$405 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, KM 311 +500, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
678 out of 678
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marc with a C
Business
Boston, MA
May 31, 2014

Not worth the money.

The hotel grounds are very pretty in a rustic sort of way. There are wild animals everywhere, but they seem not too invasive except for the birds that fly around guests heads at breakfast and lunch. The alcohol is a joke because it is all watered down. This is not an exaggeration. You pay for alcohol, but receive a drink that is mostly water or sugary mix. They won't give you any alcohol "neat" because they know you will notice the watery flavor. The food is average at best. Some of the restaurants like the Japanese one (oddly enough) are decent while many of them aren't anything special. The Mexican restaurant had some of the worst Mexican food I have ever had, which is highly ironic. The breakfast buffet is ok, but it gets old after a couple of days. The lunch buffet is pretty terrible all around and I found it difficult to enjoy lunch. The pool area and beach are nice, but the hotel allows peddlers on the beach, so you are harnessed every 15 minutes or so by someone trying to sell you something. The night life is also almost non-existent. There are sometimes some really bad performers near the reception/lobby area, but nothing worth sticking around for. Especially not in the humidity without a good drink. While the staff in general is nice and accommodating to a point, the customer service staff and management are just awful. They couldn't care less about their customers as long as they are paying their bills. Lastly, watch out for hidden fees. The hotel may say that it is all-inclusive, but it is not. Many things require you to pay a lot more money such as the spa, wine that isn't water, and exorbitant hotel fees for phone calls. We had a relaxing honeymoon, but overall wished we had gone somewhere else. We would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rick old man sweater
Business
Scotts,Michigan
May 30, 2014

Fabulous Anniversary Trip

My husband and I celebrated our 30th anniversary while at the Valentin. We were so impressed with the grounds, staff and food. Everything was top notch and the staff went out of their way to accomodate us! We had some exceptional people during our stay we had to mention. The entertainment staff was remarkable. Hilario, Jorge, Jessica and Carla did a fantastic job! Hilario, Jessica and Jorge are real standouts! The wait staff was superb! The first night we had Roberto and he was fantastic and left such a great first impression! Carlos , Samora, Marie and Gilberto also were very accomodating. Carlos is an exceptional waiter and should definitely go Places!! Our one and only complaint would be our room smelled like mildew. Talking with other guests it seemed to be a random issue with 1st floor rooms particularly, however we just tolerated it . If we visited again we would request another room. Otherwise everything was Phenomonal! Keep up the Great work! Rick and Laurie Schriemer Scotts, Michigan we get the opportunity to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Every day they had a hotel news letter with the Happenings for the day. They had things going on during the day and shows and music entertainment every night that we really enjoyed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trying to keep up
Business
Kennewick, Washington
May 26, 2014

We will definitely be back.!

This was our first all-inclusive and it was amazing. The staff made you feel like family and wanted you to enjoy yourself. Ivan, Ruben, Hector went above and beyond to get us anything we wanted. We had a Jr. Honeymoon Suite that was out of this world with a balcony that looked out to the beach. Lots of activities if you wanted to participate or you could just relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Pay the extra to be a Preferred Guest. You get a cabana each day at the pool or beach, reservations at your restaurant choice each day, two lobsters (try them grilled), and much more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TomMc
Business
Philadelphia PA
May 16, 2014

A near perfect week !

Having just returned last night from a week long stay at the VIM, I can honestly say that this was one of the more relaxing vacations that I've ever taken. We spent most days around the lazy river simply chilling and taking in the beautiful weather. The beauty of this resort is that you can simply relax, can partake in the "party" at the main pool, enjoy the beautiful ocean and sand at the beach or simply sit under a palapa at the Silver Pool on the upgraded chairs and cushions. Food was fair to good, Staff extraordinary, Grounds are the most gorgeous we've been to in our many trips to Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Palmtree Lady
Business
Taylors, SC
May 13, 2014

4th time - we do love this place!

This was our 4th time staying at the VIM. The beach is amazing - sand - water - all so nice! The grounds are beautiful on the resort and the staff work hard to keep everything looking so nice. The fact that premium liquor is available at most of the bars is what brings folks back, we believe. Other resorts seem to have it hit or miss or only if you are a 'privileged guest'! The staff are all so friendly and bend over backwards to make you happy. ALTHOUGH, this was our 4th stay and we had asked for a certain building back in January and did not get it. They said they were nearly full. But, we think they should have honored our request since we were return customers and have sent so many folks to them. The best waiter at the resort is Giberto out at the breakfast/lunch restaurant by the beach. He is excellent and gets to know your likes and dislike quickly and even serves you special meals for your anniversary - WE LOVE YOU GIBERTO!!!! Also, the entertainment could use a little boost - not too much to talk about there. And the disco should start a little earlier than 11 pm - we are always worn out by then! Overall, our stay was fantastic and we would go back again, but if they don't give us the building we want on our 5th time - then we probably won't return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenny27
Business
Chicago, IL
May 8, 2014

Beautiful Grounds & Wonderful Staff

My husband and I have stayed at the Excellence a couple times before and decided to try a different all-inclusive this time. At first we thought we had made a mistake. The pool is very crowded, as most of the other reviews mentioned, but we just went to the beach instead. Overall the food and service was really good. If you want well-made drinks, go to Don Miguel in the evenings. The bartender is really good. One other item, if you decide to book transportation through the hotel's website, I would recommend calling them instead. I filled out a request form online and received an email regarding my request. However, we didn't have transportation when we got to the airport. After waiting 45 minutes and finally contacting the hotel, we found out that they never set up travel for us. This was a bummer, but we got over it quickly. I'm not sure we would stay at this hotel again. It wasn't a bad experience, but it just wasn't at the top of our list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
duck10
Business
Londonderry, NH
May 7, 2014

Loved it and will go back...but the food isn't 5 star

Gorgeous pool area, great staff, never felt too crowded, very good alcohol selection (except for beer...dos equis or Tecate light). My only complaint, as it relates to a 5 star resort, is the food. There's plenty of it, but it good, not great. I'd rate the food a 7 on a scale of 1 to 10 (10 being excellent).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Piper7
Business
Sonoma, CA
May 2, 2014

The Best!

This was our third stay at the Valentin, and for good reason. We love how big the property is, that the resort is spread out. Yes, there is walking, but it's worth it. They have a great beach bar with swings and the beach is gorgeous! You can always find something good to eat at any of the restaurants - there is plenty of variety. We've never had an issue with an unfriendly staff member. Overall, it's a great place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annemc
Business
Denver, colorado
Apr 23, 2014

Superb!!

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The French restaurant was our favorite!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wish We Were Still There
Business
Cleveland, TN
Apr 18, 2014

Excellent Vacation

My husband and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at the Valentin Imperial Maya from April 11-17, 2014. The place is absolutely beautiful and the service, food, and accommodations were top notch! We couldn't have picked a better place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top