$310 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 24, 2015 Check-out: Mar 27, 2015

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
64 reviews
Great girls getaway

Hotel was great, not a huge resort if thats what you are looking for but defiantly has all you need... See full review

  • Brianna P.
  • Dec 23, 2014
best vacation ever!

Everything was wonderful! From the super friendly and fun staff, the wide variety of delicious food... See full review

  • Gizzy mom
  • Jul 31, 2014
All-inclusive property and villa accommodations in Riviera Maya

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen invites holidaymakers to posh beachfront accommodations in Riviera Maya. Aside from enjoying a relaxing day at the beach, holidaymakers also try waverunning, catamaran sailing, kayaking and parasailing at PADI dive center. The hotel also arranges excursions going to Chichen Itza and to dolphin tours and ATV rides. Nightly shows, entertainment and activities are also available for kids and adults on site. Guests also rejuvenate by having a soothing massage and treatment at the The Reef Spa on site. The famous 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen is close to the hotel.

3 Reasons To Stay

  • Steps away from 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen
  • Playacar Golf Club across the street
  • Beachfront spaces

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen has 202 guestrooms housed in 18 villas. All units feature a balcony or terrace. Units have refrigerator, TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, alarm clock, telephone, en suite bathroom with (tub and shower), make-up/shaving mirror, hairdryer, iron/ ironing board and safe deposit box (fees apply).

Things to Do

  • Playacar Golf Club (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Central Square (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pier Navega (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Xplor Theme Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Garden View with Balcony
Amenities:
  • Spectacular garden view.
  • One king size bed or two double beds.
  • Air conditioning.
  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.
  • 32 inch LCD TV.
  • Telephone.
  • Mini Fridge.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Iron & iron board, safety.
  • Deposit Box ($).
  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Includes:
    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, Choice of various bars, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports including kayaks, paddle boards, boogie boards, snorkel equipment & scuba dive demo.
    Superior Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Garden View room amenities, plus extra:
  • Bottle of wine upon arrival.
  • Coffee maker in the room.
  • Bath ropes & upgraded bath room amenities.
  • Safety deposit box free of charge .
  • Choice of two a la carte restaurants without surcharge.
  • 25% discount coupon for the spa .
  • Premium Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Superior Room amenities, plus extra:
  • Access to our new lounge bar on the beach.
  • Premium drinks in all bars.
  • WiFi.
  • Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Golf
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Parking
    Free parking

    Dining

    Cenote
    Enjoy tea time with a tropical twist in this charming outdoor cafe serving tea, flambed coffees, fresh-baked cookies and finger sandwiches. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Chula Vista
    Overlooking the Caribbean, our main buffet restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dress Code: Not allowed to be wet, without a shirt or barefoot. Open 6:30 - 11 am, 12:30 - 3 pm, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    Botticelli
    This elegant, air-conditioned restaurant with outdoor terrace with ocean view offers an a la carte menu of fresh Italian favorites. Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    La Terraza Grill
    Dine indoors in air-conditioned comfort or on the elegant outdoor terrace of Terraza Grill, our gourmet restaurant. $6 surcharge (free with superior and superior premium room). Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner only, 6:30 - 10:30 pm. This restaurant is included in the superior and premium room type. There is a surcharge per person per dinner for the standard room type.
    Deli-snack bar
    Located in the pool area, this breezy spot overlooking the beach serves burgers, pizza, chicken wings and other snacks. A special Mexican Taco Style menu is served from 6 p.m. till 2 a.m. Open 11 am - 7 pm, 10:30 pm - 2 am.
    Ice Cream parlour: Ice Cream Parlor
    A favorite later afternoon spot for coffee and ice cream, the outdoor eatery overlooks lush tropical gardens and a natural cenote. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Papo's Bar
    A relaxed atmosphere and friendly bartenders make this a favorite evening stop. Open 6 pm - 2 am
    Azul 48
    Our swim-up pool bar serves ice-cold beer, tropical drinks and non-alcoholic beverages. Open 10 am - 6 pm
    La Cascada
    A relaxing spot in the lobby to enjoy a cocktail almost any time of day. Open 12 pm - 10 pm
    La Chiquita Bar
    Bordering the beach, this sunny and relaxing retreat opens early and serves cocktails until sundown. Open 10 am - 5:30 pm

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    For further information please contact The Reef Playacar Group Manager

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (64)

    Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Overall score

    3.9 / 5
    5.01.0
    35 out of 64
    Amenities:
    3.9
    Cleanliness:
    4.1
    Hotel staff:
    4.1
    Comfort:
    3.9
    Location:
    4.4
    Value:
    4

    77% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Dallas, TX
    Dec 2, 2007

    do you like high pressure sales propaganda on timeshares?

    the food was like an imitation of good food...a poor imitation.because of the jungle like environment in the middle where you have to walk to get to your room....it was really muggy and humid..they will try to sell you timeshares and waste a day of your vacation.the all inclusive doesn't include a lot of things like the 2 dollar a day lock rental for the safe in the room.or the 5 dollar bottle of water.the mini fridge in the room is not stocked.there was no life at the hotel after 5pm.the taxi charges you 5 dollars to take you the annoyingly short distance to town..15 minute walk...they didn't have enough towels in the bathroom. i could write a book about this hotel..the light fell apart above the bed.the air conditioner made a horrible noise...otherwise it was a great hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    I love to travel!
    Business
    Chicago, IL.
    Mar 11, 2009

    Not so good....

    The Reef was a bit more expensive than our last Mexico all-inclusive trip however it was not worth it. The hotel itself had a cool setup-the rooms were in seperate villas among some lush foliage and whatnot around the grounds. There were also a couple pools with a staggering area with beach beds and chairs. The beds were exceptionally wonderful and by the far the highlight of this place. The staff was not as friendly as what I have encountered in Mexico before. They weren't very entertaining nor were they very nice. The room is dark and small and the bed is SO uncomfortable so after a couple days we "upgraded" to a suite which had a private balcony and jacuzzi and a nice bed, etc. We paid an extra $400 for the new room for the last few days of our stay. The jacuzzi did not work and was disgusting looking the whole time we were in there. We complained 3 times to the manager and he said he would have it fixed, he supposedly did, but it wasn't fixed. We ended up leaving before it could get resolved and after getting home I had to call the hotel numerous times to speak to the manager about a refund for the supposed "upgraded" room. I was always told he was unavailable and would call me back, and he never did. We ended up filing a dispute with Visa and recouped our money that way. Very disappointing. The food here was okay, not too many options and the quality was standard. My boyfriend ended up getting sick the last 2 days here, we were very careful with the water, so it must have been something else. I would not recommend the Reef to anyone though, I would have rather paid a bit more elsewhere and had a piece of mind than saved a few bucks and settled for this place.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: In Hotel

    Money saver tip-Save YOUR money and DO NOT stay at the Reef!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    CARRIE
    Business
    CHicago
    Jan 20, 2015

    Relaxing and wonderful

    Hello I loved the hotel, but the only problem was I could not get an unlimited supply of bottled water while there. I don't drink much alcohol and prefer water during the day. I don't like drinking tap water.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    USA
    Jan 1, 2009

    Not Worth the Price

    The Reef Playacar is not worth staying at. The rooms are plain and not very inviting. There wasn't a good variety of food offered on the buffets. Furthermore, neither the Mexican Grill or the Italian Restaurant are worth going to. The food was not good. The outside of the resort is very pretty and the staff at the resort were very kind.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    5th Avenue is a great place to shop and it's only a 15 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi ride away.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    the flaming taco
    Business
    pittsburgh,pa
    Jun 10, 2013

    great location-facility a little dated

    The first room we where given was in a not renovated building, not good at all. Gap in the window frame of the bathroom window, mildew in the grout of the floor tile, 2nd night there had a torrential downpour outside woke up to 1/2" of water on floor. Vita the manager was great !! gave us a upgraded room at no charge, 2nd room was awesome location is good if you walk down to the beach and look to the left you can see a ferry dock, that is where 5th avenue begin, its about a 15 minute walk. if you walk to the right you go past about 5 or 6 resorts then there is a area not developed with natural beachfront and vegetation, really nice to see. if you go out the front door and make a left there is a shopping area about 5 minutes walk with a Starbucks you can get WiFi there with a purchase. WiFi cost $15 a day at resort. we took no Pesos everybody takes USD, everything pretty much is priced in USD, Euros, and pesos. 2 pools top one has swim up bar, nice beach in front of resort. This resort is small so not a lot of amenities a larger resort would have. Staff very nice and they worked very hard. Buffet OK, sometimes stuff was not warm, sometimes could find no glasses for drinks, decent variety and quality. Would not go back again not for an one reason, just would spend a little more and go to a nicer place

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    be prepared when you go to 5th avenue, you will be bombarded with people wanting you to go into there stores, They know where you are staying by your wristband so people will come up to you and say they work at your resort, come look at my stuff, we had 3 people do this in one afternoon, overall it is safe to go there though

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Kmill
    Business
    ILL.
    Nov 8, 2013

    Good deal for the money

    The grounds are very tropical and pretty.. The rooms were ok. We did have a few ants and bugs over the 11 days we stayed. The AC quit working the last day, but they fixed it right away. For an all-Inclusive, they nickel and dime you on several things. The beach is great! Lots of walking to get around..the food was good, but could have been hotter..good variety..the wait staff in the dining area was very helpful and friendly. The front desk help was very unfriendly and not helpful. The bellboys were very friendly. It worked for our needs, but doubt that we return for a second visit....

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    wallingford
    May 25, 2008

    Nice outdoors, Room had problems

    The Reef Playacar was overall ok. There are nicer places out there for the same price. We had problems with our room from the start... the bathroom ceiling leaked when we flushed or showered. We had a resident lizard in the room that seemed to enter & exit as he pleased through a window that was permanently unlocked because it was broken. The A/C broke and after a 6 hour ordeal with maintenance, we had to get a new room. The AC in the new room worked great, but the room decor was tacky in comparison to the previous room, which was very chic & relaxing. I think if it wasn't for all the problems with our room, I really would have loved this resort. The outdoor areas - swim up poolbar, regular pool, palm tree shaded lounge chairs, and beach were all very nice. The beach was actually quite beautiful and the water was warm & clear. There are sandbags offshore to prevent further beach erosion, but they are far enough away that you still have plenty of swimming space. The buffet dinner was standard. The restaurants offered excellent meals though. We especially enjoyed dinner at the Mexican restaurant. Had we known it was so good, we would have dined there more often. There's an ice cream parlor open in the afternoons to cool off a bit. The ice cream is much like italian gelato and we really enjoyed it.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Ruins at Tulum were impressive! Disappointing at XelHa - we didn't see too many fish snorkeling - also have natural lazy river, cliff diving, snorkel, & caves. The ticket in Xel-Ha is all inclusive so food & beverages are included.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Northern Iowa
    Apr 25, 2009

    Reef Playacar

    Hotel was okay, restaurants were very predictable and never changed their menus. Got very bored with the food. Lots of noisy neighbors who came in at night - had to call security more than once.....

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    vernalequinox
    Business
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Jul 5, 2014

    Considering the price paid, it is average overall.

    Staff: They are helpful and always smiling Room: Old but kept clean during our stay. Amenities: Average comparing to other hotels Location: Convenient as it is 10-15 minutes walking distance to Playa Del Carmen. Food: Weak! Variety and food quality in buffet is not enough and good. Even snack bar is better than buffet.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Not Applicable

    1.) Do your shopping at local sellers. Local sellers have lower prices and authentic souvenirs. For instance, we found some authentic goods for a low price at Chichen Itza. 2.) Always bargain on the price. Mostly, offer around 20%-40% of the prices given by the sellers. Sellers highly overprice the goods. 3.) I do not recommend shopping for souvenirs at cities. First they are mass produced overpriced cheap things. Second, they overcharge you, therefore, if you do shopping at cities, check prices at different before you buy and bargain on the price. 4.) Always use pesos since taxi drivers, restaurants, store owners etc. uses 1 to 10 conversion US dollars to pesos but it is around 1 to 13 if you withdraw pesos from ATMs.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    josegonma
    Business
    Merida, Yucatan
    Oct 14, 2013

    Excellent

    No comments, all was perfect, in special all the staff, the barmans, the waithers, entertainment, everything was so good

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top