$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman, Lote Hotelero 5, Playa Del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
365 out of 365
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JennyLauz22
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Oct 23, 2014

Great, easy, cheap getaway!

I loved this resoirt. For the money you are paying, it was great! We went to one restaurant on the resort each night (Don Diego was our favorite). Delicious food and easy accessibility to drinks! Plenty of lounge chairs around the pool and around the beach. The staff could not have been nicer. It isnt a 5-star resort or anything so you need to keep that in mind. The rooms were clean and decent (but you shouldnt spend too much time in there anyways). The beds were not super comfy but that is forgivable. It called for rain everyday we were there and it rained everyday but only for an hour or two (except one day it rained the whole time). It didnt ruin the trip for us. I would recommend this to other people as well as I will be going back here in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don Diego is delicious. All the restaurants are worth a try. Left being very full and satisfied each night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SD Traveling Mermaid
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 6, 2014

Great for the value, but can improve

We got a great value for this hotel through this website. You are 15 minutes away from "x" parks. Coming from someone who stayed in Cancun this location is much better and allows you to drive. Considering it is all-inclusive, it was nice to have food available at all hours, as well as drinks. Areas of improvement: the pool closes at 8pm. This is ridiculous considering you are coming to swim and be outside. Secondly, there is no room service readily available. You need to get food from the snack bar and take it to your room. Lastly, you need to make restaurant reservations well in advance to be able to make it to a restaurant. Again, comparing my last all-inclusive experience where you can walk into a restaurant as soon as you are hungry (or several if you choose), I thought it was inconvenient to have to schedule my reservations a week in advance, this even caused me to miss 2 of the 3 allowed restaurant appointments (appointments based on length of stay) due to the changes in my plans over the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It's convenient to drive since most things are very close. Ahkumal is an amazing beach where you can swim with turtles all year long!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
laveloz
Business
Chicago Ill.
Sep 27, 2014

Fantastico!!!!!

Exelente.place .real good services.l like to come back on my next vacation.very fun people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Love the bicycle ride to playa very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
danny125
Business
montevideo,uruguay
Sep 17, 2014

GOOD VACATION FOR THE PRICE

We have enjoyed 8 days with my wiife in this hotel and the location is very good, food is like all inclusives, standar, and the beach is nice,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Danny0103
Business
Chicago,Illinois
Aug 21, 2014

Not a typical hotel

The staff wasn't out to pamper the guest. No room service was a big upset. Room cleanliness was also not the greatest. No wifi in the rooms either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meghan R
Business
Loveland, CO
Aug 18, 2014

Great spot for families

My kids and I had a terrific time at this resort. They have so many activities and almost all of them are included! We enjoyed the show every night, the activities by the pool and the non-motorized water sports. The staff was amazing and went out of the way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff was great. The food at La Terazza was good, but got a bit redundant after a week stay and it would be nice if the restaurant was air conditioned. Other than that, the trip was amazing. The resort is beautiful and the ocean is absolutely breathtaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wmartinez
Business
Staten island, NY
Aug 17, 2014

great family entertaiment

a very positive experience, hotel staff , from waiters to entertainers, were excellent. rooms were always clean on time and very efficiently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Tres
Business
Columbiana, Ohio
Aug 14, 2014

50th Anniversary

I was a little nervous about booking this 3 star resort because of the many negative reviews. We are an average family that mainly stay at Days Inns and don't need all the frills. My wife and daughters (16) took our parents for their 50th Anniversay. But let me tell you this, it's really a nice place for the value. It is very well upkept and the staff are the best. The only downfall, were the rooms were warm and wouldn't get cooler as I'd like. If you are looking to go to Viva Maya, Go, you won't be disappointed for the price. Also visit Portofino for dinner, it was the best, Diego's Mexican wasn't as good. Its in a gated community and always felt safe. The beach here is the best, always clean and a lot of chaise lounge chairs with shade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
short on sleep
Business
mid west
Aug 13, 2014

great people

The people that work at Viva Wyndham make the place. There is limited access to a la carte restaurants for larger groups (extended family of 8). The location is great for access to local activities, off site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Senior Frogs. 20 minute walking along the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya Resort - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Florida Fan of Mexico
Business
Florida
Aug 13, 2014

Great Family Resort

Traveled with my 2 teenage kids. We all had a great time with all the activities available. Buffet was good, not gourmet, but with all the variety, there is something for everyone. Staff is fantastic and very accommodating, especially the bartenders.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get bicycles with a bike lock at no extra charge & ride into town (Playa del Carmen). It's a ten minute ride & it saves you the $14.00 round trip taxi fare. Only drawback is that you have to return the bikes within 3 hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top