$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
52 reviews
best vacation ever!

Everything was wonderful! From the super friendly and fun staff, the wide variety of delicious food... See full review

  • Gizzy mom
  • Jul 31, 2014
Great for families!

We had a great time! Everybody was so kind and helpful there! The entertainment team was amazing! See full review

  • Family5 from Florida
  • Jun 7, 2014
All-inclusive property and villa accommodations in Riviera Maya

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen invites holidaymakers to posh beachfront accommodations in Riviera Maya. Aside from enjoying a relaxing day at the beach, holidaymakers also try waverunning, catamaran sailing, kayaking and parasailing at PADI dive center. The hotel also arranges excursions going to Chichen Itza and to dolphin tours and ATV rides. Nightly shows, entertainment and activities are also available for kids and adults on site. Guests also rejuvenate by having a soothing massage and treatment at the The Reef Spa on site.

3 Reasons to Stay

  • Private Jacuzzi in some rooms
  • Villa-type units
  • Tour arrangements

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen has 202 guestrooms housed in 18 villas. All units feature a balcony or terrace. Units have refrigerator, TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, alarm clock, telephone, en suite bathroom with (tub and shower), make-up/shaving mirror, hairdryer, iron/ ironing board and safe deposit box (fees apply). Some villas have a private Jacuzzi in-room.

Things to Do

  • Playacar Golf Club (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Central Square (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pier Navega (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Xplor Theme Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

Hotel Map

20.6126 -87.0857
Area served
Playa de Carmen.
Nearby airports
CUN-Cancun International Airport
Area description
40 miles/ 60kms south of Cancun (45 minutes by car). Address: The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa, Paseo Xaman-Ha, Retorno Sayil, s/n Fracc. Playacar Playa del Carmen,Quintana-Roo Mexico, CP 77710

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Garden View with Balcony
Garden view with balcony: All rooms offer a spectacular garden view, one king size bed or two double beds, air conditioning, private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer, make up mirror, TV, telephone, mini fridge, alarm clock, iron & iron board, safety deposit box ($) and a private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens
Superior Room
Includes the Garden View room plus a bottle of wine upon arrival, a coffee maker, mini-bar stocked daily, bath ropes, upgraded amenities, deposit box free of charge and choice of two a la carte restaurants without surcharge.
Superior Premium Room
Includes the Superior room amenities, plus Access to our new lounge bar on the beach and this room includes premium drinks in all bars of the resort.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Golf
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For further information please contact our Group Manager at groupsales@thereefplayacar.com

Dining

Chula Vista
The main restaurant with 3 a la minute buffet areas for international delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea.
Botticelli
Italian a la carte restaurant: Freshly prepared Italian dishes in an elegant atmosphere with A/C. Dress code: Casual elegance (men: Long pants, shoes and sleeved shirt).
La Terraza Grill
Great variety of grilled mexican dishes prepared on the grill served in very exclusive decorated restaurant with A/C. Reservation required, no limitations. Dress Code: Casual-Elegant Attire. No Shorts. Hours: 18:30 - 22:30
Deli-snack bar
Located in the pool area, close to the beach. Light meals & snacks such as pizzas, burgers, French fries, and chicken wings served from late morning until sunset; A special Mexican Taco Style menu is served from 6 p.m. till 2 a.m.
Ice Cream parlour: Ice Cream Parlor
Enjoy any of our coffee services or a fresh made ice cream delight next to our natural cenote surrounded by lush tropical gardens. Cenote: Enjoy our tea time & special flambed coffees, accompanied by delicious fresh baked cookies and finger sandwiches.
Papo's Bar
A great evening entertainment area for njoying
Azul 48
An attractive swim up bar with a tropical atmosphere.
La Cascada
A welcoming lobby bar decorated in Mediterranean style.
La Chiquita Bar
Beach bar that serves drinks until late afternoon.
Nicos lounge Bar
Exclusive new lounge bar including an ocean view jacuzzi, located on the beach. This bar is available at a surcharge for standard and superior room clients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
oneguy
Atlanta, Georgia
Aug 6, 2014

niceguy

I should have believed some of the other reviews. The hotel is definitely in need of repair. The room is not that bad but the food is not good. Coming from a non picky family, that is saying a lot. Everything is cooked / fried with lots of oil, and butter (not good for the stomach). The Italian restaurant was alright but nothing to boast about. Drinks at the bar are very watered down and bar is not staffed accordingly. Too bad this place is located on a beautiful beach and water is very clear. If you are thinking of this place for your vacation, spend a little more money and find another place at Playa Del Carmen. The beach is definitely nice just not the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gizzy mom
Lynchburg, Virginia
Jul 31, 2014

best vacation ever!

Everything was wonderful! From the super friendly and fun staff, the wide variety of delicious food and the stunning location, it was just perfect!! My best friend and I couldn't have had a more perfect vacation. We can't believe what we got for the price!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Know taxi cab fares before you go. Ask hotel staff or research on internet. Confirm price with driver and pay in pesos.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MtnGatty
Colorado
Jul 26, 2014

Great Couples Getaway!

We recently stayed four nights at this property and it exceeded our expectations. The room was super clean, the staff very friendly and the overall experience amazing. The food was fine and we found the two restaurants had amazing dinners. We were a little skeptical based on the great price, but our worries subsided upon arrival. We are already planning a trip back next summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OMFO
Dallas Texas
Jul 7, 2014

Food

No variety and they were always out of everithing, for example on the restaurants thjat requires reservation you would order a la carte and the only has one or two things to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vernalequinox
Atlanta, Georgia
Jul 5, 2014

Considering the price paid, it is average overall.

Staff: They are helpful and always smiling Room: Old but kept clean during our stay. Amenities: Average comparing to other hotels Location: Convenient as it is 10-15 minutes walking distance to Playa Del Carmen. Food: Weak! Variety and food quality in buffet is not enough and good. Even snack bar is better than buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

1.) Do your shopping at local sellers. Local sellers have lower prices and authentic souvenirs. For instance, we found some authentic goods for a low price at Chichen Itza. 2.) Always bargain on the price. Mostly, offer around 20%-40% of the prices given by the sellers. Sellers highly overprice the goods. 3.) I do not recommend shopping for souvenirs at cities. First they are mass produced overpriced cheap things. Second, they overcharge you, therefore, if you do shopping at cities, check prices at different before you buy and bargain on the price. 4.) Always use pesos since taxi drivers, restaurants, store owners etc. uses 1 to 10 conversion US dollars to pesos but it is around 1 to 13 if you withdraw pesos from ATMs.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Texas Mommy
Austin, TX
Jun 26, 2014

Poo made it dirty!

Don't buy the transportation. It is a rip off. You over pay for what ends up being a one way service. Just grab a taxi at the airport. On two occasions I heard the hotel staff talking about me with Spanish speaking guests. I understand more Spanish than I speak. I did try to speak in Spanish and they made fun of me for it. That was unappreciated. When we arrived, the toilet was broken and had to be replaced. They must have used the sink when replacing it because the sink was filthy! Whenever the toilet was flushed, it smelled like sewage. The main swimming pool with the kiddie pool and swim up bar was dirty the entire time and I never saw it get cleaned once. Someone pooped in the pool. The hotel employees were told, but the pool was neither cleaned nor closed. Must have upgraded gold bracelet to sit in certain areas even if no guests are there, eat at certain restaurants, order even water at the premium bars or drink premium liquor. They consistently ran out of food and drinks. They do not offer room service unless you are a member, but membership cost 30k-50k depending on package. Towels and toiletries are not consistently provided. The rooms are small and uncomfortable. The beds are hard. The tv is small for how far away from the bed it is placed. The tv programs are mainly in Spanish. I would find 1 tv program each day in English. WiFi constantly crashes. It takes a while to send an email and is too slow to stream movies from netflix. The hotel is all inclusive but not really as there are many things you have to pay extra for. For example the Italian restaurant is all inclusive, but the left hand side of menu is all inclusive and the right side costs extra. At the front lobby bar, nespresso coffee is offered for a price even with the upgraded gold bracelet. Also, the front lobby bar has the same cookies as does the all inclusive buffet restaurant, but the front lobby bar will only give you a cookie if you buy the nespresso coffee. The concierge does NOT have to explain your all inclusive package, they just want to pitch you to "help" them out by attending a presentation the next morning. The presentation is a timeshare sales pitch to become members of their hotel. It takes 2 hours of your time, but in exchange they will give you 2-40 minute massage vouchers to be used at their hotel spa. My spouse and I both attended. Not sure how many vouchers you get for a single person. They promise 45 minute massage, but they write it up as 40 minutes and you get 40 minutes. Last but not least the man working the excursion office lied to us about our excursion. We overpaid and were not able to participate in half of it. We asked the right questions, but he lied to our faces.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book at a different hotel!

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family5 from Florida
Weston, FL
Jun 7, 2014

Great for families!

We had a great time! Everybody was so kind and helpful there! The entertainment team was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Salma Dog lover.
Denver, CO
Jun 2, 2014

La Prisienne

The bathrooms need to be updated - Very old and moldy. Jonathan at the front desk needs to learn how to smile. Not friendly. When I told him about my first room, uncomfortable, noisy, facing the parking a lot, and getting fumes from the balcony he told me that he can update the room for me for an extra $ 30.00 when I paid alsmost $ 1700.00 for this trip. Then I was charged for the safe and I had to carry with me all the time the stupid key. Was afraid to loose it swimming. Finally an other person offered me another room first floor but at night I had a lot of visitors "raccoons" couldn't use my patio. At 7:00 am construction started on the roof. Couldn't sleep late and couldn't nap after lunch because it was hot to stay at the beach. The staff at the restaurant and beach are very nice and polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Didn't use any

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meister knows
Chicago
May 29, 2014

OUTSTANDING VACATION

We loved this place, it's location and the staff, who were simply outstanding, friendly and happy allll the time! is really close to downtown Playa.It's in a gated community so feel more secluded. Property is surrounded w/trees which is cool. Coffee bar at 4pm is a must do, tacos @snackbar from 10p to 2am is a blessing. Other resorts should do this! David, Nayeli, Paulino (smiley)' , Amburto, Oscar and many others were awesome. Met some new friends who we r still in contact with. A must see! Upgrade for a little more, it's worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown (5th ave) walk the sidewalk or beach about 10 min. Cab $7bucks. The other direction walking the sidewalk about 5 min but there is absolutely no harassment and they have exactly same things as downtown, just no restaurants.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikeyfish
Colorado Springs, CO
May 22, 2014

Beach Haven

The Reef Playacar is just the right size for us. Not to big but large enough to offer everything a larger resort would. the beaches are fantastic allowing you to walk several miles on each side of the resort,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search