$405 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, KM 311 +500, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
678 reviews
Amazing Honeymoon

We could not have dreamed of a more perfect honeymoon! The staff, service and a monitors went above... See full review

  • Elizabeth R.
  • Apr 12, 2015
Best resort we have been to.

This resort exceeded our expectations by far so much we are going back. The staff is awesome the... See full review

  • Homeydclown
  • Apr 11, 2015
The Valentin brand has been managing family-oriented hotels since 1966, but beachfront hotel Valentin Imperial Maya caters solely to the adult crowd, in the paradise-like setting of Mexico's Riviera Maya. Stroll through quiet gardens or paddle in the free-form pool beside thatched lanais, greeted by staff in traditional floral dress. With complimentary Wi-Fi, and a ready-stocked-and complimentary-mini-bar, guests can come and go freely on vacation or handle business at their own pace at this beachfront property. Enjoy Quintana Roo in peace, with Swedish massages and a spectrum of all-inclusive benefits dining at restaurants like French gourmet L'Alsace or tasting Thai-Indonesion fusions at Taman Sari.

Key facts
  • 540 suites
  • 7 a la carte restaurants and 1 main buffet restaurant, including Italian 'Il Olivo', French 'L' Alsace', Mexican 'La Hacienda', Indonesian 'Taman Sari', Japanese 'Ginger', 'The Corner', Beach Restaurant 'Mary Tierra' and 'Le Marche' buffet restaurant.
  • 11 bars, including two swim-up bars
  • 12,000-square-feet of conference and event spaces
  • Spa
  • Hair/beauty salon
  • Fitness center
  • Tennis
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • 4 acres of gardens and 18 acres of tropical vegetation.
Neighborhood
About 20 minutes north of buzzing Riviera Maya resort Playa del Carmen, the Valentin Imperial hotel is based on Playa del Secreto beach, a private stretch of coastline. Playa del Carmen is a feast for the eyes if you're hungry for souvenir shopping, with local handcrafts, accessories and jewelry available, while the lively nightlife here is centered around 5th Avenue. Cancun International Airport (CUN) is 25 minutes away by car, and you can ride north to Cancun for access to the wider Quintana Roo area.
Hints and tips
Make your daily beach excursions easier by booking a Golden Swim-Up room. These venues are a bit more private, although some travelers prefer the views from the upper level floors.

If it's your anniversary, be sure to let the concierge know so that you get the extra special treatment; you may even return from a day of scuba diving or jungle trekking to discover a complementary bottle of wine!

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Junior Suites
516 Sq Ft. Jr. Suites with balcony or terrace with garden view and balcony or terrace. The majority of the Deluxe Junior Suites are located in buildings 3, 4 and 5 with a few scattered in buildings 1 and 2. Deluxe Junior suites are equipped with either two double beds or one king. These rooms are perfect for friends/family because there is total privacy between the bedroom and bathroom. 5 Handicapped rooms with connecting rooms available. -Hydro massage bathtub -Single vanity -3 handicapped rooms available
Silver Junior Suites
516 Sq Ft. Jr. Suites with pool or garden view and balcony or terrace. The Silver room category is the closest to the main lobby bar & restaurants. All Silver junior suites are equipped with one king bed and offer a romantic ambiance with a double jacuzzi that separates the bedroom from bathroom. A beautifully appointed junior suite for guests who want to be close to the restaurants, Lobby and pool. No double beds or handicap rooms in this category.
-King-size bed only -Jacuzzi for two -Open Bathroom Concept -Double vanities
Diamond Suite Privilege (Privilege Package Included)
1.032 Sq Ft. Large suites provide a separate living room and a roof terrace. Located in buildings 1 - 5, these corner units provide the best views of the Caribbean and the resort. All Diamond Suites have King bed only and feature a double Jacuzzi in the bathroom. Living room features a second TV. Perfect for the guest looking for that extra space, service and personal attention. Privilege amenities are included. No double beds or Handicap rooms in this category.
King size bed Separate living room Sofa bed in living room Private and furnished terrace. Jacuzzi in bathroom DVD player with Dolby Surround System Privilege amenities included.
Suite Diamond & Imperial offer the same services but are not identical and have a different room distribution.
Imperial One Bedroom Suite
1.032 feet2.Large suites with separate living room with sofa-bed. Roof terrace is complete with outdoor hot tub and large enough to host a small cocktail party. Located in buildings 2-8, these corner units provide impressive views of the Resort. All Imperial Suites have King bed only and two bathrooms, one with a double Jacuzzi. Living room features a second TV with dolby surround sound and a dining space. Perfect for the guest looking for the ultimate in luxury, service and personal attention. Privilege amenities are included. No double beds or Handicap rooms in this category. -King size bed -Separate living room -Sofa bed in living room -2 Bathrooms including 1 oversized bathroom with open concept and double jacuzzi -Private and furnished terrace with outdoor Hot Tub -DVD player with Dolby Surround System in living room
Suite Diamond & Imperial offer the same services but are not identical and have a different room distribution.
Golden Jr Suites
656 Sq Ft. Junior Suites overlook the pool and have balconies. Located in buildings 6, 7, and 8, these large Golden Junior Suites offer two double beds or one king on the second floor. All thirds floor rooms are available with King bed only. An oval double jacuzzi separates the bedroom from bathroom (with bidet). Large sitting area with 2nd TV makes one feel at home. These ideally situated suites have a pool view, but also overlook a lagoon bounding with birds and nature. Perfect for the person who likes to have a coffee or drinks on the balcony and enjoy the sounds and sights of the resort. No handicap rooms in this category.
-King bed or 2 double beds on 2nd floor, King beds on 3rd floor. -Jacuzzi for two -Double vanities -Separate toilet with bidet -Division between living room and bedroom and closed bathroom on 2nd floor -2 flat screen TV's -Pillow Menu
Golden Swim-Up Jr. Suites
656 Sq Ft. Junior Suites with oversized terrace that faces the pool. Located in buildings 6, 7 and 8. These large Golden Jr. Suite Privilege, are on the ground floor and offer two doubles or one king bed. An oval double jacuzzi separates the bedroom from the bathroom. Large sitting area with 2nd TV makes one feel at home. These ideally situated suites are directly in front of a pool with only a patio, a patch of grass and two chaise lounges separating the suite from the welcoming water. Perfect for the guest who wants to feel as if the pool is an extension of their suite. -King size or 2 Double beds -Jacuzzi for two -Double vanities -2 flat screen TV's -Division between living room and bedroom and closed bathroom -Furnished (2 lounge chairs) terrace -Direct access to the swim-up pool from terrace garden -Pillow Menu -3 Handicapped rooms available
Honeymoon Junior Suite
624 Sq Ft.Located in a natural setting in two storey oceanfront buildings 9 - 14, almost on the beach but with palm trees in between. Junior Suites offer partial ocean view, have king beds only and feature a tile whirlpool and a separate bathroom with shower. The ground floor rooms have a hammock and one can literally open the sliding glass doors and step from the patio onto the sand. No handicap rooms in this category. Maximum occupancy 2 adults. -King size bed only -Double vanities -Oversized Jacuzzi -Balcony with 2 lounge chairs -Separate toilet with bidet -LCD satellite television -Hamacas on ground floor rooms only
Standard features for all room categories
-Private furnished terrace or balcony -Full marble bathrooms -Separate shower cabin -Separate Toilet -Vanity mirror -Hair dryer & Scale -Bathrobes & Slippers -Phone in bathroom -Satellite TV -Air Conditioning with in-room climate control & Ceiling fan -Radio/Alarm Clock with I-Pod dock -Direct dial telephone with voice mail -Free High speed Internet connection -Electronic in-room safe (laptop size) -Coffee maker set -Mini bar -Iron & Ironing board -Turn down service available in all room categories -Umbrella

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Hacienda
Mexican Restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Casual: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged), dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves closed shoes or elegant sandals.
The Corner
More than a dinner, a unique dining experience. This restaurant has been created to offer you the most respected culinary trends. We have chosen unique ingredients to create our menu. Elegant and comfortable, combined with attentiveness in service, are the perfect setting for a pleasant evening or the prelude to an unforgettable experience. Dinner from 6:00 PM until 10:30 PM ($)
Tierra
Steak House Grill open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Casual: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged), dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants, Bermudas, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves closed shoes or elegant sandals.
Mar
Open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Casual: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged), dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants, Bermudas, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves closed shoes or elegant sandals.
Mar y Tierra
Beach Restaurant offering Breakfast buffet: 07:30 to 10:30 am Buffet lunch (themes) salad bar available: 11:00 am " 04:00 pm Lobster, Sea food and Steak House Grill 06:00 pm " 10:30 pm Lobster dishes at additional cost (cash)
Taman Sari
Indonesian Restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual: Night Casual: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged), dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves closed shoes or elegant sandals.
Le Marche
Main buffet restaurant, international cuisine serves breakfast from 7 - 11 am ; Lunch from noon until 6pm (a la carte service from 4-6PM). Resort Day Casual: Dress shorts or jeans. Swimwear must be dry and covered. No bare feet.
Il Olivo
Italian restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Elegance: dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged) dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants only, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves elegant shoes.
L'Alsace
French Restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Night Elegance: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged) dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants only, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves elegant shoes.
Ginger
Japanese Restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Elegance: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged) dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants only, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves elegant shoes. Choices of regular menu, Sushi Bar or Tepanyaki table (Hibachi Grill) for 10 guests; Tepanyaki tables require reservation, contact our Concierge Desk.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
678 out of 678
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KS
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 23, 2010

Iffy...

Valentin Imperial Maya's everyday staff was great! Hotel is very nice. I would love to give the hotel/trip 4 stars on the daily staff service but due to an incident in the hotel I would have to give it only 1 star. Incident: While sleeping, at about 4am in the morning the picture above the bed head fell on top of my head. The picture was very heavy and came down on me so hard. We called the front desk right after it happened. It took them about 20 minutes to arrive. When they arrived we explained what happened. They asked if I would like to see the doctor. Doctor came and checked me out. Nothing major except for headaches the next few days. Nothing was done after -no follow up concern was taken by the Management Staff. It was as if nothing ever happened. It put a huge damper on the rest of the trip. So for the lack of concern by Management I would not recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Sep 6, 2010

just don't go there

NO FRUITS, NO A/C IN DINING AREA, ROCKY BEACH HORRIBLE PLACE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 12, 2011

bad experience

My fiance and I just wanted a relaxing vacation to celebrate our engagement, and we chose this hotel because of good reviews on TA... big mistake. First, I want to say that I have never written a review or submitted a complaint before, and we are a very easy-to-please couple in our early twenties. The actual beach was very nice, and that was the best part of the hotel. However, it wasn't relaxing when every 5 minutes someone would approach you asking you to buy something or the same loud mexican woman would walk by screaming "necklace! seashells!" she drove me nuts every time I was getting relaxed and then she'd pop up out of nowhere yelling. The absolute worst part of our trip was that my husband and I got FOOD POISONING from the French restaurant l'alsace. We both ordered the duck and ended up extremely ill. The doctor had to come to our room at 1am and give us injections and pills, and said we almost had to go to the hospital. I have had food poisoning in the past, but this was by FAR the WORST one I have experienced. We spent the last 2.5 days of our vacation laying on the bathroom floor. The Management did nothing about it either. They tried to tell us that maybe we drank too much (we didn't drink), or we're not used to ethnic food (just got back from vietnam, cambodia, thailand), or that it wasn't food poisoning (THEIR OWN DOCTOR diagnosed both of us with food poisoning from their restaurant). I also kept catching the manager in lies, he would say that no one else reported getting sick and then during the conversation he would say "you are with the Apple group right?" and I would say no, and then be suspicious that someone in a group got food poisoning too. He also claimed that no one has ever gotten food poisoning at the resort (big lie), when even their own doctor said it happens quite often. Obviously that was the worst part of our trip but in addition to that our air conditioning was broken for half the trip, so it was 80 degrees and smelled like mold in our room and they wouldn't move us. The food was very average (again, we are not picky at all)... I was actually very surprised because I had read good reviews about the food, but really it was rather average and we got sick of it very quickly. Another weird thing about the resort is that it was filled with 40/50-somethings who think they're in high school again getting hammered on spring break and being obnoxious at the pool (and for us, 2 of the youngest ones there to notice... ). Also, we were in building number 5 which was close to the pool and was SO loud at night we couldn't sleep. So basically, if you're some 50 year old partygoer who wants really average food, karaoke at midnight, hitting on a bunch of old drunk women, vendors at the beach, and food poisoning, here's your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
extar
Business
Florida
Nov 21, 2012

Disappointed

My wife and I checked in on 11/15. The welcoming staff was friendly and courteous. We were told that we would be able to upgrade our room but no upgrades were available at that time. Our room was a bit of a disappointment. Although beautifully furnished it was on the ground floor with no particularly nice view, furthermore, the room had a distinctive, strong odor of disinfectant. We left the room at 8:00 the following morning returning at 4:00 to find the room was not serviced and water all over the bathroom floor. At that time we decided to check out and find another hotel. I will be contacting you today to discuss a partial refund

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mother of 2...
Business
Chicago, Illinois
May 20, 2013

Would not return...better resorts for your money

We have stayed in this area more than 10 times. We were really unsatisfied with the customer service offered/ not offered at this resort. It started with check in...They were going to put my husband and I in a double, bc the deluxe suite is only a request for a king size bed. I will admit I was nervous the whole way there wondering if we couldnt get our request for king size. Once I pitched a fit at the check out desk we were accomodated with king size. Overall the staff at this resort I found like I was bothering them to service me. My standards have gotten higher as I get older but they are pretty easy to meet. With being at so many resorts in this area I would not recommend this resort due to customer service. Upon check out we had to travel the whole place with luggage in hand...because they forgot to pick us up. No apologies ever spoken. This resort is huge, plan to do plenty of walking with no shuttle service (like most resorts offer). Beach...all the beds/cabanas were reserved the whole week (we did sneak and use one). Beach was beautiful, but it is everywhere down there. Pool...same thing all beds/cabanas were reserved. Pool was huge, quiet side and party side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

we did take a taxi to Playa del Carmen 5th Ave. Walked the stripe of shops, restaurants, and cantinas. Lots of night life, Great and Safe time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marc with a C
Business
Boston, MA
May 31, 2014

Not worth the money.

The hotel grounds are very pretty in a rustic sort of way. There are wild animals everywhere, but they seem not too invasive except for the birds that fly around guests heads at breakfast and lunch. The alcohol is a joke because it is all watered down. This is not an exaggeration. You pay for alcohol, but receive a drink that is mostly water or sugary mix. They won't give you any alcohol "neat" because they know you will notice the watery flavor. The food is average at best. Some of the restaurants like the Japanese one (oddly enough) are decent while many of them aren't anything special. The Mexican restaurant had some of the worst Mexican food I have ever had, which is highly ironic. The breakfast buffet is ok, but it gets old after a couple of days. The lunch buffet is pretty terrible all around and I found it difficult to enjoy lunch. The pool area and beach are nice, but the hotel allows peddlers on the beach, so you are harnessed every 15 minutes or so by someone trying to sell you something. The night life is also almost non-existent. There are sometimes some really bad performers near the reception/lobby area, but nothing worth sticking around for. Especially not in the humidity without a good drink. While the staff in general is nice and accommodating to a point, the customer service staff and management are just awful. They couldn't care less about their customers as long as they are paying their bills. Lastly, watch out for hidden fees. The hotel may say that it is all-inclusive, but it is not. Many things require you to pay a lot more money such as the spa, wine that isn't water, and exorbitant hotel fees for phone calls. We had a relaxing honeymoon, but overall wished we had gone somewhere else. We would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milford, CT
Jul 3, 2010

Not 5 Star

Let me preface this review with our expectations: a relaxing, quiet, high class, all inclusive resort. My husband and I travel extensively and were extremely disappointed with this hotel. If you are looking for a low-key resort, this is NOT it. It was almost like springbreak for adults which is great if you go with a bunch of friends to get drunk all week but we were looking for R&R. Below are the things that bothered us:- Not everything is included so be careful what activities you do; nothing is clearly marked this way either so you may be surprised by your bill like we were- We were sick all week; sharp stomach pains, every time we ate, we were in the bathroom after. We got back and within one day of eating American food, we were back to normal! - Beach was all rocks (not the resort's fault but if you're a beach person, this probably isn't the place for you)- We had a very difficult time getting beach towels- you literally had to be up by 7am to get them- All drinks were sickly sweet- Wine menu was VERY limited- only cheap chardonnay and merlot available with the all inclusive.- The champagne glasses have lipstick all over them- gross.- Same breakfast EVERY DAY- Restaurants are all ethnic, which is great to try new things but by day 4 or 5, you just want something American and that's not here- Don't forget your sunscreen- it's $25 USD per small bottle at the resort- The first few days we found tiny ants in the room; we didn't say anything since they were so tiny, seems the cleaning lady took care of them by day 3- SPA services were scary- The guy was lifting the towel trying to get a peak!!! I was so uncomfortable. My husbands back actually hurt after the massage. - This was the kicker for me- TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE customer service. We got charged $30 for henna tattoos! Nowhere does it say these are not included since they're by the pool activities which are included. Who would pay $30+tip for fake tattoos? I actually complained at this point and the concierge and his manager, [...] and [...] respectively, told me that they had never been back to the pool and that those were third party vendors and I had to deal with it myself! These so-called vendors were not marked as vendors, they wore the hotel t-shirt, and they were located right at the pool. I was just surprised/infuriated with the customer service or lack thereof.Perks:- Rooms are really nice- We never had an issue finding a pool/beach chair- Architecture of the resort is beautiful- Restaurants are very tastefully decorated even if the food makes you sick! Waiters were great too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We visited the Rio Secreto Caves (25mins drive) which were great! 65mm year old cave system discovered last year- so awesome. Chichen Itza ruins were great (2.5hr drive)! We got some great pictures and learned a lot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dr. and disappointed
Business
pittsburgh, pa
May 13, 2011

not worthy of the star rating

hotel was beautiful. service was not that good. food was aweful!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

go into downtown playa del carmen and eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Nov 1, 2010

Great Pool, Mediocre service

We were very disappointed in the food choices and service at this hotel. We were hoping to get authentic Mexican food and fresh lobster, being in Mexico, but the Mexican food was bland and the lobster was from Maine. We went to only a couple of the restaurants, which are only open in the evening, so the lunch and breakfast choices get old FAST! At the seafood restaurant, we waited so long for service that we were getting up to leave when our server finally came over to explain our food was about to come out(even though the couple next to us arrived 45-50 minutes after us and had their food for almost 15 minutes by that time!). We finally ate and the lobster was enjoyable, but nothing special. Overall, the food was quire mediocre in comparison to what I have experienced on other trips to Mexico and the service that night was the worst. Additionally, the couch smelled of urine and the bathroom and shower have glass doors so there is no privacy. The bartender, German, in the pool area was an amazing person and a great bartender. The other thing about this hotel is that almost all the rooms are quite far away from the ocean. I have been to Mexico multiple times and this is the first time I was unable to hear or see the ocean from my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

In the hotel - there is an amazing fingerpainter. I never would have imagined he could make the paintings with only his hands! Also, check out Playa Del Carmen or other excursions if you go here because you will DEFINITELY need to get out of the hotel at least 1-2 days of 7

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed x 2
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Nice property, but that's about it. Would never come back.

My wife and I stayed in golden junior suite. The room was great and very clean. The resort property was gorgeous. I can't say anything bad about the grounds. Very clean and manicured. As for the rest, let's begin. The resort is big and very confusing to get around. The pool water was hot, we felt like we were in a hot tub. The entertainment staff was nothing to brag about. Drinks were average with no premium alcohol selection. Food was average or even below average. Service at the restaurants/bars was slow and at times not the friendliest. The shows at night started way too early. You have to go to a very early dinner or a very late one to catch a show. Everything was just so far away. From walking to dinner, the pool, or the beach. We try to come to Mexico yearly so we are experienced travelers and not first timers. We know what we want out of a resort and this resort definitely didn't cut it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top