$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
60 reviews
Great girls getaway

Hotel was great, not a huge resort if thats what you are looking for but defiantly has all you need... See full review

  • Brianna P.
  • Dec 23, 2014
best vacation ever!

Everything was wonderful! From the super friendly and fun staff, the wide variety of delicious food... See full review

  • Gizzy mom
  • Jul 31, 2014
All-inclusive property and villa accommodations in Riviera Maya

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen invites holidaymakers to posh beachfront accommodations in Riviera Maya. Aside from enjoying a relaxing day at the beach, holidaymakers also try waverunning, catamaran sailing, kayaking and parasailing at PADI dive center. The hotel also arranges excursions going to Chichen Itza and to dolphin tours and ATV rides. Nightly shows, entertainment and activities are also available for kids and adults on site. Guests also rejuvenate by having a soothing massage and treatment at the The Reef Spa on site. The famous 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen is close to the hotel.

3 Reasons To Stay

  • Steps away from 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen
  • Playacar Golf Club across the street
  • Beachfront spaces

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen has 202 guestrooms housed in 18 villas. All units feature a balcony or terrace. Units have refrigerator, TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, alarm clock, telephone, en suite bathroom with (tub and shower), make-up/shaving mirror, hairdryer, iron/ ironing board and safe deposit box (fees apply).

Things to Do

  • Playacar Golf Club (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Central Square (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pier Navega (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Xplor Theme Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Garden View with Balcony
Amenities:
  • Spectacular garden view.
  • One king size bed or two double beds.
  • Air conditioning.
  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.
  • 32 inch LCD TV.
  • Telephone.
  • Mini Fridge.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Iron & iron board, safety.
  • Deposit Box ($).
  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Includes:
    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, Choice of various bars, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports including kayaks, paddle boards, boogie boards, snorkel equipment & scuba dive demo.
    Superior Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Garden View room amenities, plus extra:
  • Bottle of wine upon arrival.
  • Coffee maker in the room.
  • Bath ropes & upgraded bath room amenities.
  • Safety deposit box free of charge .
  • Choice of two a la carte restaurants without surcharge.
  • 25% discount coupon for the spa .
  • Premium Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Superior Room amenities, plus extra:
  • Access to our new lounge bar on the beach.
  • Premium drinks in all bars.
  • WiFi.
  • Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Golf
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Parking
    Free parking

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    For further information please contact The Reef Playacar Group Manager

    Dining

    Cenote
    Enjoy tea time with a tropical twist in this charming outdoor cafe serving tea, flambed coffees, fresh-baked cookies and finger sandwiches. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Chula Vista
    Overlooking the Caribbean, our main buffet restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dress Code: Not allowed to be wet, without a shirt or barefoot. Open 6:30 - 11 am, 12:30 - 3 pm, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    Botticelli
    This elegant, air-conditioned restaurant with outdoor terrace with ocean view offers an a la carte menu of fresh Italian favorites. Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    La Terraza Grill
    Dine indoors in air-conditioned comfort or on the elegant outdoor terrace of Terraza Grill, our gourmet restaurant. $6 surcharge (free with superior and superior premium room). Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner only, 6:30 - 10:30 pm. This restaurant is included in the superior and premium room type. There is a surcharge per person per dinner for the standard room type.
    Deli-snack bar
    Located in the pool area, this breezy spot overlooking the beach serves burgers, pizza, chicken wings and other snacks. A special Mexican Taco Style menu is served from 6 p.m. till 2 a.m. Open 11 am - 7 pm, 10:30 pm - 2 am.
    Ice Cream parlour: Ice Cream Parlor
    A favorite later afternoon spot for coffee and ice cream, the outdoor eatery overlooks lush tropical gardens and a natural cenote. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Papo's Bar
    A relaxed atmosphere and friendly bartenders make this a favorite evening stop. Open 6 pm - 2 am
    Azul 48
    Our swim-up pool bar serves ice-cold beer, tropical drinks and non-alcoholic beverages. Open 10 am - 6 pm
    La Cascada
    A relaxing spot in the lobby to enjoy a cocktail almost any time of day. Open 12 pm - 10 pm
    La Chiquita Bar
    Bordering the beach, this sunny and relaxing retreat opens early and serves cocktails until sundown. Open 10 am - 5:30 pm

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (60)

    Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Overall score

    3.8 / 5
    5.01.0
    60 out of 60
    Amenities:
    3.8
    Room cleanliness:
    4.2
    Hotel staff:
    4.1
    Room comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    3.9

    75% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    college student and beau
    Business
    Minneapolis, MN
    Apr 22, 2009

    nice resort, beautiful scenery, bad food

    This resort was very impressive from first glance- offered nice clean rooms with balcony, jacuzzi; 3 bars, 2 pools, 2 restaurants and a buffet; very cheap! But when you look closer, as in stay there, you see that their food is terrible and preparation methods unsafe- myself and my travel partner both got sick on different days with food poisoning and it seemed to be the talk of the resort that others were experiencing the same thing. i don't know how many people I talked to that were up the night before with diarrhea and vomiting the entire night and feeling very ill the day after. I think I counted about 50 that I talked to alone. I called the front desk and the man assured me it wasn't from the food and that he hadn't received any other complaints and would I like him to call a doctor? Only to find out 3 people went to the hospital with similar symptoms that night! Not impressed....

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

    about a mile down the road is 5th avenue which was nice for shopping and restaurant.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Rochester, NY
    Apr 14, 2008

    Good Value

    The hotel was a good experience. This was our first all-inclusive vacation. The Hotel is also starting to try to push Membership (Timeshare). Don't waste your time!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    If you walk out of the hotel and take a left there is a small shopping area about 1/4 to a 1/2 mile down on the right if you need small items or would like to have drinks or snacks for your room that is alot cheaper than the store at the hotel and they take dollars or pecos.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Grand Junction
    Sep 2, 2008

    Great little gem

    The PlayCar Reef was just what we were looking for. Quit,quant atmosphere. The beach was very nice. There is a ferry to Cozumel about a 3 minute car ride away from the hotel that we took. The food was great. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help. We had a great time. Be Aware everyone is trying to sell a time share.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    About five minutes from hotel.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Buffalo, NY
    Apr 22, 2008

    Very Friendly

    Staff was very friendly. Rooms were clean. Food was good. Entertainment was mediocre. It was great that it was only a 15 minute walk into Playa De Carmen. Even though we could get filtered water by the glass, didn't like that you had to pay for the bottled water. Also would have liked that there was a bar open at each side of the resort at the same time. Sometimes if we wanted to stay by the beach we had to go to the lounge/front of the hotel to get drinks. On the whole, the family and I enjoyed it.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Shopping was a short walk away from the hotel. Felt very comfortable/safe walking to town.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Feb 9, 2008

    Good value for the money

    The Reef is in a very beautiful jungle setting and has the best beach in the vicinity. The rooms were nice and clean and the beds were VERY firm. The pools were a bit cool for our liking, but were well maintained and beautiful. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food in the buffet was plentiful and there was a good variety. Quality of food was good to very good. We ate dinner in the Mexican restaurant only one evening due to having to make reservations at a certain time of day. Most of the time we were away on excursions during reservation hours so we missed out. Not a big deal as we found more than enough to eat in the buffet and the snack bar. The drinks were a bit disappointing as the alcohol did not seem to be full strength and the beer was from a keg and mostly warm. Bar tenders were very nice and tried to be accomadating. Overall, we felt that we got our moneys worth at The Reef and would reccommend it to friends with a warning about the consierge upon check-in.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Shopping and GREAT dining are just a 15 minute walk to 5th Avenue or a short taxi ride.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    MtnGatty
    Business
    Colorado
    Jul 26, 2014

    Great Couples Getaway!

    We recently stayed four nights at this property and it exceeded our expectations. The room was super clean, the staff very friendly and the overall experience amazing. The food was fine and we found the two restaurants had amazing dinners. We were a little skeptical based on the great price, but our worries subsided upon arrival. We are already planning a trip back next summer.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    RM370
    Business
    Illinois
    Sep 4, 2014

    Reef Playacar

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful location. Definitely will return.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Miss Lavi
    Business
    NYC
    Sep 8, 2014

    Great !

    This hotel is a perfect combination of great location and clean relaxed atmosphere! You can't beat the price and staff was very accommodating. Only con is that the food wasn't up to par besides that I would stay here again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Eat at the restaurant Mi Pueblo!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    dgqlink
    Business
    ct
    Sep 7, 2014

    family vacation.

    I stayed at the reef the first week of September. Bottom line, the place is located in a lovely beach and the grounds are clean. I enjoyed my trip for the most part and would recommend it to a friend. The only thing that vexed me was that you had to pay extra to eat at the Mexican restaurant and could not access a bar unless you paid extra. Also one more tip, I am bilingual in Spanish and English , but I suggest speaking to them in English because you will get better treatment. For some odd reason when I approached staff in Spanish I would be treated like I was second class. Finally, tip the bartenders on occasion, it goes a long way.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Take the ado bus from airport to 5 th ave..and than taxi to hotel.it will save you about 100 dollars

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    RoadTripTraveler
    Business
    Houston, Texas, EEUU
    Oct 31, 2014

    Nice place in The middle of the rainforest.

    The hotel has beautiful gardens who actually is parts of the rainforest the rooms are not awesome and the staff.... Let's say average you find really fun people like the bartenders and not so fine like the security... But really nice place to stay, the beach was perfect, and the pools were fine, some of the bars are closing early and you have to walk a lot to another bar if you want to get more to drink, only two beers at the room per day.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top