$293 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Cancun - Playa del Carmen Highway, Km 289+10 Lote2, Mz 70, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TheresaW
Delray Beach, FL
Sep 10, 2012

Comfortable, fun and clean!

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Haciendas over Labor Day weekend and were very impressed by the ground and friendly staff. The food on the pool deck was very good and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was always willing to help and it was very convenient to have a little store to purchase food on the go. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raytay
Business
Kingwood TX
Jul 12, 2012

Great Place to Relax

Second time to stay at the Haciendas. This is a beautiful hotel/time share. Rooms all have kitchens that are well equipped, huge showers and comfortable beds. If you rent the entire room it will sleep six in beds. We dined a couple of times in the hotel restaurants and the food was great. The bars at the pools serve great lunches, and they will bring it to your palapa on the beach. It an easy cab ride into Playa del Carmen for shopping and dining using a new road that skips all the traffic. Went to Xplor one day for zip lines and cave swimming, really worth doing but expect a lot of walking and climbing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you know you want to go to Xplor, buy your tickets on line before you go to save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAB family
Business
Allen, Texas
Jul 22, 2012

Summer Vacation

The resort was beautiful. Great pools and beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car. Transportation is very expensive. The store and restaurants were convenient but very expensive. Go into Playa de Carmen and shop for groceries at Walmart or Mega if you plan to cook or eat out. Watch out for the "no pressure" time share sales people, they will come to your room or call your room daily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria la Gringa
Business
Queens, NY
Aug 13, 2012

Nice place to visit...

The resort was very nice and the rooms were always very clean. The staff were always pleasant. Although the area is very large, you never had to walk much to get to a pool or a bar. The suites were great for families as the kitchens were well stocked with most utensils you would need. La Palapa restaurant was not the best, but the pricer Los Murales served a wonderful array of interesting seafood dishes, some prepared at your table.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chitown Boy
Business
Chicago
Nov 4, 2012

Relaxing getaway with great views

Our villa (facing the beach) was absolutely wonderful; with plenty of space and great views of the ocean. We loved having separate bedrooms, bath, and living, and dining space. October was the perfect time of year to go because the resort wasn't overly crowded; and it felt like we had the resort to ourselves. The staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds were kept very clean and beautiful. The food was ok. If you dont like to leave the resort you may want more options for meals, but if you enjoy exploring, there's plenty of options in Play del Carmen. Two things to know before booking... This is a timeshare resort. Timeshare members come and leave on Saturday, so you likely be transferred to another room if the member comes during your stay. Also, they started a mandatory all inclusive fee (according to the front desk staff) of $100 per day per person, if you're not a member. We were not told this at the time of booking, so thank goodness for Orbtz staff who worked with the resort manager to waive this for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asal Sopol
Business
California
Dec 10, 2012

I am not sure I would go back!

We booked the suite not knowing it is a timeshare facility!The hotel’s building is a BIG architectural mistake, it is ugly, huge, with lack of attention in the potential of the site and environment, as an architect was not easy to move around and don’t notice it!We had a card from our concierge at the door when we checked out, then a phone call at 9 AM which woke us up and that was all the attention we got from the staff during our stay! The maid doesn’t wash the dishes or clean the kitchen!The front desk didn’t tell us what kind of programs they provide for the guest and basically they don’t understand there is a difference between the time share owners and those who rent the suites! Our dishwasher was not working and one of the chairs in the balcony was torn, they didn’t get fixed during our 9 nights stay! But it is in a good location and close to lovely Playa De Carmen, it has nice pool and towel service and bars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa De Carmen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sorty
Business
Michigan
Dec 11, 2012

Excellent resort staff!

It was beautiful overall, with one exception. This place has recently became an all inclusive. Before that it was members only or time share resort. With that being said beware, first because the members really don't like you being there and some will tell you because you are branded by a band, second they try to sell. It was nit high pressured just pestered and looked down/shunned by some of them. A little uncomfortable. With that being said I cannot say enough about the wait staff throughout the resort. They bend over backwards to make you have a wonderful vacation, and they are very grateful people for very small things. I can only name a few but there were many, Rene, Fernando, David, Jaimie, Santos, Rosalina, etc. Those were just a few that touched our life. Food was upscale and we've been coming to Mexico for some 12 yrs. As much as I would love to go back there, a little hesitant due to upper staff trying to sell and residents ticked off with us all inclusive people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love Mexico1
Business
Canton,CT
Feb 22, 2013

February fun

The Royal Haciendas was overall an excellent value. Great place for families who need extra space. The two bed/two bath villas with full kitchen were exceptionally clean. Property was in a perfect location, close to downtown Playa by taxi and has the most PERECT beach! This is a timeshare property were all-inclusive is available. The food is good. The service is slow. Staff is pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BN Son In Law
Business
Colorado
Jun 1, 2014

Fun Family Vacation

Rooms were wonderful, jacuzzi at the balcony was nice. Staff we're very friendly and food was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RefikandZumreta
Business
Chicago
Jun 1, 2014

great escape

Great place for family relax. Very, very clean with nice ocean water. All areas are covered. The staff is very friendly. Great food and drinks. Only: it feels not good that for every meal or drink you need to provide the room number and name, so it is like control how much you eat or drink

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FifiG
Business
NY, NY
Jun 5, 2014

Good Hotel, Good Food

Rooms: The Royal Haciendas caters to their clientele on a Saturday-Saturday basis because the majority of guests are timeshare guests. So be careful if you book any other stay other than Saturday through Saturday, you may be asked to move your room to accommodate the timeshare guests. We were given a room that the staff knew in advance would not need to be changed, we were grateful. The room was very nice, big, cleaned timely once a day, and had all the necessary accommodations. Good plumbing, beer/soda/coffee restocked daily. Hotel Staff: Maids did good job and were very pleasant. Staff at restaurants spoke fluent English and were very very very good and sometime even excellent. Bartenders did a good job making alcoholic, nonalcoholic and hot beverages. Food: Few restaurants, but the resort is small so it makes sense. The fancy restaurant, Los Murales, was very nice with good food and great service. Most of the entres require an additional fee above and beyond the all inclusive package- that was odd. At every eatery, you must ask for the check, give your room card, and sign a $0.00 check (all inclusive package). The main buffet food was regularly good, not excellent. The menu changed daily for lunch and dinner. Breakfast was on the routine side. The buffet space also works as an a la carte restaurant, good food there for sure. The hotel has 6 house wines - more than most others and they were delicious. Pool/Beach: It was unfortunately windy /raining so we didn't enjoy it as much as we would have liked. An abundance of beach chairs and pool chairs with shade. No complaints. Entertainment: Poor. There were shows on Mon/Wed/Fri. One show was cancelled because theatre is outdoors and there was a downpour. No on attended the night time disco. It may have been the crowd, but there was minimal effort by hotel staff to fun things up. Very nice accommodations, good food, good beach, not too far from Cancun Airport (45min-1hour drive), but on the dull side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top