$227 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

4 stars
Cancun - Playa del Carmen Highway, Km 289+10 Lote2, Mz 70, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
42 reviews
Perfect Relaxing Vacation!

This resort was amazing. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The food was excellent! This was a... See full review

  • Girls' travel planner
  • Aug 1, 2014
Couldn't ask for more

I picked this place based on customer reviews. It did not disappoint. Excellent staff, good food,... See full review

  • Cmoore2
  • Jul 9, 2014
Offering elegance in a splendid natural setting, inspired by the grand old haciendas or estates of the Yucatan, The Royal Haciendas is an exceptional All-Inclusive vacation hideaway. Nestled on the shores of a sheltered bay that is perfect for snorkeling and swimming, it is a five-minute drive from Playa del Carmen, at the heart of the Riviera Maya and close to Xcaret Park.

All-Inclusive Details
Food and beverages: breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks served twice daily; coffee; non-alcoholic drinks, selected beers, cocktails, house wine, liquors and liqueurs; 24-hour room service.
Activities: pools, tennis courts, fitness center, activity program for adults and children, kids club for children aged between 4 and 12 years, sports desk for beach towels, snorkeling gear, sailboats, tennis rackets and golf clubs, non-motorized water sports, evening entertainment.
Amenities: bath amenities, daily maid service and turndown service, Wi-Fi in rooms, suites and public areas of resort, mini bar in room or suite (replenished once a day), coffee maker with regular and decaf coffee.
Access to all-inclusive services and amenities at The Royal Sands in Cancun. Taxes and gratuities also included.
Not included: premium food and beverages, food to go and pizza delivery, spa and beauty treatments, tours, dive center, car rental, shopping, airport transfers, arts and crafts workshops, guest laundry and doctor on call (24 hours).

Policies
  • Guests staying on a Saturday night may need to change units. The hotel will work to avoid this scenario, but when necessary, management will work directly with guests to streamline this process.
  • One registered guest in each suite must be at least 25 years of age and willing to accept responsibility for the actions of all suite occupants.
  • Hotel Map

    20.6569 -87.0434
    Area served
    Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya.
    Nearby airports
    Cancun International Airport (46.1 km / 28.6 miles).
    Area description
    The Royal Haciendas is nestled on the shores of two bays north of Playa del Carmen. The resort is a five-minute drive from Playa del Carmen and just 30 minutes south of Cancun International Airport. The island of Cozumel is only a short ferry ride away.

    The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive Rooms

    Two-bedroom Villa with full kitchen
    Two Bedroom Villas have two bedrooms and two bathrooms with double sinks, a fully equipped kitchen, a kitchenette, a living area with pull-down Murphy beds, a dining area and a private ocean-view terrace with a whirlpool tub for two, sun beds and seating for four. Amenities include free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, alarm clock, cable / satellite TV, CD player, ceiling fan, DVD player, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, radio, safe in room, 24-hour room service, and telephone. Mini-bar stocked with domestic brands of beer, non-alcoholic drinks and regular and decaf coffee (replenished once a day). In-Room coffee machine and service. Toiletries, Bathrobes, Turndown service and Daily maid service.
    One-bedroom Suite with full kitchen
    One Bedroom Suites have one bedroom with a king bed and one bathroom with double sinks, a fully equipped kitchen, a living area with pull-down Murphy beds, a dining area and a private ocean-view terrace with a whirlpool tub for two, sun beds and seating for four. Amenities include free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, alarm clock, cable / satellite TV, CD player, ceiling fan, DVD player, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, radio, safe in room, 24-hour room service, and telephone. Mini-bar stocked with domestic brands of beer, non-alcoholic drinks and regular and decaf coffee (replenished once a day). In-Room coffee machine and service. Toiletries, Bathrobes, Turndown service and Daily maid service.
    Junior Suite with kitchenette
    Junior Suite with kitchenette offers two twin beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, cable / satellite TV, CD player, ceiling fan, DVD player, private bathroom with two sinks, hairdryer, free Wi-Fi, iron / ironing board, radio, 24 hour room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.

    Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • Free internet
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Spa
    Game room
    Tennis
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    24 hour room service
    Services
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    Free internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities
    Accessible facilities
    Accessible parking

    Dining

    Los Murales
    Cuisine and art, serving fresh seafood with gourmet flair in a sophisticated setting, live music (5 - 10 pm. Closed Saturdays.
    Sol y Luna
    Serving burgers, wraps, salads and tacos in two poolside locations (11 am - 5 pm, bar hours: 10 am - 6 pm). Weekly events: Saturday: Poolside BBQ.
    La Rotonda Bar
    Sip a tropical cocktail from the beach and pool bars at the resort during the day and for evening entertainment, including sports, music and karaoke.
    Lapa Lapa Express
    Convenient food to go counter in the restaurants at The Royal Haciendas (not included with the All-Inclusive Package). You can order roast chicken, BBQ ribs, salads, fruit platters, bread and a variety of desserts. Open daily: 10 a.m. - 10 p.m. Free villa delivery.
    Bartolos Pizza
    Fresh, piping hot homemade pizza delivered to your villa in no time (not included with the All-Inclusive Package). Hours: 10 am to 10 pm.
    La Palapa del Sol
    Seafood, steaks, Mexican fare and International favorites in a spectacular beachfront setting (7 am - 10 pm). Weekly events : Saturday: Caribbean Night; Sunday: Mexican Night; Monday: BBQ Night; Tuesday: International Night; Wednesday: Italian Night; Thursday: Prime Rib; Friday: Oriental Night.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1600
    Check-out:
    1100

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (42)

    Ratings and reviews for The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

    Overall score

    4.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    42 out of 42
    Amenities:
    4.2
    Room cleanliness:
    4.6
    Hotel staff:
    4.4
    Room comfort:
    4.6
    Location:
    4.3
    Value:
    4.4

    90% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    bellamama480
    Michigan
    Apr 11, 2014

    Perfect family getaway

    I consider myself to be quite picky when it comes to vacations. That being said, I have never returned to the same resort twice. I think that The Royal Haciendas will be the first exception to that rule - we LOVED it. I was surprised that people complained about having to give your room key when buying drinks or eating - at the bar, start a tab. At meals, just give the waiter a heads up. Simple. I recommend checking out the buffet schedule on your first night. If there is a night that doesn't excite you, eat at Los Murales that night. Definitely eat there at least once; we wish we would have done so more. The food there is fantastic! My only complaint was that the pop music being played included profanity that is usually bleeped out on the radio - not exactly what I wanted my kids to hear. The kids enjoyed the many activities available through the kids club! This resort was enjoyable for the three generations that traveled in our group.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Girls' travel planner
    Conway, South Carolina
    Aug 1, 2014

    Perfect Relaxing Vacation!

    This resort was amazing. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The food was excellent! This was a girl's trip and reunion and we definitely would come back here to stay. We all had a great time. The only negative thing was that there wasn't more entertainment at night.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Time-saving tip: In Hotel

    Don't believe the presentation for the membership is 90 minutes long because we were there 2 hours and had to leave before it was complete because we had an appointment elsewhere

    Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Nicholas Alexander
    Denver, co
    Jul 11, 2014

    Awesome family fun

    Family of 16 people and we had a great time. We had a whole villa to yourself and we enjoyed our family gathering in our suites as well as having dinner right on the ocean. This place is very clean and service is fantastic.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

    Not much going on at night. Very quite place.

    Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Cmoore2
    Arkansas
    Jul 9, 2014

    Couldn't ask for more

    I picked this place based on customer reviews. It did not disappoint. Excellent staff, good food, etc. We didn't take the kids this time, but will certainly take them next trip. Seemed very family friendly, which is what we were looking for. We're already looking to go back for a brief escape this winter.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    If you do all inclusive, the local shop owners on 5th know the colors of the armband associated with each hotel (you'll wear an armband to distinguish all-inclusive vs. member of resort). People will claim to be your waiter from the hotel that you happen upon on your shopping trip. It's a scam. We about fell for it.

    Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    J Allen
    houston Tx
    Jun 22, 2014

    Great Family Vacation

    The Hotel was beautiful. We had a 2 bedroom villa, the maid service was great, room was kept cleaned. We love the room service being available 24 hrs a day. Staff was friendly. We checked in on a Friday, therefore had to change room Saturday morning. We were not given any assistance at check in. We had to locate our room without an map and the resort is huge. It is a family resort, not a party place. Had a great time and would return.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Aquanauts was a great place to go for diving. The owners are wonderful people! My husband got ill after a dive and they took us to the doctor office in Playa Del Carmen. While my husband was having decompression treatment they gave me a ride back to the resort.

    Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    badly disappointed
    Texas
    Jun 11, 2014

    It's not a 4 star - it's a horrible timeshare property

    It was a bad experience from the moment we got to the front desk and tried to check in. When they found out the second person was my 13 yr old son instead of an adult, the ft desk staff person said he had to make a change, and put us in the WORST LOCATION POSSIBLE. It was not just a ground floor room, which I hate, but it was also THE FIRST room as you walked off the lobby, so every single person and cart in the facility goes by the room. He refused to move me and told me if he put me on an upper floor then I would have to move rooms. The site and room selection said it was an all-inclusive, but he told me it was a meal plan and there were upcharges. that wasn't what I understood I bought, but okay, if the surcharge is for lobster and such I'll get over it. They had a surcharge for a hamburger on the dinner menu!!! I asked if that was a mistake - a regular hamburger, with a surcharge? Yes. I took a pic of the menu showing all the surcharges. There "formal" restaurant supposedly completely booked and requiring reservations only on the day of, surprising took reservations in advance, was half empty, and had SCREAMING children with parents too inconsiderate to take them outside. I ordered a scallop dish with a taragon reduction that did NOT have a spec of taragon ever touch it. also had a peppercorn encrusted tuna that was a thin piece with a little pepper on it. Limited uninteresting desserts. Service throughout the place was slow and I had to make repeated requests for coffee and drinks and a server at the pool. Curtain in the room had a 6" gap so couldn't keep the sun out in the morning and sleep in. Do not disturb sign would not stay on the handle. I must have had five knocks on the door each morning to check the frig, clean the room, change the robes #?#, give activity info, and coming back again for the same thing. when we went to the car to put our luggage in the trunk prior to checking out, one of the staff followed us to our car saying we had to have a check out slip, even though I told him we were not yet leaving. The staff was friendly, except for the very unkind man who checked us in and decided we needed to be in the cr_ap room #and said there was no mgr but I could call my travel agent to complain!#, however, they don't know anything about 4 star or resort service. The only good thing was the location and the fresh flavored yougurts in the morning. And there is really only 1 restaurant outside of pool grills/snackbars and those close 6pm or so. What a disappointment.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Valley Girl74
    California
    Jun 9, 2014

    Relaxing

    The hotel and the pools were nice. The guests are a bit older or families and the bars are not open past 11:00. We still had a great time!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    FifiG
    NY, NY
    Jun 5, 2014

    Good Hotel, Good Food

    Rooms: The Royal Haciendas caters to their clientele on a Saturday-Saturday basis because the majority of guests are timeshare guests. So be careful if you book any other stay other than Saturday through Saturday, you may be asked to move your room to accommodate the timeshare guests. We were given a room that the staff knew in advance would not need to be changed, we were grateful. The room was very nice, big, cleaned timely once a day, and had all the necessary accommodations. Good plumbing, beer/soda/coffee restocked daily. Hotel Staff: Maids did good job and were very pleasant. Staff at restaurants spoke fluent English and were very very very good and sometime even excellent. Bartenders did a good job making alcoholic, nonalcoholic and hot beverages. Food: Few restaurants, but the resort is small so it makes sense. The fancy restaurant, Los Murales, was very nice with good food and great service. Most of the entres require an additional fee above and beyond the all inclusive package- that was odd. At every eatery, you must ask for the check, give your room card, and sign a $0.00 check (all inclusive package). The main buffet food was regularly good, not excellent. The menu changed daily for lunch and dinner. Breakfast was on the routine side. The buffet space also works as an a la carte restaurant, good food there for sure. The hotel has 6 house wines - more than most others and they were delicious. Pool/Beach: It was unfortunately windy /raining so we didn't enjoy it as much as we would have liked. An abundance of beach chairs and pool chairs with shade. No complaints. Entertainment: Poor. There were shows on Mon/Wed/Fri. One show was cancelled because theatre is outdoors and there was a downpour. No on attended the night time disco. It may have been the crowd, but there was minimal effort by hotel staff to fun things up. Very nice accommodations, good food, good beach, not too far from Cancun Airport (45min-1hour drive), but on the dull side.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    BN Son In Law
    Colorado
    Jun 1, 2014

    Fun Family Vacation

    Rooms were wonderful, jacuzzi at the balcony was nice. Staff we're very friendly and food was very good.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    RefikandZumreta
    Chicago
    Jun 1, 2014

    great escape

    Great place for family relax. Very, very clean with nice ocean water. All areas are covered. The staff is very friendly. Great food and drinks. Only: it feels not good that for every meal or drink you need to provide the room number and name, so it is like control how much you eat or drink

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Review of The Royal Haciendas Playa del Carmen - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Bobbie L
    Minneapolis, MN
    May 27, 2014

    Wonderful Stay

    We loved staying here. Staff was fantastic, and beach was amazing. Though it was originally a timeshare property (they've recently opened it up for all-inclusive), we didn't feel too pressured to go listen to the 90-minute talk. We enjoyed the food (fish tacos were amazing), the drinks were delicious, and friendliest staff I've encountered. I had a spa, which was very relaxing. The only upsetting part was that my husband reserved a tee-time at the golf course for Friday. He went down (it was a 7am time) and they stated there were no reservations for him. When he talked with the desk, they said they re-scheduled for the next tee-time, but still no shuttle. He waited around for 45 minutes before coming back up to the room, disappointed. Maybe better communication between staff at the hotel and the staff at the golf club house would be more efficient.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Back to menu Return to top

    Change search