$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

3 stars
Paseo Xaman Ha Sur, PlayaCar, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
60 reviews
Great girls getaway

Hotel was great, not a huge resort if thats what you are looking for but defiantly has all you need... See full review

  • Brianna P.
  • Dec 23, 2014
best vacation ever!

Everything was wonderful! From the super friendly and fun staff, the wide variety of delicious food... See full review

  • Gizzy mom
  • Jul 31, 2014
All-inclusive property and villa accommodations in Riviera Maya

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen invites holidaymakers to posh beachfront accommodations in Riviera Maya. Aside from enjoying a relaxing day at the beach, holidaymakers also try waverunning, catamaran sailing, kayaking and parasailing at PADI dive center. The hotel also arranges excursions going to Chichen Itza and to dolphin tours and ATV rides. Nightly shows, entertainment and activities are also available for kids and adults on site. Guests also rejuvenate by having a soothing massage and treatment at the The Reef Spa on site. The famous 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen is close to the hotel.

3 Reasons To Stay

  • Steps away from 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen
  • Playacar Golf Club across the street
  • Beachfront spaces

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen has 202 guestrooms housed in 18 villas. All units feature a balcony or terrace. Units have refrigerator, TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, black-out drapes, alarm clock, telephone, en suite bathroom with (tub and shower), make-up/shaving mirror, hairdryer, iron/ ironing board and safe deposit box (fees apply).

Things to Do

  • Playacar Golf Club (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Maritime Terminal (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Playa del Carmen Main Beach (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Central Square (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pier Navega (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Mamitas Beach Club (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Guadalupe Church (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Xplor Theme Park (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen Rooms

Garden View with Balcony
Amenities:
  • Spectacular garden view.
  • One king size bed or two double beds.
  • Air conditioning.
  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.
  • 32 inch LCD TV.
  • Telephone.
  • Mini Fridge.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Iron & iron board, safety.
  • Deposit Box ($).
  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.
  • Alarm Clock.
  • Includes:
    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, Choice of various bars, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports including kayaks, paddle boards, boogie boards, snorkel equipment & scuba dive demo.
    Superior Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Garden View room amenities, plus extra:
  • Bottle of wine upon arrival.
  • Coffee maker in the room.
  • Bath ropes & upgraded bath room amenities.
  • Safety deposit box free of charge .
  • Choice of two a la carte restaurants without surcharge.
  • 25% discount coupon for the spa .
  • Premium Room
    Amenities:
    Includes the Superior Room amenities, plus extra:
  • Access to our new lounge bar on the beach.
  • Premium drinks in all bars.
  • WiFi.
  • Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Golf
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Currency exchange
    Parking
    Free parking

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    For further information please contact The Reef Playacar Group Manager

    Dining

    Cenote
    Enjoy tea time with a tropical twist in this charming outdoor cafe serving tea, flambed coffees, fresh-baked cookies and finger sandwiches. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Chula Vista
    Overlooking the Caribbean, our main buffet restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dress Code: Not allowed to be wet, without a shirt or barefoot. Open 6:30 - 11 am, 12:30 - 3 pm, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    Botticelli
    This elegant, air-conditioned restaurant with outdoor terrace with ocean view offers an a la carte menu of fresh Italian favorites. Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner, 6:30 - 10:30 pm
    La Terraza Grill
    Dine indoors in air-conditioned comfort or on the elegant outdoor terrace of Terraza Grill, our gourmet restaurant. $6 surcharge (free with superior and superior premium room). Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, shorts, pool clothes, hats or shirts without sleeves. Open for dinner only, 6:30 - 10:30 pm. This restaurant is included in the superior and premium room type. There is a surcharge per person per dinner for the standard room type.
    Deli-snack bar
    Located in the pool area, this breezy spot overlooking the beach serves burgers, pizza, chicken wings and other snacks. A special Mexican Taco Style menu is served from 6 p.m. till 2 a.m. Open 11 am - 7 pm, 10:30 pm - 2 am.
    Ice Cream parlour: Ice Cream Parlor
    A favorite later afternoon spot for coffee and ice cream, the outdoor eatery overlooks lush tropical gardens and a natural cenote. Open 4 - 6 pm
    Papo's Bar
    A relaxed atmosphere and friendly bartenders make this a favorite evening stop. Open 6 pm - 2 am
    Azul 48
    Our swim-up pool bar serves ice-cold beer, tropical drinks and non-alcoholic beverages. Open 10 am - 6 pm
    La Cascada
    A relaxing spot in the lobby to enjoy a cocktail almost any time of day. Open 12 pm - 10 pm
    La Chiquita Bar
    Bordering the beach, this sunny and relaxing retreat opens early and serves cocktails until sundown. Open 10 am - 5:30 pm

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (60)

    Ratings and reviews for The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Overall score

    3.7 / 5
    5.01.0
    7 out of 60
    Amenities:
    3.6
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3.9
    Room comfort:
    3.9
    Location:
    4.3
    Value:
    4

    86% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Brianna P.
    Business
    Vancouver
    Dec 23, 2014

    Great girls getaway

    Hotel was great, not a huge resort if thats what you are looking for but defiantly has all you need for a small resort. Room was just what we needed, clean spacious, balcony over looked the grounds which looks like a rain forrest. Close walking distance to the front lobby and restaurants and beach. Super nice beach for swimming or sun bathing. No complaints, would definitely go back.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Camelbak
    Business
    Texas
    Nov 19, 2014

    Summer Vacation

    Staff is beyond great! The bartenders are friendly and everyone makes you feel at home. Amenities at hotel could be better, the beds are a little hard and the bathroom needed a little remodeling. You usually don't spend a lot of time in your room anyway but it could have used a little help. The swimming pool, the Italian restaurant and buffet restaurant were good. The best part is that the beach is a few steps away and that takes away any bad amenity there is... The ocean is beautiful and perfect!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Miss Lavi
    Business
    NYC
    Sep 8, 2014

    Great !

    This hotel is a perfect combination of great location and clean relaxed atmosphere! You can't beat the price and staff was very accommodating. Only con is that the food wasn't up to par besides that I would stay here again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Eat at the restaurant Mi Pueblo!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    MD DMC
    Business
    MEX CITY
    Aug 27, 2014

    really questioning if i would stay there again.

    Didn't help us with staff problem. Booked an amazing trip ended up with an "ok" trip (didn't get money back). They charge extra for everything (even the lock from the security box). Taxi to 5th av 90 PESOS or more. BE PREPARED TO TIP!! thats the only way to get real service. Hotel is really pretty in general, food ok, alcohol not so good.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

    Be careful they tend to over charge foreigners

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Gizzy mom
    Business
    Lynchburg, Virginia
    Jul 31, 2014

    best vacation ever!

    Everything was wonderful! From the super friendly and fun staff, the wide variety of delicious food and the stunning location, it was just perfect!! My best friend and I couldn't have had a more perfect vacation. We can't believe what we got for the price!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Know taxi cab fares before you go. Ask hotel staff or research on internet. Confirm price with driver and pay in pesos.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    beach traveler and beyond
    Business
    Minneapolis, MN
    Mar 24, 2014

    Average

    Just got back from a stay at the Reef. The location of this hotel is great. A 10 min walk to downtown which you can do via the beach or use the sidewalks. The staff there was good, but Willy and Felix were AWESOME! The two of them certainly made our stay better! We purchased a premium room, which wasn't needed. However, we did get the option of top shelf liquor, so if that's what your after, go that route. Plus you get to use the bar close to the beach, where Felix was working! The premium package didn't give us that view of the beach we were after, we were towards the back of the hotel, ground level room. The minibar was only stocked with a few pops and one beer per person per day. Though we had to complain twice to get the mini "fridge" stocked with our beer before it finally happened. The food was average. Nothing special. I must admit though, we never stayed at the hotel for dinner, so I cant say anything about their dinners. The beach was amazing! Though, you get that anywhere in Playacar. However, it wasn't packed at this hotel like the other hotels we noticed. Could get a perfect spot basically any time of the day. Overall, this hotel is average. A bit dated and could use some touching up, but its not like we were in the rooms much anyways. Would I stay again? It was all depend of price. It was a perfect hotel for sun, drinks, and going out on the town at night. And the price was right in our range.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    10 min walk to town, so many great places to eat on 5th ave. I'd prefer that to eating the buffets.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Playacar - All Inclusive - Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Milwaukee, WI
    May 3, 2008

    Over Crowded

    Stayed at the Reef two times prior to this trip. I must say they were way overbooked and seemed very short staffed. Staff members did not appear to be as friendly as in prior trips. Had to change rooms after the first night due to no air conditioning. Also seems that more and more locals come in on the weekends, way too many kids...... Love the location and the beach that is why we have gone back several times. After this trip though i think i would consider an adults only resort. One suggestion to the Reef, KIDS don't belong in the pool bar, sitting on the stools, i'm talking as little as maybe 1 1/2 year olds while the parents drink and order the KIDS non-alchoholic blender drinks. Accomodations were great once we changed rooms. One more thing seems they run out of certain alchohol quite frequently for long periods of time, like a day and a half on vodka and rum.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    Short taxi ride into town, about 5 US dollars, fun people watching.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top