$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2015 Check-out: Sep 26, 2015

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTovsen
Couples
St.Paul, MN
Apr 4, 2014

Couples getaway!

It is a very nice 3 star hotel. Layout is awesome, great natural surroundings. Rooms are pretty standard but offer everything you'll need for a week in paradise. Food is on par with most others, the Italian restaurant has some great dishes! The best they offer at The Reef are the people, great staff all very friendly. The evening shows were very entertaining as well. Don't miss The Show International!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the frozen cocktail (Banana Mama)

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
josegonma
Couples
Merida, Yucatan
Oct 14, 2013

Excellent

No comments, all was perfect, in special all the staff, the barmans, the waithers, entertainment, everything was so good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Endwell, NY
May 30, 2009

Reef Playacar

Hotel was very nice...very comfortable and the beach was absolutely beautiful...staff is very friendly as well...rooms very simple but comfortable...food was good and even though it felt like we were eating the same stuff almost all week, it was plenty and we never felt hungry...hotel has a beautiful tropical garden and you can enjoy walking through it on your way to the beach and the restaurant...i would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL
Mar 30, 2008

Great hotel...Staff Very Boring!

We love everything about The Reef Palyacar, except for the reserved staff. The staff were polite, helpful, and friendly, but not very exciting. They were so reserved and never brought any excitement to the bar, restaurants, by the beach, pool, etc.. It seems they could have really worked a little harder to liven things up. That's really the only complaint we had. The rooms were clean and we usaully had hot water. The rooms are set in a jungle type atmosphere, which was really neat, except the birds always woke us up around 6:00am. The food was great, even the buffet. The drinks were good and the beer was cold. The beach was fantastic and the water was warm. The pool water was a little cool, but once you got moving it was fine. The nice thing about this hotel is the short distance to Playa del Carmen. You could take a 10 minute walk or a short taxi ride for $5.00. If the staff were livlier, I would recommend this hotel to friends, but overall, at least for our group of 30 somethings, the atmosphere was dull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Apr 13, 2008

Beautiful Setting, Average Food

The landscaping around the hotel was absolutely gorgeous. The food was somewhat of a disappointment in variety compared to the other all-inclusives we've tried. The staff was very friendly, but we were let down when continually told that we couldn't partake in ANY water activities due to the choppy waters. Granted, this wasn't their fault, but they were pretty unorganized when trying to decipher the conditions each day. It's a quick walk to downtown Playa del Carmen, so that was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If walking to Playa del Carmen, take notice of the little parks along they way. They seem to be the home of quite a few iguanas, and make for great photo ops!

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Richmond, VA
Mar 27, 2008

Good Place to Stay

This was our frist trip to Mexico so we were unsure what to expect. The Reef was a nice treat. Clean and tucked in the jungle this is a good place for the family to stay. The staff was friendly and the food was good. The beach was nice and had great waves. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Nice shopping on 5th Avenue just a short cab ride or long walk.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 29, 2008

Nice all-inclusive resort

The Reef Playacar in Playa Del Carmen Mexico was overall a good experience. The staff was very nice and for the most part helpful although sometimes communication is difficult. The food was good, the beach was the best in my opinion in that area but not as big as I'm sure it was at one time. It was close to the town of Playa Del Carmen (within walking distance if you wanted). The walk was in a gated community and felt very safe even if you were walking in the evening. My issues regarding the resort are: the first morning there after arrving we had no hot water, actually no water came out when turning to hot. That was resolved by the end of the day however. Also water pressure was just an issue in general since our toilet plugged the next day and needed maintenance. The other issue is if you need internet access it's on and off. They say they have wireless available but it didn't work well. They have computers in the lobby area that you can use with a prepaid access card but it was hit and miss to get them to log in. There are also no beach front room but this resort is set in a more jungle type setting which was nice once you get used to it. They do have a wonderful spa and probably had the best massage I've ever had. Overall (aside from the minor issues) I would recommend this resort to family and friends. It's always important to remember when traveling outside of the US certain things are going to be different no matter where you go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many good resturants within walking distance if you choose.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Liberty Lake
Jul 5, 2008

Ok stay

The drinks and food were very disappointing. The drinks are very weak (even when you tip lots). Food had no flavor and even the resturants were pretty bad. Im not very picky with food eaither. They were doing construction at the hotel so things were out of order. We made the best of it and the beach was great. Our room was a 2 min walk from the shore which was great. They also tried pretty hard to sell us time shares (or even go to a meeting). We were on our honeymoon and could barley afford the trip down but they were very persistant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikeyfish
Couples
Colorado Springs, CO
May 22, 2014

Beach Haven

The Reef Playacar is just the right size for us. Not to big but large enough to offer everything a larger resort would. the beaches are fantastic allowing you to walk several miles on each side of the resort,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Buffalo, NY
Apr 23, 2008

worth the money

you got what you paid for,the staff needed to speak a little more american. The house leeping was all right, but kept forgetting to leae towels and one day did not come buy at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top