$330 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

5 stars
Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, KM 311 +500, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
1,006 reviews
Honeymoon

It was great!! Staff was always so helpful and hospitable. Dinner restraints were four to five... See full review

  • Dizzle42
  • Jun 28, 2014
Amazing couples resort

Truly a 5 star experience. The staff is beyond accommodating. Food is excellent and there is a... See full review

  • Stacee
  • Jun 19, 2014
The Valentin brand has been managing family-oriented hotels since 1966, but Valentin Imperial Maya caters solely to the adult crowd, in the paradise-like setting of Mexico's Riviera Maya. Stroll through quiet gardens or paddle in the free-form pool beside thatched lanais, greeted by staff in traditional floral dress. With full kitchenettes, complimentary Wi-Fi, and a ready-stocked-and complimentary-mini-bar, guests can come and go freely on vacation or handle business at their own pace. Enjoy Quintana Roo in peace, with Swedish massages and a spectrum of all-inclusive benefits dining at restaurants like French gourmet L'Alsace or tasting Thai-Indonesion fusions at Taman Sari.

Key facts
  • 540 suites
  • 8 restaurants, including Il Olivio, Ginger, L'Alsace and The Corner
  • 11 bars, including Sun & Moon, Heaven & Earth and Sunrise & Sunset
  • 12,000-square-feet of conference and event spaces
  • Spa
  • Hair/beauty salon
  • Fitness center
  • Tennis
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
Neighborhood
About 20 minutes north of buzzing Riviera Maya resort Playa del Carmen, the Valentin Imperial hotel is based on Playa del Secreto beach, a private stretch of coastline. Playa del Carmen is a feast for the eyes if you're hungry for souvenir shopping, with local handcrafts, accessories and jewelry available, while the lively nightlife here is centered around 5th Avenue. Cancun International Airport (CUN) is 25 minutes away by car, and you can ride north to Cancun for access to the wider Quintana Roo area.
Hints and tips
Make your daily beach excursions easier by booking a Golden Swim-Up room. These venues are a bit more private, although some travelers prefer the views from the upper level floors.

If it's your anniversary, be sure to let the concierge know so that you get the extra special treatment; you may even return from a day of scuba diving or jungle trekking to discover a complementary bottle of wine!

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive Rooms

Standard features for all room categories
-Private furnished terrace or balcony -Full marble bathrooms -Separate shower cabin -Separate Toilet -Vanity mirror -Hair dryer & Scale -Bathrobes & Slippers -Phone in bathroom -Satellite TV -Air Conditioning with in-room climate control & Ceiling fan -Radio/Alarm Clock with I-Pod dock -Direct dial telephone with voice mail -Free High speed Internet connection -Electronic in-room safe (laptop size) -Coffee maker set -Mini bar -Iron & Ironing board -Turn down service available from Silver Jr Suite -Umbrella
Deluxe Junior Suites
516 Sq Ft. Jr. Suites with pool or garden view and balcony or terrace. The majority of the Deluxe Junior Suites are located in buildings 3, 4 and 5 with a few scattered in buildings 1 and 2. Deluxe Junior suites are equipped with either two double beds or one king. These rooms are perfect for friends/family because there is total privacy between the bedroom and bathroom. Handicap rooms available. -Hydro massage bathtub -Single vanity -3 handicapped rooms available
Silver Junior Suites
516 Sq Ft. Jr. Suites with pool or garden view and balcony or terrace. The Silver room category is the closest to the main lobby bar & restaurants. All Silver junior suites are equipped with one king bed and offer a romantic ambiance with a double jacuzzi that separates the bedroom from bathroom. A beautifully appointed junior suite for guests who want to be close to the restaurants, Lobby and pool. No double beds or handicap rooms in this category.
-King-size bed only -Jacuzzi for two -Open Bathroom Concept -Double vanities
Golden Jr Suites
656 Sq Ft. Junior Suites overlook the pool and have balconies. Located in buildings 6, 7, and 8, these large Golden Junior Suites offer two double beds or one king on the second floor. All thirds floor rooms are available with King bed only. An oval double jacuzzi separates the bedroom from bathroom (with bidet). Large sitting area with 2nd TV makes one feel at home. These ideally situated suites have a pool view, but also overlook a lagoon bounding with birds and nature. Perfect for the person who likes to have a coffee or drinks on the balcony and enjoy the sounds and sights of the resort. No handicap rooms in this category.
-King bed or 2 double beds on 2nd floor, King beds on 3rd floor. -Jacuzzi for two -Double vanities -Separate toilet with bidet -Division between living room and bedroom and closed bathroom on 2nd floor -2 Satellite TVs, (1 LCD) -Pillow Menu
Golden Swim-Up Jr. Suites
656 Sq Ft. Junior Suites with oversized terrace that faces the pool. Located in buildings 6, 7 and 8. These large Golden Jr. Suite Privilege, are on the ground floor and offer two doubles or one king bed. An oval double jacuzzi separates the bedroom from the bathroom. Large sitting area with 2nd TV makes one feel at home. These ideally situated suites are directly in front of a pool with only a patio, a patch of grass and two chaise lounges separating the suite from the welcoming water. Perfect for the guest who wants to feel as if the pool is an extension of their suite. -King size or 2 Double beds -Jacuzzi for two -Double vanities -2 Satellite TVs, (1 LCD) -Division between living room and bedroom and closed bathroom -Furnished (2 lounge chairs) terrace -Direct access to the swim-up pool from terrace garden -Pillow Menu -3 Handicapped rooms available
Honeymoon Junior Suite
624 Sq Ft.All Jr Suites have oversized jacuzzi, balcony or terrace. Enjoy an oceanfront location directly on the beach, but the view of the ocean may be obstructed by vegetation and is not guaranteed. Located in building 9-14, these Junior Suites are equipped with one king bed. The ultimate in romance is incorporated by a huge tile jacuzzi in the corner of the suite that may be accessed from either the terrace/balcony or the bathroom. Bathroom has a separate toilet area with a bidet for total privacy. Perfect for the guests looking to spend a lot of time enjoying their suite and those who do not want to walk to the beach. No double beds or handicap rooms in this category. -King bed only -Double vanities -Super sized Jacuzzi with panoramic mirror windows -Separate shower cabin with Rain Shower -LCD Satellite Television
Diamond Suite Privilege (Privilege Package Included)
1.032 Sq Ft. Large suites provide a separate living room and a roof terrace. Located in buildings 1 - 5, these corner units provide the best views of the Caribbean and the resort. All Diamond Suites have King bed only and feature a double Jacuzzi in the bathroom. Living room features a second TV. Perfect for the guest looking for that extra space, service and personal attention. Privilege amenities are included. No double beds or Handicap rooms in this category.
King size bed Separate living room Sofa bed in living room Private and furnished terrace. Jacuzzi in bathroom DVD player with Dolby Surround System Privilege amenities included.
Suite Diamond & Imperial offer the same services but are not identical and have a different room distribution.
Imperial One Bedroom Suite
1.032 feet2.Large suites with separate living room with sofa-bed. Roof terrace is complete with outdoor hot tub and large enough to host a small cocktail party. Located in buildings 2-8, these corner units provide impressive views of the Resort. All Imperial Suites have King bed only and two bathrooms, one with a double Jacuzzi. Living room features a second TV with dolby surround sound and a dining space. Perfect for the guest looking for the ultimate in luxury, service and personal attention. Privilege amenities are included. No double beds or Handicap rooms in this category. -King size bed -Separate living room -Sofa bed in living room -2 Bathrooms including 1 oversized bathroom with open concept and double jacuzzi -Private and furnished terrace with outdoor Hot Tub -DVD player with Dolby Surround System in living room
Suite Diamond & Imperial offer the same services but are not identical and have a different room distribution.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.77 -86.951
Area served
Playa Del Carmen
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
Resort is located 25 minutes from International Cancun Airport, 30 minutes frome Cancun and 20 minutes from Playa del Carmen.

Dining

Tierra
Steak House Grill open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Casual: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged), dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants, Bermudas, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves closed shoes or elegant sandals.
Mar
Open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Casual: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged), dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants, Bermudas, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves closed shoes or elegant sandals.
Mar y Tierra
Beach restaurant offering Breakfast buffet from 10AM until noon; buffet lunch from Noon until 4:30PM.
Taman Sari
Indonesian Restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual: Night Casual: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged), dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants, Bermudas, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves closed shoes or elegant sandals.
Le Marche
Main buffet restaurant, international cuisine serves breakfast from 7 - 11 am ; Lunch from noon until 6pm (a la carte service from 4-6PM). Resort Day Casual: Dress shorts or jeans. Swimwear must be dry and covered. No bare feet.
Il Olivo
Italian restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Elegance: dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged) dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants only, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves elegant shoes.
L'Alsace
French Restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Night Elegance: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged) dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants only, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves elegant shoes.
Ginger
Japanese Restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Elegance: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged) dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants only, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves elegant shoes.
La Hacienda
Mexican Restaurant open from 6 - 10:30 PM. Resort evening casual, Night Casual: Dresses, blouses, skirts, jeans (not torn nor ragged), dress shoes, elegant sandals. Long pants, Bermudas, shirt with collar and long or short sleeves closed shoes or elegant sandals.
The Corner
More than a dinner, a unique dining experience. This restaurant has been created to offer you the most respected culinary trends. We have chosen unique ingredients to create our menu. Elegant and comfortable, combined with attentiveness in service, are the perfect setting for a pleasant evening or the prelude to an unforgettable experience. Dinner from 6:00 PM until 10:30 PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1006)

Ratings and reviews for Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
1006 out of 1006
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Riemens
Ft. Collins, CO
Jun 1, 2014

Awesome vacation

We had a great vacation! The staff was awesome, very polite and accommodating. The hotel itself was beautiful and very well kept. We had a great time on excursions and would recommend snorkeling with the turtles and at the senotas. We also really enjoyed the catamaran all day trip. The other reason we all really enjoyed the Valentin was because the food was awesome! It was top notch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to really hit the night life you will have to go to Cancun, about a 35 minute drive. At the hotel it's more low key.

Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chad and Nessa Newlyweds
Tempe, AZ
Jun 1, 2014

Honeymoon Vacation

Beautifully manicured grounds, anything that you needed the staff would be there and provide great service..always with a smile! Beach was kept up really well and the pool was giant and a great place to hangout and meet some great people! All in all a place that everyone should visit at least once in their life! French restaurant was our favorite, great food and service..and Baked Alaska for dessert was amazing! Also 24 hr room service if you just feel like having a lazy day and staying inside for a while, we had a huge jacuzzi tub in our room with a bubble bath and was a very romantic evening!! Would definitely recommend this resort to all our friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely take a day and go into town in Playa Del Carmen. There's a shuttle from the hotel that is $18 round trip per person, and you go for 4 hours, just enough time to walk along 5th Avenue and barter for some souvenirs, and there's a lot of cool photo spots!

Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marc with a C
Boston, MA
May 31, 2014

Not worth the money.

The hotel grounds are very pretty in a rustic sort of way. There are wild animals everywhere, but they seem not too invasive except for the birds that fly around guests heads at breakfast and lunch. The alcohol is a joke because it is all watered down. This is not an exaggeration. You pay for alcohol, but receive a drink that is mostly water or sugary mix. They won't give you any alcohol "neat" because they know you will notice the watery flavor. The food is average at best. Some of the restaurants like the Japanese one (oddly enough) are decent while many of them aren't anything special. The Mexican restaurant had some of the worst Mexican food I have ever had, which is highly ironic. The breakfast buffet is ok, but it gets old after a couple of days. The lunch buffet is pretty terrible all around and I found it difficult to enjoy lunch. The pool area and beach are nice, but the hotel allows peddlers on the beach, so you are harnessed every 15 minutes or so by someone trying to sell you something. The night life is also almost non-existent. There are sometimes some really bad performers near the reception/lobby area, but nothing worth sticking around for. Especially not in the humidity without a good drink. While the staff in general is nice and accommodating to a point, the customer service staff and management are just awful. They couldn't care less about their customers as long as they are paying their bills. Lastly, watch out for hidden fees. The hotel may say that it is all-inclusive, but it is not. Many things require you to pay a lot more money such as the spa, wine that isn't water, and exorbitant hotel fees for phone calls. We had a relaxing honeymoon, but overall wished we had gone somewhere else. We would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rick old man sweater
Scotts,Michigan
May 30, 2014

Fabulous Anniversary Trip

My husband and I celebrated our 30th anniversary while at the Valentin. We were so impressed with the grounds, staff and food. Everything was top notch and the staff went out of their way to accomodate us! We had some exceptional people during our stay we had to mention. The entertainment staff was remarkable. Hilario, Jorge, Jessica and Carla did a fantastic job! Hilario, Jessica and Jorge are real standouts! The wait staff was superb! The first night we had Roberto and he was fantastic and left such a great first impression! Carlos , Samora, Marie and Gilberto also were very accomodating. Carlos is an exceptional waiter and should definitely go Places!! Our one and only complaint would be our room smelled like mildew. Talking with other guests it seemed to be a random issue with 1st floor rooms particularly, however we just tolerated it . If we visited again we would request another room. Otherwise everything was Phenomonal! Keep up the Great work! Rick and Laurie Schriemer Scotts, Michigan we get the opportunity to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Every day they had a hotel news letter with the Happenings for the day. They had things going on during the day and shows and music entertainment every night that we really enjoyed.

Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trying to keep up
Kennewick, Washington
May 26, 2014

We will definitely be back.!

This was our first all-inclusive and it was amazing. The staff made you feel like family and wanted you to enjoy yourself. Ivan, Ruben, Hector went above and beyond to get us anything we wanted. We had a Jr. Honeymoon Suite that was out of this world with a balcony that looked out to the beach. Lots of activities if you wanted to participate or you could just relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Pay the extra to be a Preferred Guest. You get a cabana each day at the pool or beach, reservations at your restaurant choice each day, two lobsters (try them grilled), and much more.

Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TomMc
Philadelphia PA
May 16, 2014

A near perfect week !

Having just returned last night from a week long stay at the VIM, I can honestly say that this was one of the more relaxing vacations that I've ever taken. We spent most days around the lazy river simply chilling and taking in the beautiful weather. The beauty of this resort is that you can simply relax, can partake in the "party" at the main pool, enjoy the beautiful ocean and sand at the beach or simply sit under a palapa at the Silver Pool on the upgraded chairs and cushions. Food was fair to good, Staff extraordinary, Grounds are the most gorgeous we've been to in our many trips to Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Palmtree Lady
Taylors, SC
May 13, 2014

4th time - we do love this place!

This was our 4th time staying at the VIM. The beach is amazing - sand - water - all so nice! The grounds are beautiful on the resort and the staff work hard to keep everything looking so nice. The fact that premium liquor is available at most of the bars is what brings folks back, we believe. Other resorts seem to have it hit or miss or only if you are a 'privileged guest'! The staff are all so friendly and bend over backwards to make you happy. ALTHOUGH, this was our 4th stay and we had asked for a certain building back in January and did not get it. They said they were nearly full. But, we think they should have honored our request since we were return customers and have sent so many folks to them. The best waiter at the resort is Giberto out at the breakfast/lunch restaurant by the beach. He is excellent and gets to know your likes and dislike quickly and even serves you special meals for your anniversary - WE LOVE YOU GIBERTO!!!! Also, the entertainment could use a little boost - not too much to talk about there. And the disco should start a little earlier than 11 pm - we are always worn out by then! Overall, our stay was fantastic and we would go back again, but if they don't give us the building we want on our 5th time - then we probably won't return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenny27
Chicago, IL
May 8, 2014

Beautiful Grounds & Wonderful Staff

My husband and I have stayed at the Excellence a couple times before and decided to try a different all-inclusive this time. At first we thought we had made a mistake. The pool is very crowded, as most of the other reviews mentioned, but we just went to the beach instead. Overall the food and service was really good. If you want well-made drinks, go to Don Miguel in the evenings. The bartender is really good. One other item, if you decide to book transportation through the hotel's website, I would recommend calling them instead. I filled out a request form online and received an email regarding my request. However, we didn't have transportation when we got to the airport. After waiting 45 minutes and finally contacting the hotel, we found out that they never set up travel for us. This was a bummer, but we got over it quickly. I'm not sure we would stay at this hotel again. It wasn't a bad experience, but it just wasn't at the top of our list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
duck10
Londonderry, NH
May 7, 2014

Loved it and will go back...but the food isn't 5 star

Gorgeous pool area, great staff, never felt too crowded, very good alcohol selection (except for beer...dos equis or Tecate light). My only complaint, as it relates to a 5 star resort, is the food. There's plenty of it, but it good, not great. I'd rate the food a 7 on a scale of 1 to 10 (10 being excellent).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Valentin Imperial Maya- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Piper7
Sonoma, CA
May 2, 2014

The Best!

This was our third stay at the Valentin, and for good reason. We love how big the property is, that the resort is spread out. Yes, there is walking, but it's worth it. They have a great beach bar with swings and the beach is gorgeous! You can always find something good to eat at any of the restaurants - there is plenty of variety. We've never had an issue with an unfriendly staff member. Overall, it's a great place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top