the resort was worn out and need some TLC The best thing was being with our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Downtown Playa had great shopping, Resturants and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmtravel
Business
bloomington, il
Oct 25, 2013

beautiful beach and fun for family!

Wonderful beach; can't get any better than this location. Employees were true entertainers--with nightly shows, tons of activities, and really something for all of us. Kids are 8 & 9 and said this was the best vaca ever! They got to learn trapeze! The kids club was separate from main activities and really needed more planned, fun activities (movies (in Spanish) do not keep kids attention). I hope they improve this and include a pager/communication system for parents. Food was also only average at best, a few improvements (such as air conditioning in the buffet area and learning how to cook a basic, decent, tomato sauce) would make a huge difference. Overall -- beach, pool, cleanliness, service, drinks were fantastic!!! We will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank aka Pancho
Business
Santa Rosa
Oct 20, 2013

Viva Wyndham

The Staff was helpful, water activities was fun, bartender made strong drinks and just about any type of drink you can think off. Safe location, close to the city. Food was good. Shows were entertaining. If you want a good time to relax, play, go to town and do some shopping, this is the place to go. Very safe to walk to town and bring back gifts for your family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into playa del Carmen and do your shopping, haggle and you will get a good price. the shops across the street have high prices. Stop by the walmart on 30th street, they have a small selection but the prices are decent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kini of Clackamas
Business
Portland, Oregon
Sep 29, 2013

Viva Wynham Maya August 2013

We have stayed previously at three other Playacar all-inclusive facilities. The Maya was, in comparison to our other Playacar lodgings, superior in some respects and lacking in others. Specifically: * Entertainment (5 out of 5). The nightly entertainment was excellent! Best of any property we've been too. For instance, on Las Vegas night, we were expecting some cheesy show-girl type of thing that we'd end up walking out on. Instead, we were treated to something similar to Cirque du Soleil. * Beach (5 of 5). The beach had plenty of palapas, providing plenty of opportunities for shade. The beach itself is deep and powdery. This is the best beach setting of any of the properties we've visited. * Pool (2 of 5). As nice as the beach is, the pool area by the beach is small, crowded, and has an unimaginative layout. This pool area is in need of a basic remodel. The water was apparently heated, and for some reason they had it at near hot tub temperature. We instead used the ocean to cool off. This was the worst pool setting of any of the properties we've visited. * Room (4 of 5). The room was spacious, quiet, cool, and very clean. The bed was comfortable. The setting was pretty with a nice view of the quiet pool (near the entrance). * Specialty Restaurants (3 of 5). The ambiance in the specialty restaurant was fine, the food quite good. (We went to three different restaurants, two of which were at the Viva Azteca, a ten minute walk down the street.) Availability of required reservations was rather limited, but the restaurants themselves were never full when we attended at our reserved time. However, these restaurants were a very welcome break from the tired buffet described next. * Main Buffet (1 of 5). This is the achilles heel of the Maya. The salon is not air conditioned and is unattractive. The buffet layout is very crowded. Decorations or other efforts to make the presentation of the food more attractive were non-existent. But the real issue with the buffet is that the food lacked variety, and often just wasn't very tasty. For breakfast, you have to ask for bacon (when they have it at all), then you get strips that have been warmed but not actually cooked. The buffet was easily the worst of any of the properties we've been to and the single thing that takes what is otherwise a really good property and turns it into a mediocre experience. With a remodel of this area, some air conditioning, some thought into making the food presentation more attractive, and an upgrade to the food quality and selection, the Maya would simply be our new favorite property at the Playacar. The Wyndham Maya would do well to look at what they do at any of the Rius. Overall, this could be a top property with a basic fix of the buffet area and a pool remodel. We would love to return for the entertainment and beach, once the eating experience has been improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top