$338 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
55 reviews
best vacation ever!

Everything was wonderful! From the super friendly and fun staff, the wide variety of delicious food... See full review

  • Gizzy mom
  • Jul 31, 2014
Great for families!

We had a great time! Everybody was so kind and helpful there! The entertainment team was amazing! See full review

  • Family5 from Florida
  • Jun 7, 2014
All-inclusive property and villa accommodations in Riviera Maya

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen invites holidaymakers to posh beachfront accommodations in Riviera Maya. Aside from enjoying a relaxing day at the beach, holidaymakers also try waverunning, catamaran sailing, kayaking and parasailing at PADI dive center. The hotel also arranges excursions going to Chichen Itza and to dolphin tours and ATV rides. Nightly shows, entertainment and activities are also available for kids and adults on site. Guests also rejuvenate by having a soothing massage and treatment at the The Reef Spa on site.

3 Reasons To Stay

  • Private Jacuzzi in some rooms
  • Villa-type units
  • Tour arrangements

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen has 202 guestrooms housed in 18 villas. All units feature a balcony or terrace. Units have refrigerator, TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, alarm clock, telephone, en suite bathroom with (tub and shower), make-up/shaving mirror, hairdryer, iron/ ironing board and safe deposit box (fees apply). Some villas have a private Jacuzzi in-room.

Things to Do

  • Playacar Golf Club (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Central Square (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pier Navega (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Xplor Theme Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

Hotel Map

20.6126 -87.0857
Area served
Playa de Carmen.
Nearby airports
CUN-Cancun International Airport
Area description
40 miles/ 60kms south of Cancun (45 minutes by car). Address: The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa, Paseo Xaman-Ha, Retorno Sayil, s/n Fracc. Playacar Playa del Carmen,Quintana-Roo Mexico, CP 77710

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Garden View with Balcony
Garden view with balcony: All rooms offer a spectacular garden view, one king size bed or two double beds, air conditioning, private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer, make up mirror, TV, telephone, mini fridge, alarm clock, iron & iron board, safety deposit box ($) and a private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens
Superior Room
Includes the Garden View room plus a bottle of wine upon arrival, a coffee maker, mini-bar stocked daily, bath ropes, upgraded amenities, deposit box free of charge and choice of two a la carte restaurants without surcharge.
Superior Premium Room
Includes the Superior room amenities, plus Access to our new lounge bar on the beach and this room includes premium drinks in all bars of the resort.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Golf
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For further information please contact our Group Manager at groupsales@thereefplayacar.com

Dining

Chula Vista
The main restaurant with 3 a la minute buffet areas for international delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea.
Botticelli
Italian a la carte restaurant: Freshly prepared Italian dishes in an elegant atmosphere with A/C. Dress code: Casual elegance (men: Long pants, shoes and sleeved shirt).
La Terraza Grill
Great variety of grilled mexican dishes prepared on the grill served in very exclusive decorated restaurant with A/C. Reservation required, no limitations. Dress Code: Casual-Elegant Attire. No Shorts. Hours: 18:30 - 22:30
Deli-snack bar
Located in the pool area, close to the beach. Light meals & snacks such as pizzas, burgers, French fries, and chicken wings served from late morning until sunset; A special Mexican Taco Style menu is served from 6 p.m. till 2 a.m.
Ice Cream parlour: Ice Cream Parlor
Enjoy any of our coffee services or a fresh made ice cream delight next to our natural cenote surrounded by lush tropical gardens. Cenote: Enjoy our tea time & special flambed coffees, accompanied by delicious fresh baked cookies and finger sandwiches.
Papo's Bar
A great evening entertainment area for njoying
Azul 48
An attractive swim up bar with a tropical atmosphere.
La Cascada
A welcoming lobby bar decorated in Mediterranean style.
La Chiquita Bar
Beach bar that serves drinks until late afternoon.
Nicos lounge Bar
Exclusive new lounge bar including an ocean view jacuzzi, located on the beach. This bar is available at a surcharge for standard and superior room clients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 55
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Lavi
NYC
Sep 8, 2014

Great !

This hotel is a perfect combination of great location and clean relaxed atmosphere! You can't beat the price and staff was very accommodating. Only con is that the food wasn't up to par besides that I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the restaurant Mi Pueblo!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MD DMC
MEX CITY
Aug 27, 2014

really questioning if i would stay there again.

Didn't help us with staff problem. Booked an amazing trip ended up with an "ok" trip (didn't get money back). They charge extra for everything (even the lock from the security box). Taxi to 5th av 90 PESOS or more. BE PREPARED TO TIP!! thats the only way to get real service. Hotel is really pretty in general, food ok, alcohol not so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Be careful they tend to over charge foreigners

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gizzy mom
Lynchburg, Virginia
Jul 31, 2014

best vacation ever!

Everything was wonderful! From the super friendly and fun staff, the wide variety of delicious food and the stunning location, it was just perfect!! My best friend and I couldn't have had a more perfect vacation. We can't believe what we got for the price!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Know taxi cab fares before you go. Ask hotel staff or research on internet. Confirm price with driver and pay in pesos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
beach traveler and beyond
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 24, 2014

Average

Just got back from a stay at the Reef. The location of this hotel is great. A 10 min walk to downtown which you can do via the beach or use the sidewalks. The staff there was good, but Willy and Felix were AWESOME! The two of them certainly made our stay better! We purchased a premium room, which wasn't needed. However, we did get the option of top shelf liquor, so if that's what your after, go that route. Plus you get to use the bar close to the beach, where Felix was working! The premium package didn't give us that view of the beach we were after, we were towards the back of the hotel, ground level room. The minibar was only stocked with a few pops and one beer per person per day. Though we had to complain twice to get the mini "fridge" stocked with our beer before it finally happened. The food was average. Nothing special. I must admit though, we never stayed at the hotel for dinner, so I cant say anything about their dinners. The beach was amazing! Though, you get that anywhere in Playacar. However, it wasn't packed at this hotel like the other hotels we noticed. Could get a perfect spot basically any time of the day. Overall, this hotel is average. A bit dated and could use some touching up, but its not like we were in the rooms much anyways. Would I stay again? It was all depend of price. It was a perfect hotel for sun, drinks, and going out on the town at night. And the price was right in our range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

10 min walk to town, so many great places to eat on 5th ave. I'd prefer that to eating the buffets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
May 3, 2008

Over Crowded

Stayed at the Reef two times prior to this trip. I must say they were way overbooked and seemed very short staffed. Staff members did not appear to be as friendly as in prior trips. Had to change rooms after the first night due to no air conditioning. Also seems that more and more locals come in on the weekends, way too many kids...... Love the location and the beach that is why we have gone back several times. After this trip though i think i would consider an adults only resort. One suggestion to the Reef, KIDS don't belong in the pool bar, sitting on the stools, i'm talking as little as maybe 1 1/2 year olds while the parents drink and order the KIDS non-alchoholic blender drinks. Accomodations were great once we changed rooms. One more thing seems they run out of certain alchohol quite frequently for long periods of time, like a day and a half on vodka and rum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Short taxi ride into town, about 5 US dollars, fun people watching.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top