$181 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
78 reviews
Great for families!

We had a great time! Everybody was so kind and helpful there! The entertainment team was amazing! See full review

  • Family5 from Florida
  • Jun 7, 2014
OUTSTANDING VACATION

We loved this place, it's location and the staff, who were simply outstanding, friendly and happy... See full review

  • Meister knows
  • May 29, 2014
All-inclusive property and villa accommodations in Riviera Maya

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen invites holidaymakers to posh beachfront accommodations in Riviera Maya. Aside from enjoying a relaxing day at the beach, holidaymakers also try waverunning, catamaran sailing, kayaking and parasailing at PADI dive center. The hotel also arranges excursions going to Chichen Itza and to dolphin tours and ATV rides. Nightly shows, entertainment and activities are also available for kids and adults on site. Guests also rejuvenate by having a soothing massage and treatment at the The Reef Spa on site.

3 Reasons to Stay

  • Private Jacuzzi in some rooms
  • Villa-type units
  • Tour arrangements

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen has 202 guestrooms housed in 18 villas. All units feature a balcony or terrace. Units have refrigerator, TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, alarm clock, telephone, en suite bathroom with (tub and shower), make-up/shaving mirror, hairdryer, iron/ ironing board and safe deposit box (fees apply). Some villas have a private Jacuzzi in-room.

Things to Do

  • Playacar Golf Club (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Central Square (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pier Navega (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Xplor Theme Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Garden View with Balcony
Garden view with balcony: All rooms offer a spectacular garden view, one king size bed or two double beds, air conditioning, private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer, make up mirror, TV, telephone, mini fridge, alarm clock, iron & iron board, safety deposit box ($) and a private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens
Superior Room
Includes the Garden View room plus a bottle of wine upon arrival, a coffee maker, mini-bar stocked daily, bath ropes, upgraded amenities, deposit box free of charge and choice of two a la carte restaurants without surcharge.
Superior Premium Room
Includes the Superior room amenities, plus Access to our new lounge bar on the beach and this room includes premium drinks in all bars of the resort.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Golf
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

20.6126 -87.0857
Area served
Playa de Carmen.
Nearby airports
CUN-Cancun International Airport
Area description
40 miles/ 60kms south of Cancun (45 minutes by car). Address: The Reef Playacar Resort & Spa, Paseo Xaman-Ha, Retorno Sayil, s/n Fracc. Playacar Playa del Carmen,Quintana-Roo Mexico, CP 77710

Dining

Chula Vista
The main restaurant with 3 a la minute buffet areas for international delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea.
Botticelli
Italian a la carte restaurant: Freshly prepared Italian dishes in an elegant atmosphere with A/C. Dress code: Casual elegance (men: Long pants, shoes and sleeved shirt).
La Terraza Grill
Great variety of grilled mexican dishes prepared on the grill served in very exclusive decorated restaurant with A/C. Reservation required, no limitations. Dress Code: Casual-Elegant Attire. No Shorts. Hours: 18:30 - 22:30
Deli-snack bar
Located in the pool area, close to the beach. Light meals & snacks such as pizzas, burgers, French fries, and chicken wings served from late morning until sunset; A special Mexican Taco Style menu is served from 6 p.m. till 2 a.m.
Ice Cream parlour: Ice Cream Parlor
Enjoy any of our coffee services or a fresh made ice cream delight next to our natural cenote surrounded by lush tropical gardens. Cenote: Enjoy our tea time & special flambed coffees, accompanied by delicious fresh baked cookies and finger sandwiches.
Papo's Bar
A great evening entertainment area for njoying
Azul 48
An attractive swim up bar with a tropical atmosphere.
La Cascada
A welcoming lobby bar decorated in Mediterranean style.
La Chiquita Bar
Beach bar that serves drinks until late afternoon.
Nicos lounge Bar
Exclusive new lounge bar including an ocean view jacuzzi, located on the beach. This bar is available at a surcharge for standard and superior room clients.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For further information please contact our Group Manager at groupsales@thereefplayacar.com

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vernalequinox
Atlanta, Georgia
Jul 5, 2014

Considering the price paid, it is average overall.

Staff: They are helpful and always smiling Room: Old but kept clean during our stay. Amenities: Average comparing to other hotels Location: Convenient as it is 10-15 minutes walking distance to Playa Del Carmen. Food: Weak! Variety and food quality in buffet is not enough and good. Even snack bar is better than buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

1.) Do your shopping at local sellers. Local sellers have lower prices and authentic souvenirs. For instance, we found some authentic goods for a low price at Chichen Itza. 2.) Always bargain on the price. Mostly, offer around 20%-40% of the prices given by the sellers. Sellers highly overprice the goods. 3.) I do not recommend shopping for souvenirs at cities. First they are mass produced overpriced cheap things. Second, they overcharge you, therefore, if you do shopping at cities, check prices at different before you buy and bargain on the price. 4.) Always use pesos since taxi drivers, restaurants, store owners etc. uses 1 to 10 conversion US dollars to pesos but it is around 1 to 13 if you withdraw pesos from ATMs.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, NY
Apr 14, 2008

Good Value

The hotel was a good experience. This was our first all-inclusive vacation. The Hotel is also starting to try to push Membership (Timeshare). Don't waste your time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk out of the hotel and take a left there is a small shopping area about 1/4 to a 1/2 mile down on the right if you need small items or would like to have drinks or snacks for your room that is alot cheaper than the store at the hotel and they take dollars or pecos.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Liberty Lake
Jul 5, 2008

Ok stay

The drinks and food were very disappointing. The drinks are very weak (even when you tip lots). Food had no flavor and even the resturants were pretty bad. Im not very picky with food eaither. They were doing construction at the hotel so things were out of order. We made the best of it and the beach was great. Our room was a 2 min walk from the shore which was great. They also tried pretty hard to sell us time shares (or even go to a meeting). We were on our honeymoon and could barley afford the trip down but they were very persistant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 29, 2008

Nice all-inclusive resort

The Reef Playacar in Playa Del Carmen Mexico was overall a good experience. The staff was very nice and for the most part helpful although sometimes communication is difficult. The food was good, the beach was the best in my opinion in that area but not as big as I'm sure it was at one time. It was close to the town of Playa Del Carmen (within walking distance if you wanted). The walk was in a gated community and felt very safe even if you were walking in the evening. My issues regarding the resort are: the first morning there after arrving we had no hot water, actually no water came out when turning to hot. That was resolved by the end of the day however. Also water pressure was just an issue in general since our toilet plugged the next day and needed maintenance. The other issue is if you need internet access it's on and off. They say they have wireless available but it didn't work well. They have computers in the lobby area that you can use with a prepaid access card but it was hit and miss to get them to log in. There are also no beach front room but this resort is set in a more jungle type setting which was nice once you get used to it. They do have a wonderful spa and probably had the best massage I've ever had. Overall (aside from the minor issues) I would recommend this resort to family and friends. It's always important to remember when traveling outside of the US certain things are going to be different no matter where you go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many good resturants within walking distance if you choose.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Apr 23, 2008

worth the money

you got what you paid for,the staff needed to speak a little more american. The house leeping was all right, but kept forgetting to leae towels and one day did not come buy at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Junction
Sep 2, 2008

Great little gem

The PlayCar Reef was just what we were looking for. Quit,quant atmosphere. The beach was very nice. There is a ferry to Cozumel about a 3 minute car ride away from the hotel that we took. The food was great. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help. We had a great time. Be Aware everyone is trying to sell a time share.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

About five minutes from hotel.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 30, 2008

Great hotel...Staff Very Boring!

We love everything about The Reef Palyacar, except for the reserved staff. The staff were polite, helpful, and friendly, but not very exciting. They were so reserved and never brought any excitement to the bar, restaurants, by the beach, pool, etc.. It seems they could have really worked a little harder to liven things up. That's really the only complaint we had. The rooms were clean and we usaully had hot water. The rooms are set in a jungle type atmosphere, which was really neat, except the birds always woke us up around 6:00am. The food was great, even the buffet. The drinks were good and the beer was cold. The beach was fantastic and the water was warm. The pool water was a little cool, but once you got moving it was fine. The nice thing about this hotel is the short distance to Playa del Carmen. You could take a 10 minute walk or a short taxi ride for $5.00. If the staff were livlier, I would recommend this hotel to friends, but overall, at least for our group of 30 somethings, the atmosphere was dull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Feb 9, 2008

Good value for the money

The Reef is in a very beautiful jungle setting and has the best beach in the vicinity. The rooms were nice and clean and the beds were VERY firm. The pools were a bit cool for our liking, but were well maintained and beautiful. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food in the buffet was plentiful and there was a good variety. Quality of food was good to very good. We ate dinner in the Mexican restaurant only one evening due to having to make reservations at a certain time of day. Most of the time we were away on excursions during reservation hours so we missed out. Not a big deal as we found more than enough to eat in the buffet and the snack bar. The drinks were a bit disappointing as the alcohol did not seem to be full strength and the beer was from a keg and mostly warm. Bar tenders were very nice and tried to be accomadating. Overall, we felt that we got our moneys worth at The Reef and would reccommend it to friends with a warning about the consierge upon check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and GREAT dining are just a 15 minute walk to 5th Avenue or a short taxi ride.

Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Endwell, NY
May 30, 2009

Reef Playacar

Hotel was very nice...very comfortable and the beach was absolutely beautiful...staff is very friendly as well...rooms very simple but comfortable...food was good and even though it felt like we were eating the same stuff almost all week, it was plenty and we never felt hungry...hotel has a beautiful tropical garden and you can enjoy walking through it on your way to the beach and the restaurant...i would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikeyfish
Colorado Springs, CO
May 22, 2014

Beach Haven

The Reef Playacar is just the right size for us. Not to big but large enough to offer everything a larger resort would. the beaches are fantastic allowing you to walk several miles on each side of the resort,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top