$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
59 reviews
best vacation ever!

Everything was wonderful! From the super friendly and fun staff, the wide variety of delicious food... See full review

  • Gizzy mom
  • Jul 31, 2014
Great for families!

We had a great time! Everybody was so kind and helpful there! The entertainment team was amazing! See full review

  • Family5 from Florida
  • Jun 7, 2014
All-inclusive property and villa accommodations in Riviera Maya

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen invites holidaymakers to posh beachfront accommodations in Riviera Maya. Aside from enjoying a relaxing day at the beach, holidaymakers also try waverunning, catamaran sailing, kayaking and parasailing at PADI dive center. The hotel also arranges excursions going to Chichen Itza and to dolphin tours and ATV rides. Nightly shows, entertainment and activities are also available for kids and adults on site. Guests also rejuvenate by having a soothing massage and treatment at the The Reef Spa on site. The famous 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen is close to the hotel.

3 Reasons To Stay

  • Steps away from 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen
  • Playacar Golf Club across the street
  • Beachfront spaces

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen has 202 guestrooms housed in 18 villas. All units feature a balcony or terrace. Units have refrigerator, TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, alarm clock, telephone, en suite bathroom with (tub and shower), make-up/shaving mirror, hairdryer, iron/ ironing board and safe deposit box (fees apply).

Things to Do

  • Playacar Golf Club (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Central Square (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pier Navega (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Xplor Theme Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Garden View with Balcony
Amenities:
  • Spectacular garden view.
  • One king size bed or two double beds.
  • Air conditioning.
  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.
  • 32 inch LCD TV.
  • Telephone.
  • Mini Fridge.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Iron & iron board, safety.
  • Deposit Box ($).
  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Includes:
    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, Choice of various bars, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports including kayaks, paddle boards, boogie boards, snorkel equipment & scuba dive demo.
    Superior Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Garden View room amenities, plus extra:
  • Bottle of wine upon arrival.
  • Coffee maker in the room.
  • Bath ropes & upgraded bath room amenities.
  • Safety deposit box free of charge .
  • Choice of two a la carte restaurants without surcharge.
  • 25% discount coupon for the spa .
  • Premium Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Superior Room amenities, plus extra:
  • Access to our new lounge bar on the beach.
  • Premium drinks in all bars.
  • WiFi.
  • Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Golf
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Parking
    Free parking

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    For further information please contact The Reef Playacar Group Manager

    Dining

    Cenote
    Enjoy tea time with a tropical twist in this charming outdoor cafe serving tea, flambed coffees, fresh-baked cookies and finger sandwiches. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Chula Vista
    Overlooking the Caribbean, our main buffet restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dress Code: Not allowed to be wet, without a shirt or barefoot. Open 6:30 - 11 am, 12:30 - 3 pm, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    Botticelli
    This elegant, air-conditioned restaurant with outdoor terrace with ocean view offers an a la carte menu of fresh Italian favorites. Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    La Terraza Grill
    Dine indoors in air-conditioned comfort or on the elegant outdoor terrace of Terraza Grill, our gourmet restaurant. $6 surcharge (free with superior and superior premium room). Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner only, 6:30 - 10:30 pm. This restaurant is included in the superior and premium room type. There is a surcharge per person per dinner for the standard room type.
    Deli-snack bar
    Located in the pool area, this breezy spot overlooking the beach serves burgers, pizza, chicken wings and other snacks. A special Mexican Taco Style menu is served from 6 p.m. till 2 a.m. Open 11 am - 7 pm, 10:30 pm - 2 am.
    Ice Cream parlour: Ice Cream Parlor
    A favorite later afternoon spot for coffee and ice cream, the outdoor eatery overlooks lush tropical gardens and a natural cenote. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Papo's Bar
    A relaxed atmosphere and friendly bartenders make this a favorite evening stop. Open 6 pm - 2 am
    Azul 48
    Our swim-up pool bar serves ice-cold beer, tropical drinks and non-alcoholic beverages. Open 10 am - 6 pm
    La Cascada
    A relaxing spot in the lobby to enjoy a cocktail almost any time of day. Open 12 pm - 10 pm
    La Chiquita Bar
    Bordering the beach, this sunny and relaxing retreat opens early and serves cocktails until sundown. Open 10 am - 5:30 pm

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (59)

    Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Overall score

    3.8 / 5
    5.01.0
    59 out of 59
    Amenities:
    3.8
    Room cleanliness:
    4.1
    Hotel staff:
    4.1
    Room comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    3.9

    75% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Barbara Demetz
    Business
    Boise, idaho
    Nov 28, 2014

    Beautiful beach, sand and water!

    We have been to Mexico several times, but this was the less enjoyable vacation we had. We were a party of 11 (family and friends), 9 of us got sick, and so we heard many other guests at the hotel. We all think it came from the food (a bacteria or virus). Our complains were heard but no action was taken. Speaking with other guests nobody felt like they would come back. Nether will we, the custom service was bad, the interest in our wellbeing ignored.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Coba and Cenote

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Camelbak
    Business
    Texas
    Nov 19, 2014

    Summer Vacation

    Staff is beyond great! The bartenders are friendly and everyone makes you feel at home. Amenities at hotel could be better, the beds are a little hard and the bathroom needed a little remodeling. You usually don't spend a lot of time in your room anyway but it could have used a little help. The swimming pool, the Italian restaurant and buffet restaurant were good. The best part is that the beach is a few steps away and that takes away any bad amenity there is... The ocean is beautiful and perfect!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Wife with kids
    Business
    North Hollywood, California
    Nov 17, 2014

    Cozy hotel for family to enjoy- needs to improve cleanliness

    This was a family reunion vacation. There was a total of 20 of us. We all arrived at different times. 3 of us reserved King sized bedrooms but only one got what was reserved. I traveled with my husband, mom and kids and had asked for connecting rooms or a room close to each other. That didn't happen. Fortunately, the next day a room with a king sized bed became available right next door. I want to point out that this happened because I followed up. There was no initiative from the staff to make sure it happened. The concierge staff was not welcoming as in other hotels that we've stayed on previous vacations. I gave a rate of 4 because the other staff provided an excellent service. The exterior of the hotel is beautiful. It's a small hotel but super cozy. The rooms are dated and housekeeping needs to do a better job in cleaning the rooms and making sure they wash the bedding daily. There is a lot of humidity and so everything felt and smelled wet so changing out the sheets daily should be a must. The pool and exterior was always clean. The beach is beautiful and part of the hotel. The food was delicious but the menu doesn't really change. I loves the daily shows and performances. There is activities that everyone can enjoy. They have a kids club for the kiddies and adult activities like club outings, bars. I was really happy that there was something for everyone. For me, I don't mind that the rooms were dated but cleanliness is a MUST. They need to improve and make sure that rooms are cleaned and sheets are changed I. Not daily at least every other day.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    If you're a family of 4 or more and plan on doing activities I would strongly recommend that you rent a car. Otherwise your money will go on TAXI. It gets really pricey.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    RoadTripTraveler
    Business
    Houston, Texas, EEUU
    Oct 31, 2014

    Nice place in The middle of the rainforest.

    The hotel has beautiful gardens who actually is parts of the rainforest the rooms are not awesome and the staff.... Let's say average you find really fun people like the bartenders and not so fine like the security... But really nice place to stay, the beach was perfect, and the pools were fine, some of the bars are closing early and you have to walk a lot to another bar if you want to get more to drink, only two beers at the room per day.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Miss Lavi
    Business
    NYC
    Sep 8, 2014

    Great !

    This hotel is a perfect combination of great location and clean relaxed atmosphere! You can't beat the price and staff was very accommodating. Only con is that the food wasn't up to par besides that I would stay here again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Eat at the restaurant Mi Pueblo!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    dgqlink
    Business
    ct
    Sep 7, 2014

    family vacation.

    I stayed at the reef the first week of September. Bottom line, the place is located in a lovely beach and the grounds are clean. I enjoyed my trip for the most part and would recommend it to a friend. The only thing that vexed me was that you had to pay extra to eat at the Mexican restaurant and could not access a bar unless you paid extra. Also one more tip, I am bilingual in Spanish and English , but I suggest speaking to them in English because you will get better treatment. For some odd reason when I approached staff in Spanish I would be treated like I was second class. Finally, tip the bartenders on occasion, it goes a long way.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Take the ado bus from airport to 5 th ave..and than taxi to hotel.it will save you about 100 dollars

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    RM370
    Business
    Illinois
    Sep 4, 2014

    Reef Playacar

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful location. Definitely will return.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    MD DMC
    Business
    MEX CITY
    Aug 27, 2014

    really questioning if i would stay there again.

    Didn't help us with staff problem. Booked an amazing trip ended up with an "ok" trip (didn't get money back). They charge extra for everything (even the lock from the security box). Taxi to 5th av 90 PESOS or more. BE PREPARED TO TIP!! thats the only way to get real service. Hotel is really pretty in general, food ok, alcohol not so good.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

    Be careful they tend to over charge foreigners

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    oneguy
    Business
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Aug 6, 2014

    niceguy

    I should have believed some of the other reviews. The hotel is definitely in need of repair. The room is not that bad but the food is not good. Coming from a non picky family, that is saying a lot. Everything is cooked / fried with lots of oil, and butter (not good for the stomach). The Italian restaurant was alright but nothing to boast about. Drinks at the bar are very watered down and bar is not staffed accordingly. Too bad this place is located on a beautiful beach and water is very clear. If you are thinking of this place for your vacation, spend a little more money and find another place at Playa Del Carmen. The beach is definitely nice just not the Hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Gizzy mom
    Business
    Lynchburg, Virginia
    Jul 31, 2014

    best vacation ever!

    Everything was wonderful! From the super friendly and fun staff, the wide variety of delicious food and the stunning location, it was just perfect!! My best friend and I couldn't have had a more perfect vacation. We can't believe what we got for the price!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Know taxi cab fares before you go. Ask hotel staff or research on internet. Confirm price with driver and pay in pesos.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top