$278 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Cancun - Playa del Carmen Highway, Km 289+10 Lote2, Mz 70, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Girls' travel planner
Business
Conway, South Carolina
Aug 1, 2014

Perfect Relaxing Vacation!

This resort was amazing. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The food was excellent! This was a girl's trip and reunion and we definitely would come back here to stay. We all had a great time. The only negative thing was that there wasn't more entertainment at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't believe the presentation for the membership is 90 minutes long because we were there 2 hours and had to leave before it was complete because we had an appointment elsewhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MacSenn
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 28, 2014

Fabulous all inclusive experience

This place has it all. Plenty of fun for everyone in our group weather it was beach volleyball, relaxing, or dining in one of the great restaurants. The food was fantastic! And the service great. The rooms were big and very clean. Pre ordered room service breakfast arrived right on time every morning. Lots of activities if you want. Beautiful beach with a good area for swimming. Terrific place to take the family. We arrived on a Thursday which is not the typical check in day and the process was extremely slow! This was the only glitch in an otherwise beautiful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Book your rent car with the hotel so you can go where you want and save on airport shuttle fees

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicholas Alexander
Business
Denver, co
Jul 11, 2014

Awesome family fun

Family of 16 people and we had a great time. We had a whole villa to yourself and we enjoyed our family gathering in our suites as well as having dinner right on the ocean. This place is very clean and service is fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Not much going on at night. Very quite place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cmoore2
Business
Arkansas
Jul 9, 2014

Couldn't ask for more

I picked this place based on customer reviews. It did not disappoint. Excellent staff, good food, etc. We didn't take the kids this time, but will certainly take them next trip. Seemed very family friendly, which is what we were looking for. We're already looking to go back for a brief escape this winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you do all inclusive, the local shop owners on 5th know the colors of the armband associated with each hotel (you'll wear an armband to distinguish all-inclusive vs. member of resort). People will claim to be your waiter from the hotel that you happen upon on your shopping trip. It's a scam. We about fell for it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Allen
Business
houston Tx
Jun 22, 2014

Great Family Vacation

The Hotel was beautiful. We had a 2 bedroom villa, the maid service was great, room was kept cleaned. We love the room service being available 24 hrs a day. Staff was friendly. We checked in on a Friday, therefore had to change room Saturday morning. We were not given any assistance at check in. We had to locate our room without an map and the resort is huge. It is a family resort, not a party place. Had a great time and would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Aquanauts was a great place to go for diving. The owners are wonderful people! My husband got ill after a dive and they took us to the doctor office in Playa Del Carmen. While my husband was having decompression treatment they gave me a ride back to the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
badly disappointed
Business
Texas
Jun 11, 2014

It's not a 4 star - it's a horrible timeshare property

It was a bad experience from the moment we got to the front desk and tried to check in. When they found out the second person was my 13 yr old son instead of an adult, the ft desk staff person said he had to make a change, and put us in the WORST LOCATION POSSIBLE. It was not just a ground floor room, which I hate, but it was also THE FIRST room as you walked off the lobby, so every single person and cart in the facility goes by the room. He refused to move me and told me if he put me on an upper floor then I would have to move rooms. The site and room selection said it was an all-inclusive, but he told me it was a meal plan and there were upcharges. that wasn't what I understood I bought, but okay, if the surcharge is for lobster and such I'll get over it. They had a surcharge for a hamburger on the dinner menu!!! I asked if that was a mistake - a regular hamburger, with a surcharge? Yes. I took a pic of the menu showing all the surcharges. There "formal" restaurant supposedly completely booked and requiring reservations only on the day of, surprising took reservations in advance, was half empty, and had SCREAMING children with parents too inconsiderate to take them outside. I ordered a scallop dish with a taragon reduction that did NOT have a spec of taragon ever touch it. also had a peppercorn encrusted tuna that was a thin piece with a little pepper on it. Limited uninteresting desserts. Service throughout the place was slow and I had to make repeated requests for coffee and drinks and a server at the pool. Curtain in the room had a 6" gap so couldn't keep the sun out in the morning and sleep in. Do not disturb sign would not stay on the handle. I must have had five knocks on the door each morning to check the frig, clean the room, change the robes #?#, give activity info, and coming back again for the same thing. when we went to the car to put our luggage in the trunk prior to checking out, one of the staff followed us to our car saying we had to have a check out slip, even though I told him we were not yet leaving. The staff was friendly, except for the very unkind man who checked us in and decided we needed to be in the cr_ap room #and said there was no mgr but I could call my travel agent to complain!#, however, they don't know anything about 4 star or resort service. The only good thing was the location and the fresh flavored yougurts in the morning. And there is really only 1 restaurant outside of pool grills/snackbars and those close 6pm or so. What a disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Valley Girl74
Business
California
Jun 9, 2014

Relaxing

The hotel and the pools were nice. The guests are a bit older or families and the bars are not open past 11:00. We still had a great time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FifiG
Business
NY, NY
Jun 5, 2014

Good Hotel, Good Food

Rooms: The Royal Haciendas caters to their clientele on a Saturday-Saturday basis because the majority of guests are timeshare guests. So be careful if you book any other stay other than Saturday through Saturday, you may be asked to move your room to accommodate the timeshare guests. We were given a room that the staff knew in advance would not need to be changed, we were grateful. The room was very nice, big, cleaned timely once a day, and had all the necessary accommodations. Good plumbing, beer/soda/coffee restocked daily. Hotel Staff: Maids did good job and were very pleasant. Staff at restaurants spoke fluent English and were very very very good and sometime even excellent. Bartenders did a good job making alcoholic, nonalcoholic and hot beverages. Food: Few restaurants, but the resort is small so it makes sense. The fancy restaurant, Los Murales, was very nice with good food and great service. Most of the entres require an additional fee above and beyond the all inclusive package- that was odd. At every eatery, you must ask for the check, give your room card, and sign a $0.00 check (all inclusive package). The main buffet food was regularly good, not excellent. The menu changed daily for lunch and dinner. Breakfast was on the routine side. The buffet space also works as an a la carte restaurant, good food there for sure. The hotel has 6 house wines - more than most others and they were delicious. Pool/Beach: It was unfortunately windy /raining so we didn't enjoy it as much as we would have liked. An abundance of beach chairs and pool chairs with shade. No complaints. Entertainment: Poor. There were shows on Mon/Wed/Fri. One show was cancelled because theatre is outdoors and there was a downpour. No on attended the night time disco. It may have been the crowd, but there was minimal effort by hotel staff to fun things up. Very nice accommodations, good food, good beach, not too far from Cancun Airport (45min-1hour drive), but on the dull side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BN Son In Law
Business
Colorado
Jun 1, 2014

Fun Family Vacation

Rooms were wonderful, jacuzzi at the balcony was nice. Staff we're very friendly and food was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RefikandZumreta
Business
Chicago
Jun 1, 2014

great escape

Great place for family relax. Very, very clean with nice ocean water. All areas are covered. The staff is very friendly. Great food and drinks. Only: it feels not good that for every meal or drink you need to provide the room number and name, so it is like control how much you eat or drink

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top