$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

Tukan Hotel and Beach Club on Fifth Avenue

2 stars
View map of 5ta Av. Norte Entre Calle 14 y 16 Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
7 reviews
Good position

We didn't know this hotel before our trip,it is in a good position in Quinta avenida,where you can... See full review

  • CricriS
  • Jul 19, 2014
Simple and Good

Hotel is in a perfect location, walking distance to all. Room is very simple, just your bed, towel,... See full review

  • supershells
  • Apr 7, 2014
The TUKAN HOTEL & BEACH CLUB is situated right in the heart of Playa del Carmen, only 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport.
Desirably located on the famous 5th Avenue, the Tukans guests are only steps away from the beach, duty free shopping, restaurants, cafs, lounges and entertainment.
The hotel has 157 rooms in one main complex and three annex buildings all surrounded by lush tropical vegetation, creating a relaxing oasis for guests to enjoy.
All rooms are fully equipped with:

  • A/C
  • Ceiling fan
  • Safety box
  • Flat screen cable TV
  • Bathroom with shower
  • 1 queen or 2 double beds
  • Private balcony or terrace
  • FREE WIFI


  • Guests can choose the meal plan that best suits their needs, including:
  • Room Only (EP)
  • Breakfast Buffet BB (at La Ceiba restaurant)
  • Full Pension Plus (FPP)/ Full American Plan (FAP) (Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner at La Ceiba restaurant with domestic non-premium beverages),
  • All Inclusive (AI) (meals at Kool Breakfast Buffet, Tulipanes a la carte Restaurant, Legends Sport Bar & Grill, La Ceiba Buffet Restaurant, and Living, also includes Premium (domestic and international) beverages at all bars & restaurants, as well as at the Kool Beach Club).

  • Guests of the Tukan Hotel can enjoy the Kool Beach Club, open daily from 08:00 to 18:00 , offering lounge chair, sun bed & umbrella rental (complimentary for guests with All Inclusive and Kool Elite Meal Plans, subject to availability), an extensive food & beverage menu, swimming pool, and great music.
    The beach club is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel and a complimentary shuttle service runs at pre-established times throughout day. Hotel parking is subject to availability and Public Pay Parking is available close by.

    Top hotels

    Tukan Hotel and Beach Club on Fifth Avenue Rooms

    Standard Room
    Located in the central building, these rooms have a charming design with tropical colors and Mexican decor.

    They are equipped with:
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Bath with shower
  • One queen size or two double beds
  • Cable TV
  • Safety box ($)
  • Private balcony or terrace
  • Free WiFi
  • Deluxe Room
    Newly remodeled suites with a contemporary decor and modern design.
    Located in the central or adjacent building.
    Offering:

  • One queen size or two double beds
  • One bath with shower
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Safety box ($)
  • Flat screen
  • Cable TV
  • Private balcony or terrace
  • Free WiFi
  • Two Bedroom Suite
    Located in the central building, these rooms have a charming design with tropical colors and Mexican decor.
    They are equipped with:

  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan
  • Bath with shower
  • Two separate bedrooms with one queen size or two double beds
  • Cable TV
  • Safety box ($)
  • Private balcony or terrace
  • Free WiFi
  • Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • Free internet in room
    • Outdoor pool
    General
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Solarium
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    Free internet in room
    Accessibility
    Accessible facilities

    Dining

    La Ceiba Bar & Buffet
    Main restaurant. Offers breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet style and can accommodate up to 120 people. It is located just in front of the main building of the hotel and provides air conditioned or outdoor seating.
    Los Tulipanes Bar & Cenote
    A la Carte restaurant is located directly on the 5th Avenue and offers a variety of traditional Mexican and International dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
    Living Garden Bar
    Overlooks the 5th Avenue and offers all kind of drinks, coffee, tea and a variety of snacks, as well as a Big Screen to watch the best sporting events.
    Legends Sport Bar & Grill
    is a great place for couples, friends and the entire family to enjoy an extensive menu and variety of drinks. It is your ultimate place to watch any major sporting event on one of our eight LCD 50 TVS or High Definition Big Screens with air conditioned and outdoor seating.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Ratings and reviews for Tukan Hotel and Beach Club on Fifth Avenue

    Overall score

    2.4 / 5
    5.01.0
    7 out of 7
    Amenities:
    2.3
    Cleanliness:
    2.9
    Hotel staff:
    2.6
    Comfort:
    2.4
    Location:
    3.9
    Value:
    3.3

    57% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Tukan Hotel and Beach Club on Fifth Avenue

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Kingstupka
    Business
    Bloomsbury
    Dec 23, 2014

    Not Great but Very Inexpensive

    This hotel is not great and the service and room were both pretty poor. For $50.00 a night it was fine.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Tukan Hotel and Beach Club on Fifth Avenue

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    CricriS
    Business
    Italia
    Jul 19, 2014

    Good position

    We didn't know this hotel before our trip,it is in a good position in Quinta avenida,where you can find restaurants and many shops.Very helpful and friendly staff.The hotel has a beach club very organized and not so far from it,if you don't want to walk to the beach,the hotel has a shuttle bus.The only thing that we didn't like was the air condition,it was very noisy.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    There is a mall near to the bus station,very similar to "la isla" in Cancun.

    Review of Tukan Hotel and Beach Club on Fifth Avenue

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    supershells
    Business
    NYC
    Apr 7, 2014

    Simple and Good

    Hotel is in a perfect location, walking distance to all. Room is very simple, just your bed, towel, lamp, shower and tv. There is no phone, so if you need reception you have to go in person. I needed a change of a towel, so I had to go to reception and ask, and then they send me to look for the cleaning lady, and she tells me I need to go to reception for a towel. Soooo... you can imagine. But, you are so close to all the fun stuff, that this room is basically what you need, a place to sleep and shower. I would still come back.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Tukan Hotel and Beach Club on Fifth Avenue

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Luis O
    Business
    London, UK
    Feb 25, 2014

    Premium Upgrage Option

    The hotel staff offered an upgrade to the premium suite that includes; nicer room, all inlcusive meals at Ceiba (Restaurant), and the use of the Beach Club (Kool). If you have the chance I do recommend that you look at this upgrade. The savings on the food for a family of fours justifies it. Regarding the Beach Club (Kool); this is just a poor excuse of a beach club. The Tukan hotel guests are segregated in a section of the beach club and they can only make use of a makeshift bar, just not up to par.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Tukan Hotel and Beach Club on Fifth Avenue

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Kenni
    Business
    Calgary, Canada
    Dec 17, 2011

    Nice Place

    Nothing fancy but good value, food and location and nice courtyard.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Everywhere on 5th avenue but cheaper as you go back from beach

    Review of Tukan Hotel and Beach Club on Fifth Avenue

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    wtrav
    Business
    Los Angeles, CA
    Dec 12, 2011

    Very disappointing!

    Just returned from 10 days stay in El Tukan; unfortunately I wouldn’t recommend it to anybody! I didn’t expect too much from this place, I go to PDC mostly for scuba diving, and selected this hotel because of its good location. It was convenient and close to everything. The Hotel was very basic but not bad, grounds were well kept, pool was little but clean. Rooms were very basic also, no fridge, no phone, no clock but clean, food was just OK for the money. However, there was very little hot water, not enough for a full shower ever. One evening there was no electricity, complete darkness, I had to use my diving light to walk around the room…. Most of the stuff was unprofessional with poor communication skills. My major problem was that my phone was stolen in the first day of my stay ( I suspect by a staff member when they switched me to another room.) It took me two days figure out how to suspend service on my stolen phone. The stuff was absolutely unhelpful. Most of the stuff speak very little English/ or no English at all, not sure if they really understood me. I asked for a manager multiple times but never got any respond back. Customer service does NOT exist at this hotel! I so some others reviews complaining about stolen iPhones, cameras, etc.. I t looks like security is a real issue at this place. Think twice before choosing this hotel And dear management, please do not reply to me with a “click and paste” letter with bad spelling. You had enough time to do so in person.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Tukan Hotel and Beach Club on Fifth Avenue

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    Nov 23, 2011

    Noisy-Moldy

    Street performers set up outside hotel, late nite party goers noisy on return to hotel in wee morning hours, staff was loud and their conversations via walkie talkies didn't help. Hotel charges for room safe, hot tub was never hot and rooms smelled moldy with limited hot water for showers. Beach access was a good half mile from hotel. The breakfast buffet for $3 was the best value.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    $3 breakfast buffet

    Back to menu Return to top