$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
59 reviews
best vacation ever!

Everything was wonderful! From the super friendly and fun staff, the wide variety of delicious food... See full review

  • Gizzy mom
  • Jul 31, 2014
Great for families!

We had a great time! Everybody was so kind and helpful there! The entertainment team was amazing! See full review

  • Family5 from Florida
  • Jun 7, 2014
Beach front ALL INCLUSIVE Resort in Playacar , walking distance to down town Playa del Carmen & ferry to Cozumel Island.
202 garden view rooms, dispersed among 18 villas, which are woven together by railed paths. Lush gardens provide a tropical canopy, offering a cool shaded jungle-like privacy to the three-story clusters. Each cluster houses up to 12 rooms.
Newly redecorated rooms, featuring either one king bed or two doubles, A/C, ceiling fan, satellite TV, direct phone line, safety deposit box ($), mini fridge stocked the first day of the stay, alarm clock, pillow menu and large bathroom with tub, shower, hairdryer, Iron & ironing board and vanity mirror.

REEF MARINA DIVE SHOP (EXTRA COST) Scuba diving courses, Scuba certification, Scuba trips, Snorkeling excursions, Parasailing & Wave-runners.

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Garden View with Balcony
Amenities:
  • Spectacular garden view.
  • One king size bed or two double beds.
  • Air conditioning.
  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.
  • 32 inch LCD TV.
  • Telephone.
  • Mini Fridge.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Iron & iron board, safety.
  • Deposit Box ($).
  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Includes:
    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, Choice of various bars, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports including kayaks, paddle boards, boogie boards, snorkel equipment & scuba dive demo.
    Superior Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Garden View room amenities, plus extra:
  • Bottle of wine upon arrival.
  • Coffee maker in the room.
  • Bath ropes & upgraded bath room amenities.
  • Safety deposit box free of charge .
  • Choice of two a la carte restaurants without surcharge.
  • 25% discount coupon for the spa .
  • Premium Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Superior Room amenities, plus extra:
  • Access to our new lounge bar on the beach.
  • Premium drinks in all bars.
  • WiFi.
  • Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Golf
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Parking
    Free parking

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    For further information please contact The Reef Playacar Group Manager

    Dining

    Cenote
    Enjoy tea time with a tropical twist in this charming outdoor cafe serving tea, flambed coffees, fresh-baked cookies and finger sandwiches. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Chula Vista
    Overlooking the Caribbean, our main buffet restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dress Code: Not allowed to be wet, without a shirt or barefoot. Open 6:30 - 11 am, 12:30 - 3 pm, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    Botticelli
    This elegant, air-conditioned restaurant with outdoor terrace with ocean view offers an a la carte menu of fresh Italian favorites. Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    La Terraza Grill
    Dine indoors in air-conditioned comfort or on the elegant outdoor terrace of Terraza Grill, our gourmet restaurant. $6 surcharge (free with superior and superior premium room). Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner only, 6:30 - 10:30 pm. This restaurant is included in the superior and premium room type. There is a surcharge per person per dinner for the standard room type.
    Deli-snack bar
    Located in the pool area, this breezy spot overlooking the beach serves burgers, pizza, chicken wings and other snacks. A special Mexican Taco Style menu is served from 6 p.m. till 2 a.m. Open 11 am - 7 pm, 10:30 pm - 2 am.
    Ice Cream parlour: Ice Cream Parlor
    A favorite later afternoon spot for coffee and ice cream, the outdoor eatery overlooks lush tropical gardens and a natural cenote. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Papo's Bar
    A relaxed atmosphere and friendly bartenders make this a favorite evening stop. Open 6 pm - 2 am
    Azul 48
    Our swim-up pool bar serves ice-cold beer, tropical drinks and non-alcoholic beverages. Open 10 am - 6 pm
    La Cascada
    A relaxing spot in the lobby to enjoy a cocktail almost any time of day. Open 12 pm - 10 pm
    La Chiquita Bar
    Bordering the beach, this sunny and relaxing retreat opens early and serves cocktails until sundown. Open 10 am - 5:30 pm

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (59)

    Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Overall score

    3.8 / 5
    5.01.0
    59 out of 59
    Amenities:
    3.8
    Room cleanliness:
    4.1
    Hotel staff:
    4.1
    Room comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    3.9

    75% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Dallas, TX
    Dec 2, 2007

    do you like high pressure sales propaganda on timeshares?

    the food was like an imitation of good food...a poor imitation.because of the jungle like environment in the middle where you have to walk to get to your room....it was really muggy and humid..they will try to sell you timeshares and waste a day of your vacation.the all inclusive doesn't include a lot of things like the 2 dollar a day lock rental for the safe in the room.or the 5 dollar bottle of water.the mini fridge in the room is not stocked.there was no life at the hotel after 5pm.the taxi charges you 5 dollars to take you the annoyingly short distance to town..15 minute walk...they didn't have enough towels in the bathroom. i could write a book about this hotel..the light fell apart above the bed.the air conditioner made a horrible noise...otherwise it was a great hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    I love to travel!
    Business
    Chicago, IL.
    Mar 11, 2009

    Not so good....

    The Reef was a bit more expensive than our last Mexico all-inclusive trip however it was not worth it. The hotel itself had a cool setup-the rooms were in seperate villas among some lush foliage and whatnot around the grounds. There were also a couple pools with a staggering area with beach beds and chairs. The beds were exceptionally wonderful and by the far the highlight of this place. The staff was not as friendly as what I have encountered in Mexico before. They weren't very entertaining nor were they very nice. The room is dark and small and the bed is SO uncomfortable so after a couple days we "upgraded" to a suite which had a private balcony and jacuzzi and a nice bed, etc. We paid an extra $400 for the new room for the last few days of our stay. The jacuzzi did not work and was disgusting looking the whole time we were in there. We complained 3 times to the manager and he said he would have it fixed, he supposedly did, but it wasn't fixed. We ended up leaving before it could get resolved and after getting home I had to call the hotel numerous times to speak to the manager about a refund for the supposed "upgraded" room. I was always told he was unavailable and would call me back, and he never did. We ended up filing a dispute with Visa and recouped our money that way. Very disappointing. The food here was okay, not too many options and the quality was standard. My boyfriend ended up getting sick the last 2 days here, we were very careful with the water, so it must have been something else. I would not recommend the Reef to anyone though, I would have rather paid a bit more elsewhere and had a piece of mind than saved a few bucks and settled for this place.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: In Hotel

    Money saver tip-Save YOUR money and DO NOT stay at the Reef!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Texas Mommy
    Business
    Austin, TX
    Jun 26, 2014

    Poo made it dirty!

    Don't buy the transportation. It is a rip off. You over pay for what ends up being a one way service. Just grab a taxi at the airport. On two occasions I heard the hotel staff talking about me with Spanish speaking guests. I understand more Spanish than I speak. I did try to speak in Spanish and they made fun of me for it. That was unappreciated. When we arrived, the toilet was broken and had to be replaced. They must have used the sink when replacing it because the sink was filthy! Whenever the toilet was flushed, it smelled like sewage. The main swimming pool with the kiddie pool and swim up bar was dirty the entire time and I never saw it get cleaned once. Someone pooped in the pool. The hotel employees were told, but the pool was neither cleaned nor closed. Must have upgraded gold bracelet to sit in certain areas even if no guests are there, eat at certain restaurants, order even water at the premium bars or drink premium liquor. They consistently ran out of food and drinks. They do not offer room service unless you are a member, but membership cost 30k-50k depending on package. Towels and toiletries are not consistently provided. The rooms are small and uncomfortable. The beds are hard. The tv is small for how far away from the bed it is placed. The tv programs are mainly in Spanish. I would find 1 tv program each day in English. WiFi constantly crashes. It takes a while to send an email and is too slow to stream movies from netflix. The hotel is all inclusive but not really as there are many things you have to pay extra for. For example the Italian restaurant is all inclusive, but the left hand side of menu is all inclusive and the right side costs extra. At the front lobby bar, nespresso coffee is offered for a price even with the upgraded gold bracelet. Also, the front lobby bar has the same cookies as does the all inclusive buffet restaurant, but the front lobby bar will only give you a cookie if you buy the nespresso coffee. The concierge does NOT have to explain your all inclusive package, they just want to pitch you to "help" them out by attending a presentation the next morning. The presentation is a timeshare sales pitch to become members of their hotel. It takes 2 hours of your time, but in exchange they will give you 2-40 minute massage vouchers to be used at their hotel spa. My spouse and I both attended. Not sure how many vouchers you get for a single person. They promise 45 minute massage, but they write it up as 40 minutes and you get 40 minutes. Last but not least the man working the excursion office lied to us about our excursion. We overpaid and were not able to participate in half of it. We asked the right questions, but he lied to our faces.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Book at a different hotel!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    beach traveler and beyond
    Business
    Minneapolis, MN
    Mar 24, 2014

    Average

    Just got back from a stay at the Reef. The location of this hotel is great. A 10 min walk to downtown which you can do via the beach or use the sidewalks. The staff there was good, but Willy and Felix were AWESOME! The two of them certainly made our stay better! We purchased a premium room, which wasn't needed. However, we did get the option of top shelf liquor, so if that's what your after, go that route. Plus you get to use the bar close to the beach, where Felix was working! The premium package didn't give us that view of the beach we were after, we were towards the back of the hotel, ground level room. The minibar was only stocked with a few pops and one beer per person per day. Though we had to complain twice to get the mini "fridge" stocked with our beer before it finally happened. The food was average. Nothing special. I must admit though, we never stayed at the hotel for dinner, so I cant say anything about their dinners. The beach was amazing! Though, you get that anywhere in Playacar. However, it wasn't packed at this hotel like the other hotels we noticed. Could get a perfect spot basically any time of the day. Overall, this hotel is average. A bit dated and could use some touching up, but its not like we were in the rooms much anyways. Would I stay again? It was all depend of price. It was a perfect hotel for sun, drinks, and going out on the town at night. And the price was right in our range.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    10 min walk to town, so many great places to eat on 5th ave. I'd prefer that to eating the buffets.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Salma Dog lover.
    Business
    Denver, CO
    Jun 2, 2014

    La Prisienne

    The bathrooms need to be updated - Very old and moldy. Jonathan at the front desk needs to learn how to smile. Not friendly. When I told him about my first room, uncomfortable, noisy, facing the parking a lot, and getting fumes from the balcony he told me that he can update the room for me for an extra $ 30.00 when I paid alsmost $ 1700.00 for this trip. Then I was charged for the safe and I had to carry with me all the time the stupid key. Was afraid to loose it swimming. Finally an other person offered me another room first floor but at night I had a lot of visitors "raccoons" couldn't use my patio. At 7:00 am construction started on the roof. Couldn't sleep late and couldn't nap after lunch because it was hot to stay at the beach. The staff at the restaurant and beach are very nice and polite.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Didn't use any

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Spring
    Dec 21, 2008

    Great outside ambiance but disappointing rooms

    Overall our stay at the Reef Playacar was somewhat disappointing. WE enjoyed the overall location of the hotel and the outside amenities. The beach access is probably one of the nicest in the area. But we were very disappointed in the rooms since they seemed to have clearly deteriorated since our last stay a couple of years back. For instance was the bathtub fixed with a rough patch that covered about half the bottom and still leaked - which did not seem bother anyone. The AC was loud, AC drainage leaked into the room and the drapes had mold spots. Also be aware of very agressive sales people appearing to be hotel employees (which they are not!) trying to sell 25yr memberships for $13K for preferential access at certain hotels. This was very annoying!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    USA
    Jan 1, 2009

    Not Worth the Price

    The Reef Playacar is not worth staying at. The rooms are plain and not very inviting. There wasn't a good variety of food offered on the buffets. Furthermore, neither the Mexican Grill or the Italian Restaurant are worth going to. The food was not good. The outside of the resort is very pretty and the staff at the resort were very kind.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    5th Avenue is a great place to shop and it's only a 15 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi ride away.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    oneguy
    Business
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Aug 6, 2014

    niceguy

    I should have believed some of the other reviews. The hotel is definitely in need of repair. The room is not that bad but the food is not good. Coming from a non picky family, that is saying a lot. Everything is cooked / fried with lots of oil, and butter (not good for the stomach). The Italian restaurant was alright but nothing to boast about. Drinks at the bar are very watered down and bar is not staffed accordingly. Too bad this place is located on a beautiful beach and water is very clear. If you are thinking of this place for your vacation, spend a little more money and find another place at Playa Del Carmen. The beach is definitely nice just not the Hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    the flaming taco
    Business
    pittsburgh,pa
    Jun 10, 2013

    great location-facility a little dated

    The first room we where given was in a not renovated building, not good at all. Gap in the window frame of the bathroom window, mildew in the grout of the floor tile, 2nd night there had a torrential downpour outside woke up to 1/2" of water on floor. Vita the manager was great !! gave us a upgraded room at no charge, 2nd room was awesome location is good if you walk down to the beach and look to the left you can see a ferry dock, that is where 5th avenue begin, its about a 15 minute walk. if you walk to the right you go past about 5 or 6 resorts then there is a area not developed with natural beachfront and vegetation, really nice to see. if you go out the front door and make a left there is a shopping area about 5 minutes walk with a Starbucks you can get WiFi there with a purchase. WiFi cost $15 a day at resort. we took no Pesos everybody takes USD, everything pretty much is priced in USD, Euros, and pesos. 2 pools top one has swim up bar, nice beach in front of resort. This resort is small so not a lot of amenities a larger resort would have. Staff very nice and they worked very hard. Buffet OK, sometimes stuff was not warm, sometimes could find no glasses for drinks, decent variety and quality. Would not go back again not for an one reason, just would spend a little more and go to a nicer place

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    be prepared when you go to 5th avenue, you will be bombarded with people wanting you to go into there stores, They know where you are staying by your wristband so people will come up to you and say they work at your resort, come look at my stuff, we had 3 people do this in one afternoon, overall it is safe to go there though

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Kmill
    Business
    ILL.
    Nov 8, 2013

    Good deal for the money

    The grounds are very tropical and pretty.. The rooms were ok. We did have a few ants and bugs over the 11 days we stayed. The AC quit working the last day, but they fixed it right away. For an all-Inclusive, they nickel and dime you on several things. The beach is great! Lots of walking to get around..the food was good, but could have been hotter..good variety..the wait staff in the dining area was very helpful and friendly. The front desk help was very unfriendly and not helpful. The bellboys were very friendly. It worked for our needs, but doubt that we return for a second visit....

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top