$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, KM 311 +500, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
628 reviews
An amazing stay at the Valentin Imperial Maya

We spent a marvelous week at the resort from 8/16-8/23. The Our room, a silver junior suite, was... See full review

  • Mike and Margaret
  • Sep 9, 2014
Couples getaway

Amazing! Perfect! Awesome! Incredible! RelAxing! Did not want to leave! See full review

  • Hhkhmmcmaidi
  • Aug 20, 2014
The Valentin brand has been managing family-oriented hotels since 1966, but Valentin Imperial Maya caters solely to the adult crowd, in the paradise-like setting of Mexico's Riviera Maya. Stroll through quiet gardens or paddle in the free-form pool beside thatched lanais, greeted by staff in traditional floral dress. With full kitchenettes, complimentary Wi-Fi, and a ready-stocked-and complimentary-mini-bar, guests can come and go freely on vacation or handle business at their own pace. Enjoy Quintana Roo in peace, with Swedish massages and a spectrum of all-inclusive benefits dining at restaurants like French gourmet L'Alsace or tasting Thai-Indonesion fusions at Taman Sari.

Key facts
  • 540 suites
  • 8 restaurants, including Il Olivio, Ginger, L'Alsace and The Corner
  • 11 bars, including Sun & Moon, Heaven & Earth and Sunrise & Sunset
  • 12,000-square-feet of conference and event spaces
  • Spa
  • Hair/beauty salon
  • Fitness center
  • Tennis
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
Neighborhood
About 20 minutes north of buzzing Riviera Maya resort Playa del Carmen, the Valentin Imperial hotel is based on Playa del Secreto beach, a private stretch of coastline. Playa del Carmen is a feast for the eyes if you're hungry for souvenir shopping, with local handcrafts, accessories and jewelry available, while the lively nightlife here is centered around 5th Avenue. Cancun International Airport (CUN) is 25 minutes away by car, and you can ride north to Cancun for access to the wider Quintana Roo area.
Hints and tips
Make your daily beach excursions easier by booking a Golden Swim-Up room. These venues are a bit more private, although some travelers prefer the views from the upper level floors.

If it's your anniversary, be sure to let the concierge know so that you get the extra special treatment; you may even return from a day of scuba diving or jungle trekking to discover a complementary bottle of wine!

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.77 -86.951
Area served
Playa Del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Resort is located 25 minutes from International Cancun Airport, 30 minutes frome Cancun and 20 minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive Rooms

Standard features for all room categories
-Private furnished terrace or balcony -Full marble bathrooms -Separate shower cabin -Separate Toilet -Vanity mirror -Hair dryer & Scale -Bathrobes & Slippers -Phone in bathroom -Satellite TV -Air Conditioning with in-room climate control & Ceiling fan -Radio/Alarm Clock with I-Pod dock -Direct dial telephone with voice mail -Free High speed Internet connection -Electronic in-room safe (laptop size) -Coffee maker set -Mini bar -Iron & Ironing board -Turn down service available from Silver Jr Suite -Umbrella
Imperial One Bedroom Suite
1.032 feet2.Large suites with separate living room with sofa-bed. Roof terrace is complete with outdoor hot tub and large enough to host a small cocktail party. Located in buildings 2-8, these corner units provide impressive views of the Resort. All Imperial Suites have King bed only and two bathrooms, one with a double Jacuzzi. Living room features a second TV with dolby surround sound and a dining space. Perfect for the guest looking for the ultimate in luxury, service and personal attention. Privilege amenities are included. No double beds or Handicap rooms in this category. -King size bed -Separate living room -Sofa bed in living room -2 Bathrooms including 1 oversized bathroom with open concept and double jacuzzi -Private and furnished terrace with outdoor Hot Tub -DVD player with Dolby Surround System in living room
Suite Diamond & Imperial offer the same services but are not identical and have a different room distribution.
Golden Swim-Up Jr. Suites
656 Sq Ft. Junior Suites with oversized terrace that faces the pool. Located in buildings 6, 7 and 8. These large Golden Jr. Suite Privilege, are on the ground floor and offer two doubles or one king bed. An oval double jacuzzi separates the bedroom from the bathroom. Large sitting area with 2nd TV makes one feel at home. These ideally situated suites are directly in front of a pool with only a patio, a patch of grass and two chaise lounges separating the suite from the welcoming water. Perfect for the guest who wants to feel as if the pool is an extension of their suite. -King size or 2 Double beds -Jacuzzi for two -Double vanities -2 Satellite TVs, (1 LCD) -Division between living room and bedroom and closed bathroom -Furnished (2 lounge chairs) terrace -Direct access to the swim-up pool from terrace garden -Pillow Menu -3 Handicapped rooms available
Honeymoon Junior Suite
624 Sq Ft.All Jr Suites have oversized jacuzzi, balcony or terrace. Enjoy an oceanfront location directly on the beach, but the view of the ocean may be obstructed by vegetation and is not guaranteed. Located in building 9-14, these Junior Suites are equipped with one king bed. The ultimate in romance is incorporated by a huge tile jacuzzi in the corner of the suite that may be accessed from either the terrace/balcony or the bathroom. Bathroom has a separate toilet area with a bidet for total privacy. Perfect for the guests looking to spend a lot of time enjoying their suite and those who do not want to walk to the beach. No double beds or handicap rooms in this category. -King bed only -Double vanities -Super sized Jacuzzi with panoramic mirror windows -Separate shower cabin with Rain Shower -LCD Satellite Television
Diamond Suite Privilege (Privilege Package Included)
1.032 Sq Ft. Large suites provide a separate living room and a roof terrace. Located in buildings 1 - 5, these corner units provide the best views of the Caribbean and the resort. All Diamond Suites have King bed only and feature a double Jacuzzi in the bathroom. Living room features a second TV. Perfect for the guest looking for that extra space, service and personal attention. Privilege amenities are included. No double beds or Handicap rooms in this category.
King size bed Separate living room Sofa bed in living room Private and furnished terrace. Jacuzzi in bathroom DVD player with Dolby Surround System Privilege amenities included.
Suite Diamond & Imperial offer the same services but are not identical and have a different room distribution.
Deluxe Junior Suites
516 Sq Ft. Jr. Suites with pool or garden view and balcony or terrace. The majority of the Deluxe Junior Suites are located in buildings 3, 4 and 5 with a few scattered in buildings 1 and 2. Deluxe Junior suites are equipped with either two double beds or one king. These rooms are perfect for friends/family because there is total privacy between the bedroom and bathroom. Handicap rooms available. -Hydro massage bathtub -Single vanity -3 handicapped rooms available
Silver Junior Suites
516 Sq Ft. Jr. Suites with pool or garden view and balcony or terrace. The Silver room category is the closest to the main lobby bar & restaurants. All Silver junior suites are equipped with one king bed and offer a romantic ambiance with a double jacuzzi that separates the bedroom from bathroom. A beautifully appointed junior suite for guests who want to be close to the restaurants, Lobby and pool. No double beds or handicap rooms in this category.
-King-size bed only -Jacuzzi for two -Open Bathroom Concept -Double vanities
Golden Jr Suites
656 Sq Ft. Junior Suites overlook the pool and have balconies. Located in buildings 6, 7, and 8, these large Golden Junior Suites offer two double beds or one king on the second floor. All thirds floor rooms are available with King bed only. An oval double jacuzzi separates the bedroom from bathroom (with bidet). Large sitting area with 2nd TV makes one feel at home. These ideally situated suites have a pool view, but also overlook a lagoon bounding with birds and nature. Perfect for the person who likes to have a coffee or drinks on the balcony and enjoy the sounds and sights of the resort. No handicap rooms in this category.
-King bed or 2 double beds on 2nd floor, King beds on 3rd floor. -Jacuzzi for two -Double vanities -Separate toilet with bidet -Division between living room and bedroom and closed bathroom on 2nd floor -2 Satellite TVs, (1 LCD) -Pillow Menu

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

The Corner
More than a dinner, a unique dining experience. This restaurant has been created to offer you the most respected culinary trends. We have chosen unique ingredients to create our menu. Elegant and comfortable, combined with attentiveness in service, are the perfect setting for a pleasant evening or the prelude to an unforgettable experience. Dinner from 6:00 PM until 10:30 PM
Mar y Tierra
Beach restaurant offering Breakfast buffet from 10AM until noon; buffet lunch from Noon until 4:30PM.
Taman Sari
Indonesian Restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual: Night Casual: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged), dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves closed shoes or elegant sandals.
Le Marche
Main buffet restaurant, international cuisine serves breakfast from 7 - 11 am ; Lunch from noon until 6pm (a la carte service from 4-6PM). Resort Day Casual: Dress shorts or jeans. Swimwear must be dry and covered. No bare feet.
Il Olivo
Italian restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Elegance: dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged) dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants only, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves elegant shoes.
L'Alsace
French Restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Night Elegance: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged) dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants only, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves elegant shoes.
Ginger
Japanese Restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Elegance: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged) dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants only, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves elegant shoes.
La Hacienda
Mexican Restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Casual: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged), dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves closed shoes or elegant sandals.
Tierra
Steak House Grill open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Casual: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged), dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants, Bermudas, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves closed shoes or elegant sandals.
Mar
Open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Casual: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged), dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants, Bermudas, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves closed shoes or elegant sandals.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (628)

Ratings and reviews for Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
628 out of 628
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler to Mexico
Boston, MA
Jan 27, 2013

Fantastic family vacation

Great Hotel; long white sand beach; food and drinks were very good. Would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
new day
NC
Apr 16, 2014

Wonderful Place

The staff was fantastic. The resort was wonderful. I really could not say enough wonderful things about the location, the place and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newlywed Anna
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Apr 15, 2014

Perfect honeymoon location!

Resort was beautiful! Perfectly maintained. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Beach and pools were amazing. There was a good variety of restaurants and 24 hour room service. Top shelf liquor and quick bartender service. Better than other all inclusive resorts I've been to!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Would definitely cost the Mayan ruins at Chichen Itza, far drive, but worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zanzabar1093
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 8, 2014

People...pool...paradise

Our third time at the Valentin Imperial Maya was just about perfect! The menus seemed to have been improved and expanded a bit since our last time, the pool was still incredible and fun, the beach, still beautiful, our room felt like home. We also noticed that the entertainment team and nightly shows were much improved from 2 years ago. My 2 suggestions for improvement are minor: 1) replace the bedding and pillows. Seems like an easy fix, but something many guests we spoke to agreed on. and 2) have more evening events on the beach and at the beach bar. The Fire Show and DJ/dancing that followed outside was the best night! More activities at night at the beach, please! And finally, but MOST importantly, the staff at the Valentin is 95% the reason why we keep returning. Every single staff member treated us like family, like someone special. Not once were we made to feel ignored or less than everyone's #1 priority. Everyone had a smile, a positive thing to say, a helpful attitude, and so many remembered us from our last visit. We ARE family, we will ALWAYS come back to the Valentin for the people. And for the guacamole.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jen in Mex
New York, NY
Apr 8, 2014

Great couples vacation!

I went for 4 nights with my boyfriend and had an absolute great time! The hotel was a short 25 minute ride from the airport. The hotel grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The staff was very attentive and would address you by name and made you feel right at home. The property was large but not overwhelming - it was easy to walk around, it only took a few minutes to get wherever you needed to go. The pool was beautiful and most days was pretty easy to get a lounge chair. The beach was also beautiful but the days we were there the water was a little rough so we stayed mostly by the pool. There was always someone coming around to take your drink order and the drinks were yummy. There was no shortage of food! The buffets for breakfast and lunch were pretty typical of an all inclusive, but the dinner restaurants were all very good and the wait was never too long. It was nice to have a variety to choose from. We had a couples massage which was one of the best massages I've had. Overall we had a great time and I would definitely recommend the Valentin!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Murray Hill Bill
New York
Apr 5, 2014

Fabulous couples vacation

This was our second trip to the Valentin and we were extremely pleased that we returned. We upgraded this trip to a swim up room which really added to the relaxation and comfort. The resort staff is top notch and everyone is friendly and helpful. Beach, food and pool are all excellent. Will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Confirm transportation to hotel before arriving at Cancun airport. Make sure you have a voucher and telephone number.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MsMacPDX
Portland, Oregon
Apr 2, 2014

In Heaven!

My 19-year old daughter, on spring break from college, and I spent last week at the Valentin, repeat customers after doing the same thing last year. We were very happy overall. I love the beach, and she is a pool person, so we both were able to indulge in our pleasures. It was windy and there was a high surf, so I wasn't able to swim, but I walked a lot and waded, stared at the birds, enjoyed the florals, and just indulged in warm sun and warm water. The food is great (buffets as well as restaurants#. I filled up on salads at lunch for the most part, which made me and my doctor happy. Lots of fresh fruit for both breakfast and lunch. Our only disappointment at dinner concerned the service at the French restaurant. Frankly, there was none for us. I did mention it to the greeter as we left, so there is no point in beating them up too much here. All the other venues provided excellent, attentive service. I drink copious amounts of water, and most of the time the waiter assigned to my or our table was johnny-on-the-spot with refills. I would encourage the company to branch out from emphasizing romantic getaways #wedding, honeymoons, anniversaries# and encourage mother-daughter and/or women friends. In recognition of our returning, they welcomed Mr. and Mrs. #Last Name). The don't seem able to acknowledge two women together for any reason. Because the resort is relatively quiet, quite safe, upscale, relaxing, and friendly, women can feel extremely comfortable. I met two other mother-daughter couples. It is perfect for such trips. I also suggest the expand the gift shop space; too much clothing, jewelry, etc. is crammed into such a tight space that if there is more than one customer, one simply can't move.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
craigalb
la
Mar 29, 2014

slightly disappionted

resort is beautiful and staff wonderful. had suite on 3rd floor overlooking pool and ocean..site is large so a lot of walking there are shuttle's but no regular schedule. breakfast and lunch buffets were poor not even up to cheap Vegas buffets.. specialty restaurants were good but not great.. usually take cruise's and was expecting food on that level. have mixed feelings on going back resort and staff are really great but food left much to be desired

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Food Guy
Milford, Michigan
Mar 24, 2014

Lived up to its 5 star rating!

The Valentin Imperial Maya is a great place to spend a beautifully relaxing vacation. All the employees are there to serve you! They will do anything to make sure you are pleased. I was most impressed with the staff at each restaurant. They know their product, understand the elements of great customer service and are friendly even when busy. The food is incredible. This is a resort that puts great pride in the freshness and culinary expertise of each menu item; artistry on the plate with wonderful flavors. The pools are spectacular but the beach where I stayed. We enjoyed a calm ocean breeze while listening to the thunder provided by the waves. There is plenty of room for everyone who wants a perfect location on the beach. The sand is deep and soft and the ocean in front of the resort is clear of rocks. This provided a great environment for swimming and body surfing. We also walked for miles along the shoreline. Absolutely beautiful! The Valentin Imperial Maya lived up to its 5 star rating. We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
oelkesm
Kansas City
Mar 17, 2014

Love This Place

This was our second stay at VIM and it was wonderful. They have great bars, pools, and night life. The beach bars and view of the ocean is lovely, but be aware that it is a very tropical resort and most rooms have a garden or pool view. We knew what to expect in that regard and will definitely be back again. Great restaurants, and high quality food (including the 24 hour room service). I noticed on this stay that occasionally restaurants or bar would not open on time, but that was my only complaint. We've been to Cancun at least 10 times, and I highly recommend this resort. Definitely a number one candidate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Music, DJs and live bands in the Plaza are a great way to spend the evening when you're not at one of the shows.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ErinJustin
MN
Mar 16, 2014

2nd time at Valentin

Overall great resort. Beautiful beach with great swimming area, free of rocks. Huge pools. Delicious food (French and Italian were my favorites, but Hibachi was fun too). Excellent Zumba class each day. My only complaint is lack of privacy in the bathrooms, with just a flimsy curtain separating the bathroom from the main bedroom area of the Silver Suite we are in. The resort is also huge, so a lot of walking is required.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for Hibachi for one of your meals. The other restaurants do no require reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search