$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Tukan Hotel and Beach Club

2 stars
5ta Av. Norte Entre Calle 14 y 16 Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
6 reviews
Good position

We didn't know this hotel before our trip,it is in a good position in Quinta avenida,where you can... See full review

  • CricriS
  • Jul 19, 2014
Simple and Good

Hotel is in a perfect location, walking distance to all. Room is very simple, just your bed, towel,... See full review

  • supershells
  • Apr 7, 2014
The TUKAN HOTEL & BEACH CLUB is situated right in the heart of Playa del Carmen, only 45 minutes from the Cancun International Airport. Desirably located on the famous 5th Avenue, the Tukans guests are only steps away from the beach, duty free shopping, restaurants, cafs, lounges and entertainment. The hotel has 157 rooms in one main complex and three annex buildings all surrounded by lush tropical vegetation, creating a relaxing oasis for guests to enjoy. All rooms are fully equipped A/C, ceiling fan, safety box ($), flat screen cable TV, bathroom with shower, 1 queen or 2 double beds, private balcony or terrace and FREE WIFI. Guests can choose the meal plan that best suits their needs, including Room Only (EP), Breakfast Buffet BB (at La Ceiba restaurant), Full Pension Plus (FPP)/ Full American Plan (FAP) (Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner at La Ceiba restaurant with domestic non-premium beverages), or All Inclusive (AI) (meals at Kool Breakfast Buffet, Tulipanes a la carte Restaurant, Legends Sport Bar & Grill, La Ceiba Buffet Restaurant, and Living, also includes Premium (domestic and international) beverages at all bars & restaurants, as well as at the Kool Beach Club). Our main restaurant LA CEIBA BAR & BUFFET offers breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet-style and can accommodate up to 120 people. It is located just in front of the main building of the hotel and provides air conditioned or outdoor seating. The A-la-Carte restaurant LOS TULIPANES BAR & CENOTE is located directly on the 5th Avenue and offers a variety of traditional Mexican and International dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The LIVING GARDEN BAR overlooks the 5th Avenue and offers all kind of drinks, coffee, tea and a variety of snacks, as well as a Big Screen to watch the best sporting events.LEGENDS SPORT BAR & GRILL is a great place for couples, friends and the entire family to enjoy an extensive menu and variety of drinks. It is your ultimate place to watch any major sporting event on one of our eight LCD 50 TVS or High-Definition Big Screens with air conditioned and outdoor seating. KOOL BEACH CLUB BAR & RESTAURANT Offers outdoor or indoor beachfront seating for up to 140 guests. The extensive lunch and snack menu offer an authentic fusion of flavors, all prepared with the freshest local ingredients selected especially by the Chef. Guests of the Tukan Hotel can enjoy the Kool Beach Club, open daily from 08:00 to 18:00 , offering lounge chair, sun bed & umbrella rental (complimentary for guests with All Inclusive and Kool Elite Meal Plans, subject to availability), an extensive food & beverage menu, swimming pool, and great music. The beach club is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel and a complimentary shuttle service runs at pre-established times throughout day. Hotel parking is subject to availability and Public Pay Parking is available close by.

Hotel Map

20.6292 -87.0707
Area served
Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport.
Area description
The city of Playa del Carmen is a 45 minute car ride away from the international airport of Cancun.

Tukan Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

Standard Room
Located in the central building, these rooms have a charming design with tropical colors and Mexican decor. They are equipped with A/C, ceiling fan, bath with shower, one queen size or two double beds, cable TV, safety box ($), private balcony or terrace and free WiFi.
Deluxe Room
Newly remodeled suites with a contemporary decor and modern design, located in the central or adjacent building. Offering one queen size or two double beds, one bath with shower, A/C, ceiling fan, safety box ($), flat screen cable TV, private balcony or terrace and free WiFi.
Two Bedroom Suite
Located in the central building, these rooms have a charming design with tropical colors and Mexican decor. They are equipped with A/C, ceiling fan, bath with shower, two separate bedrooms with one queen size or two double beds, cable TV, safety box ($), private balcony or terrace and free WiFi.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Dining

La Ceiba Bar & Buffet
Main restaurant. Offers breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet style and can accommodate up to 120 people. It is located just in front of the main building of the hotel and provides air conditioned or outdoor seating.
Los Tulipanes Bar & Cenote
A la Carte restaurant is located directly on the 5th Avenue and offers a variety of traditional Mexican and International dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Living Garden Bar
Overlooks the 5th Avenue and offers all kind of drinks, coffee, tea and a variety of snacks, as well as a Big Screen to watch the best sporting events.
Legends Sport Bar & Grill
is a great place for couples, friends and the entire family to enjoy an extensive menu and variety of drinks. It is your ultimate place to watch any major sporting event on one of our eight LCD 50 TVS or High Definition Big Screens with air conditioned and outdoor seating.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (6)

Ratings and reviews for Tukan Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tukan Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kenni
Calgary, Canada
Dec 17, 2011

Nice Place

Nothing fancy but good value, food and location and nice courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everywhere on 5th avenue but cheaper as you go back from beach

Review of Tukan Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CricriS
Italia
Jul 19, 2014

Good position

We didn't know this hotel before our trip,it is in a good position in Quinta avenida,where you can find restaurants and many shops.Very helpful and friendly staff.The hotel has a beach club very organized and not so far from it,if you don't want to walk to the beach,the hotel has a shuttle bus.The only thing that we didn't like was the air condition,it was very noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a mall near to the bus station,very similar to "la isla" in Cancun.

Review of Tukan Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kenni
Calgary, Canada
Dec 17, 2011

Nice Place

Nothing fancy but good value, food and location and nice courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everywhere on 5th avenue but cheaper as you go back from beach

Review of Tukan Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Luis O
London, UK
Feb 25, 2014

Premium Upgrage Option

The hotel staff offered an upgrade to the premium suite that includes; nicer room, all inlcusive meals at Ceiba (Restaurant), and the use of the Beach Club (Kool). If you have the chance I do recommend that you look at this upgrade. The savings on the food for a family of fours justifies it. Regarding the Beach Club (Kool); this is just a poor excuse of a beach club. The Tukan hotel guests are segregated in a section of the beach club and they can only make use of a makeshift bar, just not up to par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Tukan Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
supershells
NYC
Apr 7, 2014

Simple and Good

Hotel is in a perfect location, walking distance to all. Room is very simple, just your bed, towel, lamp, shower and tv. There is no phone, so if you need reception you have to go in person. I needed a change of a towel, so I had to go to reception and ask, and then they send me to look for the cleaning lady, and she tells me I need to go to reception for a towel. Soooo... you can imagine. But, you are so close to all the fun stuff, that this room is basically what you need, a place to sleep and shower. I would still come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Tukan Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, WA, USA
Nov 23, 2011

Noisy-Moldy

Street performers set up outside hotel, late nite party goers noisy on return to hotel in wee morning hours, staff was loud and their conversations via walkie talkies didn't help. Hotel charges for room safe, hot tub was never hot and rooms smelled moldy with limited hot water for showers. Beach access was a good half mile from hotel. The breakfast buffet for $3 was the best value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

$3 breakfast buffet

Review of Tukan Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wtrav
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 12, 2011

Very disappointing!

Just returned from 10 days stay in El Tukan; unfortunately I wouldn’t recommend it to anybody! I didn’t expect too much from this place, I go to PDC mostly for scuba diving, and selected this hotel because of its good location. It was convenient and close to everything. The Hotel was very basic but not bad, grounds were well kept, pool was little but clean. Rooms were very basic also, no fridge, no phone, no clock but clean, food was just OK for the money. However, there was very little hot water, not enough for a full shower ever. One evening there was no electricity, complete darkness, I had to use my diving light to walk around the room…. Most of the stuff was unprofessional with poor communication skills. My major problem was that my phone was stolen in the first day of my stay ( I suspect by a staff member when they switched me to another room.) It took me two days figure out how to suspend service on my stolen phone. The stuff was absolutely unhelpful. Most of the stuff speak very little English/ or no English at all, not sure if they really understood me. I asked for a manager multiple times but never got any respond back. Customer service does NOT exist at this hotel! I so some others reviews complaining about stolen iPhones, cameras, etc.. I t looks like security is a real issue at this place. Think twice before choosing this hotel And dear management, please do not reply to me with a “click and paste” letter with bad spelling. You had enough time to do so in person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search