$370 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, KM 311 +500, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
640 reviews
Great value and great vacation!

This hotel is wonderful. The entire property is similar to a botanical garden. The staff is very... See full review

  • Excited Florida Traveler
  • Oct 28, 2014
Most fun ever!!!!

My husband and I stayed with 2 other couples in October of 2014. Right from the beginning of our... See full review

  • CharlaB53072
  • Oct 21, 2014
The Valentin brand has been managing family-oriented hotels since 1966, but Valentin Imperial Maya caters solely to the adult crowd, in the paradise-like setting of Mexico's Riviera Maya. Stroll through quiet gardens or paddle in the free-form pool beside thatched lanais, greeted by staff in traditional floral dress. With full kitchenettes, complimentary Wi-Fi, and a ready-stocked-and complimentary-mini-bar, guests can come and go freely on vacation or handle business at their own pace. Enjoy Quintana Roo in peace, with Swedish massages and a spectrum of all-inclusive benefits dining at restaurants like French gourmet L'Alsace or tasting Thai-Indonesion fusions at Taman Sari.

Key facts
  • 540 suites
  • 8 restaurants, including Il Olivio, Ginger, L'Alsace and The Corner
  • 11 bars, including Sun & Moon, Heaven & Earth and Sunrise & Sunset
  • 12,000-square-feet of conference and event spaces
  • Spa
  • Hair/beauty salon
  • Fitness center
  • Tennis
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
Neighborhood
About 20 minutes north of buzzing Riviera Maya resort Playa del Carmen, the Valentin Imperial hotel is based on Playa del Secreto beach, a private stretch of coastline. Playa del Carmen is a feast for the eyes if you're hungry for souvenir shopping, with local handcrafts, accessories and jewelry available, while the lively nightlife here is centered around 5th Avenue. Cancun International Airport (CUN) is 25 minutes away by car, and you can ride north to Cancun for access to the wider Quintana Roo area.
Hints and tips
Make your daily beach excursions easier by booking a Golden Swim-Up room. These venues are a bit more private, although some travelers prefer the views from the upper level floors.

If it's your anniversary, be sure to let the concierge know so that you get the extra special treatment; you may even return from a day of scuba diving or jungle trekking to discover a complementary bottle of wine!

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.77 -86.951
Area served
Playa Del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Resort is located 25 minutes from International Cancun Airport, 30 minutes frome Cancun and 20 minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive Rooms

Standard features for all room categories
-Private furnished terrace or balcony -Full marble bathrooms -Separate shower cabin -Separate Toilet -Vanity mirror -Hair dryer & Scale -Bathrobes & Slippers -Phone in bathroom -Satellite TV -Air Conditioning with in-room climate control & Ceiling fan -Radio/Alarm Clock with I-Pod dock -Direct dial telephone with voice mail -Free High speed Internet connection -Electronic in-room safe (laptop size) -Coffee maker set -Mini bar -Iron & Ironing board -Turn down service available from Silver Jr Suite -Umbrella
Imperial One Bedroom Suite
1.032 feet2.Large suites with separate living room with sofa-bed. Roof terrace is complete with outdoor hot tub and large enough to host a small cocktail party. Located in buildings 2-8, these corner units provide impressive views of the Resort. All Imperial Suites have King bed only and two bathrooms, one with a double Jacuzzi. Living room features a second TV with dolby surround sound and a dining space. Perfect for the guest looking for the ultimate in luxury, service and personal attention. Privilege amenities are included. No double beds or Handicap rooms in this category. -King size bed -Separate living room -Sofa bed in living room -2 Bathrooms including 1 oversized bathroom with open concept and double jacuzzi -Private and furnished terrace with outdoor Hot Tub -DVD player with Dolby Surround System in living room
Suite Diamond & Imperial offer the same services but are not identical and have a different room distribution.
Golden Swim-Up Jr. Suites
656 Sq Ft. Junior Suites with oversized terrace that faces the pool. Located in buildings 6, 7 and 8. These large Golden Jr. Suite Privilege, are on the ground floor and offer two doubles or one king bed. An oval double jacuzzi separates the bedroom from the bathroom. Large sitting area with 2nd TV makes one feel at home. These ideally situated suites are directly in front of a pool with only a patio, a patch of grass and two chaise lounges separating the suite from the welcoming water. Perfect for the guest who wants to feel as if the pool is an extension of their suite. -King size or 2 Double beds -Jacuzzi for two -Double vanities -2 Satellite TVs, (1 LCD) -Division between living room and bedroom and closed bathroom -Furnished (2 lounge chairs) terrace -Direct access to the swim-up pool from terrace garden -Pillow Menu -3 Handicapped rooms available
Honeymoon Junior Suite
624 Sq Ft.All Jr Suites have oversized jacuzzi, balcony or terrace. Enjoy an oceanfront location directly on the beach, but the view of the ocean may be obstructed by vegetation and is not guaranteed. Located in building 9-14, these Junior Suites are equipped with one king bed. The ultimate in romance is incorporated by a huge tile jacuzzi in the corner of the suite that may be accessed from either the terrace/balcony or the bathroom. Bathroom has a separate toilet area with a bidet for total privacy. Perfect for the guests looking to spend a lot of time enjoying their suite and those who do not want to walk to the beach. No double beds or handicap rooms in this category. -King bed only -Double vanities -Super sized Jacuzzi with panoramic mirror windows -Separate shower cabin with Rain Shower -LCD Satellite Television
Diamond Suite Privilege (Privilege Package Included)
1.032 Sq Ft. Large suites provide a separate living room and a roof terrace. Located in buildings 1 - 5, these corner units provide the best views of the Caribbean and the resort. All Diamond Suites have King bed only and feature a double Jacuzzi in the bathroom. Living room features a second TV. Perfect for the guest looking for that extra space, service and personal attention. Privilege amenities are included. No double beds or Handicap rooms in this category.
King size bed Separate living room Sofa bed in living room Private and furnished terrace. Jacuzzi in bathroom DVD player with Dolby Surround System Privilege amenities included.
Suite Diamond & Imperial offer the same services but are not identical and have a different room distribution.
Deluxe Junior Suites
516 Sq Ft. Jr. Suites with pool or garden view and balcony or terrace. The majority of the Deluxe Junior Suites are located in buildings 3, 4 and 5 with a few scattered in buildings 1 and 2. Deluxe Junior suites are equipped with either two double beds or one king. These rooms are perfect for friends/family because there is total privacy between the bedroom and bathroom. Handicap rooms available. -Hydro massage bathtub -Single vanity -3 handicapped rooms available
Silver Junior Suites
516 Sq Ft. Jr. Suites with pool or garden view and balcony or terrace. The Silver room category is the closest to the main lobby bar & restaurants. All Silver junior suites are equipped with one king bed and offer a romantic ambiance with a double jacuzzi that separates the bedroom from bathroom. A beautifully appointed junior suite for guests who want to be close to the restaurants, Lobby and pool. No double beds or handicap rooms in this category.
-King-size bed only -Jacuzzi for two -Open Bathroom Concept -Double vanities
Golden Jr Suites
656 Sq Ft. Junior Suites overlook the pool and have balconies. Located in buildings 6, 7, and 8, these large Golden Junior Suites offer two double beds or one king on the second floor. All thirds floor rooms are available with King bed only. An oval double jacuzzi separates the bedroom from bathroom (with bidet). Large sitting area with 2nd TV makes one feel at home. These ideally situated suites have a pool view, but also overlook a lagoon bounding with birds and nature. Perfect for the person who likes to have a coffee or drinks on the balcony and enjoy the sounds and sights of the resort. No handicap rooms in this category.
-King bed or 2 double beds on 2nd floor, King beds on 3rd floor. -Jacuzzi for two -Double vanities -Separate toilet with bidet -Division between living room and bedroom and closed bathroom on 2nd floor -2 Satellite TVs, (1 LCD) -Pillow Menu

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

The Corner
More than a dinner, a unique dining experience. This restaurant has been created to offer you the most respected culinary trends. We have chosen unique ingredients to create our menu. Elegant and comfortable, combined with attentiveness in service, are the perfect setting for a pleasant evening or the prelude to an unforgettable experience. Dinner from 6:00 PM until 10:30 PM
Mar y Tierra
Beach restaurant offering Breakfast buffet from 10AM until noon; buffet lunch from Noon until 4:30PM.
Taman Sari
Indonesian Restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual: Night Casual: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged), dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves closed shoes or elegant sandals.
Le Marche
Main buffet restaurant, international cuisine serves breakfast from 7 - 11 am ; Lunch from noon until 6pm (a la carte service from 4-6PM). Resort Day Casual: Dress shorts or jeans. Swimwear must be dry and covered. No bare feet.
Il Olivo
Italian restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Elegance: dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged) dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants only, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves elegant shoes.
L'Alsace
French Restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Night Elegance: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged) dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants only, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves elegant shoes.
Ginger
Japanese Restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Elegance: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged) dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants only, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves elegant shoes.
La Hacienda
Mexican Restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Casual: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged), dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves closed shoes or elegant sandals.
Tierra
Steak House Grill open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Casual: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged), dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants, Bermudas, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves closed shoes or elegant sandals.
Mar
Open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Casual: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged), dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants, Bermudas, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves closed shoes or elegant sandals.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (640)

Ratings and reviews for Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
547 out of 640
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Excited Florida Traveler
Business
Lake Worth, FL
Oct 28, 2014

Great value and great vacation!

This hotel is wonderful. The entire property is similar to a botanical garden. The staff is very friendly and the activities are fun. I would highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CharlaB53072
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 21, 2014

Most fun ever!!!!

My husband and I stayed with 2 other couples in October of 2014. Right from the beginning of our trip it was perfect check in was fast and easy. The staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and at home!! We enjoyed all of the food and drinks. The restaurants were great. The grounds were beautiful!! Would return in a heart beat!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ivfmommyx3
Business
SouthEast MA
Oct 16, 2014

Amazing and relaxing getaway

our 10th anniversary trip to the Valentin Imperial Playa was fantastic. From our room in building 1 to the spectacular pool to the dining options, we had a great time. Our room overlooked the jungle which was lush and green! We were close to the main lobby, central plaza and restaurants, and a short walk to the pool and beach. The pool bars were easily accessible and were able to get a drink quickly. Breakfast and lunch buffets were plentiful and the selection was robust. The restaurants were more upscale, especially the French L'Alsace (sp) where dining was a long experience. Would definitely keep this resort in mind for a future trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

no need to upgrade to an 'ocean front' room as none of the rooms were actually ocean front, its still a walk to the beach. Best views are on the upper floors and buildings 4 and 5 are probably the closest to the pool and entertainment venues

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MMG9
Business
Baltimore, MD
Oct 13, 2014

Anniversary getaway

My husband and I loved every minute at the Valentin. The pool and pool activity staff were amazing! The restaurants were also delicious with very polite wait staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dazed32
Business
Wichita, ks
Oct 7, 2014

Great place

Had a blast and am already planning our next trip back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alecdean
Business
Denver
Sep 21, 2014

We had a nice time but.....

Just to be fair, we stayed at the Excellence Playa Mujeres less than a year ago so may be off bc we were truly spoiled there. Positives: nice beach, food was decent, shows were enjoyable, resort is beautiful and manageable for walking; pool HUGE and clean Negatives: had to throw a fit to get a king bed but did (amazing how all of a sudden one became available); waited 2 hrs 45 min for a ribeye and steak medallions - unacceptable and no one cared - not even sure the restaurant manager could understand us; staff is not very friendly and service feels more like an obligation regardless of how we tipped; staff English is not so good; single ply toilet paper - ouch; our Crown Royale drinks were often not Crown and when we called them out, they told us maybe the bartender poured something else; the good cabanas and chairs are $42 a day without the privilege package - the "included" chairs are a good almost 1/2 mile walk; beach bar service non existent; pool is open till 8 pm but the bars closed by 5:45; trip was booked by me and my husband was 2nd traveler- my passport still had my old married name so all week we were Mr. And Mrs " my old name" no matter how many times we asked. My husbands last name was clearly different. Very awkward. Still had a good vacation but likely wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't get the privilege package but just rent cabana each day

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike and Margaret
Business
Plainsboro, NJ
Sep 9, 2014

An amazing stay at the Valentin Imperial Maya

We spent a marvelous week at the resort from 8/16-8/23. The Our room, a silver junior suite, was everything we needed, plus it was close to the lobby/restaurant area. The restaurants were very good. Our favorite was the French. The onion soup was the best we ever had. It had a puff pastry shell on top that was amazing. we intended to just eat a bit, but it was too good. We ate there twice, it was so good...had the salmon and then the grouper. Next favorite was the Thai/Indonesian...the duck was wonderful, as was the pad thai. The beach open air Mar/Tierra was also quite good. There was a nice breeze, and it was good to wear shorts. Again, the fish was wonderful...we ate a lot of seafood this trip! The Mar/Tierra is the beach-area buffet at lunch, which we ate at three times. There was plenty of good choices at lunch. The main buffet near the lobby is larger, and we ate breakfast there every day. The omelets were great, and the crepes were fantastic! The Asian restaurant Ginger has a menu area, a sushi bar and the hibachi Japanese area...needed a reservation for the hibachi location, and it was booked, so we ate off the menu, which was just fine. The Mexican restaurant was OK...not a favorite. I had a beef dish, and it was just OK. Our least favorite was the Italian, where we both had chicken stuffed with mascarpone, covered with a creamy sauce, sitting on a bed of mashed potatoes...it was just too heavy for us. The staff was just about 100% marvelous. One small exception was a guy giving a bike tour of the resort...we were not experienced bike riders, and he took off like a bat out of Hades, so we turned around and decided to skip it. He was not very friendly, but he was the only person out of every other employee that was not 100% wonderful. The entertainment team did a great job, esp at the pool. We took aqua zumba 4 times; the woman who taught it did a great class. Also took two excellent cooking classes, pico de gallo and paella. The spa was great...we did a couples massage called the 'Valentin'. It was great. At the pool, we also did this thing where you put your feet in a tank full of little fish that clean off your feet..it tickled a bit at the start. :-) They do need more palapas around the pool, as shade is tough to come by. All in all...we will go back. This was our 6th visit in a row to the area, but our first to the Valentin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Staying in a Silver Junior Suite room, in buildings 1 or 2, puts you close to the lobby/restaurants and entertainment area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fonzi215
Business
Lubbock, TC
Aug 19, 2014

Fantastic!

French hotel was awesome. Also the Italian and Indonesian were good. The hotel has hourly activities for you to enjoy, you never have to leave the resort if you dont want! Great for couples. The staff was excellent and very courteous, be sure to tip them if they deserve it! I will for sure be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pepenando
Business
Colorado
Aug 8, 2014

Great b'day!!!!

Wife and I stayed for 5 days,reserved a swim up suite wich was perfect just what we wanted!! Pool its about 5 steps away from the balcony. Food was excellent they have so many restaurants that offer different types of food even the buffet only let down was room service wich we only had the day left!! Room was clean and very comfortable,everyone its nice and helpful,they have so many daily activities you really dont have to leave the resort at all. Over all we had a great time we want to go back for a full 10 days next time!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Dont shop for souvenirs at the plaza its some what over price if you take a trip outside the resort you will find it half price!! But if you do those guys are sooo flexible with the prices dont ever take the 1st price they offer!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roberto de Oregon
Business
Forest Grove, OR
Jul 27, 2014

Anniversary trip

My wife and I stayed here with some friends. We were each celebrating an anniversary. This is more than just a hotel on the beach, it's a real resort. We stayed for 8 nights and only left once for shopping in Playa. The food was amazing, with more than enough variety! The staff was really friendly and helpful, just about anything you wanted they provided. The best part was the beach. It was very long, with a great swim area and had plenty of cabanas for everyone. The one downside we kept hearing about was "how far apart everything was" and "how long it took to walk there", but for us it was a positive. If you want a shoulder to shoulder dance club atmosphere this is not it. If you want a completely relaxing, somewhat secluded, fun and romantic vacation this is it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make a point to eat at the Hibachi grill at Ginger. You have to make a reservation, but it's well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top